Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

IRH Medalist Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #18324

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The new Medalist helmet from IRH Helmets gives you gold-medal style and world-class protection. With supreme ventilation, lightweight construction, and rich, durable velveteen, the Medalist is a must-have for any rider. The Medalist features an elegant, black, three-point harness and IRH’s low-profile geometry, which minimizes the helmet profile and maximizes the cooling airflow through the top and rear air vents. ASTM F1163.04a/USA/SEI/EN-1384/CE Mark Europe.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH Medalist Helmet is rated 4.4138 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it favorite helmet now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, attractive helmet for the price Just bought DD this helmet at my local Smartpak store. She has a round (not oval) head and it fits very well. The look is fairly low-profile and doesn't give her "mushroom head." Excellent price for a traditional, well-fitting helmet. As always at SmartPak, the sales assistant went above and beyond to help her try different brands and styles until she found the one that fit the best. Your service is the best anywhere.I am rating the Durability as "average" because it is brand new and we don't have any idea how it will hold up.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet, Great Value! First and foremost, I will say that I am a bit of an old-fashioned gal at heart, and much prefer the traditional black velvet/een helmet over the fancy vented/colored helmets that are so popular these days. If you're like me and appreciate an attractive, light weight, comfortable, lower-profile helmet that is easy on your wallet - THIS is the one for you! I do have a longer-ovaly head, and although this is not IRH's specific "LONG OVAL" shape - it does fit me VERY well. This helmet looks nice, although it isn't THE lowest-profile, it is MUCH lower-profile than others I have tried #or owned# in the past. Charles Owen helmets are more mushroom-y than these #yes, I have tried them#. It really is a great value, great helmet, and like I said - if you like the "traditional" style, I don't think you will be disappointed with this one!
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well... I guess weather you like it or not depends on your head shape. As stated in many of the other reviews, it is made for very long oval heads. It pinched my head from all sides though, so I think it runs small. Seems to be of decent quality for the price, as long as it fits. Not really my style though, its a touch old fashioned for me. Not super low profile either. I adore IRH's, but this one wasn't my favorite.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet Good looking, fit well. Bought one for myself initially. My daughter wanted one. So we bought one for her as well. Good price for the quality. Can't say about the durability yet since we just got it for less than two weeks.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly What I Need I buy this helmet because it is by far nice enough to show in with its velveteen finish, it is economical (and I fall a lot so replace helmets fairly often). It is the only helmet that fits my long oval head without needing to special order "long oval". I recommend this to anyone with a narrow face and a budget!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet especially for the price This is a gorgeous helmet especially for the price. I measured my daughter's head before I ordered and it fits like a glove (or I helmet I suppose). Really nice and inexpensive. I have one (not exactly the same, but the same brand) and I have been wearing it for at least 7 years. It has held up beautifully and still looks great.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet but exchanging for size smaller I like this helmet, it seems to be a good value though I have yet to ride in it and test it's durability. I liked the look ok, but it was too large for my head so I sent it back and am waiting for an exchange to a size smaller. Will post again after I ride in it with more feedback.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet This helmet is nice and cool, but still has the classic velvet look. If you are looking at it up close next to a more expensive velvet helmet, the velvet looks a little cheap, but you wouldn't be able to see the difference once the rider is atop the horse. I have had 3 International helmets over the past decade, but this was their only non-super-expensive model that fit me.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Giant / Mushroom Looking I ordered this helmet but unfortunately had to return it. Although it was the right size and did fit my head, it was still giant on the outside. It came up high and was very bulky. It overpowered my head and was very mushroom looking, which was something I specifically did not want. It does happen to be a good helmet considering the price, but I would not recommend that you buy this helmet.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel of this helmet! I bought this helmet to replace my older one; I didn't have a lot to spend but also, wanted to get the best helmet for what I could spend. With comfort, fit, value and appearance in mind, I chose this one. Great choice! It is light, it is attractive, the feel is good and I trust it to protect my noggin!
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I'm not a fan of helmets but with the new regulations it is a must have item. Though I still feel like a mushroom head, it is less bulky then the other types I have tried. The fit is great because velcro pads are included and if the helmet is a little wiggly, these pads take up the extra space perfectly. Overall I am very satisfied with this product and grateful that I didn't have to spend 300+ dollars for a helmet.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit was consistant with my other IRH helmets. Very comfy!
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit & value I like the low profile of this helmet and itt fits my oval shaped head well. There were 3 pieces of extra foam inside the box to make small adjustments. It looks nice, feels good, has nice ventilation whic, along with the great price, equals a super buy.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful The is a great looking helmet and a nice fit. Excellent value for the money
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice helmet and great price i like this helmet its so much better than the Trolex helmets they make your head look more like a mushroom and are bulky. but the prices between the two are about the same. This is a great buy and the velveteen finish is stylish and polished looking. Now i can stop looking like a mushroom growing out of the horse to looking like a rider again.!
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Choice for Long Oval I have been paying extra for long oval helmets for years to get the best head protection for my shape of skull. I was SO EXCITED when I read the reviews for this helmet - finally something to fit my head without bruising my wallet! Definitely nice enough to compete in, the velveteen is lovely and I can hardly believe I don't look like a mushroom in it. Plus you can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for round heads! I ordered the IRH Medalist helmet to replace an older International velvet show helmet (ASTM-certified) that I love and have worn every day for years, since I don't like to buy a separate helmet for schooling. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that apparently, a lot has changed in the last several years in terms of helmet technology and sizing!! I never had a problem finding helmets that fit in the past, but this time around, it seems that I have a very unusually round head....and this IRH Medalist apparently does not suit round heads at all, despite being the same brand as the helmet that it was supposed to replace. When it arrived, I discovered that the actual circumference of the helmet runs true to size (i.e., I measure 22.5" and I ordered 7 1/8 according to the International size chart, and the size felt right--tight but not too tight), BUT the helmet felt like it was sitting perched on top of my head, and not like I was actually wearing the helmet--i.e., it felt way too high on my skull. I basically felt like I wanted to grab it and pull it down closer to my ears, like a knit winter hat, but of course, I couldn't, so I had to return the helmet....which was a shame, because it seemed to be a high-quality helmet, especially for the low price.Interestingly, I let my boyfriend try the helmet on briefly before returning it, just out of curiosity, since he has a very similar head CIRCUMFERENCE to mine (i.e., we can wear the same size dress hats and baseball caps, where the material is soft and deformable), but a very different head shape (he has what I believe to be a "long oval" type of head--i.e., he has a much narrower face than I do, despite the fact that we have the same head circumference)--and lo and behold, the helmet came right down over his brow the way it should!! So, it seems that this IRH Medalist helmet is best for those with a relatively narrow face width and very LONG, OVAL heads, versus those of us who have wider faces (measured from temple to temple) and rounder skulls....so if you happen to have a long oval head, you're in luck, because this would be a great helmet for you. :)Since Smartpak unfortunately doesn't identify in the item descriptions which helmets are best for which shapes of heads, I was afraid to order another model or style for fear of the same result, so I eventually went in-person to a tack store. After trying on every helmet they had (including Troxel and Charles Owen), they determined that because my head is so round, I can only fit in the most expensive GPA helmet (can't remember the style, but it was over $500!!) or a Tipperary Sportage!! When I tried both of those helmets on, there was seriously almost a "swoosh" noise as my head just slid right into the helmet and stayed there comfortably, which I guess is what one is supposed to be looking for in a properly fitted helmet these days!! Anyway, I wasn't crazy about the dramatic vented styling and silver logo of the GPA (since I ride dressage), and since I definitely didn't want to spend >$500 for a helmet I didn't really like aesthetically, I ended up getting the Tipperary, which looks even less traditional, but it was significantly less expensive (~$69), and most importantly, it actually fit me even slightly better than the GPA...it just looks like something an outer-space alien would wear. :P I wish I could have ordered the Tipperary from Smartpak for the price savings, but of course, I had to support my local tack store after they provided me with such extensive customer service. So, I plan to use the Tipperary as a schooling helmet (which is probably when I would need the most head protection, anyway), and unless Tipperary comes out with a velvet show helmet, or if GPA comes out with a more traditional-looking show helmet, I guess I will just keep my old International velvet helmet for showing. By the way, I should also note that the Tipperary Sportage RUNS LARGER THAN MARKED...even though my head circumference is 22.5", I apparently fit best in the MEDIUM Tipperary, even though the sizing on the box indicated that I should fit in a large (i.e., I was swimming in the large). Hope that helps everyone!!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.