Product Image

Magnesium 5,000

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP)
- Item #18286
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

This formula provides 5,000 mg of Magnesium in tasty PELLETS that horses love!

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart 

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Magnesium 5,000 is rated 4.7748 out of 5 by 111.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! As any hard working athlete a horse needs magnesium too if they work hard. My horse has a lot of muscle mass so it helps her muscles stay relaxed.
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sore backs My dressage horse is very tight muscled and tends to get a sore back no matter how custom his saddle is. An equine massage therapist reccomended I put him on a high dose of magnesium and it really helps. He rarely ever has a sore back now.
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium 5000 I just started using magnesium 5,000 as a caing aid for my two anxious horses. I have yet to see a difference so may be in time this supplement will be helpful. That's what in counting on. I love Smartpak supplements. My horses love them too.Juli
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not quite sure yet, but seems good... I only gave this 4 stars overall simply because I don't think I've used it long enough to see a difference. It's also difficult since the horse was brand new to me and I immediately started giving him this supplement because he seemed overly nervous.He is very willing even though he still seems nervous at times. I will continue to use it and hopefully with additional time and training, he will settle in nicely.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Head Shaking Syndrome I use this for my mare with mild headshaking syndrome, it really has seemed to help her in the summer months when she shows more problems. It is a great product, although she does not like the taste very much and it has to be given with a little bit of sweet feed for her to eat it.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I started my son's Welsh pony on this about a month ago. The pony was diagnosed with Insulin Resistance so in our quest to give him a proper diet for IR, we accidentally depleted his magnesium. He became nervous, jumpy, and spooked constantly with kids on his back. Within 3-5 days, he was back to his normal laid-back, kid friendly, patient self. Even our trainer, who never truly believed in supplements, has been sold on it's effectiveness.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite Improvement! My OTTB mare was super tight, cracky, uncomfortable, nervous, etc. Within one month on this product, there was a remarkable improvement. The 5,000 mg dose seemed to be a bit much, so I just give her 3/4 of a scoop. She seems so much happier, relaxed, and comfortable now.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value Magnesium is a great supplement for the older horse as well as the horse in competitive environments. The product is easy to administer and digest. I recommend this supplement for all horses especially those horses that are a bit nervous especially in changing environments. A great value and a wonderful addition to the equine diet.
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought this product My horse has been on this product for about 2 months and I have seen a huge improvment while riding. Before the magnesium she was having problems with stiffness in her neck, back and hips. Since being on this product she has returned to her usual self. Very pleased with the results.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the spooksters I have used Mag 5000 for years on my OTTBS and general spooksters at my barn. One horse has hingut ulcers and when he has a flare up ( i buy the largest bucket so I can add and delete dosages as needed) I add a small amount to his feed along with more ulcer meds and he starts feeling better within a few days. Originally purchased for my now deceased OTTB, this was a lifesaver for him and I never took him off it, while he was never dangerous he was always on his toes and anything would make him go sideways. On the mg 5000 I could throw the western saddle on him, put a bosal on and go on a trail ride with him being happy and calm and enjoy the ride and know he wouldn't be a jigging sweaty mess. All my horses eat it with no issues and YES it does work! I also noticed difference with ulcer horses (they can be low in mag and need a little help) but talk to your vet before adding mag for ulcers.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice My 11 year old warmblood gelding jumper has been on stall rest for 3 months recovering from an injury. With so much snow and ice where I live it is impossible to even turn him out in a small paddock. He bucks and squeals in his stall and does the same under saddle as he is beginning his conditioning back to regular work. Magnesium 5000 has been wonderful. After about a week of being on the supplement, he was much more calm and happy in his stall and was safe to ride under saddle. I have had to adjust the dosage, actually decreasing it some as he is generally a mellow guy, but I am please I did not have to tranquilize him with stronger drugs. He is happy and safe and so am I! He also eats it no problem.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium 5,000 I've had my mare on joint supplements in the past as a preventative. During the winter months, she spends her life as a "weekend warrior" and can get stiff. I thought I'd try the magnesium to help with muscle tension and stiffness. Wow! She is actually a western horse, but comes out of her stall in the morning and romps in the pasture looking more like a park horse! She is staying limber with great flexion and no back stiffness.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found it to be more effective than MagOx Found this product to work much better than magox for my two PSSM horses. Noticed a difference within just a couple days, no guesswork when it comes to amounts and much more palatable. Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I have had my mare on this for about a month. I put her on this because she had moved to a new barn, was a little moody and her grain did not contain Magnesium in it. So I decided to give it to her and she ate it right up. She didn't even notice it was different. So it is palatable for her and she is pretty picky! Also after a month of her eating this in her grain every single day she is more relaxed, and can focus more. My senior is also on this and he was very herd bound. He still is a little unsettled when away from the herd but he is so much better on this supplement. I HIGHLY recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would not be without! My 1/2 draft gelding was challenging: Spooky anxious, could not relax. Always had to be the lead on trail rides, etc. - a take charge horse. Finally found magnesium. He has busted up stalls in the past, did not like being inside even during bad weather, now comes in on his own. Will bring up the back of the line on group rides & walks for me even if everyone else is trotting/galloping off. He now defers to me in most situations. We still have our moments, but we are both much calmer now.
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appears to help feet My picky eater ate this without protest after a couple of days. After 3 weeks of use at less than half of the recommended dose, the farrier noticed that her sole is getting thicker which is what I was trying to accomplish with this product.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well on Redheaded Mares! I tried my mare on SmartMare Harmony and MareMagic after she started displaying frantic calling and attachments during her heat cycle (and the crazy weather we had the past year with temperature rising and falling so quickly). Both helped to a minimal extent. I decided to cut right to the chase and get a magnesium supplement instead. I'm glad I did! My frantic mare (who still stayed a bit on edge even when winter approached) can now be brought in a ridden without needing her pasturemate to tag along for the experience. This was unheard of earlier this year! She's focused, calm, and willing. We don't have arguments over who is the lead mare anymore. I love having my horse back! She does leave some of the supplements at the bottom of her feed bucket, but she is on a number of supplements, so it is hard to pinpoint whether another supplement is affecting the palatability of this one.
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to work! A few different horses in the barn are on this supplement, and even my picky eater ("omg, did you poison my grain again mom??") will eat these pellets without a second sniff. While this supplement doesn't take the energy or forward out of a horse, it does seem to help with the nerves. My ottb is horrible about running back and forth by the gate when he is done being turned out (sometimes he will stay out all day, sometimes just a few hours, doesn't seem to be a pattern to it but if it's rainy/windy/snowy/he's bored - it's pretty much an emergency in his brain! He's a real hot house flower), but when he's getting his Mag he is much better, walking back and forth or even just waiting patiently by the gate for someone to get him. It also seems to help another ottb who is not "hot" in the typical sense but can spook at nothing... repeatedly... The Mag seems to help the focus and needless worrying.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses Like It With all the traveling and showing I do with my horses, I feel better knowing they have that extra nutritional edge to stay healthy.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality - Easy to Use With my horses busy schedule, this helps keep them in optimal health.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Was using the powdered form from another source; I really hate the powder, as too much of it seems to be wasted (sticks to the bucket, for one thing :oPI'm actually splitting the dose between two horses with one "well" each - it's just what we needed!
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works to ease tense muscles. Works well for the tense, nervous horse. It's helping my horse to be a focused athlete (he is generally hot, spooky, and easily distracted). He has never offered the high quatlity work that is these days!
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium My mare went from absolutely quiet to spooky and nervous overnight. Vet check was clear and they recommended we add magnesium to help her relax.We started with 5,000 which was way to much, she was to relaxed we cut it in half to 2,500 which made a great improvement in her temperament.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It seems to be helping I've had my mare on it for almost a month, during which I've taken her off regumate. It definitely doesn't work magic, but it has certainly taken the edge off her extreme mare ways. She doesn't mind being brushed or blanketed anymore, and she is better able to keep her mind on me when there are outside distractions. It hasn't seemed to help with her spookiness, but it's hard to know how much of that is now a habit versus a real spook.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium pellets I love this product! I had my horse on the powder form before and he wasnt eating it. I switched to the pelleted and he gives me no problems now. I would recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater loves it! We put our 2 quarter horses on this to help with muscle tightness and soreness. It really seems to be making a difference with both of them. (one is older and the other tends towards a sore back) They've been comfortable and happy all summer even when in hard work. The picky one also does not hesitate to clean it all up from his feed tub.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse has all of the symptons of being mag deficient so I started him on MagOx from a feed mill in December. He did well on that and it was exciting - both for the riding part and for the pocketbook! However, he quit eating it when the weather got hot. I decided to switch him to this product and despite what some say, I think this product works better. He is very level headed, has focus and is less looky. The pellets are easy to feed and the horse eats them with no problems.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.