Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats

Item #18282
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Your horse will love these treats and won't even know it's good for them! Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats are for Insulin Resistant, overweight, older horses and horses with Cushing's Disease. Made with Stabilized Rice Bran, Stevia Leaf, Cinnamon Bark Powder, and Apple Powder.

24 oz. tin or Refill Bag

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sugar substitute This treat was more readily accepted than I had expected it to be - the horse is kind of picky! It is a nice size to have in one's pocket during training in lieu of sugar cubes. It smells appealingly like cinnamon.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neigh or Bray My horses do not like these at all and will spit them out.My donkeys however, like them.Probably will not order again, due to already having found a healthy treat they all like.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are great! I was very torn about buying these because some of the reviews said "my horse didn't like these" but my horse likes them! So I think it depends on the horse! But I will defiantly by these again of Angel!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smelled fantastic... horse didn't agree These treats smelled incredible when they arrived! Unfortunately, my gelding didn't find them tasty which was definitely disappointing... and they seemed awfully dry. Finding good treats for my IR horse is difficult and it would've been great if they had worked.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome purchase Having an insulin resistant horse it's nice to be able to give treats that r specifically for them. Now my horse doesn't go without (eg no carrots, etc...)
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very satisfied with purchase Horses do enjoy. Use treats for clicker training with my 25 yr old TWH and my cresty little Paso Fino. Treats are a little pricey so I cut them in half. That said, hard to find good treats for metabolically challenged horses
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from my horse has EPSM and I was thrilled to get a treat she can have. Only problem is she thinks they are discusting! She acts like I'm poisoning her and won't even chew them. They are small and dry but smell good to me (like cinnamon). They are far too expensive unless the horse loves them. Need more products that don't have sugar, molasses, oats, etc for horses like this.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of money I was so disappointed in this product. The "cookies" are smaller than a hershey's kiss, so small it is hard to handle them with gloves on. I was planning to use them for clicker training, I'm going to use carrot slices instead.In addition, the price was way too high for this product.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses love taste but pricey! I have two mares with epsm and have to limit their sugar intake. They love these treats and they smell good too! However, they are very expensive for the quantity you get.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful treat! I am very fond of these cookies. I use them as a treat at times, but really use them to help my picky eater eat his suppies. Just one or two crumbled cookies combined with the splash of apple cider vinegar pretty much guarantees my boy will lick his bowl.While some reviewers disliked that the cookies will "soften" or crumble more easily if they are older or exposed to the air, I prefer them that way to crumble up onto his dinner =) It also allows us to give them to the 33 y/o who eats soaked feed and no treats unless they "melt" since she is missing many of her teeth.Maybe I should request the "powdered" bags some have had! All my recent orders have been perfect original texture, so Smartpak definitely took their comments to heart. Great treats.
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Treats! I purchased these for my pleasantly plump TWH mare. She has spit other cookies out like she thought they were poison, but LOVED these after just one taste! They are pretty small (more like a mint size) but it is great to have a treat I can give her without feeling guilty!
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Treat My horse loves these! I love them because I am able to give him a tasty treat that is okay to eat. Being Insulin Resistant he can no longer have apples or carrots. My vet is happy a treat was developed for insulin reisistant horses.
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some Like It Some Spit It Out This is a great treat for my IR horses. Some of my non-IR horses spit it out, not sure if it is the taste or the consistency.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product Needs Help These are wonderful treats if you can get a bag that isn't crumbling. I have ordered these a few times, and all the recent batches has shown up with the cookies just falling apart. Half the bag is powder/crumbs. I have called SmartPak and they were good about a refund, however it seems like the problem is in the maufacturing and quality control. Something is causing them not to be pressed consistently or a change in an ingredient. It would be nice to get back to what they were when I first discovered them!But, your horses will go wild for them and their smell!
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad to have these treats These are great for easy keepers, the ingredients are healthy for them and the size is not packing on the calories either. My horse and donkey both love them.
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Upset with results I have have purchased these treats from a local tack shop and was very happy with the bag I purchased. The treats looked fresh and intact. I ordered the canister from Smartpak and the treats that were delivered to me were very dry and crumbly. Nothing like the refill bag I had ordered previously. The treats are a nice size and my horse enjoys them. I will just not be buying them through Smartpak again.
    Date published: 2011-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty but pricey! It's great to have a healthy treat for your IR horse and my horse loves the cinnamon taste. However, the treats are a bit pricey for the amount you get.
    Date published: 2011-01-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from unusable When the packages arrived the treats were almost reduced to pure powder/dust. What remained was almost unusable as treats...very little aroma..felt like these must have been on the shelf for a very long time. Won't waste my money again and very disappointed they were even considered for shipment.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Guy My Paso Fino, Ranger, is insulin resistent and so has missed out many times when some of our other mounts are getting treats during training. Now, he can receive some treats...which facilitate his learning curve dramatically!...and I am assured the treats are not doing him great harm.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product All of the horses love these treats. I very much appreciate the care and thought that went into this product. Thanks!
    Date published: 2010-09-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Overpriced for the quantity and quality My insulin resistant horse likes them, but the bag is small and not worth the price. There was also quite a bit of powdered treats in the bag, i.e. easily crumbled during shipping.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a mare who is subject to founder. I have to be careful of the sugar content of the food I give to her. These treats are great. She loves them and they haven't caused any problems to date.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for my mare My horse wouldn't touch these treats. She barely wanted to smell it. Granted she isn't Insulin Resistant so she gets a lot of other treats. I just thought I'd try something different. The fact the these treats are minimally processed is what I found interesting. They have several different flavors that smartpak doesn't offer.
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty but too expensive My horse has cushings so his treat choices are limited. He loves the taste of these, but the box is tiny and the cost is large. Until I find a better choice, I'll have to keep ordering, but he doesn't get as many as he deserves. I expect better pricing from Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from horse wouldn't eat! I was so excited to see these. It is tough to find treats for horses with special dietary needs. Unfortunately, our horse won't eat these. He spits them out every time. I even tried a couple mixed in his food-no way.
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Horses Love Them, But these treats are very expensive.Since I like to feed low sugar food, I will probably continue to buy them.
    Date published: 2010-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Treat for PPID/IR Pony! My half Haflinger pony has PPID (Cushings) and IR so I have to be very careful about his food - and that certainly includes his treats. I all but gave up on giving our little fellow treats until I tried these. He loves them! Now I have something to give him when he does a good job - or even just because I love him. Thanks for a great product geared toward special needs horses and ponies!
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IR horses deserve treats too! I'm so glad that SmartPak started carrying these treats! We have a lot of IR horses at my barn, and these treats contain great ingredients like cinnamon that are beneficial to the IR horse and taste/smell great as well. The tin is also really cute!
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    • 2015-03-02T07:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_8282, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.