Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

EquiFit Gel Bands

EquiFit
- Item #18100

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

EquiFit Gel Bands protect rider's heels, ankles and legs from rubs and irritation while riding. Gel Bands stay in place while riding and fit comfortably and unobtrusively under tall boots, chaps and half chaps. Gel Bands are ideal for breaking in new boots.

The EquiFit Gel Bands are made of a unique stretchable fabric lined with a polymer gel. These supportive wraps gradually release a soothing mineral oil into the skin. The Gel Bands are dermatologist tested and is both washable and reusable. Imported.

**If you have any circulatory problems or diabetes, pelase consult your physician before use. Discontinue use if irritation, rash or pain occurs.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    EquiFit Gel Bands is rated 4.2821 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT sold in pairs! Had I read I would have realized this, I was just so desperate for something to make my boots work I took the advice of other reviewers and bought these but over$50 for both feet! I am glad I ordered the tall. I was able to cut it and use it for both feet. Saddly with them on my boots don't fit, they didn't rub though! lol I will be keeping these as I had to mutilate them to make them work. Maybe they will work for something in the future...
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Wear Them Every Day! The only way I can wear my dress boots is with these gel bands. I put them under my breeches and socks and they stay in place well! I've hand washed them and they came out well. I have basically worn them every day (including in the winter with my winter boots) for 2 years and they are a bit stretched out now so I'm considering replacing them soon. I also use them on my horse's legs to prevent rubs on his cannon bone!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love these! The help a lot. The only thing is that they deform quickly. But other the that I LOVE them!
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for breaking in boots but wear out quick I am overall happy with my purchase as they have allowed me to break in my new tall boots without developing blisters. However after about 4 uses they have become ripped and I don't suspect they will hold up much longer which is disappointing considering the price of the tall style, of which I bought two. I wear mine on the outside of my sock as they're easier to adjust while getting your boot on, which may have contributed to the ripping. I would deffinately recommend these if you have a pair if tall boots that are simply to painful to break in.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence with this one... At first I LOVED this product. Great idea...feels great on your ankle/feet/wherever. BUT...wear thru & deform QUICKLY. If they were less expensive, I'd recommend them and buy more.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh... I had ordered the short pair in order to wear around my ankles because I was getting really bad blisters on the back of my heels. I wore them once for about 4 hours just standing and walking around at work and when I got home, there was a hole all the way through them from where my heels had rubbed against my boot. They do feel fantastic and work, but they wear through REALLY quickly. It probably wouldn't be so bad if you wore them around your calves for tall boot rubs and stuff like that.If you have a problem similar to mine, I'd just recommend thicker socks and big band aids around your heels because it would be far cheaper and just as effective.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous item! Great item to get you through new boots, rubs from breeches, anything that needs protection. Perfect size for around ankle, knee, heel or forefoot! Absolutely a great idea that really works!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea! I returned these but they are a great idea! Decided to just keep the short ones for around my ankles with new boots and around knee that had a rub. But it's a great great product with bad marketing because I never heard of them until a few weeks ago!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would NOT recommend This product wore thru after a very few times of wearing. It was way over priced and way over rated.
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my boots! I bought these because my boots were too big in the ankle and really rubbing. I was about to give up on those boots but then I found the Gel Bands.They have completely solved the problem. My boots fit great now. And the Gel Bands themselves are very comfortable and they stay in place.I only gave the durability a 4 because I have only had these for about a month and don't know how they will last.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed! When I trail ride for a few hours doing a fair amount of trotting I always get a rub on the front of my ankle/shin area from my half chaps. Although it doesn't hurt it looks awful and lasts several days then I do it again. I didn't even know this gel band product existed until I was browsing the SmartPak website. This is another example of what a great resource SmartPak is for all things horse & rider. I've used the bands three times now and they are just the ticket and even in hot weather I don't notice them. I can't say how durable they will be but I'm pretty sure I'll get at least one season of use.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more rubs! I have suffered many stirrup leather rubs while jumping and got into the habbit of wrapping my calfs with guaze to prevent them. I was skeptical that these would work, but they do, no more rubs! I have worn them under 1/2 chaps and in 90 degree heat, with complete success. You do have to order 2, but they cover from knee to ankle. Can't say how long the elastic will last. Will have to do an update.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my legs The inside of my knees rub really bad on occasion (we're talking 1/2 inch wide, 1 inch long# and my britches look like a bloody mess #especially white ones!). I got these and LOVE them. They have saved my legs. I've already recommended them to friends.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without them I constantly get rubbed/pinched on the back of my knee and these have been a lifesaver! Before I would have to use large bandaids that often fell off. I use these everyday, and my first band lasted me 2 months plus, and now has stretched out too much to use. So while they are pricey, if you care for them as instructed they are well worth it!
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Really Work I purchased my first pair of these over a year ago and wore them under my tall boots at least 8-9 shows before they had to be replaced. They really work and don't add bulk to even the snuggest fitting boots. They releive the pressure at my heel where the zipper bunches and allows me to walk around in my show boots all day with no pain. I was recently at a show and a friend was complaining about knee pressure-I suggested a pair which we found in one of the tack trailers and he loved them! You just need to try them for yourself.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can wear my tall boots with no back of the heel rubbing any longer! I might have liked them longer but they were not available when I ordered, but they protect well. Great product.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must have for breaking in Boots I bought this product because breaking in tall boots is not fun. My ankles killed where the leather was droping at the ankle and behind my knees didn't fell the greatest either. My friend saw these in a smartpak catalog and suggested I try them, glad i did! I noticed a difference the first time I wore them, but didn't know if they made that much of a difference, so the next time i rode, I rode without them....yea huge difference, from then on out I have worn them everytime. Next time I have to break in boots, I might get a pair for behind my knees as well!!I subtracted a star because I wish they were longer.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NECESSITY! I have had the unfortunate experiance of having to break in 6 pair of boots in less than a year, needless to say my feet hate me, I stumbled upon these in the cataloge and just HAD to try them, my new pair of boots are killing me and these make them tolerable! Wonderful fit, they do their job tremendously and I can't ride without them now! THANK YOU for an amazing product.
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help for uncomfortable boots! I dreaded wearing my old tall boots for the rubs they gave me around my ankles and achilles tendon, so I thought I would try these out for the new show season. They make life so much more comfortable! No more painful rubs, and although the "gel" texture felt a little weird at first, I quickly forgot about it when I was able to walk and ride in comfort. I've only had them for a few weeks, but so far they are holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth A Try You should give these a try if you are getting ankle rubs from your tall boots or spurs. I no longer get blisters and I can actually walk in my tall boots. I can't ride without them now. They do not always stay in place and get slippery when they're sweaty. They also tend to stretch out overtime. I find that they're a little pricey, but a lot cheaper than new boots!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes my Monacos wearable The tack shop lady recommended these gel bands to prevent Achilles rubs from my new pair of Ariat Monaco field boots. I was desperate because those boots have super-tight ankles that look fabulous but are actually designed to produce open sores on the legs. Moleskin just wasn't cutting it. Success! No more bleeding wounds. I wear the bands under my socks, forget they're there, and prance around in my field boots for hours. After 6 weeks of daily use and nightly rinses, they're starting to get a little scrungey, but my boots are torture devices without'em so I'm ordering another pair.Cons: they're sort of pricey for a product with such a limited lifespan. Also, they give me a touch of itchy dermatitis if I keep them on all day. And they're hot and sort of slimy. Even so, I wish they'd make a sightly larger version that would prevent back-of-the-knee rubs.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I expected more from Equifit I bought these in hopes of adding padding and prevent rubbing from the muck shoes I also ordered. They do not work well in heat. When I took them off today after my second use the gel had melted or work completly off. It came with a nice thick gel but after today it was a very very thin line. They also stretch out so if you were to put them around your ankle, they would stretch to fit it and then if you wanted it around your lower calf the next day they'd be too stretched out and wouldn't fit snugly. I'll be returning mine tomorrow. Don't waste your money. Equifit markets themselves as catering to the pros and by having the lastest technology but the money is all for the brand and not for quality.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for breaking in new tall boots! My new tall boots were rubbing the back of my knees so bad that it hurt to bend them! I bought these gel bands and wore them like a knee brace, and it really helped with the rubbing. The fact that they are washable and reusable is great as well!
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Seriously, these things are AMAZING. I've always had trouble with tallboot zippers rubbing the backs of my achilles tendons. My tallboots rubbed so bad that my ankles would bleed and I could hardly walk. I used to have to change out of my tallboots the second I got out of the saddle or I would be very uncomfortable, now I can wear my tallboots all day! They are extremely comftorable, I still don't even want to take them off. Best money I've spent in a long time!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more blisters I've only used this product for a little over a week but it has prevented the blisters I would always get in my tall boots within an hour of use. I used them in a show this past weekend and for once wasn't limping back to the trailer after my dressage test.They feel a little weird; cool, slick and rubbery. But they hug my heel and ankle without drooping or biting in tighly and prevent not only blisters but the rubs or chafing. Time will tell how they hold up and the only improvement to them that I can suggest is instead of mineral oil inbedded in them I would prefer a non-petroleum based soother, like aloe, perhaps.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Leave Home Without Them! I had a new pair of custom boots that I needed to break in so I thought I would give these a try. I get horrible rubs/blisters on my heels when I'm breaking in new boots. I've had some success with moleskin and Band-Aids, but this seemed like a much more sophisticated option. I was a little surprised by the thickness of the gel bands when I got them and was afraid that they would be too bulky under my boots. Luckily, that wasn't the case! I wear them around my ankles under my socks. They don't slide around at all, and I don't even feel them at all. They definitely have prevented rubs and blisters. I even wear them now under my broken in field boots when I'm going to be wearing them all day just as a precaution to protect my ankles. I love these gel bands. Can't recommend them enough and will never wear my field boots without them again!
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I was skeptical but desperate. After a ride a few weeks prior to purchasing, I had a substantial lump on my shin from a stirrup leather rub. And I mean substantial! It was agonizing to ride! I bought these bands not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. They alleviated all the discomfort immediately and have since helped the lump to heal. One band has lasted about five weeks already and it seems to still be good. It stretched out a little but that's it. They don't slip or bunch, drop or add much width to your leg! Buy them!
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Idea.. I was SO excited when i saw these gel bands available. I get bad rubs on the inside of my shins/calves and I though, awesome finally no more rubs.Overall, these tend to eliminate a majority of the rubbing, but they still do slide around and move a bit on the leg, so they have slipped upward and I got a minor rub. They fit pretty comfortably after the first day(they need to stretch a bit). They are easy to take on an off, and are comfortable enough for an entire 8 hour day or horse show of wear. If Im wearing thin breeches I still have to use bandages though.All in all, good buy, good product, but some minor tweeking would be helpful. If they were a tad bit longer I think the movement on the leg would be minimized. If you get rubs on your heels I think these would work very well.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.