Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18002

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The newest of the Mountain Horse winter boot. The Stella Polaris is fashionably chic as well as functional, meticulously designed for a comfortable fit and superior traction on ice and snow. Regular Calf Size. Sizes 6-10.

The Leg:
The durable, quilted PU Upper boasts membrane technology making this boot 100% waterproof up to the start of the zipper.

The Foot:
Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft nylex lining. Heat insulating faux fur will keep feet and toes warm.

The Sole System:
Built in steel shank for increased stability while walking or riding. Specially slim and contoured designed outsole made especially for riding.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is rated 4.2619 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy! I got these as a gift last winter, and as I intended to use them then, I had horse issues and couldn't ride in them aside from once! They need a while to break in, but once you do you NEVER want to take them off. I used to wear them to school, to break them in. They're bulky looking down by the foot, but very elegant in the calf. You HAVE to make sure you clean them, or else the material will not be as waterproof as it should be. Wear thick socks though, there is an odd harder plastic at the bottom of the zipper that makes the zipper a lot stronger, but it is a lot stronger on your ankles too! That zipper is strong, it is harsh to get up and stays right in place, it looks slightly pathetic, but it is a wicked good zipper. This year I've been wearing them much more often, including riding! They're so comfortable, aside from the ankle gouging. I walk all over the farm, do stalls, and go out and about with them. Riding was strange at first, it makes a loud squeaking sound when you first start riding in them, eventually it tones down to the level of a normal saddle vs. boot squeak. They keep your legs very stationary, and look perfect with a pair of warm winter breeches! I would definitely recommend these boots, you'll get compliments on their style, and you'll compliment yourself on your toasty feet!
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THESE BOOTS! I was very excited to try my boots on when they came in.... not only did they fit EXACTLY like the measurements said they would, but they were so comfy I didn't want to take them off.  I'm very short but wear a 10 wide. I was worried they would be too tall, and they did start out a little bit on the tall side, BUT after about 10 minutes of wear I could tell they would break in to fit me perfectly.  I've had Mountain Horse winter boots before and I was OK with them... these are AMAZING!  Best winter boot I have ever had in my entire life.  I can wear them forever and feel like I'm working in a pair of comfy slippers! #ImaVeryHappyCustomer
    Date published: 2013-11-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot, tight calf I have had other mountain horse boots for years and they finally wore a hole in them so I ordered these to replace them. The calf is too small on me, I had to return them for a wide calf. I didn't think I had large calfs, but my mom's ariat winter boots won't zip on me either. The fur on the inside seems a very nice quality. They come with inflatable boot trees. The zipper seems sturdier than my other mountain horse boots. I have had zippers fail in the past... I haven't ridden in them yet.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from COGDI The daughter not only loves these for riding but also for shoveling snow or other chores. Wish it came in my (calf) size!
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit I am SO disapointed in these!!!! I am probably the biggest promoter of Mountain Horse. I have returned every tall boot I've ever ordered only to always go back to Mountain Horse Tall Boots! I love love love my show and training tall boots but these I HATE. I tried them in a 8.5 and the calf was so tight because they put the stretch material on the side instead of in the back (where it needs to be). I couldn't zip it up. Then I ordered a 9 thinking it would fit. Once I realized I could grab the side and pull at the same time, I got it to zip up. Now the other issue... these are so bulky I can't even move around in the flat. I feel like I'm riding with blocks below my waist. I gave them a full three weeks to make sure I felt this way and I still do. The foot is super bulky and the calf is much too snug. It is just wrong and un-proportioned. I'm never even going to use them again and I feel like I could have spent the money on regular tall boots. I LOVE LOVE LOVE mountain horse! But these are horribly designed!If you are a rider who rides in the mountains in the deep snow they will probably work for you - but as a rider in training they do didly squat for me. I'm going back to my old old old MH boots and just wearing wool socks with them.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty toes! This is the first winter riding boot I've purchased... and I don't know why I waited so long. These were comfortable from the moment I put them on. The break at the ankle softened while I was walking around the house. They are warm... and for a winter boot, stylish. I don't know how durable they will be, so I left that blank. And, they do run large.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Winter Boot These boots are sized large. I would buy one size smaller than your normal boot size.They are comfortable and warm. For leisurely riding they are a must in the winter. To train in, not so hot. They are a bit bulky. I find it hard to use dressage methods because of the bulkiness. Perhaps an advanced rider might be more successful. They are good looking and are a nice quality. A tad pricey.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter boot I hesitated after reading the reviews about the height of these boots but I really wanted something I could wear over my jeans when it got really cold. I am 5'4" and when I first put them on they were really high and hurt as I drove in my car to the barn. However, after one ride they broke in nicely and settled right down below my knee. They are super comfortable and warm and I wear them all day working and riding. Sometimes the zipper can be tough to get up but for durability it has to be.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are WONDERFUL! Plus sized riders, GET THESE! I got to ride in these for the first time last week because our winter has been mild so far. Well, winter is now here and I pulled these out to wear and they are FABULOUS! I adore them!! I am plus sized and the elastic in the calf is PERFECT. The fur is so cozy and the foot bed very comfy. Because they are not leather, the ankle is a little stiff, but I can live with that. Like others say, they do run tall. I am 5'6" and I wish they were perhaps an inch shorter. It is bearable, but it takes a little getting used to. While riding, you feel the "over tallness" of them less, so that's a good thing. Also, I usually ride in suede half chaps and am not used to smooth boots, which are slippery and make me feel less secure. These boots are grippier than my half chaps and I LOVE them for this! Oh man give me a leather tall boot with a calf grip like this and I'd wear them forever!! I think they are priced fairly. They are not cheap, but I think the price is perfectly fine for this boot. I can't wait to wear these again!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Boots, Great Fit The zipper irritated my heels on the first day out. But after that, I wore thicker socks, and these boots have been fantastic. The shaft height is great (I'm 5'9"), they keep my legs and feet warm, and I've received several compliments on how they look.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I have never been a fan of tall boots, but my workboots (which I regularly wear riding) needed to be replaced. I decided to buy these boots for warmth and waterproof qualities, as I also do work in the barn.The biggest con I found was that the zippers were a BEAST to zip up. But once I had them on, they were so comfortable, I forgot I was wearing tall boots! I have worn them every day for a week, and have found that they zip up fine now; I believe the elasticity has more give now, and I can zipper with no problem. I also like how the soft material around the ankle makes keeping my heel down in the stirrup ultra easy! And it doesn't hurt that they are stylin' too!I do not find the boots too tall at all, and I am only 5'3" tall. Can't go wrong buying at SmartPak with their 100% satisfaction guarantee. :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I'd been eyeing these boots for a long time before purchasing them and I love them! It's so nice to have warm feet while I ride.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty Warm! My second winter with these boots. They are holding up great, and they keep my feet so warm! I get tons of compliments on them.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD FOR RIDING When I looked at reviews it was difficult to figure out whether people were just wearing these around the barn/town, or actually in the saddle.YOU CAN RIDE IN THESE.There, I've said it. They're warm, comfortable, and attractive, but I bought them to ride in because my feet were cold.While the sole is a bit thick ie more heavily treaded than a normal field or dress boot, I did not find this to be a problem. Interestingly, I find they ride more like a dressage boot, rather than a dress or field boot. The ankle is much less flexible, more stable, which works for me. Unlike a dressage boot, however, YOU CAN ALSO WALK IN THEM. Break-in time was nonexistent and I've had no trouble with rubbing. While they aren't particularly streamlined, I am still able to wear spurs with them.
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest toes in town I LOVE Mountain Horse products! I'm never disappointed in their quality, fit and durability. My latest acquisition, the Stella Polaris winter riding boots have kept my feet warm and dry in 27 degree weather. THe full faux fur lining from toes to top of boot is a wind-buster!! I only wore regular crew socks, not my normal smart wool winter hiking socks and my feet were toasty the whole 3 hour ride! Highly recommend if you're a winter rider. I have LONG legs (34" inseam and they come to just below my knee)
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not like. Looking for a comfortable, warm, tall winter riding boot. Have tried many. This boot along with several others was immediately uncomfortable when I tried it on and walked around my living room. The fit at the ankle was very uncomfortable and the height on the leg was way too high. It would take some time to break in. On the positive side the feel and fit of the foot part was very good. I am of average height (5'6") and leg length is average. Mountain Horse boots seem to run tall and are bent a bit to fit better when you are sitting on your horse. Purchased the Blizzard below and love it.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped after being worn a few times. I wore these boots no more than six times since purchasing them this year. Last week after brushing into the wall of the inside riding ring I realized there was a 3+ inch tear down the front of my left boot. Sometimes everyday riding boots get some abuse. I would hope a pair of boots the cost almost $200 would hold up better than this. I have an older pair if Rimfrost boots that seem a lot tougher but not very comfortable which is why I purchased the Stella polaris style. I won't be buying another pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I wore these boots for 4 hours both riding and teaching outdoors. My legs and toes were toasty the whole time.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too tall I liked the boots, but had to return because they were way too tall. Hit me in the middle of my knee cap. I'm 5'6" tall. Not sure if this is a brand thing or not. Ordered some boots from another company and they fit great. Mountain Horse may just have super tall boots.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great boot, but too tall I wear a 10.5 or 11... bought this boot (elsewhere) in 11 Wide Calf, and the foot length is a smidgen long, but I think a 10 would be too small. Like other MH boots I've tried, the calf length is very tall, much too tall for me, and I'm average height (5'6"). But since I got these elsewhere and shipping wasn't free, and since I liked everything else about the boot so much, decided to keep them, and my solution is that I just don't snap the boot or zip up the zipper all the way, I leave it an inch or two from the top, and the zipper stays up fine. I know, probably looks a little goofy, but since they are winter boots after all, it works. I put in heel lifts too. My calves are 16" and I'm glad I got the Wide Calf, probably the regular wouldn't have worked over winter breeches and socks. I still have some room in the calf, probably a 17" or maybe even wider calf could fit this boot. A very warm, functional boot, works great, feels great, and looks cute-- I get a lot of compliments, even with my goofy partially zipped zippers, LOL! I have no problems with them in English stirrups, but in Western stirrups they are a little difficult to manage, I have to bend over and help my foot into the stirrup sometimes. Would highly recommend these, especially if you have l-o-n-g legs.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good-looking boots, warm feet, but issues with fit I would love to give these boots an even higher rating, but have had issues with the fit. But first, let me start with what I love about them:* For the first time, I have warm feet while riding in the winter! Oh, what a difference these boots make! On a recent "warmish" day (near 40 degrees), I switched to my regular boots, and was reminded just how cold my feet get while riding in non-insulated boots.* I feel very fashion-forward while wearing these boots, and have received several compliments (and "where did you buy those?" inquiries) about them.* Although the exterior boot material is not leather, the material lining the inner legs provides just the right amount of "stick" against the saddle.* Fit issues notwithstanding, the boots are comfortable to wear right out of the box, with a nice, fuzzy lining that makes me feel impervious to cold!Okay, now for the not-so-good aspects:* These boots run LARGE! I normally wear a size 9.5 in regular shoes, but often go down to 8.5 in riding boots. I ordered these in size 8, and have belatedly realized that they are still too big. Compounding the problem is the "rough" stitching where the zipper is sewn into the back of the boot. Since my heel rubs against the back of the boot somewhat as I walk, I have been having trouble with getting blisters at the point of the rub.* Little gripe: For some reason, it's kind of hard to snap up the snaps. But, other than that, the boots are very easy to get on.
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! They keep my feet nice and warm without the need for extra socks. A winter must!
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm boots Snug through ankle but roomy in calf. Very comfortable boots to both walk and ride in.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my boots These boots are well worth the price, my legs stay warm..
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good...... Love how warm they are, zipper is kind of an issue if you dont oil it after each use. I also have an issue with them creeping down after each ride so I have to re-adjust them after each ride but overall I am pleased with them. I haven't had the oppertunity to ride in extreme cold weather yet but they are doing well in the 40 degree days of standing in cold sand teaching and riding.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice boots These boots are well made and warm. I used to get MH winter boots in a size larger to accomodate winter socks but these run true to size. The heel area is big for me and my heel rubs some. Also, I have slim calves and these are quite large in the calf for me.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! Really liking these boots! I have 15" calves so ordered wide to accommodate different thicknesses of pants - wise choice. Plenty of room in the foot. My feet stay warm, and I am always the first to complain about cold feet. My only negative is that they come up a little high on the back of my knee, but I am only 5'4" with short legs, so that is more on me. Why did I wait so long to purchase a good winter boot???
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm so far. Comfortable. Good fit. Will see how they are in the really cold weather.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter boots Was so happy to find these when they were sold out everywhere else I looked. These boots fit well, are comfortable and keep your feet very warm.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.