Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Ariat® Brossard Zip Paddock Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #17605
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ariat Brossard Zip Paddock Boot offers complete all-weather protection in a durable style that won't wear out! This waterproof paddock boot will protect you from the elements both in and out of the saddle.

Favorite Features

  • 4LR technology cushions and stabilizes the foot for all day comfort and performance
  • 200 gram Thinsulate® insulation with moisture-wicking lining and thermal footbed with X-Static® lining to regulate foot temperature
  • Gently rounded toe styling accommodates a more generous fit
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Waterproof full grain leather with a neoprene lined suede collar
  • Antique brass zipper
  • Duratread outsole for great traction

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Brossard Zip Paddock Boot is rated 4.5098 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Winter Riding Boot GREAT Boot! Have ridden with this boot down to -10 so far this winter. I find I need toe warmers when it gets below zero, but otherwise this boot has kept my feet toasty warm at temps above zero. Works great in the snow as well. Well developed foot bed - very comfortable to wear. It is bulky, but that's to be expected with an insulated boot that works in arctic climates. Other reviews mentioned issues with the zipper - If I run my finger along ahead of the zipper, it doesn't stick. I can wear my half chaps over these boots - but can't zip fully down, which didn't seem to matter in my riding. However, for winter riding, I'm mostly in my full seat insulated breeches, so the bulk in the boot isn't an issue and doesn't seem to inhibite my riding. Great winter riding wear product. I definitely recommend these boots for those riding in very cold temps.
    Date published: 2014-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots I was hesitant at first about these boots at first thinking they couldn't live up to my old ariats..but alas, so far they are amazing! Keep my feet warm and are very comfortable :)
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great working boots and very comfortable ! Love them
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, waterproof and comfortable I bought these for mucking out and general barn chores and they are terrific. The footbed is comfortable and your feet don't freeze when the temps are in the teens. I can't speak to how they are to ride in as I ride in my grand prix paddock boots.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot I've had these boots for several weeks now, in frigid temps this winter. Did a lot of research ahead of time to try to find the best winter boot--only wanted a paddock boot, not a tall one. The boot is quite roomy (but true to size), and is also quite stiff due to the extra insulation, but I am finding that it's breaking in nicely. Fits easily into stirrup as usual. I have also had some trouble with the zippers--read lots of complaints about them before purchase--it seems to be due to the extra lining under the zipper. If you push down on the lining while zipping, it seems to take care of the problem. Boots have kept my feet warm nicely, and construction is really solid, just like with my other Ariat boots. I'm very pleased with my purchase and recommend this boot.
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Waterproof Great warm winter riding boots that are flexible in the stirrup and waterproof.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this, love Ariat! I bought these boots about a month ago and I am happy so far! I love the feel and comfort of the Ariat boots and they broke in well with just two or three wearings. I have found them pretty warm as well, although just cotton socks don't work well in the somewhat cold weather because if your feet sweat then they get chilly. I wear winter socks in them and am happy. They may not work well in super cold weather...single digits, but down to that they have been good for me. I can't say anything about durability yet but I expect them to be good because my Ariats always have been.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great, warm paddock boots Ordered these boots for cold weather. Was very happy with them. However, decided to go with the tall boot version as to not need to worry about paddock boots. Very warm and comfortable nonetheless!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A great disappointment. It was the winter boot that I've been looking for, for a long time. I didn't realize this was a woman boot until I received delivery. When I order the boot in size 11, it was never made clear that this style only came in kid's and women sizes. This boot wasn't even made for men. It was going to be the gift I'm giving myself but I had to send it back. I was hoping that there may be a very large kid size that may fit me but I was told the largest kid size is about half of a man's size 11. I really hope they'll make a men version of this boot soon.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot at great price This is my 3rd pair, and I got a spare for future use. I love them. These boots last a full 1-2 years with daily rigorous use (aka beating) in wet, cold weather through barn chores and out to the manure pile type conditions. I do EVERYTHING in them all winter except trudge through foot-deep snow. I don't usually ride in them (because I have a pair of tall Ariat winter boots for that) except if I am hopping on bareback for a few minutes. They are not as good as the Ariat winter boot style that preceded the Brossard (Ice berg or something like that) in that the foot-bed is not as supportive and the insert slides in the boot. The foil bottom of the insert is slippery so if your boot is a little big or your feet get sweaty and the base is sticking to you then the insert slides as you take your foot out. It is annoying but otherwise this sliding feature is not functionally an issue. So I plan to use a little sticky tape on the bottom of this new pair.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This boot will keep your toes nice and toasty! I couldn't stand that my feet were always icicles at the barn this winter, so I spent an evening huddled under a blanket and my laptop trying to pick out a winter paddock boot. I bought the Ariat Brossards because of the reviews, and because I know Ariat works with my foot. I ordered the same size as my regular Ariat paddock boots (9) and the fit is fine. My toes are comfortably close to the end of the boot, but I'd be concerned that a 9.5 would be too large. These feel a bit flatter in the footbed than my normal Ariat paddock boots; those looking for support when walking might do better with an aftermarket insert.The Brossard boots are a wider style in the toebox -- this is probably partly why I find it okay that that I didn't go up a size. I can still comfortably fit the boot into a stirrup iron. I'm still in the process of breaking these in, but so far I'm pleased with how they are softening. If you zip the boot up all the way, it's a snug fit at the top. When you're breaking them in, this can create a slightly bruised feeling on the part of your leg that makes contact with the top of the boot. I suggest unzipping them by about an inch to break them in when walking around and doing barn chores, and then zipping them all the way up to ride. At least until they're broken in completely.These are my first paddock boots with a front zipper. Because of the insulated tongue and thicker boot wall, you might find that they're a little sticky to zip right around the middle of the zipper (bend in the boot), however, I don't mark this against the boots performance because I can understand why this is the case.The warmth of the 220 gram Thinsulate in these boots is perfect for being outside and being at the barn, usually on cold concrete! You will find that your feet might start to sweat a bit if you wear them inside though, and you have to take them off or risk a wet sock (which can be uncomfortable). I had no problems with sweating when wearing them outside though, and I have a skin condition on the soles of my feet that exacerbates sweating when overly warm.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Warm, comfortable and great support. They clean up well after being in the barn and can be worn for everyday wear.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you have arch and heel pain, get these boots! I bought a pair two years ago, and I have worn them year round since, even in summer. I find that if I put on just regular paddock boots, my feet hurt within an hour. I tried many shoes over the years until I found these, always with the same issue, in dire pain after a few hours on my feet. Until I found Brossard! These can keep me on my feet all day, from 7:30 am to 5 pm and I can still go out dancing at night! Sadly, mine are so worn I have to replace them now, but it's not bad, for 2 years of full-time wear! Great deal!
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from brozard boot is pretty good this is a nice heavy warm useable paddock boot.i would like it a lot more with a lower heal, that being said i have major foot issues and without those problems i would rate it better.i think the size is a tiny bit small, as i wear 9.5 in ariat and this is 10 and only a very little bit large, we will see how they hold up next winter when i wear them more.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from these boots seem to be very well made no problem with breaking in wore them all day first time and didn't end up with cold wet feet
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots - great price on clearance Fit well, seem comfortable - winter boots, so I'll be wearing them more next season!!
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! These are fabulous boots! Comfortable and durable I wear them everyday. You get what you pay for and I think these are so worth every penny plus they're super cute! I'm so happy I decided to go with Ariats!!!!
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Live Up To The Test My ranch hand gave me a pair of these boots for my birthday (thoughtful guy, wouldn't know what to do without him!) because he said they would keep my feet warm and dry. Well, it's true! I had been wearing the Ariat barn boots and although the comfort was terrific, the side zipper broke early on with both pairs I owned. They also didn't have the insulation that these have. The design of the front zippers on these boots, as opposed to the side zippers on the barn boots, tends to keep the zippers cleaner and there's not as much wear and tear on them. The fit was right on and took no time at all to break in. I did find the high tops took a little getting used to but the ankle support in the long run has been better for me. If I find I should have put on my muck boots instead of these, they stand up to muddy, wet conditions just as well. I purchased a second pair so I have one nice pair of boots when needed. I use my first pair primarily for ranch work and they're getting hammered but living up to the test.
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stiff and Uncomfortable While these boots are definitely warm, they are incredibly uncomfortable. They are super stiff and make correct alignment of the foot impossible while riding. I could put virtually no weight in my heel since the boots were so stiff. I have been riding in them for the past three weeks in the hopes that they would become more supple, but to no avail. They are also not comfortable to walk around in. I intend to try and return them this week...
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good in snow! Despite initial stiffness at top where zipper closes, these boots were great trudging through cold and snowy weather. My feet stayed dry and warm and there is good arch support so walking was very comfortable. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good Last year I found a pair of these boots on clearance-they were a hair tight but the price was right. That pair was so warm and served me so well I splurged this year and bought a pair in my proper size. I am very happy with the comfort, warmth and look.There are only two issues I have with them: 1) I wear mine almost everyday, and if I forget to put them on the dryer they are still damp inside. Dispite the damp, my feet have not been cold-just damp. 2) traction-again I wear them all day everyday, and I think they are more for riding not chores.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feet love this boot Great boot. Warm enough so far and the fit is super comfortable. Plenty of room for socks and toes. I ordered the same size Ariat as usual.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Uncomfortable Boots I hate to be the lone dissenter here but these boots are awful. The footbeds are rock hard. I wore them for two hours last night and my feet are KILLING me today. Also, the top of the boot is too close/tight when zipped, resulting in my feet going numb (I have this problem a lot with boots so usually buy lace ups). And probably worst of all, the shank is very very stiff, making it almost impossible to get my heels down, and when I force it, it jabs into my ankle.Not comfortable at all in any way, shape or form.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots Very warm in the winter and super comfy. The round toe fits my feet great and doesnt pinch like most boots.
    Date published: 2011-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I didnt want to wear out my expensive tall boots so I decided to purchase a pair of paddock boots. They were fantastic!Super comfy and looks great everytime I wash them. They are a little stiff and rub on you in the beginning but they break in and feel very soft after a few rides.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I hoped for I haven't taken these boots off since I got them! I've been wearing them to the office as well as the barn. Comfortable right out of the box, warm and waterproof; they're doing nicely in this extremely snowy winter.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like the boots very much Little tight in the bend of the ankle.... zipper is hard to get up. But wonderful boots.
    Date published: 2011-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and comfortable These boots have a round toe and are very comfortable. they run true to size. In recent snow, my feet stayed warm and dry. Very happy with my purchase
    Date published: 2011-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have toasty toes! I got these to replace an older pair of similiar boots. They are great! My feet have stayed warm after barn chores and riding. They are slightly bulkier than regular paddock boots but fit under my Ariat All Around 1/2 chaps and Ariat Thermal 1/2 chaps easily.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super boots These were a gift for my daughter, who is very picky about her footwear. She loves them- they kept her feet toasty warm this weekend for 3 hours of barn chores. The rounded toe is cute and they are very comfortable. A bit stiff for riding though, right out of the box, it will be a few more weeks before they are broken in enough for that. But most insulated boots take a fair amount of time to break in, so its not really a problem.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    • 2015-03-05T07:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_7605, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.