Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Ariat® Brossard Tall Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #17604
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Winter riding just got warmer with the Ariat Brossard Tall Boot!  This stylish, waterproof, and warm winter riding boot is designed to keep you comfortable even if you are spending all day in the saddle and at the barn.  The soft, suede leg is warm and flexible with a drawstring top for the perfect fit.

Favorite Features

  • 4LR technology for all day comfort
  • 220 grams Thinsulate® insulation with moisture-wicking lining and thermal foot bed with X-Static® lining to regulate foot temperature
  • Gently rounded toe styling accommodates a more generous fit
  • Waterproof full grain leather with suede and neoprene uppers
  • Full-length back zipper for easy on and off
  • Duratread outsole

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Brossard Tall Boot is rated 4.6147 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Measure Your Calf! In most boots a regular calf size fits me, but this boot did not.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Calf too narrow While it would seem this would be a great winter riding boot, the calf was too narrow. Manufacturers should recognize that women who wear a size 11 shoe would generally not have skinny calves
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm and Comfortable I just got these boots as an early Christmas gift, and they look nicer than I expected and are very warm and very comfortable. I sometimes struggle to get boots that zip up the back on, but these were easy. Also, I'm 5'4 and many tall boots are too high on me, but these are just right and fit perfectly on the calf. The only two negatives I see to these boots are that if your calf size is over 14 they probably won't fit, and also I am not sure how long the suede will last if I ride in them a lot - but we will see!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm! I spent a lot of time researching insulated winter riding boots, as I am not looking to repeat another winter without a pair. My critera was: reasonably waterproof (these are waterproof up to a little past the ankle), comfortable to wear all day, warm (obviously), and not too bulky.So far, I am happy with them. However, they are a little bit bulky, as to be expected, and I am having a little bit of trouble schooling in them, as I can't feel as much through them... if that makes sense. For hacks they are perfect. But I'm sure that's to be expected in any insulated boot.In terms of sizing, I am a size 8.5. The 8.5 in this boot was huge! So I exchanged for an 8. Honestly, I probably could have gone down a whole size, but the 8 works as I intend on wearing heavier socks as the temperatures drop.Overall, I am very pleased with them. They have the typical extremely comfortable Ariat footbed, keep my feet warm, are wind and water resistant, and are well made. I was between these and the Ariat Bromonts, but couldn't convince myself to fork out the extra 100 bucks.Worth noting... I get a lot of compliments on them.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Boots I waited over a year to finally purchase these beautiful boots. Now that I have them, I'm smacking myself wondering why I waited so long. Super comfortable and very warm. I love the looks and the functionality of these buggers.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable - perfect fit! I replaced my winter riding boots with these two weeks ago. I absolutely love them. They are so comfortable from day one and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 years and still being asked where I got them! Wear these boots as my winter staple. Incredibly warm, my feet are never left feeling chilled after being in the freezer-like arena all day. (on -50F days)Also very nice in the stirrups. Great grip yet excellent sole for flexibility in the irons.Awesome fit and so comfortable!! I wear these every day all day throughout the winter and no one even notices the horse poop! (Asked once a week by strangers for where they can find them)Have held up exceedingly well after wearing them for 6 months every winter, for the past 4 years. (Only noticeable wear is on the toe.)
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots These boots are so warm and comfy it's ridiculous. They take no break in time, because the ankle and leg part is so soft. They're more comfortable than half chaps and way easier to deal with. They even have spur rests. Personally, I don't think they're the prettiest boots ever, but I got over that real quick when I first wore them. I'm so glad I have these!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boy Am I Glad I Have These Boots This Winter! I bought these boots last year and liked them. This winter, I LOVE them! Central Pennsylvania winters aren't usually too harsh, but this one is way out of the ordinary for cold and snow. Warm and comfy and pretty waterproof. They are much shorter than usual tall riding boots, which took a bit of getting used too. They have handled the deep snow well, though!There is a Velcro tab and a snugging upable elastic band around the top of the calf that helps adjust fit. The zipper is heavy duty and runs up the back of the boot. There are built in pull tabs down at the ankle inside of the zipper. They sometimes need to be adjusted to get the zipper up. There are spur rests. The toe box is roomy. I was between sizes and went with the larger size and am quite happy with the result. Initially a bit sloppy, but the foot bed has conformed to my feet and I'm happy with my choice.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worked for 1 year now are awful i got these boots a year ago they were great last winter but now they are awful. in december i was outside for a while helping with pony rides during/after a sleet storm. there was a lot of snow/rain mixed together aka sleet in the ring. i thought i had the perfect boots on brcause they say that they are 100% waterproof. LIE!! everytime i took a step i could feel the water sloshing in my boot. and my feet were so cold. now whenever the temperature gets below 35 farenheit my feet are numb. today i even wore my fuzzy Hunter rain boot boot liners inside of these and nope, my feet were still numb. these boots were great last year but now are completly falling apart!! . the suede on the inner leg has rubbed off in some parts.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest boots! These boots are incredibly warm!! My feet and legs have not been cold once since I got these boots. The waterproofing is also excellent!So far, the durability is great. I wear these boots 6 days a week. I am interested to see how long they can stand up to that kind of wear.My only complaint was in the sizing. I ended up having to order 3 different sizes before I got ones that fits. I normally wear size 8, and I had to get a size 7 in these boots. Thankfully SmartPak has a great exchange policy, so it did not cost me anything extra for shipping.I think these are a great pair of boots for the price!!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Wore these daily, riding and working. Very durable, pretty warm, but on 25 degree days I will still a little cold. Overall the best winter boot around.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great winter boot for chores and light riding This is my second winter wearing these boots in Northern CO. I LOVE the look of them (was hard to get them muddy that first day!) and they are not difficult to ride in. They aren't stiff or bulky and broke in really easy.They are a little short on my calf (I'm 5'7) and hit the flaps of my CC saddle but work better in my dressage saddle. They are very warm, waterproof and comfortable to be in all day. I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Ariat Brossard Winter Riding Boots I received these Ariat Brossard Winter Riding Boots for Christmas. Love them ! They fit great and are really warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, not bulky-looking Bought these as a Christmas gift for my skinny-legs 12 year-old daughter, whose toes numb when the temps fall. Considered the Mountain Horse line of winter boots, as our local tack shop carries those, but all appeared crazy-bulky in comparison to my lightly built kid. I've heard from others that those popular (and great-looking) river boots are not water proof -- and water proof is a must-have. So, I found these Ariat boots online and saw that they are very highly reviewed. Took a chance with the purchase because SmartPak's customer service can't be beat ... anyway, these arrived and I am pleasantly surprised, first of all, at how nicely they fit: they don't look bulky or gappy at all. Also, my kid has worn them through a few sub-30 degree evenings at the barn and has not yet suffered numb toes or water leakage. Great! They seem to perform as well as barn-mates' insulated, sub-zero-rated muck boots. Also, another bonus: these boots sometimes look purple in the pictures, but they are grey and black/dark grey. The look is sophisticated, despite what you may see on your computer screen. Only thing is that she hasn't been able to ride in them yet-- don't forsee any issues, as they don't add a ton of bulk to her foot, ankle or leg. Unless you have some tiny-sized stirrups, these will probably fit ... and buying from Smartpak is kind of like buying with insurance, anyway. Their customer service really is top-rate and I've never regretted a purchase-- even the ones I've had to send back.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from felt like slippers from the start! These boots are very comfortable.  They felt almost like slippers when putting them on the first time!  I have several students, and even my vet, wearing these boots and they highly recommended them--and now I know why! I wear them everywhere as they keep my feet warm and dry.  I like the leather foot too, as I can re-waterproof that when the lining breaks down.  I expect to have these boots for years!  I teach and train through WI winters, and these boots have been great thus far.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat Brossard Tall Boot Absolutely love these boots.  Are great for riding and even for wearing casually, if you remove all the mud from the barn.  Would highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comfy but too short for me Super warm and comfy but not tall enough for me I'm 5-8
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful boot but had to return This is a gorgeous boot, however, with the fit, it "caved in" at the back of my ankle and pressed on it while I was just trying it out in my house. I wasn't sure if that would ever relax and go away so I had to return them because $200 is alot for a boot that I may or may not be able to wear. The quality and look is amazing though, so it was sad to return them.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot but small in the calf Love this boot. The foot bed feels amazing - both supportive and comfortable, and feels very true to size. It's also a really beautiful boot. The only problem is that the calf is too small to fit over my winter breeches. Hopefully Ariat will offer them with larger calf sizes... REALLY wish they fit.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy Winter Boots! I bought these boots for my daughter last year -and she loved them so much I thought I'd splurge on myself this year. I ordered my regular Ariat boot size and at first I was concerned the boots might be too snug...(they are lined)...but once I started walking around in them they felt more comfortable. A 1/2 size up would have been too big in the foot I think. I'm expecting warm, dry feet this winter!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from winter riding I bought these boots to keep warm while riding this winter. They fit well and are true to size. I love the rounded toe for me. It's not been cold yet so I can't rate them for that use just yet but they feel very warm when I put them on.
    Date published: 2013-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the boots! They fit great, and are very warm. Some of the reviews mentioned that they thought the boots were short, I see what they mean, but it has not been a problem for me at all. I love that they are waterproof, it doesn't matter how much mud I have to walk through, all I have to do, is spray they off. I can go all day in them, including riding.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm Boots Thse boots are so warm I have been really surprised all I need is a pair of Smartwool socks and my feet are toasty warm. My only regret buying them is that I didn't get them sooner this winter. They have exceeded expectations and some of my barn friends just bought them too.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC WINTER BOOT!! These boots is fantastic! I look for excuses to wear them. I have been through slushy snow, puddles, and deep mud--not a wet or cold foot yet. AND....they are so comfortable--like wearing slippers. They are lined with a cozy fleece. My only complaint is that the foot bed in one boot has a ripple in it that I can't seem to get flat...it is pretty irritating. But other than that, so worth the money. I was hesitant to spend so much on boots, but no regrets here. I have not had the problem with the boots slipping down, as other riders. I have a 15.5 inch calf, and they are perfect. Couldn't get a much bigger calf in the boot, though. Great purchase, thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty tootsies These boots are so warm and comfortable, I'm at the barn for long periods of time taking care of my daughters pony and my feet are never cold, living in the northeast temps are usually freezing and I'm always nice warm! I get compliments on them too , so that's an added plus!
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wanted these to work These boots are well made and warm. I tried to get the right size twice. I ended up sending them back, too tight in the calf. It made it hard to get the boots zipped up.
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter boots ever Great for riding, mucking or any conditions! SO WARM
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty and comfy Perfect boot for riding through Montana winters...
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Boots These boots keep my feet really warm even with very thin socks BUT they are not tall enough. The top gets caught in the bottom of the saddle flap, if they were taller they would be perfect boots for winter. Very comfortable and warm and great to ride in other than the height of them. I am only 5'6" so I thought after reading other reviews that stated they weren't tall enough it wouldn't bother me, but it does.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    • 2015-03-02T07:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_7604, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.