Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Pony Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17379
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

All of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers protection against the elements and cold winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable.
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell.
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements.
  • Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure which can be adjusted to gain the perfect fit.
  • Combination nylon/elastic leg straps prevent the blanket from shifting.
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place.   
  • Two stainless steel low cross surcingles.  
Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Pony Turnout Blanket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is a great blanket I have recommended to others. The only gripe I have is the stupid leg straps. I removed them and just use a strap from one side to the other, like my Rambo Wug has.
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket I've Found Very happy with purchase. Bought in 66" for 13.3 pony. Seemed slightly larger than his 66" Rhino Pony Wug. The snap front is a lifesaver on cold dark nights with two pairs of gloves on. And it's adjustable, unlike the Rhino Wug. Traditional blankets have given him rubs after just a few weeks of use, but after daily wear all winter he's rub free.Pony lives in a pasture with several known blanket shredders but it doesn't even have a mark on it. Had to replace one of the hind leg straps when someone forgot to buckle it and he stepped on it. All the other buckles and straps are in great condition, not even a speck of rust yet (unheard of at his coastal barn). The high neck even helps train his mane to lay his mane over properly. Just wish it came in more colors. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent durability I purchased this blanket for our rescue pony who has been with us for a year now. Last year's blanket she grew out of/put on weight.. .. so I had to get her a new larger blanket. This new blanket is perfect........good, strong quality, fits perfect and the adjustable breast staps work great plus it has the leg straps. This little pony is the sweetest, kindest little equine and I am so happy to know that she is toasty warm and comfortable during our winter, some snow and a lot of rain thus this year so far has been amazingly mild. The blanket breathes and her fuzzy coat does not geet sticky on the warmer days that we have been experiencing.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this blanket It looks very well made, and it fits my small hard to fit mustang very well. I like the front closure a lot. I had a problem with one of the fasteners breaking and one of the leg straps not keeping it's adjustment and customer service was very kind to me and sent replacements to me at no charge right away. I don't know how durable it is yet because I've had it for less than a month, but I don't anticipate any problems
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasant Surprise! I've purchased "store brand" blankets in the past and found them to be of lesser quality than some of the more well-known names. But that is definitely not the case with this blanket! It exceeded my expectations on fit, details and overall quality. I'll definitely consider a SmartPak blanket when it comes time to replace the bigger boys' blankets based on this beautiful pony blanket.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Purchased this blanket for our 11.1 Welsh Cross. He is broad shouldered and wide so the 63" is a nice fit. The high neck seems so much more comfortable for him than the traditional cut. I'm very pleased with the quality of this blanket so far. We've only had it a few weeks but I think it'll hold up well. It's not too heavy, yet keeps him toasty warm. I love ease of the front buckles. The rear leg straps are a bit longer than necessary, but that's the only negative which really isn't a big deal. He looks well dressed and seems comfortable in this blanket, plus the price is very reasonable for such a nice quality product. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 0058-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great blanket, except for... I have purchased another of these blankets in large horse size 2 winters ago, and have been VERY happy with the durability, so ordered the same for my small Arabian mare. It fits true to measured size, is well made, with good adjustment on the chest fasteners. EXCEPT...the chest strap adjustments are a little too short, need to be just and inch or two longer, so they will tuck in. my horse is about average width in the chest, a beefier pony or Q.H. might need a little longer strap for better adjustability but the bigger issue on this blanket is the poor quality of the elastic back leg straps. they slide out of adjustment within moments, and the claw snaps are sticky, and are slightly smaller than the loops they are supposed to snap onto. I can't imagine trying to snap them on (or off) in cold, windy, rainy, Pacific n.w.weather. I am disappointed because I will have replace them imed. with better quality straps & snaps. however, with those two minor criticisms aside, I still must say I am very happy with the blanket overall. In the purchased size 66, the drop length is very good for a small horse, or a large pony . The extended neck is a great fit for keeping rain from wicking under blanket in heavy rainstorms, and the materials, construction, and attention to detail (except for the leg straps) make this a blanket that is a good value for any price, and a great value with the SmartPac pricing.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent turnout blanket for tough weather I bought a 57" for an 11.1 pony who has been somewhat difficult to fit. This works for him and he seems comfortable in it - he will let me put this one on when he is loose in the paddock. It has kept him dry in serious downpours already.The front is styled with a combination of two snaps that have buckle adjustments, and they can each be snapped to one of two D-rings. This gives you a lot of leeway in the fit, a wonderful feature for these small ponies where an inch or two off can be problematic. Also, if you're an adult blanketing a small pony, the snap front is a godsend - trying to do up buckles that hit me at mid thigh, in the mud, in the dark, under a tiny, fuzzy neck, is a serious PITA. This blanket is much faster and easier to put on and off than his previous blanket.It also has leg straps and belly cross surcingles, with elastic inserts inside the fasteners on the surcingles. The leg straps are a tiny bit long even shortened as short as they can go, but they are acceptable. The fit on this blanket is deep. If I were the designer I might shorten the drop (withers to hem along the belly) another inch - these little guys don't have a lot of leeway. Still, the depth has not been a problem for him so far, even as he trots around or rolls.I bought the 57" for a pony that measures 57". I have it on the smallest adjustment in front. I would say this is a good size for him, but when in doubt, go to the smaller size. The adjustment in front gives you about 6" range in your options.I quite like the high neck on this blanket, which does a great job of keeping his shoulders dry in heavy rain.I ranked the blanket 4 for durability because I don't really know how it will hold up. However, it seems very well built and I have every expectation it will last several seasons. It is clear that there was a great deal of attention to detail with the choice of fasteners and construction, where the quality and utility of the blanket was more important than the cheapest possible price. And still, the price is very attractive.I would buy this blanket again, and if it holds up well this winter, recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product/great value this blanket is wonderful! great fit except a little high in the neck for my pony. great value and quality materials.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really nice ponyturnout I am very happy with the quality of the blanket that I purchased for my pony.The fit leaves room for growing,but it isn't sloppy.The contours are right. It looks great!
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    • 2015-02-27T07:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_7379, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.