Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17374

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat! 

  • Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected
  • Nylon lining with the choice of three different weights - Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g) so you can keep your horse warm in any weather 
  • Two buckles for simple front closure and
  • Stainless steel low cross surcingles keep the blanket in place
  • Elastic leg straps ensure comfort and flexibility  
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Fleece wither protection helps ward off blanket rubs

Imported.

Please note:  We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

For a special deal on Black, click here.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6212 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't had it long . . . Received this blanket just in time for it to warm up and he only wore it for a couple of days. However, it seems to be very well made, good hind leg straps, secure belly straps, and a true-to-size fit. I have been using the SmartPak turnout sheet for several months and it is still hail and hearty. I wouldn't expect anything less from this blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price Excellent blanket for the price! Durable exterior, sturdy hardware, very waterproof and fits really well through the shoulders! I also received the extra smartperks discount which made it a tremendous value!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No need to spend more I bought a classic turnout for one of my horses 3 years ago. It has held together so great I bought a second for my pony. Great fit, warmth and waterproof. No need to spend more, this blanket has it all.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great Blanket looks great and fits great, the material is as described as well as the fit.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good All-around Blanket I can't say anything about the durability, since I have just had the blanket two weeks, but the fit is good for a stocky Quarter Horse. It has kept my mare warm and dry in some pretty nasty weather, and it is showing no damage even though she is at the bottom of the pecking order and often gets beat up. It is a good blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2013-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buy An Extra Pair of Leg Straps I love this turnout blanket, but the leg strap are absolutely horrible. Fortunately, leg straps are inexpensive and this blanket is a bargain. SmartPak, please put better leg straps on this blanket! Then it will be 5 stars in my book :-)
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad leg straps The leg straps are super flimsy and falling apart after a week. The adjustment on it does not hold so everyday his leg straps have fallen back to the longest length and I have to make them shorter everytime. And the are very cheap thin elastic. I am going to have to just remove them.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I love this turnout. It fits well, great and accurate sizing, and love that it comes in solid black now. Looks stunning on my red roan. Great quality for a fair price.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Smartpak blankets. I especially love the choices of weight, i.e. light-medium-heavy.
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Quality Purchase I bought this sheet as a light turnout for my Fjord mare. The durability was solid and the seam placement allows for good freedom of movement through the shoulder- especially for those happy bolts across the pasture. My horse is a 70" but I went for the 69" as the 72" would be too big. The length is pretty true to size if not a bit short as the tail flap does not lie flat on my pony. If you are between sizes on a lean TB type then go a size down but if your horse is quite full in the hind quarter consider going up a size. Overall great value.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a GREAT blanket. I am VERY impressed with this blanket so far, especially at such a great price. My horse is a TB who is not terribly furry, and he has gone outside for several hours at a time in the snow with no problems. He wears the "heavy" version. I do add, though, that if he was clipped, I would probably add a layer underneath. The leg straps don't seem like they will hold up too well with his antics, so I might take them off. If he was a little broader across the shoulders, a big WB might find this a little tight (that is why I gave the fit a "4"). However, this fits him great. For reference, he is 17 hands with an average size body frame.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great mid weight turn out I'm really pleased with this blanket. It is a nice weight, fits well by itself or as a top layer for colder weather. It has proved to shed water realy well on very rainy days. (Unfortunately we've had alot of them lately!)I expect it will be durable but I have only had it 3 weeks
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bigger! I wish smartpak had this blanket up to a 90. It fits my perch but it could use a little more shoulder room.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Blanket! I had gotten this for my TB after he had a rough day following a cold spell; sometimes the winter weather just gets to him. I needed a heavy blanket that was also affordable, and after doing some research decided on this one. Honor is 16.1 and measures about 78 inches; the 78 fit perfectly. The shoulder gussets were an added bonus, and have kept him from getting rubs. The blanket itself feels a little light for a 360 fill: the fill goes to about where the end of the horse's side is (about where your stirrups hang), and the rest of the blanket (the part that gets tucked up under the belly straps) isn't filled. Regardless, it has kept him warm in the cold CT temperatures, and withstood rolling (my horse rolls at least once a day and --knock on wood-- no rips). Plus, it looks great! I get a ton of compliments on it.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied... I have owned and cared for horses in Colorado for 27 years & have never blanketed them until last year. My homebred paint mare is now 17 years old & year before last, in spite of an excellent diet, free-choice shelter & proper dental care, she had a hard time maintaining her weight over the winter. I decided to start blanketing her in hopes that she wouldn't have to use so much energy to stay warm & that it would help. After checking into many different turn-out blankets I decided on the SmartPak Classic after reading many reviews. I was, and continue to be very happy with its performance. So much so, that this winter, I've also purchased one for my 13 year old paint gelding, who is out of my mare. In spite of my mare being his dam, they are built very differently, with her having a lot of thoroughbred blood and thus, the thinner lankier build. My gelding is much stockier & I was a bit worried that since the blanket fits my mare very well, that it may not fit him quite as well with the stockier build. I was very surprised & pleased that this turn-out blanket seems to work great for both of them. The only difference between them is that I have a need to use the elastic leg straps for my stockier gelding, whereas I've removed them from my mare's turn-out. I absolutely love the fact that the leg straps are removable so I have both options! I would definitely recommend this turn-out to anyone that needs a quality product at an affordable price. Time will tell how the blanket holds up for my gelding as he is much more likely to damage it than my mare, but thus far they have been outstanding.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Turnout Blanket! I bought the lightweight version of this blanket because I live in the Seattle area and it doesn't get really cold but it is wet! The blanket is nicely waterproof and fits my Morgan gelding really well. I only wish it came up a little higher on his chest. The blanket is stitched nice and tight and I think it will last for several seasons. This blanket is a good bargain compared to other big name brands! I would definitely buy this item again!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket Well pleased with blanket. Would have liked for there to have been snaps in front rather than buckles, but it fits well & is a good weight for our southern climate. It would not be heavy enough for colder areas.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much Better Than I Thought! I got this turnout for a very large 3 1/2 year old warmblood. The 84 is a tad big right now but he will grow into it. The fit got a good rating rather than excellent for this reason. I have only just put it on him Christmas Day so I'm not sure about the durability question. It looks well made and I hope it will withstand the test of time.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit! This blanket fits my Arabian really well and keeps him warm. The material is durable and it looks great. I would recommend this one!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice turnout I recently got this turnout, and I really like it. I love the tail flap and the leg straps (vs tail cord). The wine color looks beautiful on my grey mare. And even though she was between size, the larger size has room for layers. I'm always happy with Smartpak brand items.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket My horse has been wearing this blanket for the past week and so far it's holding up well. I like the added velcro to the front closures -- helps keep the blanket from getting drafty. I wanted the medium weight, but the blanket was on backorder for quite some time, so I opted for the lite instead. Fortunately the blanket is large enough so that I can double it over my horses's stable sheet to keep him warm on cold desert nights.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For your edification Thus far, I have been sufficiently pleased with this rug, that I would recommend it especially if price is a consideration.I appreciate the velcro under the buckles to prevent draughts...thoughtful.The hind leg straps are flimsy and tend to lose their elasticity which I read about in previous reviews, however, so long as one can adjust them I don't see this as a huge problem...yet. My fellow has only been wearing this rug for about a fortnight, and only during the night time; so we'll see about durability as the winter settles in. Cheers.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket I first picked up a couple of the SmartPak Turnout blankets MED last winter and was impressed with how they fit and held up. Decided to get the light version for rainy/chilly days and am equally impressed.
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice sheet This is the second smartpak blanket I've purchased, and I'm very happy with it. I bought it a smidge bigger than what I needed so that it can fit over a stable blanket as needed - and it fits great. I can't comment too much on durability, as its only been used for a couple weeks, but I was very impressed with smartpak's stable blanket, so I imagine this one will be the same!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket;beware size This nice blanket has everything I'm looking for. Except the sizing is in 3" increments..so I ordered a larger size than usual. Unfortunately, it's too big. To go down a size would be 2" smaller than what my mare wears. I'm returning it, and will look for a similar blanket in the actual size I need.A very nice blanket though - great quality.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet, Good Value! I bought the sheet version of this blanket for my 16 hand thoroughbred mare. I have had it for about a month and it has held up wonderful. We have had some heavy rain here in the past few weeks and she always comes in dry. I wasn't sure which size to get her, some of her blankets are 75" and some are 78", and she is a bigger bodied thoroughbred. I went with the 75" and it fits her great. I think that if I buy the mid and/or heavy version of this blanket in the future I would go with the 78" so if I wanted to layer my blankets there would be room to do so. I also love the burgundy color!!
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blankets, Poor Quality Leg Straps I own 5 of these blankets. I have owned them since October and the linings and the blankets have not ripped at all to date. The only thing I am disappointed with is the back leg straps. They stretched out after only a few uses and I have had to knot them to keep them short enough.Otherwise I am happy with the blankets.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.