Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17369
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles and accessories are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

The Harwich Rubber Reins are made from a rich Hazelnut with Brown rubber or Black leather with Black rubber. Hazelnut reins are raised and fancy stitched. Black is plain. 5/8” x 54"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for the price! Leather is decent for the price, took a few greases then they seemed to soften up. Can't go wrong for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality These are still new and sitting in my tack room but I can't wait to use them! They seem very durable, and the leather is grippy. I think if I use gloves my hands will never budge! They are a bit heavy, but that's a good thing for me.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Finish Really nice quality for the price. Excellent stitching detail.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find! I was also looking for an inexpensive pair of rubber reins like one of the previous reviewers.  When I opened the box, I was SO impressed!  The quality is great, love the stitching, and they feel nice in my hands.  I did not have a problem with them being too long, they fit my horse the same as my regular reins.  They are just a bit stiff at first, but breaking in really nicely.  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality, but Long I tend to leave my fingers open and reins slip in my fingers easily. This pair of rubber reins is nice and thick, and very grippy. They work really well, and the price is the best I've seen for black rubber reins. The quality is great, and the leather is softening up really nicely. I do have two issues, they aren't deal breakers for me, but might be for someone else. First, these reins are LOOOOOOONG. My horse is average sized and has an average neck, but these suckers have so much slack that it's kind of annoying. Second, stamped very visibly on one side of the rein (by the buckle) is the word HARWICH. I don't mind, but I can see this collecting dust and standing out a bit more than some might be okay with. Overall great product! 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edgewood quality We have now purchased five pairs of these reins for our barn and I am still so impressed with the quality. I love these as much as my Edgewood's and actually think the rubber is even more workable straightaway with these vs the EW. So impressed, these are knock-out quality for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins!!! I was looking for inexpensive nice rubber reins. Then I found these! Absolutely LOVE them, they are just as nice if not nicer then the way more expensive reins! I loved these so much I bought another pair! Highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical rubber reins I needed a pair of reins easy to clean - yet with some give and feel. I have added scissor snaps to the bit ends to facilitate easy snap on/off for different bridles. They are "rubbery" but it's also a matter of getting used to a different feel.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful rubber reins for a great price! I just got these rubber reins in- they were less then half the price of most others. I LOVE them. They match my bridle well, including the fancy stitch. The rubber is perfect and a great thickness. They are long enough for my long-necked WB mare. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! You can't beat the value for the price! I love them and since my horses tend to eat reins it's a little less painful in the wallet
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I got these to go with an Edgewood bridle that was already oiled and darkened. They oiled up right away and match the bridle almost perfectly. Leather is very nice for the price. Definitely recommend
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Smartpak Product I am very happy with these rubber reins. They are well made and as with many Smartpak products, you can't beat the price! I have yet to be disappointed with a purchase of a Smartpak product. Thanks, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Rein I bought these reins for a schooling bridle shared among many horses at my barn. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice these reins look and feel. So far, they have held up. I was expecting these reins to be extremely stiff due to their price and some rubber reins are not flexible at first. These were great for my first ride. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I had awful reins before this that would slip of my hands easily when jumping and were hard to get a grip on. I got these for Christmas from my mom, and I love them. They are grippy and were a great value compared to some other reins!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I got these to match my aging Dover Circuit jumper bridle (which comes with rubber reins and figure 8 noseband). These reins are beautiful and the quality could not be better. Excellent buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality at an Excellent Price! I am wary of rubber reins that are 'cheap' having had several pairs that were junk or never lasted very long. These reins are supple, light and fit perfectly in my hands - not too bulky. I was worried that they would be a little light for my tastes, since the picture makes them look more caramel in color, but they are a gorgeous deep cherry color to match my Harwich Figure-8 noseband - and close enough to match my Plymouth bridle, too! Can't wait for spring to roll around so that I can use them every day :)
    Date published: 2013-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid product Well made, very good quality. Good feel in my hands.
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these reins!! I love these reins; they are substantial feeling with excellent grip. They are beautiful too, worth every penny!
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price I bought these as a replacement for a more expensive pair that I had broken. I was surprised by the quality of the leather, it was already very supple. I love the fancy stitching on the brown pair. I use it for an everyday rein, but it will look great at shows too. I will definitely consider Harwich's products in the future.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I bought these reins to replace my old rubber lined half inch reins, which I thought I loved. I'm usually not a fan of 5/8" reins as I have small fingers and they just don't fit well between the joints on my fingers. That said, I've been pleasantly surprised with how much I like these reins! They are wide (not thick), but have so much grip that the width really hasn't been an issue. I now feel like I have more consistent contact with my horse's mouth as the reins don't slide through my fingers as readily. I've only used them for several weeks so I can't really evaluate the durability or quality yet, but so far I'm really happy with the purchase. Many thanks to the reviewers for the information that gave me the guts to try them out!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rein, Great Price WOW~~ Bought these for a friend and she thought they were Edgewood's when they arrived because they are so nice. Ok, I admit I can tell the difference between these and the uber fancy ones but for about a third of the price you can't beat 'em for schooling and everyday.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice quality I was pleased that these reins looked as nice as my old pair of Stubbens and half the price!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price, these reins are good quality. I was pleased with them and think they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich rubber reins These reins have been great. The size fits my handwell and they are soft and flexible. The leather has broken in quickly with the use of leather conditioner. The reins really fit the bill for me.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the width These are great rubber reins, they were inexpensive, yet I will still use them to show in. I didn't give five stars, only because the leather is very dry and will need some serious oiling. The rubber cleans up great too.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product for the Price Nice and affordable set of reins. The Fancy stitching on the hazelnut color is very nice. The leather quality seemed decent for the price and the rubber nice and soft. The rubber seemed to be a little "bubbled" in a very small spot of the pair I got but overall I am pleased with them. I cannot attest to the durability because I have not actually ridden in them yet but would probably buy another pair.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins! This is my 2nd pair. They are fabulous- they look great w/my expensive bridles. Love the color, the amount of rein in my hand is perfect- not too thick or thin. Great reins for the price. I will be buying more.
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very sturdy, high quality reins For the price, you can't beat the quality of these reins. The rubber is the perfect thickness, and the reins bend easily in your hands without feeling bulky. The fancy stitching is an added bonus.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy on reins I bought a pair of these to replace a Devoucoux set as I couldn't justify spending more money at the time. I was so impressed when they arrived that I ordered another pair immediately. We go through rubber reins fairly quickly- and haven't had much luck getting the rubber replaced on our expensive reins. I will only buy Harwich reins from now on- I've used them several times a day just about every day for about 2 months now- and I love them. They are the right size for my hands- not too thick or thin. And they arrived so soft and ready to use. I'm so impressed! They look great with my expensive bridles.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! These reins exceeded my expectations for the $$. The quality of leather is quite nice for this price point, and the raised portion with fancy stitching (in the brown leather) was a pleasant surprise. (I have some show reins on a hunter bridle that are raised, fancy-stitched and laced from England that were quite expensive). These have just as nice of an appearance. I cannot fairly comment about durability, but typically rubber reins do not last as long as plain leather. But since I have some carpal tunnel issues, for everyday riding I like either Thinline or rubber reins. These reins are just as nice as other brands for double or triple the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-07
    • 2015-03-06T07:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_7369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.