Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad with Pockets for Shims- Dressage

EA Mattes
- Item #17328
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad with Pockets for Shims- Dressage is useful in a number of situations! The streamlined design of the Mattes Quilt Correction Half Pad puts the rider closer to the horse, offering stability while still able to take advantage of the correction system. Also, for riders who prefer less pad between themselves and the horse, this pad, which is backed with a light flannel, allows the closer feel they are looking for. The Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad uses the same shim pocket and shim system as the traditional sheepskin correction pads which allows for precise, incremental change in the amount of desired correction

Favorite Features

  • Can use with or without shims for a custom fit to your horse
  • Lightweight and breathable
  • Channel for wither clearance
  • Available in custom colors!  Just select "Custom Color" as the saddle pad color then click "Get Started" above to create your perfect pad!

Sizing It Up

Medium – 20½” Spine 
Large – 22½” Spine

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad with Pockets for Shims- Dressage is rated 4.8095 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money Recently I purchased a horse to train for dressage and bought a brand new dressage saddle to fit. Well the horse didn't work out and I ended up purchasing a Dressage horse (green horse/green rider). Anyway, I was concerned I would be buying another expensive saddle. This pad has kept me from having that expense. With the pockets and shims it allows me to have a perfect fit. The saddle does not slope on the horse's back. My trainer insisted even though I thought it was a little pricey. As usual she was right! This quality made product will last for the duration of my riding career.
    Date published: 2011-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Corrected crookedness I was looking for a way to keep myself from slipping to one side, and this pad has done the trick. My trainer says I am sitting straighter.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this pad! I recently put my 17 year old warmblood mare back into dressage training after having been a broodmare for the past 3 years. She needed some back protection until her back muscles redevelop. I tried a gel pad and she walked like she had daggers sticking in her back when I got on her. Then I went to my Beval pad. It provided her with adequate protection to keep her comfortable, but since it's thickness is uniform, it was too much padding under the front of the saddle, and caused the saddle to sit unbalanced front to back. After a lot of searching, I settled on this Mattes Correction pad. All I can say is WOW! It's thinner than my Beval pad, so I was concerned that she might react the way she did with the gel pad, but to my pleasant surprise she was 100% comfortable and my saddle is sitting balanced on her back with the three rear shims and nothing up front. I've ridden her in it for two days now and the quality of work is significantly better! I wish I had bought this pad a month ago, when I put her back to work! The medium size fits under my 17.5 Passier dressage saddle perfectly.
    Date published: 2011-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it Waiting for the saddle fitter I decided to get this pad in the meanwhile. It arrived very quickly. The workmanship is excellent and it is easy to use. The velcro on the shim pockets can get a little in the way initially but I figured out that I can stick them to the pad while inserting the shims. The shims fit well within the pockets. This helped a lot with my horses unevenness in musculature while waiting for the saddle fitter to adjust the saddle.Since I wanted the pad asap I ordered the only one in stock, the white one. Of course white gets dirty very easily. I love that they come in custom colors and if I get another one that's what I'll order.A sizing guide would be very helpful. I searched around until I found another website that gave some sizing instructions and still ended up with a pad that's a bit too big. No big deal just a bit cumbersome visually and in tacking up.
    Date published: 2011-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less expensive than a new Saddle This pad was recommend to me by a saddle fitter. My 22 year old Draft cross had dropped some over the winter from age as well as the weather not permitting riding. I have an extra wide saddlle that fits him and me well when he is in work and didn't want to purchase a new saddle so I got this pad and it has worked wonders. His back is much more free and he is building his top line again.
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for growing horses! This is an excellent pad to purchase if you have a growing horse. You can add or remove the shims as they gain muscle. It fits well under the saddle and still provides good feel of their back when riding.
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pricey but worth it I am pleased that Mattes offered this shim pad without the fleece padding as I already use a Mattes saddle pad and I didn't want to add any more bulk under the saddle. This shim pad is very discreet. It comes with several felt shims so it's easy to minutely adjust the amount of support needed on either side of the saddle.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needed some adjustments My saddle was slightly wide for my new 4 year old warmblood, and I'm expecting him to grow and fill out some more so I was looking for a short term fix for my saddle, hoping he'd eventually grow into it. This pad did the trick. The thing I didn't like though was that if you use all 3 shims it makes a pressure point where they end. I ended up taking sizzers to the shims and cutting each so it ended a little before the next one so there was more of a gradual change before reaching hte part of the pad with no shim.
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helps a saddle fit an older horse's topline The Antares saddle I purchased a year or so ago no longer fits Irma's topline. I am unable to work her very hard because of previous injuries to her hind suspensories and her topline continues to diminish in muscle. I plan on having the saddle re-fit by an Antares saddle person when that becomes available in my area but until then, Irma is happy again with the fit of her saddle with the Mattes half pad.
    Date published: 2009-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended I would recommend this pad to anyone who rides more than one horse with the same saddle. The shims are thin but make a huge difference. I was riding with a wash cloth under my right seatbone in order to encourage a better stretch on my left side while riding a horse that loves to carry more weight on his right side. The shim was a perfect solution for this balance problem.
    Date published: 2009-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful purchase I love this pad because it's possible to get a better saddle fit for my horse without adding bulk under my very short legs!
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    • 2015-03-02T07:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_19
    • loc_en_US, sid_7328, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.