Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Raised Fancy Stitch Standing Martingale by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17223

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle. Rich Brown leather is accented with delicate off white fancy stitching. Stainless steel hardware.

Brown. Cob, Full or Oversize.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Raised Fancy Stitch Standing Martingale by SmartPak is rated 4.8438 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly fabulous! I actually got this martingale as a schooling martingale because I ordered the Harwich Bridle and was impressed with the quality and look of it. I ended up returning the Bridle because I didn't care for the fit, but this martingale will now be my new show martingale! After one oiling, it is just stunning and supple and i love the way it fits my TB mare.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Nice quality runs small compared to the matching bridle. I have a 16'1" baby warmblood and it is on the last notch. Purchased both bridle and this in " horse" size. Bridle runs big this runs small. Both are great quality!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Martingale out there! I got this martingale for my new TB expecting to use it for a schooling bridle only, but once I got it I use it for shows also! It is so fancy for the show ring! People come up to me asking where I get this martingale all the time, thinking that it is really expensive. The leather is a gorgeous color, and made of great quality stuff! I had this for almost a year and it still looks brand new! This is my all time favorite product from smartpak and will definitely buy it again!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price Love this just as much as my Harwich bridle. Soft supple leather and fits pretty well.The only downside is that the buckle is really low... just not the norm.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice martingale I bought this martingale with the matching bridle. The leather is good quality but a bit stiff. Looks very nice with the fancy stitched bridle. It would have been nice if it came with a doughnut.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Martingale Awesome value - oiled lightly to match the Harwich padded fancy stitch bridle. Looked great at a show on a darker bay horse. Super value for the money.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Schooling Martingale This is a very nice martingale for every day use or local showing. It looks nice, and matches my tack well. It has held up well on my school pony with daily use (we do clean it & oil it)
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice Very nice martingale - will look great with the Harwich comfort bridle I love.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Match This martingale is a perfect match to the Harwich Raised Fancy Bridle. I bought them at the same time so that all of my tack would match, even though I don't use the martingale as often as the bridle. It is good quality leather and looks nice enough for the show ring. It also fits the 16 hand, rather stocky TB I ride perfectly. If you horse is taller you may want to move up to the larger size, as there are only a few holes left. I've only used it a few times, but seems to be good quality.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Martingale, have not used on my horse yet I have not had a chance to reall use the martingale yet, my horse is greens, so we're just getting him used to having me on him, but it's a lovely martingale, and the leather is really nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality This martingale is a good quality piece for the price!
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Martingale for the price, I ordered the Full size and had to return it for the O/S. Not sure of the durability as I have only been using it for a couple weeks now.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice for the price Very impressed for the price. A little oiling helps but definitely worth buying for schooling or low level showing. The raised leather and stitching is very nice.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super martingale for the price I needed a new martingale, since the one I had been using broke. I had bought it used at a tack sale many years ago. I had no idea how expensive martingales could be. So based on other reviews I thought that the price of the Smart Pak martingale was worth a try. Well I LOVE it. Very nice soft leather (even though I oiled it anyway) the fit was great. I bought the full size for my 15.2 TB. I saw the matching bridle at the barn, and I soooo badly want to buy that too!!!!
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Matringale I bought this to go with a Harwich bridle that i bought for my 15.5 hh arab. I love this martingale!! The first time i ordered it, i ordered it in a cob because thats what i was told to get. But of course it was way way to small for my arab. So i ordered it again, and i got the proper size, which is just a little bit big on him, but hes still filling out. The one i got in the mail was a different color then what it was supposed to be, (i think somebody used it, and sent it back) but i was is deep need of one, so i am using it now, and ordered a 3rd one that hopefully matched my bridle. But over all, this is an amazing martingale for the price, and looks very stunning on my bay gelding.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT MARTINGALE!! I LOVE this martingale, especially for the price. you cna not beat it. I purchased this in Havana color and it matched my bridle ( by another maker) perfectly. I did buy the oversized martingale and it fits my WB/TB X perfectly. Would easily transition into the show ring or cheap enough for daily use!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Price Point love it! Purchased the matching bridle and both are very nce! Oiled after every ride for a week, super soft and a lovely color!
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far I can't comment on durability yet, but the quality of this martingale for the price is excellent.
    Date published: 2010-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I purchased this to go with the Harwich bridle, and was not disappointed. It is a beautiful piece of equipment and stands up to some serious high end leather. It oiled up beautifully and looks fantastic on my gelding!
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality beautiful martingale. the oversize was still small for my 18 hand horse but was easily lengthened by the local cobbler. I had 6" added.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather, reasonable price This is the third piece of Smartpak tack I've purchased. I bought this for an every day martinagale and the quality is good enough for show days. Very happy with purchase.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value I like the Harwich Martingale and I bought it to match my Harwich Bridle (which I love). The quality is good, the leather smooth & soft and when I oil it, will make a great show martingale at a fraction of the cost of others. The only issue I had is my horse is too large for the Full sized and too small for the Oversized. I bought both sizes to try on my horse and there was about a 6 inch gap between the largest hole on the Full and the shortest hole on the Oversized. I could have punched a hole on the Oversized one but that would put the hole right at the start of the raised leather and have the buckle coming up to my horse's chest. For reference, my horse is a 16.1 hand TB/Connemara pony cross with a long TB neck. I am keeping the oversized martingale and having a saddler move the buckle. Even having to do that, I am happy with my purchase and would buy another. The price versus the quality made the extra effort required not a big deal for me.
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Schooling Martingale I recently purchased this martingale to go with my schooling bridle, a padded, fancy-stitched Red Barn bridle I bought on deep sale a few months ago. I wish I'd purchased the Harwich bridle instead, as the martingale is of a higher quality and a much better value.After the initial cleaning and oiling, the martingale is a rich dark brown and very soft. Although there was some dye that bled during the first cleaning, it wasn't significant and did not discolor the stitching. The cob size fits similarly to other martingales I've used on my horse, a 16hh TB, with substantial room for adjustment, both longer and shorter.While I still prefer my Edgewood for showing, I would definitely recommend this as an excellent schooling martingale for the leather snob, and a great value for show or schooling for someone on a budget. If I were in the market for a new bridle, I wouldn't hesitate to try any of SmartPak's other lines as well.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.