Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Fuller Fillies Leather Huggy Half Chaps

Fuller Fillies
- Item #17221

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Treat yourself! Fuller Fillies Leather Huggy Half Chaps are made from unbelievably soft, full-hide lamb's leather. Lined with Amara faux suede and finished with a YKK zipper for extra durability.  Pleated and elasticized back for stretch and comfort.  Piped top and bottom complete the look and add a touch of style.

Sizes Wide-Standard, Wide-Short, Extra Wide-Standard, or Extra Wide-Short.

Calf Widths: 15"-18" (Wide), 17"-20" (Extra Wide) Calf Heights: 16"/17" (Standard), or 14"/15" (Short)

To obtain calf height, sit on a chair and measure from the ankle bone center to the crease behind your knee. Do not order longer than this measurement.

To obtain calf width, sit on a chair and measure the largest part of your calf. If you are on the upper limit of a width fitting then order the larger size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fuller Fillies Leather Huggy Half Chaps is rated 4.44 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected. I was a little disappointed by this product. I bought them hoping they would be a good alternative to my regular tall boots, but quickly found they were too big. I probably should have gotten a size smaller, but I stuck with them. They stretched way out and don't look good at all. They have little shape to them and just aren't attractive. I would try the ali gator before you got these.
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If only they were smaller! I was looking for a pair of half chaps that were smooth leather and not suede, brown, under $100 and would fit my short above average width legs. I had tried on about 10 different pairs at tack stores to no avail. These came and they are so nice! But they were WAY too big. My calfs are 15" width without clothes and these were huge on me with jeans and tall socks on. I wish they came in a smaller size because I they are such a good value and look so nice.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get them! If you have big calves, get these! They fit perfectly and hold up well! I keep getting comments that it LOOKS like I have tall boots on (except the stretch part in the back obviously.) I go splashing in the ocean with my horse with these on, and they wash up with just a hose.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice half chaps in hard to find sizes I first bought the brown ultrasuede half chaps which still look good after 18 months of wear but wanted something to go with black paddock boots. These are really nice looking and fit perfectly because of the wide leather-covered elastic gusset, which doesn't really look like a gusset, more like a design element. I'd give these a 5 except for the fact that one of the snaps broke after 10 days. Smart Pak sent a new pair which I hope will hold up better, like the ultrasuede half chaps. And they're a lot cheaper than custom made half chaps.
    Date published: 2012-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the chaps, not the zipper I bought these chaps over a year ago. I love the fit and quality look of the leather. However, both zippers broke within a few months of each other (about 5 months ago). I was still able to zip the chaps without the pull part of the zipper. Just recently, the zipper track itself broke, so I need to buy a new pair. These fit better than the XL Ariat chaps, however the Ariat chaps seem more durable.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the Rest of Us! Love, love this product. Sturdy construction, strong zipper, wipes clean, and their size measurement guide was spot on.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome for those hard to fit legs Got these for my daughter for her birthday. She loves them! She has those really hard to fit legs, short and wide calves. These are perfect for her, and they look great! Nice quality leather. Would recommend to anyone who has a hard time finding half chaps to fit
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice half-chaps These half-chaps are nicely put together and fit well, for the most part. I got the shortest pair made, and they are still long. They will do, but for those of us with shorter legs, we need more length choices.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely Dissapointed I was extremely pleased when I first got these. The fit was OK, they were a tad tall but I figured would shrink down (which they did). They fit nicely in the calf and weren't too terribly loose in the ankle. Was a little upset that the cut was so long as to cover up the spur rest on my boots but no big deal. I have not even had these boots two weeks and they have only a handful of light rides on them and the outside fabric has ripped. I was very dissapointed that for this price the quality was so terrible. Not sure I would buy again, or recommend. I take immaculate care of my stuff and this was no exception.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from product nice leather, overpriced I searched for several weeks before I found this product. I have a larger calf like I had read by others. The fit is close to how it was described. I was on the edge of one size so I follwed the manufacturer guidelines and went with the larger size. This was fine at first but as the very soft leather stretches I am now finding they are a little too big and dont seem as functional. I wish I had ordered the smaller size so when they stretched they would fit better. The length was very accurate.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fuller filly Half Chaps Product Review- Fuller Fillies Half Chaps.Yes that's right I had to get these to fit around my pudgie calves! They were modestly priced at $86.00. Arrived in no time Via my order to Smart Pak (no shipping!!). I got the BROWN. Noticed when I took them from the package they had a stench. a NON leather stench! The leather is Soft and supple. HOWEVER-The leather is THIN and the backing gives the chaps body and is padded slightly. After using these today I can say they did fit well. They are easy to zip and they zip from TOP to BOTTOM. I do not like the flimsy elastic foot loop. This is not going to last long.Its my honest opinion that these chaps are a great buy if you are the casual rider. If you ride for a living these would not hold up! I will continue to wear these and report on their WEAR!Happy Half Halts!HPCPS...had I known these were made in Pakistan I doubt I would have bought them.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these half chaps! These half chaps are AMAZING! Not only do they actually FIT large calves, with room to spare even, they are suuuuper comfortable and really hold up well to daily use!
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad Very light, soft, and easy to put on. (They zip from the top down, not the bottom up.) Incredibly comfortable. I am really hard to fit, with short, wide calves and skinny ankles, and these fit really well with some room to spare.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these half chaps! Great fit, easy to put on and take off, high quality leather, easy to clean. I have no idea how long they will last but the quality is excellent so I expect they will last a long time and they look good!
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps I love these half chaps! They look great and feel great. I've been looking for a nice pair of half chaps for a long time and couldn't find them to fit my wide calf and 17-18" calf height. Thank you for making these non standard sizes for those of us that don't fit in the cookie cutter.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase These fit well, and are made of high quality leather for a reasonable price. One of my favorite purchases thus far! Would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Product My first time purchasing this type of product being new to the riding industry. I was pleased over all with the look, feel and fit of the half chap. Very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I love these half chaps! BTW - they do not gap at the heel as one of the pictures shows. I have a large calf and one ankle that is very swollen after a break so I'm very hard to fit. These half chaps fit over my calf, my ankle and 2 pairs of winter riding breeches. The leather is very soft but durable, stitching is great and they've held up great to almost daily use. I love these half chaps!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you fuller fillies My husband has very wide calf and we couldn't find any chaps that can squeeze him in. Eventually we decided to give this a try although it is called "fillies" and he is a guy. As many other reviewers, we feel soooo thankful to fuller fillies for providing this product. It fits his wide calfs so well and looks awesome. After finally being able to feel it himself he now agrees that chaps could help your leg position instead of only "to fake tall boots". His naked calf measure is 17.5 and I ordered extra-wide for him coz he'd like to wear jeans with it.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Half Chaps I bought these in the summer and have ridden in them quite a lot since then. They fit great and are easy to clean. They still look new after I wipe the grime off, even after riding in some inclement weather.Overall I'm pretty darn happy with these chaps!
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I have been riding for years and ordered and returned so many pairs of half chaps due to being a "fuller filly" because of their fit (or lack of it!) I was so happy when I received these! They fit!!!! AND the leather is so soft and supple. Now my leg is in the proper place and doesn't move- I look like a pro! Hehe!!!
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They fit! I have not ridden in these yet, but I am very pleased with the fit! They fit my wide calves but are not too big around the ankles. They look well made and durable. Thanks for offering these for folks who don't fit in stock sizes of other manufacturers.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice Half chaps The leather is soft, clean looking.They fit my very hard to fit calves. The price was not bad.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from short leg chaps!! As a short woman with stout *and* muscular calves, I've never been able to fit tall boots, or half chaps. A friend recently introduced me to Fuller Fillies- what a wonderful and much-needed company!The chaps fit perfectly, and add so much more support than just riding in jods and paddock boots. I feel much more secure and I think my leg cues are more clear to my horse. Thank you!
    Date published: 2010-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally Half Chaps that Fit Thank you finally half chaps that fit, many compliments from riders at the barn, they first think they are tall boots. I am trilled with these and would buy them again.What a difference in the position of my leg when I ride.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Quality .... But Does not fit true to description. These are very nicely made half chaps. The quality is wonderful. Prolem is sizing. If you are a true full figured person by nature, then know these run small. Length is true to description but circumference is not true to listing. I am 5'8" and larged boned, with large muscleing in my limbs. My calf measures 19.5 and these are supposed to fit up to 20", but I can barely get them zipped. Once zipped, even with the soft, giving leather, they are quite tight. I would recommend this product for quality but not for sizing.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value for Tough to Fit These 1/2 chaps were purchased to for my daughter to wear at shows. These are the first part of 1/2 chaps that we have found that fit her. THANK YOU!!!
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.