Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17215
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Crafted in rich Hazelnut leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband.  Fancy stitch ¾” completely padded noseband and ½” padded brow band.  5/8” cheeks with hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with roller buckle on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” raised fancy stitched laced reins.

Size: Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Brown  w/ Dark Brown Padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.7537 out of 5 by 203.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and price! This bridle is perfect for schooling and the show ring. I use it every day and it holds up great! The leather is beautiful and I love the no pressure points and so does my horse! This bridle looks very fancy, but has a very little price tag. I will be purchasing more for my other horses in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle, affordable price I purchased this bridle a month ago. I have never been so happy with a purchase. The leather is so supple and quality exceeded my expectations in this price range. The raised braided reins are the perfect weight in my hands. It looks amazing on my horse and I receive complements daily! Smartpak definitely pointed out a great choice for me!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! I have a very difficult to fit warmblood, and every bridle we have purchased over the last 3.5 years have not fitted the way they should. Or they didn't match my other tack. I ordered this bridle on a whim because it received great reviews, had everything I was looking for to make my gelding more comfortable (poll relief, padding at crown and noseband), and it looked like it would match my Bates saddle. So far it's exceeded my expectations. I rode with it for the first time ever this Saturday in the showring, and the leather wasn't stiff at all, matched all my tack perfectly, fitted my difficult to fit horse like it was made for him, and I received a few compliments from other riders. My only complaint is that the bridle is bleeding red dye all over my horses face (he's white), but I am hoping this will go away as I break in the bridle more.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update to previous review After I actually tried it on my horse I realized that it is actually too small for my 15.1h TB - returned it for horse size.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Avery nice bridle Nicely made, refined style and good leather. Bought it for my small TB and it fits nicely.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The leather is very supple right out of the bag and the color looks great on my chestnut horse. However, noseband was fairly difficult to adjust but once you get it right its perfect.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice, but unfortunate I bought this bridle about 2 months ago as a schooling bridle and while it started out a chocolate brown I oiled it twice and have cleaned it regularly with a bridle cleaner. I enjoy the padding and the nice length of the brow band and I loved the wide nose band, however! There's a catch, this bridle I will be returning as the stitching is coming apart all along the brow band and nose band, and the leather is actually crumbling in several spots. For this bridle, it is NOT what I expected.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bridle I have been trying to fit my 16.2, 1300 lb. Quarter Horse with a bridle for four years. He needs a long browband and throatlatch, but not long cheek pieces. On the recommendation of a Smartpakmassociate, who knew the measurements of the Harwich bridle, I bought one. It works perfectly! I was surprised and more than a little pleased. Quality is good and fit is perfect. My horse finally has a bridle that is not made from pieces of other bridles so that it fits. My thanks to Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this bridle for the price! Absolutely love this bridle, everything about it is great, very supple and a nice dark color out of the box. Fits the horse I'm leasing fantastic. Ordered the full size. I've gotten many complements on it after only owning it for a few weeks from peers and my trainer! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because of how much color it bleeds while cleaning which is annoying but hasn't affected the quality or look of the product.Definitely a huge step up from the Plymouth which is also very nice. The Harwich bridle is definitely show quality. Liked it so much that I ordered the matching martingale!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle Order this bridle and liked it so much ordered it again in the longer reins for pleasure classes. With just one oiling it softens up a lot. The crown piece was hard to get used to at first, but I think its unique.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bridle I really love this bridle. It needs a little oiling and softening right out of the box but it is very usable. I haven't had a chance to oil it because I bought this to replace a bridle that broke and have been using it every day. I love the look of it and it fits my Quarter Horse's large head and jaw. I can't speak about it's durability yet, but since it's SmartPak I forsee no problems. Really love this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous bridle! I bought this bridle for my delicate-boned OTTB gelding in the cob size, and it fits his fine features perfectly! The leather is great quality and a lovely warm, slightly reddish brown color that's unique while not being too flashy. I LOVE this bridle! Definitely a great buy, thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle for the price! My only complaint is that the nose band is way too big for my current horse. This wouldn't be a big deal if the keeper moved to keep the extra bit from flapping around. The full size fit my old Warmblood perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I actually like this bridle better than many of the more expensive brands out there. The leather was supple right out of the packaging, it was easy to put together and fits my horse perfectly. I actually didn't find that it ran large like other people did; the full size fit my TB with a smalish head (more quarter horse shaped). It looks great on him. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looove this bridle! I got this bridle for my birthday last month and I couldn't be happier! Great price for a WONDERFUL bridle! The only issue I have had is it seems like the throat latch is a little too long. Other than that, fantastic! I will purchase again in the future!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Monocrown is more of a hindrance than help Looks cute on my mare, stiff at first. Trying to oil it up to supple the leather this week. As soon as I began cleaning it though after first use yesterday, the color is was coming off onto my cleaning rag. This makes me nervous. Will just have to see how it holds up.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle I love this bridle. It's excellent for the price and required almost no break-in time. It looks really adorable on my mare (she always wears cob size so I got this in cob size and it fits perfectly).
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show quality! Bought this bridle about 5 months ago and it has held up perfect! Works for everyday use and cleans up well for the show ring. The color has a rich auburn tint which makes it stand out and doesn't look bland dark brown 
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from started out great but.... I bought this bridle about 2 years ago; it came out of the box pretty soft and even better after oiling.  However, despite regular cleaning and conditioning, it has taken on a "sticky" feeling which is impossible to remove despite many efforts with many cleaning agents.  I'm not sure what caused this to happen (over oiling it initially?)  but nevertheless the Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle I purchased last year for half the price is as supple as can be and held up as well.  I'm thinking of replacing this one with another Plymouth even though it doesn't have the built in crown piece; my horse is not offended by the dual straps over his crown.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!!!! I bought this for my first horse that I just bought almost two months ago, an untrained 6 year old draft cross. I wanted the best bridle i could get, but since I bought him all by myself, i needed a good price! This bridle is AMAZING. It was so soft right out of the box. Everyone at my barn compliments it and it looks great on my horse. I bought the oversize size, which fits perfect with room to either go bigger or smaller! My horse is 17.1 with a big head, so if you have a large horse the oversize will probably fit fine. Overall its a great bridle for a great price, and I would definitely either get this again, or other Harwich products. 
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the price Very nice bridle . Love the reins. Only drawback is the way the noseband is attached to the bridle is a real pain to adjust. It looks fancy but not very user friendly
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I was hesitant to buy a Smart Pak brand bridle, since I am so picky about my leather and its quality. I am also an older rider who really likes the traditional brands like Crosby, Bates, and Pessoa, and still this bridle impressed me. Out of the box this bridle was flexible for a new bridle, meaning it was stiff from never being used, but supple and flexible as far as the leather is concerned. Additionally, my horse is only 15.1, but he has a big quarter horse head (think pitbull head, but on a horse), and the full size bridle fits him perfectly. I'd say the sizing runs about average. He also has a long head and the noseband placement still fit him well. The padding is also superb, and very soft. I did not comment on durability, since I just bought the bridle, but it seems like it will last a long time, and I ride 3-5 days a week, and through brush, not just in an arena.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I love this bridle! It fits perfectly on the horses I've used it on.
    Date published: 2013-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle This bridle is beautiful. Everyone in my barn loves it and wants one too (one of the trainers borrowed it for another horse at a show). It fits great and the leather was soft--only had to oil it once before using it.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough start, great finish When I got the bridle out of the package, it was very soft and I was so excited! Putting it together was a whole other story! The slots that are precut to slide the strap through were way too small and I had to actually slice my brand new bridle up to get everything to fit! Since the tough start, I couldn't be happier. I've had it for about a year now, with constant soaping and oiling it is butter soft and a joy to use. I have a 16.3 HH OTTB with a very large head and it fits him perfectly!My only wish for would be the nose strap keepers are pretty close together and almost too small for the strap to fit through.All in all an amazing deal!
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle, but... I really liked the quality of this bridle! The leather was extremely soft and high quailty straight out of the box which was excellent. I also really liked the color. Unfortunately, my 17hh OTTB needed an O/S size due to the length of his face and when I adjusted everything, I discovered the bottom of the bridle had two keepers that were both sewed in and extremely close together so they did not contain the extra length on the strap. I was very disappointed, but it bothered me too much to keep it so I am returning it.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very beautiful, detailed bridle. This is a quality bridle with, beautiful detail & ample padding. It requires some oiling to soften, but it really is a nice, padded bridle, that fits well for a fair price.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this bridle! The leather feels fantastic, and it looks great on my horses. The noseband can be a pain to adjust, but it's well worth it. :)
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle! I just bought this bridle for my Morgan and I love it! I can't speak to the durability yet as I've only ridden in it a handful of times. The leather is lovely, the stitching is beautiful and my horse really seems more comfortable with all the padding and the mono crown design has really invited him to drop his head and flex at the poll. It seems to run a little small, but still adjusts to my geldings refined head. I found the reins to be too long, but thankfully Smartpak switched them out for a smaller size at no cost. Great purchase, absolutely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle, Great Price This is a great bridle! My 17.1 hh Belgian Warmblood gelding fit the Full size perfectly, so it runs a tad bit big. The leather is a nice quality and I love the padding on the noseband and crownpiece. I've had several people around the barn compliment it and it has done very well with me using it both everyday and at shows. It broke in super quickly with just Horseman's One Step before and after riding for about a week. The throatlatch is still a little stiff to put into the second keeper, but nothing too terrible! This is a fantastic bridle for a steal!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    • 2015-02-28T07:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_189
    • loc_en_US, sid_7215, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.