Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Airowear Outlyne Body Protector

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #17161

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Outlyne body protector is the new soft and flexible body protector for women. Styled with a zip-front, Outlyne's design ensures women of different shapes and sizes can comfortably fit into a standard-sized body protector. Using the UltraFlex technology, the Outlyne vest molds around the body without relying on body heat to soften.

Designed for females of all shapes and sizes, the Outlyne is the latest body protector from Airowear. It has been developed through years of scientific research into how a body protector should fit the female figure. Outlyne combines maximum protection and unrestricted movement with a perfect fit and super soft flexibility.

Airowear is now breaking the concept that single-paneled body protectors are rigid, inflexible and uncomfortable! The revolutionary Outlyne body protector used the latest hi-tech materials which absorb and spread impact, thereby lessening the injury sustained from a fall or kick. Ultraflex technology is cleverly structured so Outlyne can spread around the torso, molding comfortably to the contours of the body.

Airowear's combination of Ultraflex technology with lightweight and perforated materials creates the ultimate in comfort for body protection.

The Outlyne body protector offers the maximum level of protection by fully meeting EN13158:2009 and BETA 2009 Standard Level 3. Airowear were the first and second to conform to BETA’s current safety standard. Outlyne is annually retested to give you peace of mind that the body protectors are consistently meeting the latest safety standards

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Airowear Outlyne Body Protector is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough but Hot After a fall landed me in the ER, I reluctantly put on this vest that I had purchased awhile back. Yes, it fits, and I don't notice any lack of mobility when I'm riding/jumping. Its just that I just boil in it. There is no air-flow, I am drenched when I get off my horse and fatigue much faster because of I'm overheated, even though I am very fit-but when its 80 degrees at 10 am, I have to look for another solution. Sigh. I only recommend this if you don't live in warm climes.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Protection This offers wonderful protection and great fit options. I like all of the adjustments especially in the bust and shoulder area. One I get it on, I really don't even realize that I'm wearing it and it in no way impedes my movement or range of motion. Just wish the price tag wasn't quite so hefty...
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! I just received my vest and it is very substantial and hardy! The foam on the inside becomes much more pliable with your body heat and it literally conforms perfectly to my body. The outside is a tough exoskeleton that completely deflected my husband's punch... no, no... I asked him to do it! Better that, than falling off my horse to test it! I am 5'6'' and 135 lbs. and the XS fits me snugly. My chest measurement was at the very maximum of the size chart range, but I believe the S would be too big, and I was correct. Once zipped and worn for several minutes... fits like a glove. The velcro on the sides makes the vest very adjustable. I am glad I invested the money in this piece of safety equipment. I never know when this vest may become "PRICELESS"!
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooooooooooo good I love it, love it I feel safe and comfortable with it after fews minutes I don't even realise I wear it.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth buying I have just bought an Airowear Body Protector and wore it for the first time today. I ride many horses for other people and used it on different horses of varying heights etc. I found it lightweight and comfortable. BECARFUL when bying a body protector. I was in the UK and went to a tack shop where I was properly fitted for the body protector. At first I thought it was too small as I felt a bit crushed but after wearing it for a while I got use to it. I am small 5ft and weigh approx 110lbs. There were more sizes to choose from and I have a L3 short. I have read the other reviews and the lady that sent hers back to get a bigger size was probably because not all the sizes are available over here. Its so important to get the right size so it might be worth mail ordering from the UK. Also the more you wear the proector and your body warms up it will loosen up a little with the heat from your body just like your riding hat does. As odd as it may seem I cant wait to fall off to really test how protected I will be. In the tack shop there were many choices of body protectors available from over brands but this is the best for women.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant vest! I used to be a Tipperary only person because every solid vest I had tried either was too stiff and I couldn't move or it was like a turtle shell. I needed a new vest so I began looking into "safer" vests on the market, and I kept coming back to this vest. After I saw SmartPak had it, I ordered one and it is fabulous. I really didn't know what to expect, but my hopes were exceeded as far as comfort goes.Unfortunately, I am between sizes and after wearing it decided I need a size up, so I will be returning it for a bigger size. It was my fault though.I am absolutely stunned I liked this vest and found it totally "wearable" after it warmed to my body.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vest, Lil awkward for me though. This vest is fantastic but i think it's a little more bulky on me then it would be on most. I am 5'1", 100lbs, short torso Petite upper body. I ordered the smallest size a teen large. I had to put this on the tightest shoulder adjustments otherwise i could fit my hand plus some behind my shoulder blade. Since i have to make it so tight the material overlaps more making it bulkier in the shoulders. I feel that I look like I am carrying a tank on my back, but it's at least comfortable and I know that it's going to keep me safe. It gives quite a bit and is very flexible at the lower back. It would probably look nicer on someone that didn't have to adjust the shoulders as much. I do like that i have many optioins to adjust where i want to. I do have bigger hips in comparison to the rest of me so it's nice i was able to make the vest looser there, but tighter around my no bust/waist. This is a great vest and is thus far my favorite out of the few that i have own... Flex rider and charles owen. I like the flexibility of movement and adjusting options.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't fit tall women Over the past six months I have fallen twice at small jumps and both times I hurt my ribs. After the last fall I decided to purchase a vest. I did alot of research and found that the Outlyne was the safest and incorporated the latest technology. Unfortunately the vest does not fit me (I ordered a medium). It is too big around and too short. I tried every way possible to adjust the velcro and it just wasn't going to work. I am 5' 10", 39" chest, 33" waist which would normally be a size large in a jacket or other clothing. So if you are tall like I am look for another vest that offers a tall size and even if you are not you should size down from what you would normally purchase. I am thinking about buying the Tipperary but it does not conform to the BETA 3 standards.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Choice I sold my Tipperary and bought the Outlyne. Why? The Tipperary is comfortable and has the sporty dominatrix look that is a kick but I want the best protection available. I already suffered a back broken in three places along with a broken leg and foot when a mountain lion tried to dine on a friesian I was riding a year ago. NOTHING would have prevented the back injury because of the way I landed but my helmet saved my life. My husband and son researched vests (along with everything else they could think of) and encouraged me to order the Outlyne. It looks like a bruiser when you pull it out of the box. I ride on trails with it and can go back to the arena and do dressage work just as easily. It does not get in the way of me, my saddle or my horse. I can move without restriction. It fits well with all the adjustments. I have small bones and and a chest that made the measurement front to back at the waist WAY off. The adjustments allowed me to get the pieces where they need to be. I wear a small in both the Tipperary and the Outlyne. If you want a vest that is as protective as they get and still be able to move, this is a great choice. The bottom line, however, is to buy the one you will wear. These don't do a bit of good if you refuse to wear them, cut off parts or use other reasons to leave them home. I did not think I was going to like riding in this but it has more than exceeded my expectations for comfort. Kuddos to the photographer for making the model look good! You would not think that possible looking at it in the box. It is. Do your research and decide what level of protection you want. Wear the vest and your helmet and go have fun.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outlyne Body Protector Bought this vest after reading "wows" on Endurance chat: "Ridecamp. ' I was willing to spend the big bucks because of the highest level certification from two different certifying entities. I've ridden in it a few times now. Its bulkiness is easily forgotten once I'm on my horse and working with her. I like the many means of adjusting the fit both horizontally & vertically. In fact, yesterday, after having ridden in it several times, I brought it home and completely refitted it to myself after having read the instructions for fit for the first time (a worthwhile read). I'm 5'4.5" and 145#'s. The seller tried to get me to take a size small but I"m always a women's medium so went with that & it's perfect. Having ruptured my spleen 6 years ago in a serious horse wreck, I've been very fearful about riding and am counting on this added protection to assist me in getting back out on the trails I love with my dear horses. My hope is that it never comes to testing the vest.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind 6 weeks ago I had a bad riding accident with 2 broken ribs and a bruised lung. I ordered the vest to help prevent such an injury in the future. Unfortunately I have not ridden in it yet as I am not well enough to do so. It fits great and is well made . I can't wait to wear it. I bought 2 so I could try for size and send one back. Even though they are "ladies" vests my husband tried the bigger one and it fit great. He has been using it ever since and loves it!! He has been riding less experienced horses since my fall and it gives us both peace of mind.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timely Purchase Having recently broken ribs in a fall I thought I should probably get a protective riding vest. I researched and thought that the Airowear Outlyne Body Protector would be the best. I'm happy with the fit, construction and level 3 certification. At first, when I received the vest I thought, "I can't wear this!" but my first ride in it was great and our second ride was even better, it's not heavy and it did not interfere with the saddle and I really feel good about this purchase, I don't think I'll ride without it. Things happen and if I can avoid a broken bone I'm happy with that! Thank you Smartpak. The Smartpak Customer Service was great, I had a bunch of questions and they answered everything, love them! Thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.