Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17108

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine eggbutt design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm flat stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is rated 4.9024 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Herm Sprenger I have several HS bits for my horses. SO well made. Love the quality. My horses always seem to go better in them.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I have 2 Fjords. I have been riding them in a regular, common snaffle. Out riding one day, my horse got spooked & took off running down the highway. I could not stop her or turn her. she just ran through the bit. With the Herman Sprenger bit, I feel I have more control & get a quick response. The thicker bit works better getting compliance to my hand cues. It has given me more confidence knowing that I can stop her if spooked.
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes all the difference I love this bit, it makes sense from an ergonomical point of view, and my horse really seems to accept it very well. He is lighter in the mouth, and more receptive in general with it. If you think about it, the bit is probably one of the most important pieces of tack you can buy, so it is worth the high price tag.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from expensive but really nice I kind of hate that this bit turned out so nice because now I felt compelled to also buy the full-cheek version for driving training after buying the eggbutt for my mare.This bit seems to be very well made, a nice thickness and weight and very well accepted by the horse.Sizing differences from one model to the next are something I need to still figure out.The 5.25 was a tad big for her in the eggbutt so I ordered the full-cheek in a 5.00 and that turned out to be way small.I was actually surprised she didn't need a 5.5 to begin with since she's a draft cross with a fairly large head.Perhaps the bit fits a little bigger because of the curve?
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need to make smaller sizes This bit is beautiful but just too big for my mare. She is 16 hands but just swims in the 5, which is the smallest size they make. The bit actually measures at 5 1/4 not 5, so perhaps the one I had was a mistake? If it fit it would have been great.
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ecellent quality Bit! This bit is very well made. I have not gotten to use it yet, my mare had a setback with a leg issue. I got it because she has a tendency in harness to grab the bit when nervous, she is going to be trained to ride, and I got this for riding. I think it will work well, enough bite she won't lean on it or grab it hopefully, but still comfortable and easy on her when she behaves well. I like the double jointed design as opposed to a single joint in their mouth, and I like the material of this bit. It has a good weight and feel to it.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat Customer I have always been a fan of Herm Sprenger bits. Great quality and my horse willingly accepts the bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Bit I love this bit....so does my horse. Yes it is expensive, but it is worth it! The workmanship is incredible and the bit rings resemble more of an eggbutt than a D...so not to fret...and this passes my aesthetics test! I definitely buy it again.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit This bit was purchased for my new Gypsy gelding, he seemed quite content and worked very well in this bit. I am very impressed with it. Very very nice quality. Photo is the first day he worked in the bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Great quality bit. My horse loves it and I do too. Although he can work in most anything he's a lot lighter in this bit. Pricey, but very nice!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit Just a well made, high quality bit which my young mare took with no trouble. It's definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit My mare loves this bit - she chews it as soon as it is in her mouth and sometimes won't let it go when I am trying to take the bridle off. I originally used a curb bit on her (pelham/kimberwick) because she was very strong but was looking for a snaffle to start her on basic dressage work - I tried a plain jointed eggbut first. I felt I had less control than with the kimberwick, especially while cantering/jumping, she had a tendency to lean on my hands, also I had a hard time getting her to flex and relax her neck on circles. She took a few days to get used to the HS dynamic, but soon, I saw a great improvement - she was more relaxed on circles, and also I seemed to have a softer/better contact with her mouth, not as much leaning and better control when cantering/jumping.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another nice Herm Sprenger product This is a nice bit that fits well. Wish they weren't so expensive, but this is truly a case of "you get what you pay for." I believe in good quality tack and always like Herm Sprenger.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth The Price I love this bit, my horse loves this bit, the Dynamic eggbutt is pinchless and anatomically correct. Highest quality bit on the market, gotta love German engineering.
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bit worth every penny I usually ride in a shank correction bit as I ride reining horses. However, I wanted to start long reining my rehab horse so I needed a snaffle. I have always believed in buying the best made bits...period. My gelding does not like tongue pressure so I worried about the snaffle. The three parts in this mouthpiece work like a charm, he loves the taste and he goes beautifully in this. He accepts contact and looks relaxed and happy under saddle. Another beautiful, effective, comfortable well made bit for my collection.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit !!!! This is the second time I have purchased this bit. It has worked wonderfully for my somewhat tense, workaholic mare and also has lightened up my older, frequently heavy Hanoverian mare. Both mares are very happy in this bit, and are less likely to want to lean and get heavy. It is expensive, but the results I am getting has made it a great investment.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really nice bit! This is my second Sprenger bit; the simple D-ring is great, very well made, love the ergonomics, and since it will last forever, the price is not an issue. I'd buy another Sprenger and recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a believer! I'll admit it--I was skeptical that a bit could be worth this much money, but I'm a believer now. My green OTTB seeks contact and stretches into it and did so the first ride. He did not like the Happy Mouth I tried previously, but this is a winner. Hate to say it, but it's worth every penny!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fussy mare approves! I have a young mare who was ready to graduate from her "baby bit" (the Sprenger Duo D-Ring) to a jointed bit. She is very, very, very particular and several other bits were a complete no-go (she would stick her head straight up in the air and flip the bit around in her mouth ....) These include the JP Korsteel oval mouth eggbutt (yes, it's pretty similar, but my mare sure notices a HUGE difference) and a loose ring KK Ultra.She has accepted this bit willingly from the first time and is not fighting it at all. This is definitely her bit and therefore worth the money. :)
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bit My horse was very accepting and very soft with this bit. I think she really likes the metal and since she is a small mouthed TB the fit is very nice.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this BIT! Worth the Price! I have the best horse... wink, wink, but he is constantly working the bit in the wrong way... He is the kind of horse that puts his nose out and is gone... This bit in just 1 week of riding has began to correct the issues. i have also been getting lessons and I still think the bit is the difference! My last bit was also Very nice, but someone once told me that it pinched... I put my fingers in it and tried and Sure enough! I got a blood blister from the pinch! That was my finger...I heard on a televison show about horses... If a horse can feel a fly land on their butt they can feel a whole lot more than we think... And I realized that that picnh for the past X amount of years has probably created our problem... Now making me on the heavey handed side... So this BIT IS WORTH ALL OF THE MONEY! I love Smart Pak! :)
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit made Big Difference Had trialed a Herm Sprenger Ultra loose ring snaffle and liked it, but based on reviews, bought this instead for 3 year old warmblood TB cross, under saddle 2 months. Immediately, she started mouthing the bit and went from fussy to steady in my hand. Using it 2 weeks now -- she's bobbing her head walking through meadows, reaching down for the bit at the canter, and is generally much happier in her work.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit After going through numerous other lower priced bits, I bought the Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS. What a difference. I have a 4 yo TB mare. I like the weight of the bit and the design. She settled into it immediately and is responsive. Wish I would've gone to it first.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my 4th dynamic rs I love the dynamic rs bits! This one is especially nice because the mouthpiece is smoothed into the ring.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Bought it because I wanted something between the waterford and the Sprenger Duo for my low-palate horse. He likes this bit, doesn't get tense and yet I have control. Expensive, but worth it.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bummer I have no complaints about the quality of the bit. I thought my horse would appreciate a change from his Myler. I couldn't have been more wrong. In other words, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm out $135 and he's happy in his Myler once more.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dynamic Bit I really like this bit. I tried it on my mare and noticed a difference right away. She was less fussy with the bit and lighter than with her other snaffle. The bit is a little heavy, but because you can feel the weight of the bit in your hands, I found I was more aware of how much pressure I put on the reins and therefore a more sensitive rider. The quality is superb, the price is high, but so far worth it!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever This is the second HS Dynamic RS bit that I've purchased. My mare is an arab/qtr.horse cross. We show in both dressage and western pleasure. I bought the first bit over a year ago for my dressage bridle but had been using a plain, sweet iron snaffle on my western bridle. But my mare is so much more comfortable and responsive in the dressage bit that I decided to buy another one to use on her western bridle. She loves this bit !!!
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit I saw this bit and gasped at the price, bought a cheaper copper lozenge snaffle and my horse hated it.So I ended up buying this one after all and it is absolutely fabulous. My colt loves it - we went from riding in a rope halter to this particular snaffle with no trouble at all.I will never use a different bit, unless I buy another Sprenger! It is simply the BEST BIT I have ever used and great for starting colts.I wish it was not so expensive, but then really good tack always seems to be...
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice job... Lots to choose from. Found exactly what I wanted. It arrived quickly. My horse is happy - I'm happy.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.