Product Image

Shoer's Friend

Equine America
- Item #10070
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Shoer's Friend is a concentrated, pelleted hoof supplement for horses of all ages and activities. Shoer's Friend contains 12.5 mg of Biotin per 2 ounce serving, and is packed with 15 additional nutrients essential for promoting the health of your horse’s hooves and coat.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Shoer's Friend is rated 4.3061 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works Shoer's friend is the 4th hoof suppliment I've used with my Quarter Horse. Obviously the others didn't work well as I kept trying others. With Shoers Friend I have much better hoof growth and he's stayed more sound.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money i used this on my TB for four months and saw zero results... his hooves have actually started too look worse the more i use it.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from pelleted biotin Its hard these days to find pelleted biotin,as most is powder,which he dislikes.This product does not have a high quanity of biotin,but I use it constantly so it does build up.For the money its a good product.And he will eat it.
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product only stopped using it because i switched to smartcombo.i definitely noticed a difference in my tbs feet though in a short amount of time.cant beat the price either just as good as more expensive ones
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great long-term hoof supplement My 14 year old Thoroughbred has terrible hooves naturally, but since I've had him on Shoer's Friend, his hooves have held shoes and are never sore/cracked/abscessed. I went through expensive other supplements for years before trying Shoer's Friend. The other supplements helped but he still had cracks and chips frequently and was constantly losing shoes. I have been using Shoer's Friend for over 5 years now, and couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2011-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Hooves My horses had problems with their hooves and the farrier told me that the product I was using was just an expensive treat because it didn't have the right ingredients. That's why I wasn't seeing any results. With Shoer's Friend I am getting results. This product is doing what it is supposed to do. It's great!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value supplement My TB gelding had really poor feet that couldn't hold shoes. Since starting him on this supplement his feet have gotten harder and semm to grow more then they were.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best show season yet! Thank you! We started using Shoer's Friend over a year ago after a season of many pulled shoes and crumbling hooves. This year our gelding was up to an honest size 10!!!! Our mare held her own in an 8! We have since removed the Scotch bottoms and have had the team turned out to pasture for 2 months and they have not yet had any breakage! The value and results are fantastic!! THANK YOU!!
    Date published: 2010-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Supplement I rescued a TB almost a year ago, and immediately put her on this supplement.I have noticed a MAJOR difference, as well as her farrier. We've now cut it down to 1/2 the regular dose and her hooves are still doing fine. The regular dose was causing her feet to grow too quickly, but they've never looked better.
    Date published: 2010-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not Great I switched to this supplement from SmartHoof so that I would save money on a pelleted hoof supplement. However, after two to three months of being on the supplement, my horse's hoof quality has decreased significantly. This supplement does not hold up to the drying effects of summer heat. Would be good for a horse that has generally good feet as a healthy booster. My horse, however, has brittle feet and on this supplement her hooves began badly breaking again.I will be switching back to my old supplement.
    Date published: 2011-11-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not Great I originally had my mare on SmartHoof, but she wasn't eating the powdered form any more. To save money, I switched to Shoer's Friend pellets to make sure that she was eating her supplement.She began eating her supplement again, but her hoof health has declined since the switch. Her hooves began badly breaking up again, even with regular conditioning and farrier visits. This didn't happen when she was on SmartHoof, but Shoer's Friend still managed to keep her hooves fairly healthy.I would recommend this for healthy horses with generally healthy hooves. It'd be good for people who want to give their horse extra hoof support but not for horses whose hooves break up badly.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hooves have deteriorated If memory serves, I've been using this for over 2 years (at a full-sized-horse dose for a small Arabian) and her hooves have gotten noticeably *worse* despite that nothing else has really changed in her life. Can I blame it entirely on this supplement? Of course not! But I did expect better. Two years is a sufficiently long trial period and I plan to move on to something different.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why buy anything else? Noticeable results. Just look at the product comparison chart. Even a double dose is still cheaper and higher in ingredients than other top brands.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palatable I've just started feeding this to my 13 year old riding gelding and he eats it right up. I was using Farriers Formula and I liked that too but it was more expensive and I had also read a positive review of Shoer's Friend in the Horse Journal. He hasn't been on it long enough for me to tell if it's working any better or worse but I'll keep you posted!
    Date published: 2010-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Major impact for minor money My 30 year old TB mare has been receiving this supplement for over a year. She is barefoot all year long throughout NY's frozen winter ground and cement-like summer footing. She has no cracks or thin walls which was common in her past. I find the quality and performance of this product comparable to hoof supplements that cost quite a bit more - highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My horse and farrier both seem to love it and with its price so don't I!When trying to encourage my horses feet to grow out a bit I started using this product. My farrier noticed the difference the next appointment!
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by our farrier ... We have been using this product for over a year now, and we highly recommend it. Our farrier, pointing out our mare's feet during a particularly hot and dusty summer said, "Her feet are kind of a mess. You guys should be using Shoer's Friend." So we did. We have two horses and both are benefiting from Shoer's Friend. Our TB got an abcess this spring, a really nasty one deep in his foot that took three weeks to blow, but his feet are doing great, even after a summer of living in a rocky area and stomping the bugs. Smart Pak is the best place to buy Shoer's Friend ... they may not have the lowest price, but their low shipping prices more than make up for any small difference in the actual price of the product. Our purchase actually turned out to be about $8 cheaper than the next cheapest option on the internet once the shipping was calculated in!
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value We are giving this to 2 horses. Seems to be working.
    Date published: 2009-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoers friend.....AMAZING!! shoer's friend has completely fixed the problem i have with my Quarter horse mare!! After going 10 weeks with the same shoes on she did not grow any toe or heel!!! Since putting her on this product for about a month i can already see a difference in here heal and toe its amazing, she grew enough to have some cut off! This products works wonders!!
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof saver! My horse seems to be going through constant hoof problems. Right now he is going through an abscess and white line. It grew almost to the top of his hoof on the toe. We're having to reconstruct his hoof and these supplements are making it much faster and he's much happier. I also love how they are in pellet form now! He doesnt have a problem eating them.
    Date published: 2009-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this extensively I own two horse with white cracked feet. Shoer's Friend has worked wonders for them. Don't excpect this product to work over night. Several months are needed to improve the foot. Don't go off of it tho or you'll be right back where you started and quickly. (Voice of experience talking.)
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product at GREAT Price I have used this on a couple horses that needed hoof supplements. It worked just as well if not better than some of the more well know expensive compeditors. Compare the nutritional value with the others! Great product!
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works The hoof is growing faster and stronger after a founder incident.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not A Deal I bought this after taking some time to compare many brands and thought this had the best / highest combination I needed for hoof. I had my horse on this for over a year and saw no improvement in his hoofs. I changed to Farrier's Formula and saw results in 3 months. Sometimes you get what you pay for!
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.