Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Back on Track Saddle Pad

Back on Track
- Item #17059

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber. This pad effectively warms up your horse prior to work and helps keep muscles loose and supple. It also promotes an accelerated recovery time after strenuous exercise.

Favorite Features

  • Ceramic infused fibers with heat reflective properties
  • Billet straps with velcro
  • Imported

Sizing It Up

AP measures 23" spine x 19" drop
Dressage measures 22" spine x 21.5" drop

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Back on Track Saddle Pad is rated 4.7623 out of 5 by 122.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only used this product once so I'm not positive on how well it works. I have the Back on Track Quick wraps and love them so I'm expecting positive results from the pad as well. It's a nice looking pad and fits my 17 hh TB well.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the $$ My oldest horse has a tendency to start out cold backed when we start working even if I go through slowly tightening the girth, quarter sheet, etc. I was initially suspicious of how well Back On Track stuff might work but my mom's arabian has been having issues with his hocks and she got him the hock wraps from BOT and has been seeing improvements; so I gave in and got my oldest a set of hock wraps and no bow pillow wraps. Since those have helped my oldest with his arthritis in his hocks and the wind puffs in his legs I thought I'd give this a shot; now granted no horse likes a cold saddle pad this time of year so I have to put it on him under his fleece cooler to get it warmed up. But once I am in the saddle he seems to be more willing to loosen up his back. I just ordered two more and one for my western horse as well. 
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just bought some more! Started with the black dressage pad which I use daily for lessons. My mare warms up much quicker since I have been using this pad, and really stretches down into the bit. Just got a white one embroidered as a Christmas gift for my trainer, and a white one for myself for upcoming show season. Would highly recommend! Also use Back On Track sheets on both my horses.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for winter Had been borrowing a friends to try it out then got my own for Christmas. Living in the Midwest it can pretty cold and this pad seems to keep my mare happy in the cold temps!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad I have now bought 3 of these pads, and I will be getting rid of my old non BOT pads as I don't use them. My horses all go better in them and are quicker to warm up and use their backs. I would recommend a schooling pad in black as the white cleans up ok, but is difficult to get back to show white, I have 2 for schooling, one white, one black, plus one just for showing. I like the 2 slots for the billets as it keeps it in place better than the traditional billet keepers.
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will buy a second one! I bought this as a shot in the dark, the reviews were good but I was skeptical that a pad could really make that much difference. My horse had been a pasture ornament for quite some time before I got him, and had come along with a lot of sore spots and tension along his back. I had been struggling with ways to alleviate his tension (chiro, new saddle, nice sheepskin half pads) which all helped but not to the extent I wanted. I tried this pad (which I got monogrammed and is the envy of the barn :)), and I'll have to say it makes a huge difference. If I put it on 15-20 minutes before we go work, he keeps his head lower and his back looser. My trainer also noticed that he is much more willing to engage his back end and no longer flinches when grooming his back afterward. Since I only have one, I use the old setup when I have to wash it and we notice a slight regression to his soreness. I'm planning on getting a second one, in black, so we don't encounter this problem anymore. I bought white because I already had a black pad, but I will say it gets EXTREMELY dirty and it is difficult to clean. When I use it I make sure to thoroughly groom him, and I even waited until he had mostly shedded out before I used it, but it is ridiculously stained and dirty. It's also a relatively thick pad (but I can still use it in Texas summers since I don't need a half pad), and hair gets caught pretty deeply in the underside. I wish I had bought black for every day use :(.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Stiff Horses Louie always takes a few laps to warm up before we can start working. When I used the Back On Track saddle pad I noticed that it was taking him less time to warm up and some days he came out bouncy and not stiff at all. Even my trainer noticed how he was moving freer during our warm up. While we haven't had sore back problems before I do notice a difference when using this saddle pad. It is definitely worth it! It is a bit large which to me isn't a problem because I can use it with both my jumping saddle and dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I wish they had a couple more colors because the black blends in with my saddle and the white gets supper dirty others than that I love the texture and fit!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saddle Pad I've Ever Owned At first, I was a little skeptical. I mean come on, am I really supposed to believe that this thing is going to improve the way my horse performs? It's just a saddle pad, right? Well, I'm here to tell you that it's not a gimmick! This saddle pad does everything it is advertised to do! From the first time that I used it, I noticed a difference in the way my horse moves. My horse is much happier when I use this saddle pad vs. the regular plain jane ones. He is much more supple and willing! Plus, it looks great too! I use mine every day, and it still looks new! It is a good length, and it fits my 17.5 inch saddle perfectly. I have paired it with a Thinline pad, and my horse is so happy! The only downside is that it does collect hair pretty quickly, but that's no big deal if you have a wire brush handy. It's defiantly not a deal breaker for me. If you're thinking about buying this pad, but the price is making you think twice, I assure you that it is worth it!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice pad, but too hot for summer I purchased this'll back in February and used it for only a few months before it was too hot. Is black and with it being heavier, it's just too hot for the summer. The price is also another issue. Is expensive and honestly doesn't wash up that well. Hair sticks to it like glue and even with a wire brush, it still doesn't all come off. I may purchase again in white, but I just feel like its too heavy for year round use.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Just Noticeable Difference! Originally I was skeptical about this product - it seemed like a great concept, but I had hesitated for a while because it is pretty pricey for a saddle pad. I have been using it for about a month and I love it! I got a free monogram and it looks fantastic. It's really well made and holds up well. My horse is a bigger built 16.1h TB and it fits him very nicely. I think people think were saying it looked large because it holds a very distinct saddle pad shape. Back On Track sells a soft version on their website, but I like the stiffer one. It stays in place and off my horses's high withers! I have noticed that this pad really helps my horse come out of his stiffness much quicker. I have been rehabilitating him from arthritis-related issues and this pad is so nice to have. He gets chiropractic work often, Adequan, had hock injections in Feb, and on SmartCombo Ultra. So just using this pad alone to help with those types of issues won't do too much, but it does help your horse loosen up a bit under saddle. I used this pad today and I noticed such a change in his back in the canter - we haven't cantered in months. Granted he still needs work to become more balanced, but this pad really made a difference. What is also great about this pad is when it's colder it will really help your horse come out of stiffness. When I took his pad off today, in 90º, he was more sweaty than he would have been in a regular pad. This just shows that it works like it should! I definitely think this saddle pad is worth the cost. I wish they made it in more colors, but the black does look stunning on his gray coat. My next Back On Track purchase will be either polo wraps or gloves for me!
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I had never used a Back on Track product before purchasing this pad. My horse has a sensitive back, so I figured it was worth a try. While I haven't noticed much of a difference while riding, his comfort level has seen a HUGE change.When grooming before a ride, he typically flinches away when I brush his back, no matter how gentle I am. After riding with this pad, I can sweat scrape his entire back without a single flinch. In the past, his back had always been even more sensitive after a ride- now it feels so much better. After using this pad for a few days in a row, his pre-ride sensitivity decreases, too. However, when I took the pad home to wash it and used a normal pad for a few days, the sensitivity came back. I will definitely continue using Back on Track products, they're well worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Brand I first tried Back On Track with the mesh sheet. My horse has an achy back and thought it wouldn't hurt to have extra support under saddle. This pad is the only pad I will ride in now. My horse feels amazing and isn't fussy anymore when working. You can not go wrong with this pad, it really works wonders on horses who have cold backs and just to help make the horse more comfortable during work.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only pad I will ever use! I normally don't believe in these things. However, I bought the Contender II pad because it was pretty and looked really durable. I really noticed a difference this pad made when I finally had to wash it and was using a normal pad in the meantime. This pad helps my horse loosen and warm up his back. Plus, it's durable and washes up good as new. I won't be using any other pad from now on!
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Really delivers on all its promises. Horse is more comfortable, supple, flexible from start.
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Saver I purchased this pad for my young horse. We had not been successful in getting him properly fitted in his saddle. That, plus being tense and high strung, led to a very tight back. The first time I used this pad, I could tell a difference. Warm up time was shortened considerably. He is much happier and willing to move forward more freely. Nothing takes the place of good training and developing the proper musculature but this pad definitely makes to job easier!
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad I purchased this pad about a month ago, fit is great.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad, high quality, good size I have a lease mare that is older, and a bit stiff. She does heat up a bit faster with this pad. I think it does help warm up for working more quickly. That said, I haven't noted any 'amazing' changes in her normally great mentality either way.It's a great size, plenty of clearance for my saddle. It is good quality material and stitching. It is a thicker pad, but not bulky. The girth straps are in a correct position and the billet straps are velcro (so easy to attach and remove). Overall, very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OOH AHH I have had and used this pad for about 3 months now. My once cranky mare when I would girth up the saddle, now stands like nothing is fazing her. The pad has made such a difference when saddling and riding. When warming up, she is so much looser and free moving then ever before. This pad is making such a huge difference in my mare's attitude. Soreness in her back is minimal as a result, hence the OOH AHH! A suggestion to keep it white longer: I sprayed the outside of the pad with a fabricate protectant. It is staying clean and white. Love this pad!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful product fits my OTTB high withers perfectly. she seems more flexible for her 18 years! the special ceramic within the pad itself is a good idea.. Anything that would aid my horse in feeling good about being ridden is worth a try.
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Product The size of this pad (AP) is perfect. My horse seems to like it. Haven't washed it yet so I cannot comment about that. She is swinging her back more and seems to be more comfortable under saddle.
    Date published: 2013-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Sure/ Not Bad I was hoping this pad might improve my warm-up on my TB/Connemara gelding. He needs to go from walk to canter and actually do some jumping before you get any serious trot work. He's a cribber with a short tight back. The pad is thicker than I am used to, but seems to conform nicely under the saddle and is well made. I feel like I have a nice saddle pad, but I don't think it has made a difference in my horse's performance.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately helps tight backs My horse has responded very well to the saddle pad. She stretches down very willingly much sooner in our ride than before. I put the saddle pad on her back while I am grooming her to give her back some extra time to warm up.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed for my horse's back The saddle pad is the best I've ever used. It absorbs the sweat while riding and keeps the horse dry. It rinses off with water effectively and good as new when dry. I couldn't be more pleased. I think it also helps with riding on-the-bit and through for the dressage horse.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my pad I am overweight, so I worry that my horses will get sore backs. I use this pad, along with the thin line, to hope to reduce this risk. So, far, so good... no sore backs. I have had this pad for about 20 months, and it is starting to show wear. I have never been able to keep a pad this long. I am reviewing now, because I did some research on the back on track site while trying to consider whether I should buy a new one. They say even when they show wear (my black pad has areas near where my legs rub, etc, with white wear areas) the pad still works. I am really happy that I do not have to purchase another expensive pad to still feel that I am doing what I can to protect my horses' backs. Plus, I'm working on weight loss, of course! :) I think this pad is worth the extra money for injury prevention and treatment.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works I have ridden my horse in my B.O.T dressage pad for a month now and I have to say that it actually works. He is no longer girthy at tacking up and I can feel his back round at the canter. As an experiment, I rode him in a regular pad the other day and he was much stiffer at the canter and girthy again. Now I need more pads!Expensive, but worth it.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but ... ... worth it! All of my horses respond well to the Back on Track products. This pad helps shorten warm up time for my "teenagers," but also takes the edge off my young mare, who used to be fidgety when tacking up and mounting. This is one pad, however, that you do not want to cut off the velcro, as it does slip a little if you use a half pad.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads! I have a couple of these saddle pads, and some of my horses just respond really well to them. They're calming to them during tacking and mounting, and they really do reduce warm up time for horses that are usually a little stiff through the back. They are pricy, but they look nice, clean up easily and wear well. Worth it.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.