Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls

ThinLine
- Item #16925
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Thinline Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is perfect for riders that prefer fit, function, and fashion in a saddle pad. ThinLine developed this pad to give riders the fashion appeal of sheepskin and the shock absorption they and their horses need without the bulk, high maintenance or cost of a full sheepskin pad.

Favorite Features

  • Cotton base creates a wither profile and spine free channel allowing the Ultra ThinLine to lay on either side of the spine
  • Does not interference for riders who prefer close leg contact with their horse
  • Will fit under both custom fitted and off the rack saddles because of the pad's sleek design
  • Pockets for shims allow for minor saddle fitting adjustments.  Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium: measures 18" between the rolls and 23" including the rolls.
Large: measures 19 1/4" between the rolls and 24" including the rolls




You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is rated 4.775 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If your saddle doesn't fit We use this to protect a horse's back from slightly ill-fitting saddles. It works well.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice alternative to full sheepskin I didn't want to fork out for the fully lined sheepskin half pads so this works great for us. Very nice construction. My only criticism is that I ordered the medium and I have a 17" saddle and it doesn't fit my saddle as much as I would have liked. It fits my friends 18" antares perfectly though. I think the small may have been too short though since the length is good.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great half pad I'm very happy with this pad. It's attractive, it's easy to add extra shims, it stays in place. I think the thinline really helps both my back and my horse's. Plus it's not that expensive. I highly recommend. As for size, I got a large for my 18" saddle and it's a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My saddle fitter recommended a Mattes correction pad as a temporary fix for my dressage saddle. That pad was almost three hundred dollars, so I opted for this pad with shims in the front. It seems to improve the balance of my saddle and provides the additional padding the saddle fitter wanted. I'm very happy with this purchase so far.The only reason it didn't get five stars is because I'm concerned with how it will clean. I got white so I can show in it, and it's already dirty. The combination of materials is going to make it hard to clean.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Pony Our 16 year old pony was having sore back issues. This pad has eliminated the sore back problem and my daughter feels the difference also. The medium seems a little long for our 16" saddle but it is not too bad.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Half Pad! My OTTB has super high withers, and we've been through a number of pads, but all seemed to pull across the top of his withers. This pad stays where it's supposed to be, doesn't pull, and looks great! I love the ability to insert the shims too, which has helped with other minor pressure areas.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful as well as effective This half pad has beautiful sheepskin on the front and back of the pad. This is an improvement over a full sheepskin pad. There are two reasons for this being a preferred design: 1) full sheepskin simply does not hold up to cleaning, even when all precautions are taken to preserve the sheepskin (the sheepskin comes off in chunks with cleaning, you'll see if you have one and try and clean it repeatedly), and 2) full sheepskin is bulkier and results in less contact.Furthermore, the thinline is effective. It doesn't look like much...it's not thick, but you can feel the difference in the saddle.It looks great, the best looking half pad I've owned.I bought the medium, and it fits perfectly with my 16.5 saddle. The sizing appears to be very specific for this product, so be sure to read what size will fit your saddle.I bought the Back on Track all purpose saddlepad to accompany it.I also have the Contender II dressage saddlepad which combines the back on track dressage saddle pad with the thinline pad, in one product.This really is a product woth considering if you are in the market for a half pad...it's the best I've owned by far....and I've had quite a few.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Pad I was extremely pleased with the quality of this half pad. It's a well made product. My horse competes in 3 disciplines and the trainers use their own saddles when riding. I bought this pad to protect against back soreness and it seems to be working.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse loves this pad I am impressed at how much shock this pad absorbs - I definitely notice that I am sitting more quietly, especially at the canter. I got the large for my 17.5" forward flap xc saddle, and it fits pretty well, though it is a bit much with the sheepskin rolls in the back. I would prefer if they offered this same pad without the rolls in back, but that's a minor complaint. I can feel my horse moving through his back much better after beginning to use this pad!
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Splurge This has been on my "wish list" for quite awhile now. I always found other ways to spend my money and kept putting off the purchase. After a prolonged struggle with saddle fitting and sore back issues with my young mare, I decided to just go for it. I can't even begin to tell you how upset I am that I didn't do it sooner. My horse loves the feel of this pad. I love watching her work while she's tacked up in this pad. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have one for each of my 3 horses. I view it as an extra insurance policy against sore backs.Functions well and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Thinline! I tried several different half pads before the Thinline and they were either too thin, too bulky, or didn't fit right. The Trifecta is the perfect compromise for me - just the right thickness and fits really well under the saddle. The horses seem to love them and so do I... so much that I bought one for each horse! I've had my oldest one for almost 3 years and it still comes out of the wash looking almost brand new. They're very durable.
    Date published: 2011-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The size large is perfect for a 18" saddle. I have an Albion SLK Ultima and a Barnsby Diablo. Fit's perfectly!
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! After reading some of the other reviews I was a little nervous to order the large size of this pad but it fits perfectly under my 18 inch dressage saddle. It looks beautiful and my gelding, who has a very sensitive back, feels wonderful. I have been using the Thinline pads for several years and they are the only pads that keep him feeling good.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad This pad is really nice, it is quite large though even for 17 1/2 saddle. lots of room, could be made smaller for a better fit.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad! I've used the ThinLine pads for a couple of years now. Although I can't really say that I wouldn't ride without one... they REALLY WORK to absorb quite a bit of the shock. I feel the difference in how my back feels after long rides, and I'm certain my horses receive an equal benefit--and without all of the bulk and springiness of other pads. The medium size fits nicely under my 17-1/2" jumping saddle. SmartPak's price is great, too!
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ThinLine = ThinAwesome! I bought this when I was looking for a half pad for my new horse. He was still gaining muscle (and still is) so I wanted something I could fill with shims until he gained muscle. My old saddle also fit a little low, so I also needed something to be able to shim for that, as well. I couldn't afford a full sheepskin pad (new horse, remember!) so this was my next step. It has all the shock absorption it says it has. I have tried the golf ball trick on it, and it works! My only complaints are the medium was big for my 17" saddle, and it got dirty very easily and wasn't easy to clean.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ThinLine is amazing This Thinline pads offer the protection of the sheepskin pads but without the bulk. The shock absorption is amazing. I have several customers with these pads and we will never go back to the traditional sheepskin.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks ridiculous, WAY Too big! I wish they made a small version of this pad, because if they did it would be amazing. I really like the shock absorption and it does seem to really make my horse more comfortable, but this pad is ridiculously too big.This pad is so long it extends far beyond every square pad I own (even dressage pads!) and as a result it looks funny and the sheepskin rolls get very dirty. Don't even think of using this pad with a hunter jumper saddle that's 17" or less, you'll see about 3-4 inches of pad behind the saddle, not counting the roll.I'm thinking of returning the pad and trying the Mattes instead. I just wish Thinline would make a size to accomodate smaller saddles. I hate to admit it, but looks really are important and neatness counts, especially in the show ring!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as nice as the Comfort Pad, more affordable After purchasing and spending over $250 on the Ultra ThinLine Comfort Pad, I washed it twice and the sheepskin began to fall off in chunks. I really liked the pad and was so bummed because it looked too awful to use anymore, but the pad itslef wasn't damaged, I decided to buy the trifecta with the look of full sheepskin. Wayyy better all around. Less $, Less fabric making my horse hot, and easier to take care off without losing the popular sheepskin style.(P.S. I washed the first comfort pad in the regular washing machine instead of reading the directions on the proper care (hand wash) so it was no fault on the quality of the sheepskin pad or the company).
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad but HUGE!! My mare has an extremely sensitive back and I have been using a thinline pad for a long time. I needed to get a pad for horse shows so I bought this one. She loves the pad but it is SO big!! I got the size medium for my 17 inch saddle, that is very wide in the seat. It is still very long and wide. I can't imagine what saddle would need the large. Great pad, but wish it was smaller!
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE ThinLine! I bought this pad after trying a friend's - the difference I feel in my ride with it is amazing! Great shock absorption, and it is making it much easier for my horse to get back in shape without soreness in his back. I also love that I can add shims later - a great feature when I use it on more than one horse. Gave durability an average rating because I've only had it a couple weeks - but so far so good! Definitely would recommend any of the ThinLine pads after this purchase.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad - Bad fit guidelines I am extremely please with the quality of this half pad. Not only is it very attractive in style, the quality is great: stitching & materials are quality. THe sheepskin rolls are very soft and of much nicer quality than most other sheepskin products.Unfortunately I followed Smartpak's sizing guidelines vrs thinlines size guidelines (which on their website stated that the medium would fit most saddles up to a 17.5 seat) I have an Anky Dressage saddle 17 seat & the large was 2 inches too long between the rolls and it looked ridiculous. I returned for a medium, the fit was perfect and would easily fit a 17.5 seat. The 1 star rating for Fit is based on SmartPaks flawed sizing guidelines. I would recommend you follow Thinlines guidelines instead to avoid having to exchange for a different size.Excellent half-pad that does not change the fit of a well fitting saddle and for saddles needing minor adjustments, the ability to add shims is a big plus.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!! I love this pad! I've never had such a great quality pad before and this one met an exceeded my expectations in every way. You can feel a difference in the way you ride, and it makes it that much more comfortable. My horse enjoys the shock absorption it has to offer. I love it! :o)
    Date published: 2011-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! I love this pad, felt the shock absorption in my back immediately! Definitely agree with other reviews about sizing. I got a medium and my saddle is a 17", fits great!
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I was very skeptical when a saddle fitter recommended this pad. I really don't see how it's that different than other pads out there, but with the thinline name, it's quite expensive. I borrowed one from a friend for a week, and my horse loved it. Needless to say, he now has his own.
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicest Half Pad I have used At first, I was concerned when I pulled it out of the box, because it looked too big, lengthwise. But, after putting in on on horse with the dressage saddle, it wasn't too big at all. It is longer than normal half pads, but when you really look at it, the actual therapeutic portion of the pad fits perfectly under the saddle where it is supposed to give the protection, It's the fleece part of the pad that "sticks out." I recommend following the instructions SmartPak gives when ordering the specific size for your saddle. I ordered a large, and I ride in a 17" dressage saddle. The sheepskin is very good quality, not cheap looking like some sheepskin pads can look. I have received many compliments on it, and use it for daily rides, but will also be using it at shows, as well.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad!! I love this pad. My mule had been a bit sore when I rode in my english saddle. I thought I would give the pad a shot because the chiropractor recommend it. It looks great with the fleece front and back. I first tried it out on a three hour hunter pace and her back was not sore a bit. He gates are much more fluid as well. She is happy and so am I!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good so far! I originally got the larger pad because my saddle is a 17", but it was huge so I traded in for the smaller one. I love it. Even though the pad itself seems a lot thinner than my Mattes one, I immediately felt a difference in my horse's gaits...and he is quite bouncy. He has high withers and the pad fit nicely into the gullet of the saddle, unlike my Mattes. I also used it as a bareback pad and both my horse and I appreciated having the added protection. Overall, great-looking, functional pad.
    Date published: 2010-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! My tb has almost no muscle in his back and very high withers, making it hard to use a regular saddle pad and have him be comfortable. This pad fixes that. He is definitely moving more round and is more happy to work with this pad. I bought the extra shims as well. This was a great purchase. I have recommended this to multiple people.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    • 2015-03-05T07:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_6925, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.