Product Image

Bug Check

Natural Horse Vet
- Item #10686
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Bug Check brings you the best of both worlds! Bug Check contains garlic, yeast and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Bug Check is Non-Toxic, Chemical Free, No "Spray On" Hassle and Palatable!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

NOTE: SmartPaks and buckets/bags now contain Alltech Lacto-Sacc Probiotics.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Bug Check is rated 4.1322 out of 5 by 242.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from i personally hate bugs. but i love to be around my horse. so i looked for a solution. i ordered bug check in her smartpak and just with in a couple of weeks most of the bugs were gone! she happier, im happier
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product started bug check this spring. WE always had a fly problem in stalls. I put up fly strips and sprayers and used a lot of fly spray to keep flys at check to no avail. After using bug check, I have had very few flys in stalls and I don't use the sprayer or strips anymore. I would definitely recommend bug check.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Tasty Product I have used Bug Check for 4 years now and combined with Fly Predators I barely have a fly problem! The horses love it - I just add to their feed, add a little watered down sugar-free applesauce and no problem! They may swish a fly or 2 off now and then, but overall the 2 products work fantastically for me and my 3 boys!
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no difference I have not noticed any improvement in the amount of bug bite welts since I started using this product this spring.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I really liked Bug Check. I used it on my TB and I did notice a difference in the amount of bugs on him and on other horses. In my barn, we clean the stalls in the morning (i dont like it but i cant change it) so the flies have time overnight to breed in the horses manure. With Bug Check, my horse was noticably less-botherered.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love me now! Since discovering Bugcheck, all of my horses are more comfortable- no more stomping,swishing tails and running away from the bugs because there are none!!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Work The flies were tearing apart my horse.. I was at the point where I was applying fly spray numerous times a day.. I tried different fly sprays.. everything. Finally, I tried feeding this supplement + fly spray. I saw 0 improvement. Im going to try smartpak's fly control supplement and see how it goes.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too POWDERY,bad FLAVOR,NO RESULTS YET I HAVE A QUARTER HORSE BUCKSKIN MARE,SHE IS ABOUT TWELVE. I HAVE BEEN GIVING HER THIS PRODUCT FOR A MONTH NOW, I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY RESULTS. I MIX IT WITH HER FEED AND WET IT DOWN OR SHE WON'T GO NEAR IT. I KEEP ALL DROPPINGS PICKED UP AND HER WHOLE PASTURE STAYS VERY CLEAN. I USUALLY USE FLY PREDITORS AND HAVE NO PROBLEMS,I THOUGHT I WOULD TRY SOMETHING NEW. BAD IDEA.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good deal We had a long cool spring so the horses were eating it about 6 weeks before the bugs came out seriously. It helped tremendously with the buffalo gnats, stable flys and deer flys but I need to apply some fly spray now that the horse flys are out. Well worth the money to lessen the impact of the smaller flys.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well to repel flies! After 2-3 weeks I could see the difference for flies. However, due to this being a wet year, we now have gnats/no-see-ums and it doesn't seem to be working on them. They should only be around for a short time so I'm not too worried about it. Overall, this is a good product and I really felt it gave the horses relief from the pesky flies.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from no result! I have tried this product since about 2 months and I have no result at all. Not worth it.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from garlic concern I used to love this product because my horses did. Recently, I've come across research that even low levels of garlic fed to horses can be dangerous. I will finish out my shipment, but will switch in July.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blows Away I had a difficult time getting my horses to eat this product. It would practically blow away when they exhaled. I did however feed it to all 4 horses on my property, yet still seem to have plenty of flies. I wasn't really impressed. Sarahjoy Crain, trainer Independent C Farms
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It helps My horse who is normally a picky eater always eats this supplement right up. It does seem to have reduced the number of pests that bother him in the summer. There was a big difference in the number of flys and mosquitos on him versuses the other horses in his pasture.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from bug reducer I have used this product for a couple years and highly recommend it. It works best when you start in the spring before the flies get out of control. I t has significantly reduced the amount of biting flies. I do have to use some fly spray on the really bad days but not often.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit too soon to tell, but so far, so good! I've been uing this product for about 3 weeks and we're now in the height of fly season. I used Smart Bug Off last year for my very sensitive TB, and had slightly better results. I'm trying this for all of my horses, and while the huge horse flies are a nuisance, the small horse flies are less noticeable. We also use Fly Predators, which has been an incredible help! With both items, neighbors ask us what we did with all the flies! I got this item in the 10 lb bucket because of the savings and because it's a seasonal item.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased My mare has been on this product for about 3 weeks maybe less. I believe, it is really working well. She has no bites on her and the bugs fly around her but they don"t bite!
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product! My gelding gets covered in lumps as soon as the nice weather hits. Now he hardly ever has a bump! My filly usually takes a long time to eat and frequently leaves a handful. When she gets her bugcheck she licks the bowl! Plus their coats look great. A must for every horse I have.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! I was really skeptical of feed-through bug repellants at first, but Bug Check really does work! My picky eater gobbles it right up and we no longer have meltdowns during our rides because a bug lands on her. She is so much happier during turnout, too! No more pulling her out from the field soaking wet because she spent the time trying to outrun the bugs, she can munch her grass in peace :)
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not sure about this product I have to say that I had high hopes for Bug Check. At this point, I have to say that my horses are having major problems with bugs. The horse flies are eating them alive! I'll give it another month or so to see if it makes a difference. They eat this product with no problem.I have to add that this is not a SmartPak problem - SmartPak rocks!!
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working yet My horse has been on Bug Check for about 3 weeks and his sheath is covered in horsefly bites and one day that the mosquitos were bad he was covered until I sprayed him with fly spray. I don't know if it has to be in their system for a while but it's not working as of yet. My horse usually won't eat a powdered supplement and he is eating it so that's the only good thing about it.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bugcheck This product has definately helped reduce the fly population. I have used it for a year now and am hoping that using it again this year will help even more. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Check Really Works I've been using Bugcheck for about 6 weeks and was wondering how well it was actually working. Well, this weekend, on a very hot, humid trail ride, I found out. Two of the horses at my barn were on the ride and I watched a huge horsefly land on both horses, pause for a moment and then fly away. Since when does that happen? This stuff really works and I recommended it to another friend on the ride right then and there!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use it most of the year Quit using during the harsh winter we had but start on it again every spring. Helped my QH mare with hives from little bugs. All my horses get it from spring to end of fall.
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bug Check Well, my rating is not very accurate because we are so dry we actually have very few bugs so far, but the product smells fine and the horses are eating it. I have some ABC's bug stuff too and that smells really garlicky and the horses seem to tire of eating that.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.