Product Image

Bug Check

Natural Horse Vet
- Item #10686
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Bug Check brings you the best of both worlds! Bug Check contains garlic, yeast and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Bug Check is Non-Toxic, Chemical Free, No "Spray On" Hassle and Palatable!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

NOTE: SmartPaks and buckets/bags now contain Alltech Lacto-Sacc Probiotics.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Bug Check is rated 4.1322 out of 5 by 242.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this product hoping it would help with my geldings sweet itch. No luck on that ( although I have only been using it for 2 months), but it has improved my horses coat and I will be looking forward to see how well it works in the summer with all the yucky flies.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps with bug allergies My horse was found to be very allergic to the No-see-ums. The vet recommended we put her on Bug Check and it has made a huge difference! I still have to use bug spray on her as it doesn't stop all the bites, but it has allowed her to live without swelling and welts. The only downside is she smells like garlic :).
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from seems to be effective I do see some flies from time to time, but I have all three horses on this and for the most part there are not many flies around.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from more energy I started Dressage with my 16 year old QH this past spring and he had no energy for it and was sluggish...but after a couple months of the red cell and smart flex senior I noticed quit a difference...alot more energy and was able to keep up the pace
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I was feeding this for 2 years, then read somewhere that horses turned out 24/7 may not get the full benefit of insect products as something in pasture can neutralize the product. I decided to take my horse off this and majorly regret it. He has been off of it for a month and a half, and we have been miserable. My horse has gotten sores on his back from biting insects and our last show he was repeatedly harassed by horseflies. I am order this again and NEVER taking him off of it. Truly works and keeps my boy comfortable all year round.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Product To be honest, I haven't seen much of a difference with the bugs. Maybe just a slight difference. However, the biggest difference I have noticed is a huge difference in my mare's skin. Bug bites and the like usually cause irritation, mild hair loss, etc. in her and I haven't noticed any of that since she was started on this product. I will probably continue to use throughout fly season combined with fly spray as I'm decently satisfied with the results, but I think next year I will try something different.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WAS REALLY SKEPTICAL OF THIS ACUTALLY WORKING,BUT ITS EVEN BETTER THAN I COULD HAVE IMGANINED.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bugs Rosee has been on BugCheck for over a year and I was so pleased that SmartPak carried her supplements. Rosee loves the way it tastes. BugCheck does a great job at keeping flies at bay and I am very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does seem to work I wanted a more natural product to use onMy horses. I tried it first on my geldingWho seemed to attract more flies andHis stall is a little further away from theGirls. After the two weeks it says thatYou should see a differance and I did!As soon as I ran out of the equitrol thatI had been using on the mares I purchasedThe larger container and all three haveBeen on it since May. So far so good!!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't work out for us Piper loved the first couple days then... stopped eating it. I know he has a powder/crumbly stuff limit, so thought maybe if I swapped his Cool Calories powder for an oil top dressing he'd eat his Bug Check again and.... nope. I took a good smell of the powder left in his bucket and the main ingredient was definitely this. I'm not sure if it was the taste/smell or just too many powders, but in any event it goes untouched. I finally just cut it off of his remaining smartpaks (almost a month, of course), and am trying to pawn it off onto other boarders ;) I wanted it to work, but for now looks like we'll be sticking to spot treatments.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Using This for Years Wouldn't be without this product for our horses during the summer months in Illinois when we suffer from mosquitos, gnats, and all sorts of flying insects that make life a misery for the horses. Our Arabs (particularly the greys) are particularly thin skinned and sensitive to the bites. We like to turn our horses out to pasture, but despite fly masks, etc the insects can get at them and draw blood. We have learned to use this product daily with good success. When we had one horse boarded across town we neglected to supply him with the Bug Check...and were HORRIFIED to find TICKS embedded in his mane and tail! Once we started the horse back on the Bug Check, he cleaned right up and didn't have a one!
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work However, my Gelding does not particularly like the taste of this supplement. He gobbled up the Buggzo product last summer and would even eat it from my hand, but not this stuff.I do believe it works though because he does not have as many flies on him as the other 14 horses in the stable.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bugs don't care This product changed from my first order to the second order. The horses don't like it and it does absolutely nothing to deter bugs
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug Check Seems to be helping with tthe flies and other critters, only starting the 2nd month, so I am not sure 100% yet. My horse sufferes from severe bug allergy reactions, worst from mid May - mid Sept. We shall see!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful product! My horse Adiemus was having a heck of a time with bugs and was constantly flicking his head and tail in agitation and no fly spray in the world helped. So I started him on one month of a loading dose and now down to a maintaince dose. He no longer is agitated by bugs to the extreme. He seem all around more comfortable and happy. Tacking up is so much easier with him comfortable and standing peacfully.
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy i was skeptical of this product but found my senior horse to be bug free. He normally suffers from sweet itch and is very frustrated with bugs but I am seeing a content and happy horse this year.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't think they would eat it--but they love it! This stuff smells pretty garlicky, and when I first got a whiff of it I was sure my picky old mare wouldn't touch it. I have three mares and they all wolf this stuff down, though--in fact I would say it's probably their favorite supplement (I don't mix it with grain). It's not what I would characterize as an unpleasantly sharp garlic smell--it's pretty mellow, but I was quite surprised that my horses like it so much.I think it's unrealistic to expect that any feed-through supplement will totally eliminate insect problems, but if you have an unusually bad issue you'll try anything. My horses live in a sub-irrigated pasture with a ditch running through it, so I have to deal with a huge mosquito and biting gnat population in the spring and fall. Since I had some extra money this spring, I decided to try a bucket of Bug Check, and it does seem to have given them a bit of an edge. Too early to tell about the black fly population, but I've noticed fewer mosquito bites and the gnats don't seem to be as attracted to them either.I don't notice a garlic odor on my horses (unless it's right after they've eaten it). Will be repurchasing!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My horse has been on Bug Check for about 1.5 months now, it hasn't hit the heavy fly season yet, but so far it seems to be keeping the flys down. His stall has no flies in it at all, I can walk into his stall and now swat away tons of flies. He still has flies on him while riding, but they are fewer than usual. Overall good product.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly it works I tried this at like a last ditch effort for my horse. He hates the bugs. I started feeding it to him less than a month ago and didn't think it was working he was still swatting at flies. Until last night when I noticed my retired horse who the bugs never really bothered him was covered in bug bites while my other horse who was being fed this doesn't have one. That's enough proof for me. I bought some last week for my other guy now. At first he wouldn't eat it but I mix it with applesauce in his grain and he eats it fine.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure it worked i tried this product on two of my three horses. I saw no real difference in the flies on these two horses. I only used Bug Check for one month. I have since switched to Smart Bug Off. I hope it works better. Understand that I live in Louisiana and we have an unusually high fly population this summer. I still have to use fly spray with both products.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for picky eaters I cannot vouch for whether or not this helps keep bugs in check as our horse will not eat it. We did not think he was a picky eater, but perhaps he is.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Supplement This is the only supplement we have found which reliably reduces the fly population on our property. We operate a small boarding stable with 11 horses and have been using Bug Check for years. Even though it is a powder, we have never had any problems with the horses eating all they are given each day. This includes picky eaters and those who only get a cup of grain a day. It isn't the cheapest one on the market, but it does work.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I have used similar products and have found I like this product best. Since I use it every spring and summer I have reduced my flies problem down to about 75%, and the price is great too!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only thing That helps! Living in Alabama in the summer means bugs everywhere. They get really bothersome and drive the poor horses nuts! I’ve tried everything other supplement , fly traps and even fly predators nothing made a difference. Then I tried Bug Check It doesn’t completely eliminate the fly population but it cuts them in half and they bother the horse a lot less. Price is a bit high but It dose work.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have I love this product. If you feed it consistently to all the horses it definitely reduces the fly population in your barn. We clean our pastures and stalls daily of any manure and will spray the stalls bi-weekly with a concentrated spray as well. When we stopped the Bug Check many of us noticed an increase in the bug population, ensuring us it was worth the money.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bye bye bugs! I have used this product all summer (it is now September when I am writing this review). My horse tends to be suspicious of new supplements. I figured that with the garlicky smell he would refuse his feed, but I was wrong. He gobbled it right up. I found that I got excellent results with about two scoops per day. Any less than one scoop just didn't keep the bugs away.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.