Product Image

Devil's Claw Plus

Uckele Health & Nutrition
- Item #10658
Form: Granular
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Devil's Claw Plus is a herbal anti-inflammatory with Devil's Claw Extract, 3000mg Yucca, Boswellia Extract, Grape Seed Extract. Devil's Claw Plus was one of Horse Journal's Top Picks.

Note: Do not feed to pregnant mares.

View our Anti-Inflammatory Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Devil's Claw Plus is rated 4.557 out of 5 by 149.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Bute I have an aged gelding who suffers from low ringbone. Soundness has become an issue for him over the past several months, prompting me to look for ways to keep him comfortable without using Bute every day. Enter Devil's Claw. I have tried other supplements but he was still off every now and then even with Bute. Since he has been on Devil's Claw exclusively he seems to be feeling much better than he did before he was on it. His willingness to move and the ease with which he does so makes me wish I had taken him off the Bute sooner and put him on Devil's Claw exclusively. The nice thing about getting the dose in the Smart Pak is that I was able to make up a custom dose to account for his size. I am extremely happy with the results and would highly recommend giving this product a trial of two or three months. Your horse will be glad you did!
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! Love it. I wasn't sure about this product but I wanted something else other than bute for my mare, especially for daily use. It works awesome! Started out with 1/4th of what it said to give her and gradually increased it over the week, she can be a picky eater, now its like nothing has changed with her bran mash. As for pain relief, works just a good as bute, with out the risk for ulcers. She doesn't take a lame step anymore and is happy to come out of her stall for work. Most recently she has managed to bump her front left tendon and now we have a slight bow. That hasn't even been a worry, on stall rest and in wraps and still on the Devils Claw. I believe it has made the difference in my mare. She is a 15 year old Appy/TB, who came to me 6 years ago after having some awful owners. She now is a low level dressage horse and is happy to be one.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I first bought this off the shelf after my vet recommended it. It seems to help out with my older horses arthritis. I liked so much that I added it to my smartpak. I would recommend trying this first instead of like Bute or other harsh anti-inflammatory drugs. Especially if you just want your horse to be comfortable in their older years.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I used this product on my gelding that has navicular and it help ease his pain, and he is sound again to take on rides.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Results I have an older pasture only QH with lameness issues. Read the reviews on this product and it sounded like it might help. I was pleasantly surprized with the results. Her spirits are brighter, there is a spring back in her step and the best part is that she seems feel better. This product has achieved more goals than I expected. Two thumbs up recommendation from me.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Great Price My barrel horse gets worked really hard on occasion, and comes out a little stiff sometimes. I got him on this and he is doing great! I haven't seen ANY stiffness at all! I am very pleased with it! Price is fantastic too!
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I added Devil's claw to my horses monthly regimen of Cosequin ASU, and Adequan...after about a month of Devil's Claw I noticed a big change in my horse's performance. I honestly think the DC is what made the difference!
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great until I switched grain Worked very well in complimenting Cosequin to help my horses' joints stay fit. I had no issues with palatability until I switched from Strategy healthy edge to Equidade. Now I have a full large size container and a horse that won't touch it. I would add it to homemade cookie treats but I am unsure how it would hold up to being cooked. darn.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIghly recommend My 30 year old horse has been coming in limping on and off for the past year. After I started him on this product, he has not limped for months. It's really helping him with his arthritis.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Keeps my 2 25yo senior horses going. It minimizes the need to give them bute for their old achy joints and helps keeps them comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good alternative I switched to this from Smartpak Senior for my gelding. I LOVED Smartpak Senior, but, with the raise in prices and the fact he is retired, I just could no longer afford it. So far my gelding is staying spunky and sound with this stuff, so I can say it is helping him without breaking the bank. I have four other horses, so I have to be careful with my money, and since he is no longer my competition horse, this switch has worked great for him and for my pocketbook!
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective I switched a horse who had been receiving 20g of MSM a day for years with moderate success. He has arthritis in both hocks and a torn MCL in his left stifle. We use him in our therapeutic riding program and I felt he needed a little more help to be comfortable. We took him off the MSM and switched him to Devil's Claw Plus and noticed a difference in a few weeks. He is now much more comfortable and happier in his work and running around the pasture with the other horses. He has given so much to me over the years. It feels good to be able to do something for him so he can better be able to enjoy retirement.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff I've been using this on my mare who has been "off" for several years. She is now my son's walk trot horse, but this stuff seems to work great. I've noticed that she is much less stiff and sore on this supplement. while it isn't a cure, it sure helps to keep her a little more comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not after 6 months, it didn't work for my horse. A STB with clean xrays except for some arthritis in one stifle, and he has a hard time going down hill. after 1/2 hr ride really dragging. he is 17 so i'm going to try a senior supplement & see if that does better.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My mare was stiff so my trainer told me about this product and with in weeks lots more movement amd bending. Went from a board to fluid dressage mare .. i would use this product over and over...
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great purchase What i love about devils claw is that it works for EVERYTHING...i have a 26 year old paint who's joints are starting to slow him down but putting devils claw in his feed keeps him running with the younger horses....my own horse (12 year old haflinger/paint) has bad reactions to vaccines and quick temperature changes but giving him devils claw before and during these events has kept him form colicing or having any signs of it at all....the horses will also just eat it without any grain if offered which is unheard of for any type of medication....some of the best stuff ever....we keep it in stock at the barn now.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Gave this to my 27 year old arthritic mare. She is turning the clock backward! She tears around like a filly. It is wonderful to see her so comfortable, as she is a rescue I picked up for the grandkids and her previous life was pretty tough.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be patient--GREAT for chronic pain My QH gelding was born with some structural problems and would probably be lame without this product. This is a great alternative to bute or banamine, with the caveat that, for my horse, it took approx. 3 weeks of consistent use before I really started seeing results. He is moving so much better, and is much more frisky and active. There is less swelling in his legs, and he's like a different horse. This is nothing short of a miracle. No problems with the taste, and I actually have gotten to like the way it smells!
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smaller wind puffs I have noticed a reduction in my horses wind puffs. I feed it to two horses and they both eat it just fine.
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker I started using Devil's Claw about 6 yrs ago on a horse that i acquired that was basically crippled. He was on 3g of bute, isoprene, and multiple other drugs. After stripping him from all drugs other than Devil's Claw and a SmartFlex Sr the boy got back into the full swing of work and was pain free. I recommend this product to ANYONE and EVERYONE that has a horse using bute for any maintenance. This is WAY better!
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not for picky eaters sadly my horse doesnt eat it =(Maybe if it came pelleted..
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! My horse had what seemed to be a small muscular aches months ago, and to relieve any discomfort during the ongoing training, I put him on this product. Since I did a few other things to improve his condition, it is difficult how much exactly is from this product, but I feel very deeply that this product helps my horse. I cannot use this for the show, I don't think, and I have to re-check it, but I will definitely continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse didn't eat it My horse will NOT eat this supplement (strong smell), but she is very picky. I was able to syringe it with water in her mouth, but will be switching to a smartpak pelleted supplement with devil's claw instead.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from When my horse was on bute for an injury, I noticed he started flying around his pasture and acting years younger. So I wanted to find a natural bute-alternative for every day use. This product seems to be doing the job, because he's had no arthritis or stiffness this winter! I also use Smart Combo too so it could be the combination of the two...
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herbal Product My gelding had clicking noises in both hocks and my mare has arthritic calcium bumps on her front feet and stiffness in the front end. I've been feeding Devil's Claw plus for over a month and the clicking noise has faded and the bumps are showing definite reduction in size while the mare has increased her front end action to the point I put her under saddle just this week. I am very pleased with the results thus far and hope this gives them both continued relief.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Devils Claw My TW was having trouble with his right hind and after xrays, we decided to try acupuncture in combination with Devils Claw. After 1 1/2 months he really seems so much more comfortable. I really think the Devils Claw has helped lessen the inflamation.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Cent I have 3 horses that are 20+. Two were hard working trail horses, and the other is more of an general do-it-all horse. My appaloosa had a knee injury several years ago and I have always had him on joint support. My paint has navicular changes, and all three have some form of arthritis, so I wanted something to try on all of them to relieve pain and inflammation. It took about a month to see the changes in the 2 horses that hadn't been on anything, but my paint isn't so "hocky" anymore and the appendix is no longer stiff in the mornings, so I am sold on this product. It is very reasonably priced, and the picky appendix will actually lick his bucket spotless.
    Date published: 2012-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product! Tried this supplement as an effort to save some money on a joint supplement, also wanted a supplement i could buy in a larger amount. I've tried many supplement in the past and I am really happy with this supplement, even though I got it to save some money, it seems to be working a lot better than my other supplement. My horse is the soundest he's been in a really long time :). It did take about a month or so to notice a difference.Only problem was the first couple of times he got it in his feed he didn't want to eat it. But, we put some apple cider vinegar on it and he ate it right up.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.