Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet

Big D
- Item #16482

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. The tailored shoulder gussets together with the VELCRO® brand and double front closure prevent sagging and rubs. Blanket twisting and turning is minimized with adjustable surcingles and removable leg straps. Longer cut, self closing tail flap protects the hindquarters from wind. Mesh lining. Fleeced wither. Imported. 

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet is rated 4.4062 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and beautiful I bought two of these blankets in 2010, with the exception of some fading on one, these blankets last and have stoop up to the rowdiest horses in our herd. They fit our Morgans and Saddlebreds very well without any rubbing or shifting. The waterproofing is still working great after a few years of use and regular seasonal washing. All of that and they are handsome to boot! These blankets are a great choice for your lighter built breeds, and the price is right. Looking forward to adding a few more to our blanket collection this winter.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice blanket fits very well in the shoulders of my two quarter horse mares. nice turnout!
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice turnout blanket I bought this turnout because all of the rest I had tried were too snug in the shoulders on my two quarter horse mares. One is 15'1 and the other 15'2 hands. All the other turnouts rubbed the hair off. These blankets fit very well with more room around the shoulders and neck. It fits perfect!
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Returned it But not because of quality. I had read a previous review about the neck size being too tight on a larger horse but I wanted to try it anyway. That review was correct. On the 86 size the neck was just too tight for my 17.1 Hanoverian. Everything else looked great.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I have a connemara and I usually buy him Rambo Quarter Horse blankets, but they have been discontinued.. so I figured I'd try Big D since they're also designed for big bodied, quarter horse body styles. So far I love this blanket! Fits him great and seems to be true to size.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet Very impressed with the quality, water repellent, fit & look of this turnout sheet. I have an average size QH & the fit is true to size. Also, my horse is turned out with three other horse & it withstandstheir "horsing " around! I think the sheet falls alittle bit longer which I think protects them from the weather, keeping them dry in the rain along with the warmth in the fall season.
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Appendix QH very well! I got this blanket for my Appendix QH, I always had trouble with blanketing him because they all "choked" him and rubbed him shoulders... Not this one! It does sag a little after a week of usage though. Keeps my guy warm from 25-40 degrees! I highly reccomend it for QH, TWH and other breeds that have the same problem I did.
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse is hard on clothes! I purchased this sheet last year for my small Iberian type built mustang. He has a medium neck set that is hard to fit. The QH type blankets fall behind his wither and rub and choke him in the front. He also detests clothing and really tries to chew straps and rip material. The Chest strap ends are mildly frayed but still very usable and the rest of the sheet is pristine. I think this is the one that will teach him to leave it alone!! The blanket is also very balanced and doesn't move. I use it to combat wind chill and rain/snow so I don't use it above 45* F or he will get warm because he grows a very fuzzy coat on his own. I love it so much I am replacing my other two sheets for my other two mustangs even though they are still in good shape just having minor fit issues like stated above with the QH type blankets.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handsome, but not for a thick neck Beautiful blanket - looks very well made but for a size 86 the neck opening is too small for my big guy. Sadly I had to return it. He is 1/2 TB, 1/4 Belgian.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's okay for the price I bought this and also purchased a WeatherBeeta Orican freestyle, and the Weatherbeeta fits better and has better closures but costs a little more.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality for the price This turnout fits my horse very nicely, is very good quality and the price is right. I'm leasing a horse for the winter and didn't want to put a lot of money into blankets for him so this turnout is exactly what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent sheet but needs to be roomier I have a quarter horse that has a pretty broad chest and needed one that was made specifically for a quarter horse build without paying an arm and a leg. This sheet so far seems pretty good...well-built, and I like the longer length to help keep the wind out. The only thing I am unhappy about is that I have to buckle it in the front on the very last hole or it won't fit him....needs to be made roomier in that are.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit Great fit! Easy to wipe clean, durable and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for a Warmblood I have a 17.2 hh Mecklenburg warmblood. He destroyed this blanket in less than 3 days. The straps on the front are frayed, the blanket ripped and it has rubbed him hairless on the shoulders. Not a good choice for a large warmblood. Going back to weather beta.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for a Warmblood I ordered this for my new Swedish Warmblood gelding. He is 16 3 and very refined and this was terribly tight through the shoulders even with the gussets. A friend said this brand was designed primarily for Quarter Horses which explained the discrepency.If possible, please include this type of information in the item discription to save return shipping costs.If people have Quarter Horses, it looks to be a VERY nice sheet......for all others.......not so much!
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fit I purchased this blanket 2 seasons ago and it's still in great shape. It fits my half arab/paint mare perfectly, unlike others that are designed for warm bloods and other larger breeds with huge necks and shoulders. I intend to purchase another one soon and hope the cut isn't changed.
    Date published: 2010-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too tight in shoulders I have a 16.2 hand Dutch warmblood. I purchased the turnout as a replacement for the Smartpak Deluxe Turnout, which seemed to fit well but the top chest snap continually breaks. The Big D was even tighter through the shoulders plus it is just too long on the sides, not really necessary and I'm worried he would step on it getting up.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Big D is not for Warm-bloods I have always been a big fan of Big D and was very excited when this new line came out. I ordered one for my 16.3 Westphalian and found two major issues 1. the neck line is far to small for the size of the rest of the blanket, it is so tight even on the last hole that my horse can barley put his head down to eat even thought the rest of the blanket fit him wonderfully and 2. the write up says it has a show coat lining, it does not it has a mess lining that sticks to the coat of even a clipped horse and does not allow freedom of movement. My horse was so sore after wearing this blanket for only 2 nights that I cannot see ever putting it on him again, a Big waste of $120 for me as it does not fit like any other Big D that my horse has ever had. Too bad as it is a really well built blanket.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trying out Big D for the first time Well, Weatherbeeta aint what it used to be - the sheet I bought only a couple years ago is falling apart and lost its waterproofing so I thought I'd give Big D a try. Construction is excellent but it's too soon to comment on durability as I've only been using it a week. I love the more generous tail flap and fairly generous cut. If it could find a way to mimic Weatherbeeta's freestyle design, with the cupped shoulders and gussets at the point of the shoulder, I think this sheet would be outstanding. Otherwise I suspect it might rub a bit. I'll let you know after I've used it a few months.
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Rocks The Magnum sheet is exactly what you'd expect from Big D....excellent true-to-fit sizing, beautifully cut for quarter horses, rugged at 1200 denier, and great coloring with the red and yellow double binding. I've converted all my winter clothes to this line after seeing first-hand how well these blankets fit quarter horses.
    Date published: 2009-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but doesn't fit well Great quality blanket, but the cut and fit doesn't work with a higher/larger necked horse. The drop is ample enough, even for my 17.1 boy, but he gets pressure points and rubs from it on his neck and withers. Also, the black is great because it doesn't show dirt, but it cooks the horses on those in-between spring and fall days. I've gone out to check on him and he's been sweaty underneath, even on 40-50 degree days because the sheet heats up so much. Its a nice sheet, but a waste of money for me because I can't use it on him.
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.