Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16475

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

IceHorse™ Tendon Wraps with FirstICE® provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury.

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg wraps that stay cold for up to 2 hours. Reusable after a minimum of 3 hours in the freezer. First+Ice inserts feature a patented food grade propylene glycol formula for quality assurance and non-toxic properties.

Includes: 2 wraps, 4 FirstICE® inserts. FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are made with a non-gel formula that stays soft and pliable when removed from the freezer. Conforms to the horse's canon bone and tendons. 

Made in the USA.

If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ice Horse Tendon Wraps is rated 4.5769 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm! My horse recently got a moderate tear in her check ligament and was put on stall rest until further notice. I was given a topical ointment to bring down the swelling, but the swelling stayed and over time she got wind puffs and more swelling throughout the leg. I decided it was time to try something different. I only used these boots 2-3 times a week for about 20-30 minutes and within the first two weeks the swelling decreased greatly! Her leg looks much much better and the heat has been reduced as well. I couldn't be happier with the results.The boots don't look as nice and tidy as they do in the picture above, but they work and that's all that matters to me. They are also a little awkward unless your horse will stand still and let you put them on, in which case they aren't too difficult at all! The boots also slip down a bit if the horse walks or paws, but they are easy enough to fix that it isn't a problem.I can't wait to use these, and the hock boots, once she gets back into work to help reduce strain in the future! I would recommend these to anyone!
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than cold hosing I bought these for my horse who has a deep digital flexor tendon injury. After freezing temperatures made cold hosing impossible, I invested in a set of these. I found it best to put the gel packs into the boots and then freeze the whole thing together. If you freeze the packs and then try to insert them, they don't fit and you'll tear the netting. I also find that it takes about a half hour for the packs to soften up enough to mold to the leg but that you can still get a good icing if they're a bit hard. I don't recommend icing unattended as they start to loosen as the gel warms up and could slip.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OBSESSED WOW, loooove these. My 13 y/o Oldenburg has chronic thickening and frequent stocking up of his hind suspensories. I use these at shows or after a hard jumping lesson and it works wonders for him. My routine is to brush his legs off, apply these for 10-20 min, then give a rub down with Sore No More, follow by standing bandages with Wilker's quilts (+/- a poultice for really hard days). Yes, it's a process, but there's a reason my guy is still sound and happy after a looong career as an A/O hunter, even with his funky legs!
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! I love my ice horse tendon wraps! I always cold hose or ice my horses' legs after jumping or strenuous work and these are so easy to use. Much easier than hosing for sure and easier to use than my older ice boots, which would get really hard and then didn't fit the shape of the leg well. The ice Horse boots mold perfectly around the lef. I also feel that the temperature on these are ideal - plus you can stick the packs in the microwave for heat too!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purhcase I have an older horse that has to be babied after a workout. The tendon wraps work wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time-saver!! I bought these for one of my Lipizzan geldings for treatment of an injury to his left fore. I used these for therapy for 10 minutes instead of hosing for 20 minutes!! A lot more convenient & less messy than the traditional way. It really saved time as well. I really love these therapy boots & believe they hastened the healing process as well.Thanks again, Smartpak for coming through again!! Your customer service is fantastic as always!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally got my own pairs I have worked with theses boots from friends horses and wanted sets for my show horse. Easy to put on. Our barn needs a bigger freezer for all of the Ice Boots in it! Now if I can just convince her to appreciate my efforts and stop trying to stomp them off!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the price I have an older Grand Prix schoolmaster and I already had 2 of the Ice Horse tendon wraps which I began using after my rides to help keep my horse sound. They have lasted me for years and are still in good shape. I bought 2 more so now I can treat my Max with cold therapy on all four legs after each ride. I expect to be able to use and reuse them for many years to come.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest ice boots ever After my horse had a tendon injury, I spent several weeks cold hosing and using a cumbersome ice pack the affected area. I was so happy to finally find these boots that are easy to use!
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useable Safe, flexible design will work well with different sizes of legs. I like the easy change pockets allowing you to keep one pair on and another pair of packets cooling in the fridge for constant therapy. I also like the reuseable feature of the coolant packs.Note: it takes two inserts per boot.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get the job done I purchased these for management of my young guys old bowed tendon. They get the job done, but i'm not confident it's the best option for an injury. If the ice packs are frozen, they don't conform to the leg & subsequently you get uneven cooling (literally I can feel cool & warm spots on his leg when we're done icing). So it's best to wait til they unfreeze just a bit. Even then, the cooling isn't that even & you're left with readjusting the straps as it continues to unfreeze. Also, the ice packs themselves are a bit pricey (especially considering they don't last long & you need replacements). For more investment up front, i purchased the Equifit Gel compression boot.........hoping it resolves some of the issues I had w/these. Having said all of that, they really can get the job done if you don't want to put more money out up front. For me, my little guys legs are too important to skimp :)
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from what's up with the ice bags??? Great idea and overall, good design. But gosh, what is the deal with the ice packs? I used it .... twice??? and after reading reviews was kneading it a bit to warm it up enough to mold to my horse's leg and I looked down and there are ice crystals on my legs!!! Leaks already! I had read about the leaks but I was so careful and did nothing to ruin them....laid them carefully flat each time frozen with no sharp edges....and still leaked. Otherwise, good product for less than an hour of cold. Better than hosing.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must for Any Barn These boots get used a lot at my barn, and they are fantastic. They stay cold, conform to the legs, and are very durable to withstand use and abuse by a barn of 25 show horses. My gelding got a deep bone bruise on his knee last year, and instead of cold hosing, I used one of these boots over his knee, and it did the trick (instead of purchasing a separate knee boot). They can have the tendency to slip, so make sure to supervise your horse while using these (I like to use them while my horse is in the cross ties, while he is icing I can groom or pull his mane or supervise him while cleaning tack). Every barn needs to have a pair of these boots at their disposal, they are an easy and effective alternative to cold hosing.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! These boots are great. They stay cold for so long, it's easy to pack them in a small cooler and bring them with you for a day outing. They will still be cold enough to ice your horse's legs down.They're convenient too. Just pull the packs out of the freezer and slip them in to the boots and put them on, and walk away. No more trying to get your horse to stand in a bucket, or bulky ice bags to lug around.The ice packs don't freeze completely solid, so they easily conform to your horse's legs.These boots help keep my horse sound, and I use them after every jumping session and competition.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice product A lot of people have trouble with these slipping, but I don't think they are putting them on tightly enough. The straps have elastic and are meant to be put on very snug. It's a compression wrap as well as a cooling wrap.As for the ice packs, leave them out at room temp for five minutes before applying them. This way they melt enough to be soft and squishy; then they can be molded into the grooves of the tendon. This is the best way to use them in my opinion.I love these wraps. I use them after every ride, and my horse's legs are ice cold and tight when I remove them.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I love these wraps. They are easy to use, durable and fit great. We have used the inserts for a number of human mishaps as well. WAY better than ice given how nicely they conform to odd angles. Love them! Will buy a 2nd pair soon.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for your horse! I got these boots to save time and water on hosing. Espcially in the summer here in AZ where cold water out of a hose isn't as cold as you would like. These boots are great for use after a heavy work with your horse and injuries. The velcro has not worn out yet which is great. They are made very well. My only issue is the ice packs inside. They freeze hard which prevents them from conforming to the legs but it will after a couple min of being on. They break easily and leak as well. I put my own ice packs inside the boots and use them as directed. The Rapid Relief ice packs are GREAT!!!! Try those. I didn't have an issue doing this because of the ease of replacing the ice packs inside. Over all, great boot with ice packs that work for you.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item! My mare had a tendon injury 1 year ago. After cold hosing her leg for months and/or using ill-fitting people ice wraps, I decided to try something easier and ordered the Ice Horse Tendon boots. LOVE THEM!!! I have been using them religiously now for over 3 months, after each ride(yea!). They stay cold for a long time and are holding up really well. Would highly recommend purchasing them.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ice boots I was hesitant to purchase these b/c I had read other reviews on different ice boots that were not very favorable. However, I am thrilled with these boots. They far exceeded my expectations. They are super easy to use and very durable. I have already used them over 10 times and they have lots of useful life left. You can actually feel how tight and cold your horses legs are after using them - which we use after jumping due to a prior injury. For extra use, we use ziploc bags, doubled, filled with ice when the cold packs that come with this become warm.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE... These ice-wraps are a staple in my exercise regimen! After a work-out, I put these on my horse's legs and leave them on while I hand-graze him. My horse LOVES me! These DO stay cold longer... are super easy to put on and take off... and fit perfectly thanks to the stretchy velcro closures. I have just ordered another set for the back legs, too.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I took my horse to a three day clinic recently and bought these to help make sure he wasn't sore. I put them on after all three rides. First the back, then the front. And he didn't take one bad step the entire clinic.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon wraps - I LOVE them!! These ice wraps are the best! I got a full set and use them after a hard jumping session. They stay cold for a long time, even on a hot day. When I take them off, I can feel how evenly the cold has been distributed on the legs.You do have to make sure you put them on really tight because they could slip. I found out the hard way the first time I used them. The wraps slipped in back, my horse got mad and stomped and broke two of the ice packs before I could get the wrap off. This experience taught me to have a couple of extra packs on hand, just in case.If you have a full set, the ice packs will take up a lot of room in the freezer, but I only put them in the night before I'm going to use them.This is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great product ice packs stay cold for little over an hour. But Ice Horse Tendon Wraps do tend to slip down leg. But great product I would defiantly use this product again.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! These ice wraps are exactly what I needed. I have a nervous horse that is hard to keep in one place for icing. I also hated working with the ice trying to fill the pockets in some wraps. My horse is now able to eat hay in his stall after exercising while he is iced and I'm having great results.
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent therapy for returning horse to soundness After suspensory injuries to three out of four legs my horse has made it through rehab and several months of training and is still sound. Due largely, I believe, to application of these boots on all four legs twenty minutes daily after work. Ice therapy apparently is very therapeutic after exercise.I have found a couple of small areas of netting which hold the ice pack have torn. This occured early after purchase, but no other problems since.I am able to borrow someone's freezer for storage, otherwise I wouldn't be able to use this product. Ihaven't found that a wetting of the area with a sponge is enough, (as recommended) to transfer the cold to the skin. I find only a full shower gets him wet enough on the legs for the cold to mold to his legs. I probably need to experiment more to aviod the full shower.I wish they had a larger size for the hock ice boots, because I would buy them too if a larger size were available.By the way, in the evening I follow up with Back on Track leg wraps for support and to increase circulation. I believe the combo of ice and then later application of warming supportive leg wraps has made a big difference in maintaining soundness after so much trauma.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ice horse tendon boots very easy to use, ice packs retain cold for a long time, very comfortable fit for the horse.Wish I would have purchased them years ago
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.