Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Dublin Easy Care Half Chaps

Dublin
- Item #16138

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Dublin Easy Care Half Chaps are easy to care for machine washable half chaps. Elasticated at the back of the chaps. Reinforcement on the side of the calf. Perfect for growing kids! 

Imported.
     

Note: Size chart printed in the current catalog is incorrect. Please refer to the measurements in the sizing tab.
You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Dublin Easy Care Half Chaps is rated 4.2059 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps for the price I needed an inexpensive pair of half chaps to wear over my winter boots (MH Rimfrosts), as my regular half chaps just didn't fit over the bulk of the ankle. I have a 16" calf, and order the TL. They fit well over the boots, plus winter breeches with long underwear and heavy socks, with a little room to spare (without feeling too big).The one drawback (which is minor) is that the material is very grippy and SO squeaky against the saddle! I'm sure they'll break in (I haven't been riding much this winter), but man, are they loud.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I was looking for some schooling chaps while on a tight budget, and these are perfect for all of my needs. They are very durable, and they fit well.
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME HALF-CAPS theses are the best half caps i have ever owned. i love them, they fit great and they go great with any riding outfit
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd Pair Bought I bought my 1st pair of the Easy Care halfchaps when they came in pink. Held up to at least two years when I was just riding 1 horse/day. Only one snap broke after at least 1 year of use, showed some wear and tear, but really held up & washed well! Just bought these in black, seem to be thinner and not as durable feeling as the very first pair I got, but still like them for their ease of use and washability (haven't washed this pair yet though). This new pair slides down my leg as I ride, as the 1st pair stayed in place. Only slide down about an inch, and I will pull them up between the several rides a day I do. Overall, I would recommend these, and I probably would buy again! Can't beat the fact that you can machine wash them! Great schooling chap.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First purchase Purchased these for a friend for xmas. Quality and value look good for the price and plan on ordering a pair for myself. This was my first time shopping with Smart Pak and used the live chat and they matched the price I found on another site. Really liked the live chat as salesperson was fast, helpful and answered all my questions.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!! I've bought 2 pairs of theese chaps, and I love them! They fit my skinney legs, and last a lloooonnngggg time! I wore my last pair all day almost every day for a year before the zipper broke. When they get super dirty, I can just throw them in the wash, or brush them off with a broom. They're super easy to care for, fit well, and are affordable. I LOVE theese chaps!
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Fit But.... I bought these brand new lured in by the "easy care". They fit and feel great on my legs and fit nicely over my riding shoes. However, after the first week of riding in them, they are very worn. All the material that comes into contat with the stirrup leathers has flaked off and they are developing holes in these areas also. So, even though I just bought these, I am now having to purchase another pair of half chaps. I won't go synthetic again....
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the value. Great for beginning riders. Inexpensive and super comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thin, but works well for the price. When I bought these it was a snap decision because I'd broken the Zipper off my older chaps. I don't regret it but having known how thin they are I feel like one wrong fall and they're going to tear.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Price Product I was looking for half chaps a week before my schooling show and went to Google. This pair of chaps was the first hit and the price was right so I went ahead and ordered them. The expected day of delivery was the day before my show (a Saturday), but they showed up on Friday. Pretty good shipping turn around for waiting until the last minute.They fit well and worked great for the show. They are a bit hard to clean (you wipe the dirt off with a wet rag and it looks clean when it's wet and when it dries, it looks dusty again), but they fit well and the price was right. I've only worn them at the one show, so I'm not sure how they'll hold up, but I just plan on wearing them for weekly lessons and shows.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chaps These chaps may be a little lighter in weight than others but I like that. They fit great and went around my paddock boots better than chaps twice the price. They aren't as hot as others I have worn. That is important in Texas.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good half chap for summer wear These are lighter weight the conventional suede half chaps and are easily washed. Perfect for hot summer days of riding. But, not as protective to the shins and inside leg as suede half chaps. They do seem to do the job and appear to be sturdy enough to last a bit. Fit is very good.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Invest in a Better Product I was really disappointed with these half chaps after reading all of the reviews. I really don't like them at all. I measured my leg and they were a little small for me. They sag down when I'm riding. They are very thin, it's almost like not wearing any. I like the support of half-chaps, but these were a waste of my money. I only wore them a few times and the stitching is already starting to tear. I'd rather invest the money and get a pair that will last me a few years.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up These chaps have been adequate since I ordered them at the beginning of the year, and I've worn them a lot. But the suede-like material is really starting to wear off, leaving only some mesh behind. The other problem I had with these was that though they felt like they fit well, they were too thin to stay up with the friction of movement, and they would fall down and bunch around my ankle. My trainer always said she could tell that I was working :), but that also meant they didn't protect me from pinches. Super easy to throw them in the wash, though--that part I loved!! Would be great for a beginner wanting to take lessons in; price can't be beat!!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product These are great half chaps for the money. Very good looking.However they are a little thin even with the double protection on the inner leg. They also run a little large. I had to send back the tall medium in exchange for the tall small.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chaps I bought these chaps for my daughter, and she loves them. The only problem that she has had with them so far, is some of the stitching came loose, easy to fix, and sometimes they slides down a bit while she is riding. The are easy to clean up with a bit of water and a good stiff brush. Great value for the beginner rider!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OkAYYY These chaps are fantastic. They attract dirt but wash them and you would think that they are brand new. My Chaps slip from the top and end up bunched up in mid calf. Otherwise I love them.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling half chaps These half chaps are great for schooling they fit like a glove and held up so well thru multiple rides. But they still look great.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So good I've worn them twice so far, and they've been great. They look great with paddock boots and are super easy to clean up. You definitely can't beat the price. They are very true to size, but make sure you measure correctly (i.e., with breeches on). I ride Dressage and these will be great for schooling shows, especially in the warmer weather. The delivery was quick, they arrived about a week after I ordered them. Overall a very good purchase and definitely a steal for the price.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing chaps for the price! I bought these three years ago and wear them on a daily basis. They have lasted longer than my Ariat and Devon Aire chaps. I love mine, but I had an opportunity to try them on at a tack store before I purchased them. They fit my long legs perfectly!In the three years I've had them, they have no rips, holes or tears. They have been easy to clean and the wear on the calf isn't bad at all. I'll probably replace them in a few years.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not great these feel thin and don't look like they'll kast long. They are really baggy around the ankle although they fit the calf well. For the price I'll use them until they fall apart but wouldn't buy another pair
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding purchase for the price These are very light weight but durable half chaps. my other ones where so heavy and hot. i like these. they look classy and easy to clean.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok for the money I bought these half chaps to use instead of my leather riding boots. I could see how they would be very good for someone else, but they weren't right for me. I'm tall, and these were a bit short. They also didn't give me enough support in my leg - it felt like I was only wearing pants and paddock boots. But they are a great value for the money, and I could see how they would work well for someone else.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Great, Great My daughter loves riding. These chaps keeps going and going, she may be on and off the horse 4-5 times in a couple hours. keeps their shape and will be able to adjust as she grows.Perfect...
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! These chaps are great value for the money! They are true to the sizing chart, and the material is good quality, especially for the price. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I normally have a hard time finding half chaps that are short enough, but these are perfect. The sizing chart for medium says 17" for height, but mine is at best only 16". I've ordered half chaps from other brands that say the height should be 16" for a certain size and they've come past my knees. So, if you're short, don't worry about length with the Dublins.They are also very easy to care for and clean. They're rather durable as well. I have one pair I purchased three years ago. I bought new ones last month, but it was just because I wanted a different color, not due to them wearing out.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.