Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Comfy Cone

Item #16008

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Finally a solution for the age old problem of how to let your pet heal in comfort. Until now the only cone-shaped e-collar has been made out of hard plastic offering no comfort for your pet. Welcome to the Comfy Cone!

The Comfy Cone is made of patented nylon fabric laminated onto 1/2" foam which is soft and yielding while being very sturdy and protective. Simply thread your pet's collar through the elastic loops to keep the Comfy Cone securely in place.

The Comfy Cone has been specifically designed to allow your pet to eat and drink in comfort. Conforms to any shape making sleeping in the Comfy Cone comfortable for your pet. The pet can also pass through small walkways without getting the e-collar hung up as it bends and folds easily. Can also be partially or fully bent back for times when your pet is under supervision . Imported.

The Comfy Cone features:

  • Elastic collar loops to keep the Comfy Cone in place
  • Hook and loop closures and tabs which adjust the Comfy Cone to many different sizes. Also allows you to fully open the Comfy Cone when putting it on, instead of having to put the pet's head directly through the e-collar
  • Fully reversible
  • Water resistant
  • Folds flat for easy storage
  • Reflective binding for nighttime walks
  • More eco-friendly than traditional plastic e-collars
  • Wipes clean with soap and water

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Comfy Cone is rated 4.3784 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lousy product Bought this for our large saint. It's horrible. Way too big, too heavy and too hot. I used it once and went back to the plastic cone.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from functional and comfortable The comfy cone far surpasses anything the Vet's office provides - the typical plastic cones which are a horrible experience for the dog. The Comfy cone is just that - comfy and if the dogs runs into a wall, it simply folds a bit and the dog goes on. It does prevent the dog from licking a wound and without the discomfort of the hard plastic cones. I will always use this when there is a need to stop the dog from licking a wound or sore.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Cone is Comfy This cone really worked well. We have had dogs panic with the traditional plastic cone or refuse to do anything because they hated hitting objects. If you have a short-legged dog (like a corgi), the bottom edge drags on the ground and makes walking difficult.Our border collie, Lady, had the traditional cone for 24 hours before getting this one and what a difference! Lady relaxed. She could sleep much easier. Feeding was a breeze as the cone folds back so Lady could eat and drink without having to take the cone off.The Velcro makes it so much easier to fit the collar. Cleaning it was simple and the collar stores well as it folds up flat. The traditional collars take more space for storage.This cone is a great product all around and I would whole-heartedly recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Neck Issues I own 2 of these. One for my labs and one for my boston. The best thing about them is not how soft they are or that they can't crack (which is a huge plus), but knowing the traditional plastic neck opening won't cut into the skin on their throats. I don't know why more vet's don't sell these in their office.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work out My dog can bend out the comfy cone and reach her wounds!! very disapointed!! :( . I DO NOT recomend this product is such a waste of time and money...
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it, my dog didn't I thought this was a very nice colllar, seems well made . My dog didn't like it though, he preferred the plastic elizabethen collar. I think it was because the black interior along with no peripheral vision seemd even more restricting then the plastic one. It is also thick. I ended up returning it with no problems at all. As usual great customer service. Bottom line-- this is a nice bendable, more flexible, well made collar. If you don't think all that black will freak your dog out go ahead and order it. Wish mine liked it more.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from comfy cone The comfy cone was well made but it scared my dog. I think it was because she has limited vision and it is solid instead of see through so the lack of vision made her panic. For dogs with other issues, it would probably work out fine.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from True to its name This product was a comfort to my senior dog after knee surgery. He was so miserable in the plastic collar that the vet sent him home in, but once I put this on him, he gave me those "I love you" eyes... all of you dog lovers know what I mean! It was much easier for him to rest and move about during his recovery in this collar. The velcro was strong, and customer service helped me find the correct size (thanks!).
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surgical Stitches Saver!! I purchased this item ahead of time for my golden retriever who was scheduled to have 4 tumors removed. The item is great and she has needed to wear it nonstop for the last month so her wounds would heal properly. It can be folded to access food and water bowls and then put back to keep from chewing at incision areas. What a great alternative to those other clear cones!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than stiff platic The cone works better than the stiff plastic cone for licking and biting of skin irritations and wounds.Easy to clean and store.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surgical Cone! If you've ever had to deal with the hard plastic surgical cone, you will appreciate the comfy cone. It gives on impact and doesn't destroy the walls or furniture. Our opinionated stubborn little english bulldog even tolerated it nicely. The "cush" of the thick foam is really great! I would highly recommend this cone - which is at a very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure about cats... I think this cone would be better suited for dogs. Our manx removed the cone within the first 30 seconds. The cone is simply too large... wish there was a smaller option for her.
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much Better Design This cone will definitely be more comfortable and less cumbersome than the traditional hard plastic design.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has Issues The Comfy Cone is a great idea but it will not replace the hard plastic cone for some issues. If your dog has had surgery on the face or eye, this item is a no go as it allows the dog to rub its face. However, if you are trying to keep your dogs face from the rest of its body to prevent chewing or licking, it is great! The fold over capability is wonderful, especially for a smaller dog trying to negotiate stairs, eating and drinking as it eliminates the bottom of the cone catching on the stair or bowl. While it did not work for our girl who had eye surgery, it would have been perfect for our other girl when she had knee surgery several years ago. Wish I had had one then!
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Makes the whole experience of healing for your dog that much better.....and peace of mind knowing they are more comfortable!
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my dog is so much more comfortable with the komfy cone
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Choice! I had two large dogs that had surgery at the same time. I survived one day with the hard plastic elizabethian collars and then broke down and purchased the comfy cones. AMAZING!! They made all the difference - the dogs settled down, slept and most importantly could drink well with them on. They could walk with out getting caught on the walls (those hard plastic ones are miserable). My only complaint is that the velcro gets covered in dog hair - though it cleans out easily.
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No dice Collar was waaaay too big for my cairn terrier, barney and he hated it - i am returning it for a refund
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product i have basset hounds and with a regular plastic cone, they cant walk because they are so low to the ground and the cone would always snag on the floor. with the comfy cone, they not only can walk but can sleep and lie down comfortably with it on. its also really good quality and easy to use. im glad i just happened to get the catalog in the mail the week before one of my dogs was getting spayed!
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO HAPPY I FOUND THIS ITEM!!!! My Riley had knee surgery and was sent home wearing a big plastic cone. I was told he needed to wear it for 10 days. There was no way this was going to happen...he was crying, I couldn't get him to lay down, and he kept hitting it with his paws as if he was fighting with himself. I said there has to be another way to protect his incision. I did my homework on the internet and found "The Comfy Cone". I cannot tell you how great this product is. Riley slept like a baby with it on. The comfy cone is quilted and washable. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a dog that needs to wear an old fashioned plastic cone.I would also like to mention that it is navy and some animals might be bothered by not being able to use their peripheral vision, however this did not bother Riley. The comfy cone made us both very happy.
    Date published: 2009-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from unique product much better than a traditional cone. I have a cocker spaniel- chose the medium size- probably would have better off with the small- had to put it at the tightest point- still a little big. nicely made - soft material
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleeping in comfort..... My Rottie Alexa has had yet another surgery and needs to wear a cone for the next 3 weeks. The old plastic cones are so uncomfortable and I wanted to find something where she could move around her crate without getting stuck and where she could actually take a nap in comfort. I ordered this and the customer support person was very helpful with the sizing questions I had (if your dog is between sizes like mine, go for the larger size) and with overnight delivery, I got it in less than 24 hours! It was well worth the money for the overnight shipping. I can fold it back while I am in the room so she can chew on a toy and when I leave the room, I just unfold it again. The only drawback is that she can't see very well but the added comfort makes up for that. Alexa is much happier and more comfortable with her new cone. Hopefully, I won't have to use it again, but if I do at least I will know that my dog will be as comfortable as I can make her.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO GLAD the customer service mentioned it! I had called to check on an order for my dog who was to have surgery on a hind leg soon. The rep told me about the Comfy Cone and I immediately added it to my order, knowing the old e-collar was going to make my dog miserable. From the day the Comfy Cone arrived my dog was MUCH more comfortable; he could eat, drink and move around with little difficulty. Occasionally we had to fold the collar back about 2 inches on walks, and when he was eating or drinking, but that depended on where and what. He went through 4 weeks of strict crate rest, then 2 weeks of limited walks with no significant wear & tear on the collar. WONDERFUL!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a WONDERFUL product We live in a small townhouse and my dog was having a terrible time getting around with a standard e-collar. I changed it for the soft collar as soon as it arrived and was amazed. The soft collar is rigid enough to keep her away from her wound, but flexible enough to bend when she walks too close to walls or furniture. She can easily reach her food, water and treats. Because it's not transparent, she still loses peripheral vision, but doesn't seem to notice now. It's worth every penny of the price AND the overnight shipping!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea! This comnfy cone has been great for my dog. It is so much more comfortable to him. It is soft and really thick and cushy, perfect for sleeping. It can fold back for easy drinking and eating. The only thing he didn't like was the limited vision- which is pretty much standard with any cone (except the clear ones). I also think it's geat how you can slide the collar through it for added security. Absolutely worth it's weight in gold. Buy one now, before you HAVE to have one, and you'll be grateful when the time comes to use it.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a better solution My dog is very accident prone and is always needing a cone for one thing or another. He recently had ear surgery and had to wear a cone for a month, it was horrible. The hard cone looked uncomfortable and he smashed into everything. We bought the Comfy Cone and what a difference. Now he can be safe and so can our house. He seems much happier with it on!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, what a great idea! Nothing is sadder than watching your beloved dog struggling with the horrid e-collar. Can't sleep, can't eat, can't get through a door. I plan on getting one of these to have on hand in case of need, so they can heal in comfort.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.