Product Image

Select II

Select The Best
- Item #10058
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Select II is a comprehensive, well-balanced multi-vitamin formulated for horses on LESS than 8 pounds of Alfalfa hay per day, grass or oat hay, or horses on high grain rations. Direct-fed microbials have been added to Select II for better nutrient assimilation. 2.4 mg Selenium and 150 IU Vit. E.

View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Select II is rated 4.5833 out of 5 by 24.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product I have used this product for the last three years, my Morgan will be 22 years old March 25th and has never been the least bit off. I owe it all this this and the other five supplements I give him.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My absolute must-have supplement I have been feeding this supplement to all 3 of my horses for 2 years now and I must say I absolutely love it! They will all readily eat it out of my hand, even my daughters picky princess pony. I wonder if the reviewers who had edibility and odor problems with a strange odor had a spoiled batch somehow as I have never noticed either issue. I will never be without this supplement! The only other supplement I use is pure MSM. Thank you Select, you're the best!
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will Not Eat! So... my normally none picky eater is not eating another supplement. We originally had him on SmartVit Senoir - no go... then switched to Select II - he kicks his bucket over everymorning. I have given up on the vitamin issue for now :( Really wanted to do right by my horse but my money is all over the ground. PS. I absolutely love the products and levels of the ingrediants. If your horse will eat it - DEFINATELY worth the money!!!
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vitamin We have used this product for many years and our horses eat it with no difficulty. The taste appeals to them and the nutritional value is very satisfying. We have one horse with Cushings and another who is a "senior". This product has always provided the best supplemental support that they need to keep the fit, happy and healthy.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like this product I have used this for years. I like that it takes the guesswork out of balancing the vitamins and minerals to go with a particular kind of hay. The Horse Journal recently gave it pretty high marks, so between that and the reasonable price I'm sold on this product. I've had no problems with palatability but I mix mine with a few soaked hay cubes. Still, one horse will readily eat it from my hand like a treat and the other will too, just not quite as enthusiastically. It does contain selenium.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the most economical choice This is a good quality supplement, but there are others with essentially the same ingredients for half the price. My horse eats it readily; however, I do agree with a previous reviewer that the smell is unappealing. It also contains a higher level of selenium per ounce than I felt would work with my feeding program. Yes, I'd be comfortable recommending it to a friend, but I'd also suggest similar products as more economical alternatives.
    Date published: 2009-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edible Nutrition Finally we have found a vitamin our horse will eat! SmartPac sent us a sample and he loved it. Now we have an order ready for this morning and we won't feel like we are wasting our time or money. Thanks!
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for All of My Horses We use this as an all-around basic supplement for all of our horses. We have never had one not eat it. It is reasonably priced for what s included, and has a great shelf life. We feed no alfalfa, so this suits our horses nicely. We have been using Select II for many years and have been satisfied with the consistency and quality.We have 30 horses in a training/show facility and we fee that this product helps them work and look their best. Everyone that comes in goes on it. We love it and highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2009-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial and error While I liked the formulation profile, my horses DIDN'T like the taste and would even refuse to eat the grain with which it was mixed rather than sorting out the offending pellets.Tried it on a total of 7 horses, the ones who usually eat anything, before finding one who would even eat some of a daily dose, then he would not eat it all. I finally gave up. The supplement does have an unusual odor.The effectiveness of a product cannot can be rated if it is not properly used.
    Date published: 2009-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Select II is a best-kept secret My horse can't have grain (sugar) but I knew feeding him grass hay alone wasn't a complete and balanced diet. So I was looking for a high-quality multi-vitamin/mineral supplement in a tasty, pelleted form, since it was not going to be mixed in anything. Not only did I find exactly what I wanted in this product by Select the Best, it is balanced for whether your horse receives primarily grass hay or forage or alfalfa hay or forage. So I feel like I'm really providing him with the best nutrition.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unpalatable I found that my horse that will eat any pelleted supplement would not eat the Select II. He acutually refused to eat his normal grain with the Select II added. It had an odor to it that I found unpleasant as well.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Amount of Selenium Select II was one of the supplements recommended by my vet when my horse's blood test came back showing him to be anemic. It did not take long for my horse to become perky and much happier. The higher amount of selenium makes it a perfect choice for our selenium deficient region.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Definite Must! Almost everyone at the barn uses Select II, as most horses here are frequently shown and are on grass/timothy hay. The horses here are very healthy even when it is 120 degrees, and all the ones in the higher dressage levels are on it. The retired horses at pasture also are on it and look pretty good. It definitely gives your horse that extra, natural, full shine that he'll usually miss without Select II.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.