Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

ThinLine Contour Pad

ThinLine
- Item #15862

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

ThinLine pads simultaneously provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider backs.

Sit closer, quieter and be able to do more with lighter aids! ThinLine is ¼” thick and offers the most impact protection for the horse. What the rider will notice: the horse is happier and more willing to work, is more free in the shoulder and lifts his back. ThinLine has enough tensile strength to distribute weight evenly over areas where the saddle may not fit perfectly.

All riders report better performance from the ThinLine Pad. ThinLine is designed to make the best horses go better and to absorb the movement of the seat putting you and your horse closer together.  If you have a horse with a sore or sensitive back this pad is guaranteed to deliver immediate results! The contour pad fits most close contact and dressage saddles up to 18". Measurements: 21½” Spine, 25½” Flap to Flap with 14½” Wide Seat.

Watch the ThinLine Golf Ball and Punch Tests

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    ThinLine Contour Pad is rated 4.7188 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with this pad I had previously ordered the pad with the sheepskin rolls, but it was much too bulky around my saddle. I exchanged it for this pad, and I am very happy with my purchase. The pad fits well under my saddle and stays in place really well. Luckily my horse and I don't have any current back issues (knock on wood), and I purchased this more to protect her back, so I haven't noticed any changes in my rides. The feel and reputation of the pad gives me comfort that it will help protect my horse's back.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny I was hesitant to buy this pad because of the price, but now it's been a year since I bought it and not once have I ever regretted my decision!! The difference in my horse's willingness to lift his back and relax was incredible and long lasting. Normally it took me 15 minutes to get him to relax and now it only takes 5. Also the quality of his gaits dramatically improved. I loved it so much I bought the Thinline Bareback pad and just simply couldn't be happier. Highly, highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed After reading all of the positive reviews, I bought this pad for my two horses who have sensitive backs. I was very disappointed when, after riding both horses with and without this pad several times, I came to the conclusion that it was actually making the ride feel more jarring. It definitely did not help their backs, and after switching back to my old fleece half-pad I noticed that they both seemed more comfortable. The only positive about the experience was that customer service was very understanding and I was able to return the product.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad Nice pad, but didn't really improve my horse's sore back, although he is only a little sore. O well, I still use it, in conjunction with my back on track saddle pad which I love!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps My Back I bought this pad because I've been experiencing some back pain after riding, especially jumping. After reading the reviews I figured it was worth a try, even if it was a little pricey. I have been using it for a few weeks and it does seem that I have less back trouble when I use it. The horse I ride seems to be moving better as well. I do wish that this pad allowed more room for the withers, but I like that it doesn't change the fit of the saddle. Of course, the pad went on sale shortly after I bought it...I wish I would have waited a week!
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH EVERY PENNY! I tried soooo many pads before finally ordering Thinline. My thoroughbred gelding has a weak topline, he's slowly gaining muscle/weight but I needed something to pad his back a bit in the meantime. I tried sheepskin half pads (which added too much bulk and caused my saddle flaps to stick straight out), the Ovation gel pad (which pulled down on top of his withers and was far too heavy)... After reading the reviews posted here, I finally ordered this pad. Thank Goodness!!! My horse is so happy; moving so freely through his back and shoulders. It also helps keep my saddle in place. I have a 17" Bates CC saddle, this pad is barely large enough for it. If I have any complaints it's that smartpak needs to offer the "large" size of this pad as well (offered on most other websites). I like the way it fits my Bates, but anyone with a larger saddle would be in trouble. It measures at 20" spine, 25" flap to flap with 14" wide seat.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might help the horse... My horse seems to really like this pad. It takes a bit of adjusting to get the proper fit...my horse has kissing spine and our saddle fitter recommended this for back comfort. I thought it would be an extra plus if it helped me with my back as advertised..eh, didn't see much of a difference there!
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good buy My trainer started me using the thin line contour pad and I felt it did a good job cushioning my back as well as adding support for my horse.
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No better pad My mare started having a sore back after I rode everytime. Her saddle still fit quite well. So I bought a new Thinline because the one I was using was 10 years old. As soon as I started using the new one her back would no longer get sore after being ridden. These pads are awesome!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great absorption, with no bulk this pad is great on all of my horses and ponies. they are all more willing to work and come round and an accidental bump on their back after a fence does not phase any of them. The black pad I bought is very easy to clean, in fact a small rinse every other day is sufficient. Very good buy for the price.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pad!! I stole my friends' thinline pad just for fun to see if it made any difference. It made a huge difference in our comfort level. Her strides seemed smoother and more fluid and it was easier to sit tall and influence her movement. I now have a thinline for every horse and every saddle.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saddle pad I have priced this saddle pad elsewhere and the cheapest price I could find was $165.00 Smartpak had it for sale for $88.00! What a find. I recently bought a new custom saddle and my saddle fitter recommended this pad to help with a young horses back and to protect my new saddle from the sweat.
    Date published: 2010-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relieves my lower back pain I purchased this based on a friend's recommendation to improve the comfort of my horse. My all-purpose English saddle already fit him pretty well, but she swore by her ThinLine pad in terms of making her horse happier, so I thought it wouldn't hurt. After using this pad for about a month now, I can definitively say the pad has absolutely made MY ride more comfortable and my lower back does not ache as it often did after long rides before I bought the ThinLine. That said, I can't say whether it has improved my horse's comfort or not; he seems to move the same way he did before I used the ThinLine pad. It certainly is not hurting him or making things worse, but I didn't notice a real change in his way of going. (I primarily do trail riding at all gaits and over varied terrain, so a specific difference in how one's horse moves might be more apparent to a dressage or arena-based rider.)
    Date published: 2011-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment My young horse is in training and his muscles are in the development stages. The ThinLine pad has been the best investment in the care of his back! I have had my saddle fitted to him, however, he is still changing. This pad keeps him comfortable and through his back during his work. I LOVE THIS PAD!
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product. This pad is great. The fit is perfect, it will not change the fit of your saddle. Keeps everything in place, nice on your horses back. I will always be using this pad.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplemental pad I have a custom dressage saddle but wanted something with a little more cushion for my young horses back. This pad is perfect! It is so thin it doesn't affect the fit of my saddle and my horse seems to love it. Good quality too.
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't ride without it Since discovering these pads, I, literally, won't ride any of my horses without a thinline pad. The contour pad falls into the "can't live without" category of riding items. I have honestly noticed positive attitude changes in my horses and their ways of going. They swing more through their backs and generally feel looser. The thinness of the pad allows me to not distrub or alter the fit of my saddles.
    Date published: 2009-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I use the ThinLine Contour Pad on all the lesson horses in the barn. I've seen a significant improvement in their attitudes and comfort. With my own mare, I use the correction pad because she's going to change so much as she gets older (she's 4 yr old). She's very sensitive, and I noticed a difference in her during the first ride and in my back after the 3rd. This is an excellent product that I will be using on every horse in my barn from now on.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised I am admittedly surprised at the difference I have noticed after only two days of using my ThinLine Contour Pad. My horse has a significantly shorter right lead stride and with this pad both leads are equal. He is much more willing to collect his stride and his extensions are ground covering. It doesn't change the saddle fit at all, which is good because I have a custom saddle for him. Definitely recommend this product, it is a good investment.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! I have a horse that is perpetually back-sore (likely the result of a dropped hip). I have tried my fair share of new and different saddle pads with admittedly mixed results, until now! Based on the reviews of other riders I finally decided to try the ThinLine Contour Pad. I can't believe what a difference it has made already, and I have only had it for two weeks! My horse was instantly more relaxed under saddle and his gaits even improved! I couldn't be happier! I highly recommend this pad to anyone and everyone!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a big difference... This pad doesn't look like much, but it definitely works. It's hard to believe that something so thin can make such a big difference, but it does! I've used this on a few horses, and each time, the horses are more willing to use their backs, and I've felt more comfortable in the saddle, too. I have been really impressed with this pad. It is well worth the money, and it won't change saddle fit. (Another benefit: it's so easy to clean - just hose it off!)
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shock Absorber I have a very sensitive mare. I've always used a gel pad on her but since they are thick it makes may saddle a little tight at her withers. I deiced to try the ThinLine Contour Pad and it works great. The pad is so thin, my saddle now fits and doesn’t pinch at the withers. It also offers even more support for her back. I highly recommend this pad.
    Date published: 2009-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The princess and the pea! I tried this product on my sensitive, cold backed mare and she went very well. Normally we have to use a thick sheepskin pad or she is grumpy, but with the ThinLine, she goes just as well, if not better, and I feel much closer to my horse! Sitting trot is also much more pleasant for everyone involved. I'd definitely reccomend this for sensitive horses or those with back soreness.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.