Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot

TuffRider
- Item #15655
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The molded foot bed lining is multi-spandex with PU waterproof membrane. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot has a stretch calf gusset and full length zippers to provide a better fit. The boot also has a Comfortmax classic insulation and synthetic sheepskin throughout the leg for warmth. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot have a specially designed under sole to give grip in winter conditions and a reflector on the heel for night visibility.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy But Tight Fit I have not yet worn these winter boots but compared to others I've had they seem well made & sturdy. Nice & flexible at the ankle. I am disappointed in how tight they fit in the calf & I do not have large calves. I even measured prior to ordering because of other reviews. I am well within the size for an 8 but they are very tight & tricky to zip. I've worn them around the house to loosen them & that is helping a little bit. I may have to exchange them.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grrrrip! Wanted a boot with warmth (got it!), but didn't expect how how secure and grippy they are in the stirrup. Even though they're seriously toasty, they're my Go To boot and it's warm outside! I reccomend to all my friends now.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots These are excellent warm durable tall boots. I live in new England where it is often cool. My feet are warm and these boots are very flexible at the ankle.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Riding Boots I cannot believe how much I love these boots. (1) Warmth - My barn is at the Illinois-Wisconsin border, and it can be COLD, snowy, icy. I rode in 10-degree weather and my feet stayed warm, yet did not sweat. Nothing penetrated in all the times I trudged through snow to get my horse out of the pasture. (2) Rideability - they allow full ankle flexibility, and my heels actually are able to be even lower than when I wear my dress leather boots. However, some may find they need wider stirrups as the boots add width. (3) Fit - they fit me great, and were perfectly broken-in after two wearings. I could tuck my fleece breeches into them, and my calves are about 14"; if my calves were any bigger I wouldn't be able to zip up these boots. My foot size is 6.5, I bought a 7 which was perfect. I cannot find one thing to criticize.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, Useful Gift This was the best Christmas gift I received: Stylish and practical. I put these boots to the test the other night when the temperature dropped to -11F. While it was too cold to ride, my toes and legs stayed perfectly warm without any extra socks while doing barn chores. These boots are just as comfortable for riding as they are for walking. I truly enjoy wearing them.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them Love how these fit. I have very small calfs and they fit. It is so hard to find a thin shaft on a winter boot that doesn't shift when I ride. I wear a size 8 and they fit a size 8. The foot is thin and fits through a stirrup perfectly. My feet stay so warm and sometimes are even hot!! They flex at the ankle and are not stiff. I can't believe this boot was so cheap. It is built like the $200-300 ones. the zipper is fine you just have to lean forward (like a ski boot) when trying to zipper
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Boot-Tight Calves-Too Tall I just bought these boots and found them warm. The zipper is stiff, I had to use a zipper hook to pull them up. The foot size is true to size, but recommend going up a 1/2 size. The calf is extremely tight. I don't have large calves, but these run very narrow. It would help if they would add gussets to the calf for some stretch. The boots are very tall. They cut into the area behind my knee. May have to return them.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great warm boots I just ordered a pair for my daughter for Christmas. Now both me and daughter have a pair. They keep your toes warm in the winter. The only negative is the zipper... it's hard to zip up most of the time.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Use caution! Very disappointed in these. Very poor fit and not true to size. I had to go up one size for the foot and then the calf is huge. I sent back the first pair and it cost me $15 to ship them back. I have worn Mountain Horse for years - good fit but don't like the way the zippers break. These also look and feel clunky -I should have sent them back. Maybe they will work for some people but I would be very cautious. I could not be more disappointed esp after reading some of the positive comments in these reviews.
    Date published: 2011-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm and very comfortable, but I have a higharch and boot is very difficult to get on.an expansion joint at the ankle would be great.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from terrific value I purchased these for my youngest daughter. They are very well made and keep here feet warm and dry.
    Date published: 2011-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great economical winter boot for kids if they fit! We bought these boots for my son for Christmas. He wears a Youth 3 1/2. We researched on the internet and found that a Ladies 6 is comparable to a Youth 4 so that is the size that we bought. When the boots came in they looked very cool (according to my son!) and seemed to be very durable. Unfortunately he could not even get his foot to go all the way into the boot. They were just too small. We ended up returning them and buying a different Tuffrider style through a local tack store so that he could try them on and have them immediately. The boots were great looking, but this particular style just seems to run extremely small.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots!! I got these boots because my feet get cold easily. They work great! My feet don't get cooled and they relay conferable. I am not sheer how durable they are because I have only had them a few months, but a horse with shoes stepped on my foot and it didn't eve make a mark. I did order them a 1/2 a size bigger and I am glad I did because they fit great!
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I wore the thinest socks possible in the middle of the winter adn my feet werent the slightest bit cold
    Date published: 2010-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding boots These boots are really warm, and have excellent flex in the heel/ankle area essential for riding. I have really enjoyed them thusfar. Fit is great and true to size chart.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent boots. I purchased these boots for my 14 yr. old daughter two months ago and waited until she wore them in some seriously cold weather before I reported on them. As you may have read, the zippers have been an issue for some. I ordered them knowing that. We figured it would take several times wearing them before it worked itself out and it did.Despite below freezing temps and wind, her feet have remained warm and toasty.She actually wears a 5, but I purchased her a 6 and they fit great. She has slender calves, so plenty of room to fit breeches and thick socks.They came out of the box ready to wear. She has ample ankle movement and the material has not damaged her saddle at all.I would highly recommend these, but you need to have slender calves.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Another winter riding boot in which the footbed is way too narrow for a winter and cold weather riding boot...not enough room for the foot and toes to get adequate circulation and especially not enough room to wear heavy wool socks, though it is slightly better than teh Ariat Bromont. Additionally the length of the footbed was WAY short....the size 10 fit like a size 8 at best.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good boot for the winter I usually take a size 7.5 but a 7 fit well. Since they are so well insulated I don't think I'll need heavy socks. The zipper wasn't a problem, but I need a boot jack to remove them. That may change after I break them in. Very comfortable to ride in.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice winter riding boots I just started wearing these boots for winter..bought them a few months ago from here. They keep my feet very warm....I am a small person...size 6 and these boots are snug..you might want to order a 1/2 to 1 size larger. I cannot wear anything but a small reg. sock for them to fit...but they still keep me warm. VERY TIGHT in calf..takes me awhile to get them zipped...sometimes hurts my leg..but decided to keep them anyways. Hoping that by wearing them all winter now they might stretch a little...??? Price for them is worth the tight zipper...:)
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Boots This is a great pair of boots. Very comfortable and no 'break in' period at all. Warm and cozy like wearing slippers. I would definitely recommend them to anyone. Calf fits great and I find boot is true to size.
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Value I LOVE these boots. I have a small calf (13.5") and these boots fit perfectly, zipping is no problem and instantly comfortable! I just rode in them and they fit nicely in the stirrup, bend great at the ankle, footbed is super comfortable. They stay dry and are warm. I can even wear them under boot cut jeans or ontop of my winter breeches.
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, great price I just got these boots, so I cannot speak about their durability, but I can say I was very happy with the fit. I do not have a large calf, but these boots fit comfortably over my Kerrits Sit Tight & Warm breeches which are thicker than my normal breeches. I did go with a size larger than I normally would buy (normally wear 7 or 71/2 and I went with the size 8) and they fit perfectly. I would recommend doing that so you may get additional room in the calf. These feel great, and they look fabulous for the price!
    Date published: 2010-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them!! I absolutely love these boots! They are so warm and confortable. I read many reviews before I bought these boots and do agree that the calf is snug. I only have a 14" calf and they fit me perfectly over a pair of breeches. If your calf is any larger, you may have trouble zipping them. The zipper is a little stiff but after a few times of zipping them, it became easier to do. These are the best winter boots I have ever bought!
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and warm So far my daughter is only wearing a thin sock and is staying dry and warm - in Wisconsin. Very comfortable for riding. Fits her calf fine - average size. The zipper is getting easier with each use.
    Date published: 2009-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Average size woman I agree with all other reviews on this product. I am 5'9" and about 145lbs...an average size female and the calves on these boots are a tad tight...I would have prefered a little more room so I could stuff my jeans into the top of them. Still a good boot, glad I purchased them. However any "fuller" size women will not be able to wear these. Manufacterer may want to consider adjusting so they can sell multiply calf sizes to accomodate more clientele!!
    Date published: 2009-12-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money and time These boots look like they are well made and priced very reasonably. However, I could not get them to zip the whole way up my calf! The manufacturer needs to re-evaluate their sizing for this boot. I am tall and average weight and there was NO WAY the zipper was going to zip the whole way. They must be sizing for teenage girls?!
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuff Rider Winter riding boot Great value for a very useful and well-represented product. After nearly ruining my good leather riding boots with all our recent rain, I got these boots for $89. They are warm, TALL, have a comfy footbed, have neoprene "flex" capability at the ankle so I can ride comfortably...the zipper stays up...I can hose them off after being ankle deep in the muck.... SO GLAD I bought them!! It's been cold, too, and my feet have been quite toasty. I used them for the first time on an extra-long lesson with lots of saddle work drills -- completely comfortable at the ankle, which is usually touchy with new boots. I had to look to get my toes in the stirrups just right because I wasn't used to these boots yet, but it was fine. Nice, grippy sole. I would recommend them to someone who doesn't want to ruin their good boots in mucky winter weather.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from hard to zip these boots were hard to zip up without destroying the zipper. Had to return.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for winter riding and ranch work. I am a horse trainer and I bought these boots so that I won't get my half chaps muddy again this winter. The zipper was tight and hard to work at first, but after three days of use, it is easy to work now. They are very comfortable to ride in and the gusset at the front of the ankle makes it easy to keep your heels down. They also fit well in the english stirrups and are really warm. All in all, a great winter boot at a great price.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made I just received these, and they seem very well made. However, I cannot zip them up over my calves. They are also exceptionally tall, even for riding boots. If I could zip them up, though, I would absolutely keep them.
    Date published: 2009-11-29
    • 2015-03-04T07:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_5655, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.