Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot

TuffRider
- Item #15655

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The molded foot bed lining is multi-spandex with PU waterproof membrane. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot has a stretch calf gusset and full length zippers to provide a better fit. The boot also has a Comfortmax classic insulation and synthetic sheepskin throughout the leg for warmth. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot have a specially designed under sole to give grip in winter conditions and a reflector on the heel for night visibility.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot is rated 4.3158 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update: still love! Wearing these in their second season and just discovered how very waterproof they are: bringing horses in from an absolute downpour, I got stuck walking through puddles that gave me that sinking feeling that I was about to feel squishy for the rest of the day...nope, completely waterproof footbed all the way up to the zipper! Thanks again!
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read sizing chart These are tall boots. My lower leg is 15" from heel to back of knee, and the boots are over 16". If your leg is too short, you will be painfully jabbed in the back of your knee. I am so disappointed to have to return these boots. I think they would be perfect for cold weather riding. I wish they sold them in a shorter version.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but large for petite legs I have had these about a year and love how comfy and warm they are. All postings are correct, so order a size up. I am petite at 105 lbs and 5'1 so the calf is really large but after socks it helps a little. It was bulky at first riding but it got better with wear. Would definitely recommend buying
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice and well made Super nice, warm boots. I wear a 7-1/2 normally. I ordered an 8 and with a thin sock they were very tight. Not much room in the toe area. Sent back for a size 9. I'm 5`6 , weigh 135lbs and my calves are average size if not less than average. They were tight in the calf area. Although they were nice enough to exchange.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good reviews helped! Bought these boots for eastern Canadian winters, am a newish rider, , I bought a bit bigger as per recommended from other reviews and they work well, are a big high in the leg, but I am 5'1" so that is usual for me. I was warm in them, and will be able to get warm socks inside too. Only used once so far.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and toasty! These boots are exceptionally warm and dry. They are perfect for barn chores on a cold day and ground work with your horse any time. It would be nice to see them run in half sizes as well though. They are alright to ride in, but I don't find them as comfortable for riding as I do a regular paddock boot.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought these boots at a recommendation from a friend. So far, they are amazing! They don't have half sizes so I ordered up. I'm glad I did because now I can fit thicker socks. They are tight in the calves, but I find if I lean my leg forward at the ankle when zipping they go up no problem and fit fine. Very comfy! They fill the stirrup rather close and are taking some getting used to for riding in, but they are super water proof and very warm!
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps your feet warm! This (2012) will be the third winter I've been wearing these boots. They are warm in the foot and in the leg. There is room for heavier socks, too. However, these boots are a bugger to zip! They fit tight in the calf, too, which is a bother since in the winter I'm layering to keep my legs warm. They are also a bit chunky to ride in. I have to lower my stirrups by one hole because the sole of the boot is really thick.They've held up really well and even shed muck and mud. And while I'd like to buy a pair of more stylish boots I can't justify it as mine are still in very good shape.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value! These boots were purchased as schooling boots to school during winter time! The foot fits true and calves are a bit big but fit well. They are very durable and completely waterproof! They are great boots for the price and I would definately but them again!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value but Bad Fit for size 9 plus Pro's: Out of the box I felt these boots were a good value. The look and feel were all very nice. I'm 5'11" and have hard to fit slender calves, and these fit well.Con's: If you're a size 9 1/2 or larger these most likely won't work. I have normal width feet and am typically a size 9 to 10, 10 being the largest size I go to for winter shoes. These size 10 were very snug and would not have allowed for winter socks. I also found my heel uncomfortable, like a steel shank digging into it. In all fairness this might be due to the fit being to tight to begin with and maybe this wouldn't hurt if they were larger on my foot.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof AND WARM! These are wonderful boots! I am a 7 to a 7.5 I ordered the 7. At first they were a little tight, but I feel that the insulation is molding to my foot. I do have small calves (13") and there is a little bit of room, but it's not bad at all. They are just the right height (I measure 17") and the slight Spanish top is lovely! I can tromp around in mud and water and my feet stay dry. There is no stiffness in the ankle AT ALL. Very comfy!
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness for these boots I can ride in the winter! It frequently is in the teens and 20s here, and now I can ride and my toes stay warm, plus, the waterproofing and durablility are amazing!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots. Great quality, nice & warm, love the ease of a zipper. I recommend ordering up a size. I wear a 9 but bought a 10 and was glad I did.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I used these boots for the first time last week and they wonderful! My feet stayed dry and warm. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy & warm, but run small I ordered an 8 (7.5-8 is my regular size) and could barely get them on. Exchanged for 9s and LOVE them! Toasty warm (in our relatively mild winters - down to 20F), flexible enough to jump in, and though they're tall enough that I can feel them on the front of my knee when I walk, they're soft enough to wear all day. Not much wear evident after one season of use.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase I bought these boots after reading several of the reviews. I am a size 6-1/2 and bought a size 7 due to my calf measurement. They fit well, a little big in the toe area, but not bothersome. They did keep my feet/legs warmer too. I like the flex in the ankle area. The zippers are a bit tough tho, but still not too bad. Of course they are a bit clunkier in the sole, but still a good boot for winter riding and work around the barn. They seemed pretty easy to break-in as well-just wore them in the house for a couple days before riding. I have ridden in them 3 times now, and can only assume they will break in more with each use! Overall, pretty pleased with them!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'M IN LOVE I LOVE these boots! I've been wearing them all winter and they've kept me dry and warm. They fit nice and snug, but stretch enough I can even get them on over skinny jeans to just run out to the barn for a blanket change. I love these things and for the price, honestly, if they fall apart on the last day of winter I would buy them again next season (although, after 2 or 3 months of cold and snow and general abuse they skill look perfect so maybe NEXT winter...). And they even LOOK GOOD ON! I've recommended them to everyone who would listen--a GREAT value!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boot Great Boot! runs a little small. I ordered a size up and they fit perfectly. I wear them all day for riding and mucking out stalls
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a pleasure to be able to winter ride withoutthree pairs of socks
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I was so glad I got these! I was a bit worried after reading reviews that said they didn't fit well in various ways, but when I tried them on they fit great! I wore them for 7 hours straight and they were totally comfy and kept me warm all day. They look a bit clunky but I don't care, it's not about looking stylish anyway (usually!). Such a good value for the price, too. I would recommend them to anyone!Also: I saw in some of the reviews that people thought they were really hard to get on. I didn't have much trouble, no more than any other tall boots cause. I wore them with thick socks and jeans and had no trouble zipping them. My suggestion is if you can't zip them, get down on one knee and lean forward while you zip them. :)
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap riding boots I don't recommend these to anyone. I bought them brand new, and the flexible part at the front of the ankle started ripping within a month. The zippers have always been tough, so I made sure I lubricated the zippers after every wearing. Still, within six months, the zipper on one boot completely broke. They are worthless. To be fair, though, the Mountain Horse Ice Tall boots were about the same quality, with the zipper breaking within one season, and at least the Tuff Riders weren't as much money. I'm sticking to lace winter paddocks and half chaps from now on. No more plastic zippers breaking!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very worthwhile! I have been using these boots for a few weeks now and find them extremely comfortable and warm! So far so good. I do find the zipper tricky at times but i am sure that with time this will get easier. Very happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot, Very Warm! I love my pair, I can actually feel my feet after I come back from the barn. Hard to get on the first time but broke in after first day. Very happy with my purchase! Great pair of barn/shooling boots for the price!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value Reasonably priced, reliable winter boot! Really helps keep feet and toes warm. This year's version's zipper doesn't go as low as the previous version (several years ago) so is slightly harder to pull on over lots of socks....but not a "deal breaker" by any means.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boots These boots seem really nice and very warm, but I cannot even get them to zip. I have pretty average calves (or so I thought) but the zipper doesn't come anywhere near zipping, and it's not because of the zipper either. The calves on these boots just seem very tiny, the foot fit fine though. I will be returning these for a pair of boots that come in wide calf sizes.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super warm, pretty snug I am very happy with the warmth of these boots--it hasn't hit truly cold season here yet, but when I thought upper thirties were cold, the combination of these boots and fleece breeches almost had me sweating! Man are these warm! If it ever gets too cold to wear fleece and these boots, it's too cold to ride :PMy only complaint is that despite sizing up (I usually get a 39), the 40 is super snug in the foot. Regular thin socks are too much, but a boot sock allows the back of the ankle to rub. I am hoping the foot will stretch/flatten out a bit, or the back will soften up a bit with wear. Or maybe I will find a perfect sock...Even so, I would buy this boot again, they are easy to ride in, don't scuff my saddle, and keep me warm, if not a little smooshed.And lest I forget, they are unexpectedly flattering on my shorter calves!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy But Tight Fit I have not yet worn these winter boots but compared to others I've had they seem well made & sturdy. Nice & flexible at the ankle. I am disappointed in how tight they fit in the calf & I do not have large calves. I even measured prior to ordering because of other reviews. I am well within the size for an 8 but they are very tight & tricky to zip. I've worn them around the house to loosen them & that is helping a little bit. I may have to exchange them.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grrrrip! Wanted a boot with warmth (got it!), but didn't expect how how secure and grippy they are in the stirrup. Even though they're seriously toasty, they're my Go To boot and it's warm outside! I reccomend to all my friends now.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots These are excellent warm durable tall boots. I live in new England where it is often cool. My feet are warm and these boots are very flexible at the ankle.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Riding Boots I cannot believe how much I love these boots. (1) Warmth - My barn is at the Illinois-Wisconsin border, and it can be COLD, snowy, icy. I rode in 10-degree weather and my feet stayed warm, yet did not sweat. Nothing penetrated in all the times I trudged through snow to get my horse out of the pasture. (2) Rideability - they allow full ankle flexibility, and my heels actually are able to be even lower than when I wear my dress leather boots. However, some may find they need wider stirrups as the boots add width. (3) Fit - they fit me great, and were perfectly broken-in after two wearings. I could tuck my fleece breeches into them, and my calves are about 14"; if my calves were any bigger I wouldn't be able to zip up these boots. My foot size is 6.5, I bought a 7 which was perfect. I cannot find one thing to criticize.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.