Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.6989 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This improved my saddle fit in one quick and easy step. It provides a nice cushion and the saddle sticks to it so nothing moves. I love it. Should have bought this years ago.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good relief pad for the price I bought this pad with the lift in the back (haven't yet tried the lift in the front). I actually bought it to use as a riser pad, since my horse has such high withers and the saddle dipped lower on his back, making it harder for me to post. This lifts the saddle up to level making posting much easier, but it also seems to help relieve any pressure on my horse's withers #even though it's lifted in the back), the foam still helps. I think the pad with the lift in the front would definitely make a difference if your saddle pinches or doesn't fit quite right. I've been using the pad for a couple of years, and it seems to be holding up fairly well.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it is supposed to I bought this to keep from having to get a new saddle every time my horse changes weight. He has high withers so this definately helps. So far, haven't seen any rub marks, it fits nicely under the saddle and doesn't move.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gives just the right amount of "lift" I purchased this pad after using much more expensive fleece pads for years. I was suprised that this pad could work BETTER and provide MORE lift off the wither and for a fraction of the price. My only complaint is that it sometimes slides up during rides. I can't comment on durability because I haven't used it long, but for the price I dont mind replacing it if I have to!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Pommel Lift! I've been looking for something to help me fit my dressage saddle to my guy! I can't afford a new saddle to fit him and I needed something to help lift the pommel up (saddle a bit wide). This pad is FINALLY helping! No more sliding way back.I tried the half pad by ecp, and a half pad with inserts, and it was all frustrating. This finally gave me the lift I needed.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Great pad. Considered getting black but so far the white is still looking nice!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Won Over I was very skeptical when the pad arrived. I was hoping the pad was made of a a slightly more sturdy material in order to offer the front lifting support I needed.But after using it for about a month now, I will admit I'm very impressed. It's keeping the pommel off my high withered OTTB. The pad is easy to clean and is still retaining its shape. I just hope it stays that way!
    Date published: 2012-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Support Pad After my piggy TB lost some weight, my close contact saddle (Bates, standard gullet) started to feel odd when i was riding. I could no longer fit 2-3 fingers under the front and she started to hold her head high at the trot and be heavy on the forehand during the canter. I did some research and all signs pointed to my saddle not fitting her anymore. Additionally, when I was cleaning my saddle one day, I could see where there was no support around her withers. I ordered the front lift in black. My saddle felt more secure, it felt more level (I had felt like i was uphill before the pad, which is weird, but i guess just an effect from it being tipped too forward) and my mare seemed to be much more comfortable and happy under saddle. I am so thankful for this product to help saddle fit with those weird TB withers.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I purchased this wither pad to give the pommel of my saddle a tiny "lift." It works great and fits beautifully under my saddle so it doesn't look ugly. I didn't rate durability because I've had it less than two months. But, so far, it is holding up wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I wanted I purchased this wither pad to give my new saddle a slight lift in the front. It works very well and stays put perfectly. I think my horse appreciates the extra padding around his withers, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this product for additional back support for my jumper mare. It fit perfectly under her saddle which is 17 1/2" and my other mares 17" saddle. Great value for the money!
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I use the lift front version under my dressage saddle - makes it balance out perfectly! My horse has no issues with it, I would assume he likes it since its picking the saddle up off his withers (he's low in the front - growth spurt). I don't feel any real change in contact with it. Pad is very thin but does the job well. I also use the regular version (no lift) under my western saddle as an added shock absorber. Once again it is great. Although they look cheap being that it is thin foam, these things hold up really well and are also easy to clean off.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great with pad!! I got this for my narrow TB and with it I can make a Reg. tree fit him nicely. I've had it a while and it isn't flat or showing signs of being so. I love this pad!
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe more than I needed I think this pad may work very well with some saddles, but it seemed to be more than I needed and it may not be designed for dressage saddles. The base of the padding at the tree points was very thick and did not taper, which might create a pressure point for some saddles -- and it raised my saddle up too high. I never rode in it because my horse is sensitive, but it's possible that had I given it time to settle it would have done the job. I'm using a mattes pad with some success.I don't blame the pad -- I believe it could be the answer to a lot of saddle fitting problems -- but it did not work that well for mine and I returned it (very easily, thanks smartpak).
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I have had this pad for over a year and it has been used by everyone in my barn. It has been stepped on, mucked on, and everything in between. It has been used on dressage horse, H/J and eventers. At first i thought it was pricey 30 bucks for foam srsly? After all the use it has seen cost per wear is zero now. It still has its shape and useful. I would buy again.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works for my horse My saddle is a bit too wide and was sitting too close to the top of my horses withers. This lifted the saddle for a much better fit and does not seem to bulky under my saddle.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice relief pad for the money My instructor had a similar pad that I always used with an older horse. This pad works just as well and offers a lot of protection for the horse. I love this pad and the fact it makes rides easier on my buddy.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, but won't do what I wanted it to do Bought this to get some pommel lift, but this won't do exactly what I wanted. It lifts the front a little but also lifts the flaps. I just wanted a pommel lift -- didn't want any lift on the sides. It's a good pad and fits well, but not for my purpose.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not yet It's a little early to judge it yet on durability and lasting value, but I'm very pleased in general with this style and the protection it gives the horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad I had originally bought the 2 pillow type wither pad. I have a TB cross and she has narrow shoulders and it was just hard to fit her with an western saddle that didn't either touch or come very close to her withers. The pillow type worked very well, however, they are huge! I ride with round skirt saddles and I found myself always having to tuck them up under the saddle so they didn't show. I bought the Roma on a whim to see if it would do the trick as I could see it would be completely covered by the saddle. It does. I am very pleased with what the design does, though I am not a fan of the material. Even kept under the best of conditions, this stuff eventually dry rots, and I imagine, in time, the saddle will take it's toll on the shape. I would love to see the same size and design in a more durable material. However, if you are needing wither relief, this little pad will do the trick and seems to be comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saddle Saver I have a beautiful saddle that I love, custom fit for my horse. After riding in it a couple of years without any issues, it somehow started pinching in the shoulder area. The Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad saved the day! By lifting my saddle in the front, it relieved the tight fit and not only made my horse happy and comfortable, but me too!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick saddle fit solution I figured I'd give this a try before purchasing new custom shims for my treeless saddle (new shims for the saddle pad, that is). It gave just enough lift in front to give sufficient wither clearance, and my horse is happy and comfortable. Maybe not a long-term solution for saddle fitting problems, but great in the the interim.
    Date published: 2011-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great saddle pad! I have had problems fitting my Thoroughbred mare with a pad and saddle. I ride in an Australian, which fits her great but, she needed something with a bit more room in the wither/gullet area. This pad works perfect! It provides the room she needs and the pad never moves on her, even with her sweating, and it doesn't pull her coat either. I use the pad alone or with a baby pad. I also have a Western saddle I've not been able to use because of her withers, and now I can all because of this saddle pad. The ease of cleaning and the universal fit is incredible for the price.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works like a charm I have a big warmbloods mare who has lost some top line muscle- needed to lift the back of the saddle. This worked like a charm- and was on sale. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Was expecting a little more higher line of product for the price. Material is cheap foam (shoe foam)does not fit proper as other wither relief pads.
    Date published: 2011-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value for the money works very well with different saddlesgives perfect lift and provides appropiate wither clearancevery well priced
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I purchased this for my high-withered Appendix mare. No more sore withers! She moves out easier and I don't have to use 2 bulky pads any more.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid product Does a nice job of lifting up the front of the saddle
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wither Relief Pad Loved the lightweight but tough material of this pad, and the non-slip properties are a plus. Definitely pleased with the quality and performance of this Roma Protek pad.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice This product does exactly what it says it will do. I have a very high withered thoroughbred and this product works very well
    Date published: 2011-06-30
    • 2015-03-02T07:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.