Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!

Lift Front or Lift Back.

One size fits most saddles.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.679 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for saddle fit Was having problems with saddle fit (horse was cinchy, sore backed) bought the wither relief pad and what a difference it made! Happy horse, happy rider!
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THis is a great pad to fill in the shoulders! This is a very ligtweight pad. It fits over the wither for paddng and flls in my ol' girls shoulders.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good lift, hard to keep put This pad did lift up my saddle and provide adequate shock absorption for my horse's back... but it's very hard to use. Shifts a lot and is VERY light so even when you think you have it how you like it's apt to move. Wasn't much money so was worth a shot, but I won't be using in the future.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Back Riser Pad I purchased this pad to lift the back of my saddle as it was not laying on my horse's back correctly. It did the trick until her back filled in. Well made and durable. In hind sight I should've purchased the black because I got the white dirty, but I'm sure I could bleach it. I would recomend this.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great relief pad This pad does a great job of lifting the back of my saddle the few degrees it needs while absorbing some of the impact. Worthwhile investment.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All-Around Wonderful As a rookie trainer, this was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I have a school horse that is a high-withered Standard/Arabian and all of my saddles pinched him terribly. Now the saddles fit him well and he's doing great in my program! As an added bonus, this has helped a few other horses with less-than-optimal saddles fit them so much better. Now with this pad, I've been able to show students the basics of saddle fitting and helped save my horses backs!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solved my problem I have an arabian mare with narrow withers. My favorite saddle from my old horse did not fit her properly. The wither relief pad made my old saddle comfortable for her to carry which made me very happy!
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive solution to minor saddle fit problems! I've purchased a few of these over the years as they always seem to walk away, people like them so much! I have a down-hill, cutting bred QH and because of that the saddles always seem to sit low on his withers and sometimes even slide forward. This is a great quick solution to keeping the saddle level for the rider and comfort of the horse. My old trusty half pad is not the shimmable type, so I can just slide this over it.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I recently got my first trainer job at a local backyard barn. One of my horses has super high withers and I got concerned about saddles pinching him. This pad was definitely within our price range and fits the horse super well! Not only that but I decided to try it on a couple of other horses and it's been great! Definitely worth it!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! My TB is hard to fit with shark fin withers, roof back, wither pockets but a shoulder angle usually on wider horses. I finally found a saddle that fit perfectly except the gullet; it is 6" whereas my horse usually takes a 5". This pad (front riser) has been a life saver (and money saver!). It completely fixed the issue and now it fits wonderfully. The design pushes the pad into the gullet channel so there is no uneeded pressure. My horse INSTANTLY went better and finally picked up her left lead. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Provides great wither relief I have a Half-Arab mare with very high withers. I was looking for something to keep pressure off her withers when saddled. This pad is made from molded foam that is sturdy yet still flexible. I use it under a gel pad and saddle blanket. Once I have her Western saddle cinched on, I can reach under the pad and feel there is no contact on her withers. I wish a washable fleece pouch was available for this pad. I think it might get uncomfortable if the horse sweats too much.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Product I love this product. It took awhile to get here, but it was well worth the wait. My horse loves it and now that my saddle fits right she can engage her hind end and really move out! I love this product and I would buy it again and again in a heartbeat. Happy customer:)
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too little lift While this pad seems like it may offer durability, it did not have enough lift in the back for my needs. It was also a bit stiff, although that may lessen with use.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great back riser! this back riser pad lets my horse enjoy work again. great product!!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution I needed a pad to lift my jump saddle off of the back of my new horse. He has shark withers to be sure! I wasn't sure if the high wither curve of the pad would make things worse, when I thought I just needed a lift in the back. The saddle sat even better with it! My saddle was level with good clearance and a better fit over the withers.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay! I don't have to buy a new saddle now. I was looking for just the right pad to lift the saddle off my high-withered, recently OTTB. I know he'll fill in a bit over the next year so the idea of having to get a new saddle wasn't ideal. This pad did exactly what I hoped it would, is great quality and inexpensive. I was pleasantly surprised that it doesn't add too much bulk under the saddle either -- I don't even 'feel' that it's there. I'm using it over top of a Back on Track/Thin line full square pad, so the two combined gives me the confidence that I'm protecting his back as he starts to transform from his racing physique.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I own two high-withered TBs and have had a hard time finding a half pad that helped my saddles fit them both better. This pad did exactly what I had hoped and fits both my dressage and jumper saddle. It has made a huge difference especially for my 7 yr OTTB who fits the definition of shark fin withers! I bought a black pad and will be buying one in white as well.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job for a low price I am using this pad under a side saddle that caused soreness in the loin area due to the saddle being a touch long for my paso fino and lack of conditioning. With the added half an inch of padding under the cantle, along with weight distribution more towards the withers due to the wedge effect, has eliminated my horse's soreness completely. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This improved my saddle fit in one quick and easy step. It provides a nice cushion and the saddle sticks to it so nothing moves. I love it. Should have bought this years ago.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good relief pad for the price I bought this pad with the lift in the back (haven't yet tried the lift in the front). I actually bought it to use as a riser pad, since my horse has such high withers and the saddle dipped lower on his back, making it harder for me to post. This lifts the saddle up to level making posting much easier, but it also seems to help relieve any pressure on my horse's withers #even though it's lifted in the back), the foam still helps. I think the pad with the lift in the front would definitely make a difference if your saddle pinches or doesn't fit quite right. I've been using the pad for a couple of years, and it seems to be holding up fairly well.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it is supposed to I bought this to keep from having to get a new saddle every time my horse changes weight. He has high withers so this definately helps. So far, haven't seen any rub marks, it fits nicely under the saddle and doesn't move.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gives just the right amount of "lift" I purchased this pad after using much more expensive fleece pads for years. I was suprised that this pad could work BETTER and provide MORE lift off the wither and for a fraction of the price. My only complaint is that it sometimes slides up during rides. I can't comment on durability because I haven't used it long, but for the price I dont mind replacing it if I have to!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Pommel Lift! I've been looking for something to help me fit my dressage saddle to my guy! I can't afford a new saddle to fit him and I needed something to help lift the pommel up (saddle a bit wide). This pad is FINALLY helping! No more sliding way back.I tried the half pad by ecp, and a half pad with inserts, and it was all frustrating. This finally gave me the lift I needed.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Great pad. Considered getting black but so far the white is still looking nice!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Won Over I was very skeptical when the pad arrived. I was hoping the pad was made of a a slightly more sturdy material in order to offer the front lifting support I needed.But after using it for about a month now, I will admit I'm very impressed. It's keeping the pommel off my high withered OTTB. The pad is easy to clean and is still retaining its shape. I just hope it stays that way!
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Support Pad After my piggy TB lost some weight, my close contact saddle (Bates, standard gullet) started to feel odd when i was riding. I could no longer fit 2-3 fingers under the front and she started to hold her head high at the trot and be heavy on the forehand during the canter. I did some research and all signs pointed to my saddle not fitting her anymore. Additionally, when I was cleaning my saddle one day, I could see where there was no support around her withers. I ordered the front lift in black. My saddle felt more secure, it felt more level (I had felt like i was uphill before the pad, which is weird, but i guess just an effect from it being tipped too forward) and my mare seemed to be much more comfortable and happy under saddle. I am so thankful for this product to help saddle fit with those weird TB withers.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I purchased this wither pad to give the pommel of my saddle a tiny "lift." It works great and fits beautifully under my saddle so it doesn't look ugly. I didn't rate durability because I've had it less than two months. But, so far, it is holding up wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I wanted I purchased this wither pad to give my new saddle a slight lift in the front. It works very well and stays put perfectly. I think my horse appreciates the extra padding around his withers, too.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this product for additional back support for my jumper mare. It fit perfectly under her saddle which is 17 1/2" and my other mares 17" saddle. Great value for the money!
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.