Product Image

Buggzo

HorseTech, Inc.
- Item #15344
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Buggzo is a convenient, delicious alternative to other Garlic and Vinegar based insect control supplements! Buggzo combines Garlic and Vinegar in a pelleted product that's easy to feed and truly palatable. Carefully selected Garlic (including aroma-controlled Garlic) provides the cornerstone for this unique product. Buggzo also contains a unique, pH buffered Dried Apple Cider Vinegar - no more liquid vinegar or moist, sticky bug supplements! These ingredients plus Diatomaceous Earth, Thiamine, B-Complex Vitamins and Grape Seed Extract make Buggzo a comprehensive and effective insect control supplement. HorseTech guarantees your complete satisfaction - if you're not completely satisfied, we'll see that you receive a full refund.

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Buggzo is rated 3.8551 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great I have been feeding my draft and draft cross horses 1 1/2 scoops, twice daily for about two months. Very little effect especialy with flys on their legs. For the little help it provides, it's not worth the price. If I had to guess, I suppose I would estimate about a 30% improvement.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't have a clue I have been feeding my super bug sensitive QH Stallion (now 29 years young) Buggzo every summer for the last couple of years. This year, money is tight and I didn't think the Buggzo was doing much for Willie so I stopped adding it to his SmartPaks. Well, much to my surprise, Willie is rubbing himself raw from the fly reaction! This was his typical summer reation before the Buggzo. I did not have a clue just how much the Buggzo had helped. Needless to say, I have added it back to his SmartPaks!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased with results I haven't seen a single tick on my sensitive TB since starting Buggzo, and it also seems to have taken care of the little biting gnats and no-see-ums that were driving him nuts and leaving bloody spots on his belly. It's a little expensive for what it is in my opinion, and for a less sensitive horse I would probably try one of the other feed-through products or just go with fly spray. However I will keep my thin-skinned guy on it since he is so intolerant of the bugs and I have noticed definite results with the Buggzo.Also - I love the pelleted consistency, and my horse eats it right up without a second thought. It's worth a couple extra dollars right there to avoid the headache of trying to get him to eat it!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out... I am a big fan of HorseTech products, but I am still unsure of the effectiveness of this product. My picky mare eats it no problem, but I am not sure if it is so good at repelling insects. By mid July I will have a better idea.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buggzo Appears to be working -- flies are out early and there are none in the stall. However, he is not developing the smell of garlic on his skin -- I think this keeps bugs from landing on your horse.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept the Nasty Bugs at Bay! This supplement was a little more than the other "bug" products, but the money back guarantee was hard to pass up and the reviews seemed very positive. Our QH reiner is a bug magnet and has the most sensitive and reactive skin ( worse than some thoroughbreds we've had ). He commonly gets bumps and hives from even the mildest of bug seasons and will get oozing and open sores. He's kept in front of a fan during the day and out of the heat and bugs but he's just super sensitive. We were skeptical, but WOW! This product is awesome. It took a few weeks to build it up in his system, but he has not has a single hive, bump, oozing sore, or irritating spot since! We even went out on a trail ride and my other mare was highly irritated by the nasty biting deer flies and horse flies and we ended up going home- they never once even attempted to land on our gelding that's on Buggzo. It has a strong smell, but I think it smells good and he'll gobble it up out of my hand. We did taste tests for the fun of it on our other 4 and they all agreed it tasted great. This product is worth every penny/
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I started using Buggzo last year on my Stallion Kelos Patrick. He has a horrible reaction to bug bites. The first year we saw it I consulted with a vet and tried all sort of things to no avail. He had sores, was swollen all the time and very uncomfortable. I decided last year to try some products and tried Buggzo. I noticed a huge difference in 2 weeks. Bugs were leaving him alone and he wasn't so uncomfortable. This year started him on it before bugs came out and no sores and Patrick is very happy!
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I see some results I seen results the first month my two horses were on it but they were off of it for about a week and now since they have been back on it I am not seeing that much of a difference. It works better for one than it does for the other horse.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Think I'll go Back to the other Does not seem to be working. I had both horses on another supplement and it did a better job.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product not tested on preg mares I was very disappointed not to be able to use this product. It has not been tested on pregnant mares. My mare is pregnant. I returned the bucket
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save Your Money I am always looking for new products that would deter flys and this seemed like the best product on the market according to the reviews. I tried it for two months and it doesn't work - even on triple dose and too expensive. I am not certain how the reviews can saying it is working. Save your money and use fly spray.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to work My horse loves the taste of these pellets!!! He is terrified of spray bottles so I am unable to spray him with fly spray. I thought I would try this product and it appears to work! Many other horses in the barn are covered with flys, but not my boy. There are a few that land on him, but not as many as the other horses.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from KEEPS THE FLY BELLY AWAY!! I bought this product directly from the manufacturer and thought it would repel all flies. In comparison to the horse next to us the no see ums that would be on the manure were very few but the regular flies seemed to still bother her so I called and requested a refund stating I didn't think it worked. HUGE mistake!!! The next Spring she was covered in oozing bumps all over her belly as she is very allergic to those small flies, as are many horses. I still had the bucket of Buggzo and figured that the year before she didn't have fly belly and now she does so maybe it worked after all. After about 2 weeks her wounds were healing and no fresh bites were there. She was totally healed up within a month and we have never had a problem with fly belly again! I use regular fly spray for the annoying plain flies that land on her but at least she is not itching and full of sores any longer. This product is pricey but it works great for horses that get fly belly! The smell is strong but she loves the taste and is comfortable throughout fly season. We couldn't stand watching her so uncomfortable and I actually called the company to apologize for saying the product didn't work! Given daily I go through about two 5 lb. buckets from Spring through Summer and still have some left over. The shelf life is long so when Spring rolls around again I just finish off what I have left! You have to give it every day though......skip a few days in a row and you will start to see a few bites.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picky Eater Loves It! I'm delighted he likes it so well. Seemed to add that needed spice to his meal. Tough to say how it affects the flies - I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and say it helps eventhough the bugs are still around.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from buggzo I am not pleased with this product! I have been feeding it to my horses and the flies are still bad. Since I can't find anything to stop the flies from biting them I guess I will have to using the fly spray. That really works.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An annual staple for my guys Have used this product now for about 3 -4 years after giving up the (possibly better but) gooey, gummy 'other product' that was on the market. My horses are the ones who come in from pasture looking great while others are miserable & covered with bumps & welts. Stick with the original Buggzo! A few pennies more but worth it.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get out of my face! This supplement gave my horse comparative relief from face flies and gnats when standing with untreated horses. I still use a spray on his underbelly and legs, and he seems much more comfortable than before the Buggzo.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We've used Buggzo for several years now. It does help keep flies from biting. Horses in the field with Bernie will often be stomping and swishing but he's no where near as frantic as they are when he's on the Buggzo.
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It helps My horse has violent reactions (head shakes) when bugs even approach him. I started feeding him Buggzo a little over a month ago. There seem to be fewer bugs actually landing on him. I was hoping it would discourage ticks as well...but I just pulled the first one off of him this season. If you like garlic, you will love the smell of this supplement! It is strong. I am going to keep using it through the bug season...anything that helps is a plus.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from She loves the taste I just purchased Buggzo about a month ago for my Icelandic mare. She gets very itchy in the summer due to sweet itch, and prevention is key to her comfort. She is also quite a picky eater. Well, she loves the Buggzo, and though it is still early in the season, and she has only been taking it for about a month, I am seeing the bugs fly around her but not land. We are continuing the loading ration for another 2 weeks, and then will decrease to maintenance dose. Am hoping she will have an itch free summer!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Picky Eaters! I am not sure how well the product works yet.Hoewever, my very picky horse does love the taste. . .down to the last pellet!
    Date published: 2011-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cautiously Optimistic So far, so good...I purchased this product because we have a huge number of ticks on our property. My horse has been on it for about a month: the tick season is just starting to start up, and while his pasture mates are bringing in a few freeloaders, he has been tick-free for the past week. I hope this happy results lasts through the summer!On the palatability of this product: my horse has turned up his nose at garlic-flavored supplements in the past, and he did at this one too. However, I found that if I mix his supplements and feed the night before and let it sit, he will eat it up with no problem in the morning.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No difference Our barn is surrounded by woods and low areas, thus the mosquitos start early in the year. My horse isn't too bothered by them but the deer flies and no-see-ums give him fits.There has been no change in the repelancy of the insects. Even in the stall, they still cover the manure. But...it doesn't smell like garlic (a plus) and he eats it right up.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a believer With a horse that reacts extremely poorly to bug bites in general, fly season tends to be my worst nightmare. Fly sprays only work for short periods of time, fly sheets rub, lotion washes or sweats off. There's nothing I've found that can consistently keep the bugs at bay, which is a problem! He reacts in rashes to bug bites, and let me tell you-it's not an attractive look in the showring! I was a skeptic when I started him on Buggzo, but there's nothing else to do-I've used everything else at my disposal! I've had the product since 7/3 and while it's only been a short period of time, there is a noticeable difference. Another horse stalled next to him, with the same sensitive skin? Still breaking out in hives from bug bites. My horse? Noticeably less.Skeptic-turned-believer on this.I will note that patience is necessary when using this product. There certainly is not an "insta-fix"-my results have come over a period of time, and bugs biting haven't completely stopped. I imagine that as I continue him on this my results will only continue to improve.
    Date published: 2010-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decrease in flies I can definitely see a decrease in flies; sometimes a fly will light on her. I have tried it on one horse out of six, and you can see she is not bothered near as bad as the other horses! Would recommend this to another friend.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stinky, & My PiggyPony wouldn't eat! I put my 13yr qtr gelding on this hoping to alleviate gnat bites, as he gets hives (Sweet Itch syndrome). My qtr horse reluctantly ate this, but my chow-hound mini would NOT touch it! My qtr horse has been on this for a month, with no visible reduction in pests. I don't think it's working for us, but it certainly doesn't hurt, either. I'll give it a 2 more months, but can't say as I see any improvement. It stinks in the bucket, but not once it's fed. I've had success with using vinegar spray for repelling gnats - 2/3rds vinegar mixed with 1/3 water, sprayed at feeding times. Works for about 3-4 hours, repels gnats and mosquitoes, but not flies! Any other suggestions??
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.