Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing It Up

4 3/4"
5"
5 1/2"
12mm thick

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed. My horse wears a 4.75" bit. As you can imagine, there are very few bits that come in this size — and very few that are soft enough for his sensitive mouth. I love the curved bars of the JP bits, as I feel they are very soft and forgiving to my horse's mouth. The oval link is a lot softer on his tongue, too. My only complaint is the copper (which is also great for making him salivate) scratches up very quickly and the bit looks worn on that particular part, and it can be kind of hard to clean the joints. My horse loves it, so I can't complain!
    Date published: 2011-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed This was the perfect choice for my green TB. The thin mouth piece fits in his small mouth better then fatter snaffles and he loves the copper center piece. I like that is has large D's on a 4.75" bit, most of them out there have small pony sized D's on that size mouth piece. Great quality, just what I expect from Korsteel.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My horse loves this bit! I just wanted something simple and of course SmartPak has it!
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This is a nice hunter bit with just a bit of copper which is nice for softening their mouth.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Hunter D Snaffle Bit I was very pleased with this bit when it arrived for our new horse. I had already tried several other snaffles I had on hand and he didn't like any of them so far. So I was hoping the little 'widget' in the center would make him happier and it did!We use it on him riding out cross country and he is very happy with it, so that makes me happy too! Very nice, heavy quality bit that should look good for years.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality I bought this bit years ago on sale and put it away. Recently I dug it out to try on my gelding that would not round for me ever. The first ride with it he was softer and more responsive, working off my leg and seat better, and not pulling and leaning like he did in my rubber d ring. Within a week he was stretching through his back and rounding well. We still have a while to go before he has the perfect dressage frame but this bit has helped some.
    Date published: 2009-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Korsteel Bits! I bought this bit for my new 5 yo OTTB mare, Irish Rose. We were using the Korsteel Eggbut snaffle I already had on hand and wanted to switch her to an even gentler bit for her super soft and responsive mouth. She loves the addition of the copper link and the gentle curve of the snaffle that allows easy communication without the pressure on her tongue and palate. She relaxes quickly into the bit and is stretching down through her back, something I love to see in my green but willing sweetie. I love the weight of the Korsteels, which has always been highly recommended by my vet and trainer; and the price for these bits is always a pleasant surprise. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2009-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bit!! Both me and my horse love this bit! It definately encourages my horse to salivate and play with the bit. Even during the first ride my horse went immediately into a frame and I could tell he really enjoyed having this bit.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit as any JP Korsteel Bit, these bits are designed with the horses comfort in mind. My horses truly love the copper as well and really do salivate and accept copper bits well. I will only buy bits made by a few companies and JP Korsteel bits is one of them. SmartPak is a pleasure to buy from, and always quick to deliver.
    Date published: 2009-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love it! I love this bit and so do my horses. I have a collection of at least 8 KK bits and purchased this at a horse show when I wasn't able to get a D ring KK in the correct size. I'm glad I found it. It is ergonomically designed and the horses really seem to like the copper link. This is the only bit my four year old salivates in. She won't salivate with the $100+ KK!!! It works AND it's cheap!! Genius!
    Date published: 2009-03-19
    • 2015-03-05T08:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_5125, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.