Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Neck Stretcher

Item #14980

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Made of strong elastic which attaches to the girth and adjusts over the poll. Encourages your horse to drop his head, flex and stretch forward to the bit without encouraging the resistance and resentment of a nonelastic cord. Black. One Size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Neck Stretcher is rated 4.5625 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Small Expense This isn't the most high-tech piece of equipment--it's basically a bungee with two snaps and a pull-thru cinch--but it works. It's a nice, inexpensive tool to help encourage a longer, lower head set to help engage and tone the topline and back muscles when lungeing. I wouldn't use it with much tension--I'd worry about the plastic snaps breaking--and I found I needed almost no tension and it worked beautifully. Once my mare tested it out a little and found it wasn't constricting and even stretched a little when she pushed against it, she settled in and kept a really nice headset without fighting it.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice training aid One of my horses needed a little help to get into frame while on lunge line. Side rains did not do much for him as he would get really tense so I wanted to try something else based more on give-and-take basis. I am familiar with the neck stretcher from riding horses in Europe and was hoping that it could be the little help he needed. Because the elastic can give when he gets tense, he does not get stuck in pulling against it but rather re-balances and gives nicely into it. I am very satisfied with the purchase and happy that it works for my guy. I only lunge him with the neck stretcher, never ride him in it.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like them, but worried about plastic clips... So far, I like this neck stretcher. It is longer than the others I have used, which allows for a greater range of adjustability. Easily adjusts (and stays put). However, as some other reviewers have mentioned, I am a little concerned about how the plastic clips will hold up over extended use.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used for Prepping We used these stretchers to help with prepping our thoroughbred sales yearlings. They were shipped super fast and seem to be doing the trick!
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $20 I Ever Spent ! My horse accepted the Neck Stretcher immediately. He is moving better than ever and I can see a noticeable improvement in his hind end in just two weeks (he is ridden 5 to 6 days a week).Only regret is that I didn't start using this years ago.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy This works well on both my hunter and my western pleasure horse. It's easy to adjust and easy to put on and take off. My only concern (like others) is the plastic snaps on the ends.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Best product I have ever purchased! Has made so many great changes in my horse's movement, and him learning to carry himself. I would recommend this to anyone!!!!
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck stretcher Nice but would like for it to have metal snaps instead of plastic.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected I bought this inexpensive neck stretcher for a specific horse and it works well. A good buy for the money and quite helpful for this horse!
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must-Have Training Tool I have been using this almost every ride since I bought it -- it is wonderful quality, and it has been teaching my horse to stretch long and low. Definitely prefer this to something like a martingale or draw reins. Every trainer should have one!
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME This is one training tool that I absolutely can't do without. I love how it helps my horse to understand how I'd like her to carry her head. Does not interfere with collection or going on the bit, as I have found with draw reins or martingales. Absolutely LOVE this.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tremendous help for riders The neck stretcher is great for head carriage. Aids the rider to keep soft contact and puts the horse's head right where you want it. The horse's fight less and I am certain they are grateful for this product as well, riders aren't hanging on their faces. Very adjustable for young horses as well. Thanks again smart pak for another great product, and my horses thank you as well!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from An easy product to use. I have lunged my horse in it a couple of times on a very loose setting. It is easy to adjust. I would question the fit being too small on a very large horse. My horse is only 15.2 and compact and I wished it was a bit longer to get her used to it. I also with the cord was a bit more stretchy.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to draw reins Great heavy duty elastic cords, only wish the clips were a material other than plastic such as snaps or something metal. Have had no problem whatsoever with this product thus far
    Date published: 2010-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Im glad I purchased this. I bought this for my 3yo TB mare to get her used to the concept of long and low. She was all about trying to be like a giraffe when being ridden. In was not looking for a short cut in training, just a tool to help her accept the idea. Its worked very well for us. I like the give that bungee provides and the fact that in an emergency the clips will break.Some people should know though, this will encourage a horse to bend at the 3rd vertebrae if too tight. I wouldn't recommend this for people looking for a short cut in training for a round frame.
    Date published: 2010-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Wonders Many people complain about the plastic hinges breaking, but I would rather they break if there was a safety issue like a tangled leg.I am not a big believer in forcing a horse into a frame with a training aid, but the neck stretcher was a quick, effective and gentle way to introduce my pony to the muscles in his top line. After only a few session he carries himself better, even just strolling about the pasture.Worth every penny and much more forgiving than side reins or a chambon, especially for a newbie trainer like me.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good investment purchased this on the suggestion of my friend who works her horse in one too. encouraged my gelding to stretch down and relax, etc. both rode and lunged him in this and like this better than draw reins or side reins. only complaint is that i had to create loops to use it through my girth's billets or the girth (hint: those zip ties have many uses!). i might have my saddle repair friend take an old girth and install dee rings on it. at first it seemed a little tight (my horse is a big old 17.2 hand monster) but after a week of use it seemed to stretch out a little so it's not so tight. denny, my gelding seems to be very accepting of the neck stretcher.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great way to get your horse to connect. This bungee type cord simulates a solid connection so the horse can become round and develop the correct muscles over time.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best training tool EVER Simple, and that's the best way to go.I have been using this for several months, and have finally bought my own. Simply the best training tool and priced right. It really encourages my horse to travel in a balanced, relaxed manner and in a correct frame while engaging his back.His topline is now developed enough that, with proper aids, truly engages his quarters and back without the aid of the neck stretcher but we still do work with it on once to twice a week to continue to encourage that development.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product- Great price This is an easy to use product. Far less complicated than others out there. A great training tool at a GREAT price.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Recommended by a friend who trains and shows HUS. It encourages the horse to travel and carry itself correctly without stress or confining the horse's face.Easy to use.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I have used this item for years and I finally wanted one of my own. I used it 2x before one of the clips broke. Additionally, the length was way too long. I had to put 2 knots in it. I have returned it and I'm awaiting a replacement.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works simply and very effective Really happy with the neck stretcher. Easy to use.Gentle on horse. Instant results!
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helps a lot used it my entire life...great tool to encourage youre horse to use the right head position
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.