Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.

The Ultimate Hoofpick is available in yellow. The Ultimate Hoofpick Jr is available in dark blue, light blue, or pink. Please let us select the color for you.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.7353 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not wimpy! I got this hoofpick on the advice of my farrier. It's solid in my hand and does not flip around, bend or twist when I use it. It's great at removing those flaps along the frog to get rid of hiding places for bacteria. It doesn't rust, either!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy, fits both my hand and 8yr old daughter's hand well; (we got the Jr. version). Kind of pricey, but MUCH better than some of the cheaper ones we have tried.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! But expensive... This hoofpick WILL NOT BEND!!! I can't wait to try it on the annual winter iceballs. ;)
    Date published: 2011-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever This is the greatest hoof pick I have ever bought. It is so strong, I don't think it would ever bend. I like the "jr" size better than the "normal" one because it fits in my hand better. This is well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exensive But Worth It The only thing that could improve this hoofpick is a brush on one end. I ordered the smaller size because I read in another review that it is the same size as a normal metal hoofpick. It is, but it does seem ergonomically designed for someone with small hands. I'm ordering a larger size for barn use and going to put the smaller one in my jacket pocket for trail rides etc.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever I have tried every hoof pick on the market in search of one that would not bend when picking out impacted material . . and this is the best one by far. It is pricey, but you'll never buy another one again. The pink size is perfect for my hands (I am 5'11 tall with bigger than average hands), the weight is also just right. Does the job it's intended for with no hassle and annoying bent metal!
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoofpick, but a bit pricey I like this hoofpick quite a bit, but I find it to be a tad expensive. It is easier to use than a plain old fashioned hoofpick and the extra grippiness helps, but I find it to be overpriced.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate is the right word I have no idea how many different hoof picks I have purchased in my quest for the best! I've found The best in this one! It's grip is sturdy so your hand wraps around it well and there's no slipping. You feel a little weight in your hand as well so it's nicely balanced. The pick itself is very sturdy and a little tension goes a long way so your not putting so much stress on your hand/ wrist. You thus are not poking hard on your horse's hoof either and the job gets done much easier and quicker.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth It This is a wonderful hoof pick. It makes it easy to get just about anything out of a horse's hooves quickly. I would never want to go back to the standard hoof picks after using this product. It would make a great gift, as well.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really is the ultimate hoof pick! I saw this hoof pick in your catalog a while back, but I thought "I'm not spending $20 on a hoof pick". Then I used one at my trainer's barn and loved it. It is rugged and is great for picking out hooves with shoes on--will be great to get those tough snow balls out this winter. How did I ever live without this?
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I wasn't really happy with my traditional hoof pick, but could never find a good replacement. Ordered the ultimate hoof pick and loved it after the first use!! It made cleaning out packed dry mud a breeze. I definitely won't be changing back!
    Date published: 2010-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick I have some old hoofpicks that I have had forever and had been looking for additional picks of the same type. Couldn't find them anywhere. Tried other picks that simply weren't strong enough or lasted very long. Love this one! Strong, fits my hand well. A little pricey, but if it lasts a lifetime, I won't need to buy any more hoof picks in my lifetime! I'll add a couple more to my tack room in case my friends "borrow" them!
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pick Really made it easier to get dried mud off. Seems to have a sharper edge than my other picks so it cuts through more easily.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick does not bend while picking out ice and snow easy to keep in my hand really happy with this prouduct
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Pick As a real novice to horse grooming, training, etc., I have no real point of comparison but this tool has a good feel. I expect it will more than meet my needs.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof pick This is a terrific hoof pick. It is the kind of purchase that you are glad you made every time you use it, which is, after all, very frequently.
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I got this pick after my farrier reccomended something a little more heavy duty to get all the way into the grooves of my horse's frogs. This pick does the job. The flat sharp end really gets into the grooves and gets out mud that cheap picks cannot, it also doesn't bend getting out rocks which is a nice change. I bought the junior pick which is about the same size as your normal cheap pick. It fits in my hand nicely, is comfortable, and very solid. I think I might buy a couple for my barn friends for the holidays!
    Date published: 2009-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item I have use many hoof picks and this one by far is the best I have ever had. Love the size of the handle, gives good control in using pick. I have a very weak left hand and can still use this hoof pick with no problem. Very glad that I bought it.
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Great pick. As a woman would probably like the jr size better but well made pick that appears to be built to last.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Grip! For those ladies out there who have had the "hoof pick dilemma" this is the answer. Some picks have such thin hadles you can't get a good grip, and some have one so fat you don't have good control of your pick.This Junior size pick fits my smaller hands perfectly, gives me a steady grip and great control. It is a little pricey for a hoof pick, but I don't mind now that I am not struggling to clean my horse's feet!
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Such a hard-to-rate product!! Others have written favorably about the strength and design of this hoof pick and I agree with them. It is, indeed, great in that respect.However! I am a woman with normal woman-sized hands and this thing is HUGE in them. Every time I use it, I have flashbacks to using a full-sized bat when I was just a bitty kid -- you know, having to really choke up on the thing to be able to use it.So, I suspect that if I had gotten the "Junior," I might be rating it 5 stars. But, from my perspective, the regular-sized Ultimate is entirely too unwieldy to use comfortably.I had been holding off on buying one of these for years and I finally decided to treat myself. Imagine my disappointment. :(
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate hoof pick Like the add says, feels great the first time you hold it. Works good like most other picks just much easier to hold.
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicked nice Durable, easy to use...the grip is comfortable and it seriously takes me 2 swipes and his hoof is cleared. Then a quick brush off. Done!! This is the best hoofpick ever!!
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick ever This is the only hoof pick you need! It won't bend, even whan diggin snow out of hooves in the winter. Nice size, very easy to hold.
    Date published: 2009-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Power of the Pick I'm a big guy and most hoof picks get lost in my hand...not the Ultimate Hoof Pick. This truly is a substantial piece of equipment. The angle of the pick is perfect, the pointier tip allows you to get under the shoe at the heel and the hand grip gives you great balance. A superb grooming tool.
    Date published: 2009-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for GLUEMUD! In the summertime, my horse will get his feet nice and wet near the water trough, and then the sun will dry the mess out into a rock-hard glue. It takes FOREVER to pick out with a normal hoofpick, but the Ultimate Hoofpick yanks it right out with no fuss. I love this hoofpick!
    Date published: 2009-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hoof Pick! You know how hoof picks will wear out and eventually bend making it harder for you to get the dirt and rocks out of your horses hooves? This one won't!! It truly is the ultimate hoof pick. I have used it for a while now and it has not bent and has a longer "hook" which helps pull out more dirt from the hoof. I can toss it in my tack box and not worry about it getting bent - it is extremely durable. It doesn't "dirty" either. It was also great this winter for removing ice from my horses hooves. The ice came right out whereas before I would have to pick it out with several attempts. A+ product!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.