Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.


Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable
  • Comes in a variety of colors (we pick the color for you!)

Sizing It Up

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.7308 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoofpick ever I got the pink one and it fits perfectly in my hand. It is so easy and quick to use. Love it and worth the extra bucks.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product but no color choice The product is extremely durable and is worth the price. My only feedback is. You should be able to choose the color instead of being forced to take what you get.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever! This works amazing on my horse's size 4 hooves. Before, I dreaded cleaning his feet as it was such a challenge with a regular hoofpick, but with this product, it makes it easy. Works great on packed mud as well as snow and ice. Highly recommend. I chose the junior size, as a women with average sized hands, and its a perfect fit. Very comfortable grip.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful hoofpick I actually look forward to hoofpickin' time now that I've got my Ultimate Junior. I was so tired of those cheepy plastic ones with the brush on the back that are always at the wrong angle, I'd started using a screwdriver, knowing it was just a matter of time until I jabbed it in the wrong place. This Ultimate thing is a pleasure to use, and the smaller of the two sizes is a good fit for my size 7 hands. I bought two -- one for the brush box and one for the Gator. Expensive, but well worth it for a tool I use multiple times a day.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the Jr. size Although I don't own a horse, I ordered a couple of these for the barn where I take lessons, having been frustrated with sometimes not being able to find a good pick to use. I got one in each size and tried both this morning. I have large hands for a woman, size 8 to 8.5 glove, and I find that the Jr. size is still more comfortable for me to use. The regular size is *really* large... I would imagine you'd have to be a guy with really big hands to prefer the regular size pick. Both are way better and faster to use than a cheap pick.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Finally a hoof pick at the right angle and is so sturdy. The end is small enough to get in the spaces I need to! Definately won't bend....I doubt I'll need another hoof pick again. The Jr. is just the right size for me/my hands!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priceless Pick! I rarely splurge on expensive grooming tools, and I am a fan of home remedies and less expensive alternatives, but this is one item I cannot live without- the Ultimate Hoof Pick. My hubby got this for me as a surprise and it is amazing. Not only comfortable to use, it does it's job easier and more efficiently than other hoof picks- it gets hard packed soil, clay and snow/ice out much easier than any other hoof pick. There are similar styles out there, with the longer thicker handles like this one but they lack the design that offers the leverage and ease. To me, the ease of cleaning is important because trying to get packed stuff out of hooves can lead to pulling hard on legs, slipping with the pick and scratching yourself or your horse, not good. Even for everyday cleaning, this pick does the trick and is quick and easy to use. As I told a friend today, if I had to go to a desert island with my horse, this is the first grooming tool I'd grab!
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick I've ever used. Works great on my horses giant hooves!
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoofpick Supreme Feels great in the hand, easy to use for cleaning even this most dirt impacted hoof.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not wimpy! I got this hoofpick on the advice of my farrier. It's solid in my hand and does not flip around, bend or twist when I use it. It's great at removing those flaps along the frog to get rid of hiding places for bacteria. It doesn't rust, either!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy, fits both my hand and 8yr old daughter's hand well; (we got the Jr. version). Kind of pricey, but MUCH better than some of the cheaper ones we have tried.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! But expensive... This hoofpick WILL NOT BEND!!! I can't wait to try it on the annual winter iceballs. ;)
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever This is the greatest hoof pick I have ever bought. It is so strong, I don't think it would ever bend. I like the "jr" size better than the "normal" one because it fits in my hand better. This is well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exensive But Worth It The only thing that could improve this hoofpick is a brush on one end. I ordered the smaller size because I read in another review that it is the same size as a normal metal hoofpick. It is, but it does seem ergonomically designed for someone with small hands. I'm ordering a larger size for barn use and going to put the smaller one in my jacket pocket for trail rides etc.
    Date published: 2011-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever I have tried every hoof pick on the market in search of one that would not bend when picking out impacted material . . and this is the best one by far. It is pricey, but you'll never buy another one again. The pink size is perfect for my hands (I am 5'11 tall with bigger than average hands), the weight is also just right. Does the job it's intended for with no hassle and annoying bent metal!
    Date published: 2011-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoofpick, but a bit pricey I like this hoofpick quite a bit, but I find it to be a tad expensive. It is easier to use than a plain old fashioned hoofpick and the extra grippiness helps, but I find it to be overpriced.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate is the right word I have no idea how many different hoof picks I have purchased in my quest for the best! I've found The best in this one! It's grip is sturdy so your hand wraps around it well and there's no slipping. You feel a little weight in your hand as well so it's nicely balanced. The pick itself is very sturdy and a little tension goes a long way so your not putting so much stress on your hand/ wrist. You thus are not poking hard on your horse's hoof either and the job gets done much easier and quicker.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth It This is a wonderful hoof pick. It makes it easy to get just about anything out of a horse's hooves quickly. I would never want to go back to the standard hoof picks after using this product. It would make a great gift, as well.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really is the ultimate hoof pick! I saw this hoof pick in your catalog a while back, but I thought "I'm not spending $20 on a hoof pick". Then I used one at my trainer's barn and loved it. It is rugged and is great for picking out hooves with shoes on--will be great to get those tough snow balls out this winter. How did I ever live without this?
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I wasn't really happy with my traditional hoof pick, but could never find a good replacement. Ordered the ultimate hoof pick and loved it after the first use!! It made cleaning out packed dry mud a breeze. I definitely won't be changing back!
    Date published: 2010-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick I have some old hoofpicks that I have had forever and had been looking for additional picks of the same type. Couldn't find them anywhere. Tried other picks that simply weren't strong enough or lasted very long. Love this one! Strong, fits my hand well. A little pricey, but if it lasts a lifetime, I won't need to buy any more hoof picks in my lifetime! I'll add a couple more to my tack room in case my friends "borrow" them!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pick Really made it easier to get dried mud off. Seems to have a sharper edge than my other picks so it cuts through more easily.
    Date published: 2010-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick does not bend while picking out ice and snow easy to keep in my hand really happy with this prouduct
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Pick As a real novice to horse grooming, training, etc., I have no real point of comparison but this tool has a good feel. I expect it will more than meet my needs.
    Date published: 2010-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof pick This is a terrific hoof pick. It is the kind of purchase that you are glad you made every time you use it, which is, after all, very frequently.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I got this pick after my farrier reccomended something a little more heavy duty to get all the way into the grooves of my horse's frogs. This pick does the job. The flat sharp end really gets into the grooves and gets out mud that cheap picks cannot, it also doesn't bend getting out rocks which is a nice change. I bought the junior pick which is about the same size as your normal cheap pick. It fits in my hand nicely, is comfortable, and very solid. I think I might buy a couple for my barn friends for the holidays!
    Date published: 2009-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item I have use many hoof picks and this one by far is the best I have ever had. Love the size of the handle, gives good control in using pick. I have a very weak left hand and can still use this hoof pick with no problem. Very glad that I bought it.
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Great pick. As a woman would probably like the jr size better but well made pick that appears to be built to last.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Grip! For those ladies out there who have had the "hoof pick dilemma" this is the answer. Some picks have such thin hadles you can't get a good grip, and some have one so fat you don't have good control of your pick.This Junior size pick fits my smaller hands perfectly, gives me a steady grip and great control. It is a little pricey for a hoof pick, but I don't mind now that I am not struggling to clean my horse's feet!
    Date published: 2009-11-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Such a hard-to-rate product!! Others have written favorably about the strength and design of this hoof pick and I agree with them. It is, indeed, great in that respect.However! I am a woman with normal woman-sized hands and this thing is HUGE in them. Every time I use it, I have flashbacks to using a full-sized bat when I was just a bitty kid -- you know, having to really choke up on the thing to be able to use it.So, I suspect that if I had gotten the "Junior," I might be rating it 5 stars. But, from my perspective, the regular-sized Ultimate is entirely too unwieldy to use comfortably.I had been holding off on buying one of these for years and I finally decided to treat myself. Imagine my disappointment. :(
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    • 2015-02-28T08:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.