Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EasyBoot Epic

Easy Care, Inc.
- Item #14845

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Easyboot Epic horse riding boot is ideal for the barefoot horse, muddy conditions or for a horse who is difficult to keep booted.

The attached Gaiter provides extra protection to the hoof as well as keeps excess dirt and debris from getting into Easyboots. It also helps keep the boot on during extreme conditions such as mud, snow, and water crossings.

Replacement Gaiter's are available.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    EasyBoot Epic is rated 4.3548 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Improvement This boot is a significant improvement over the original Easy Boot. It actually stays on! I was worried at first about the ankle strap rubbing, but it hasn't been a problem. It isn't the greatest thing in the mud that we have right now, but my horse gets thrush no matter what I do, so I just make sure to clean the boot out daily and wash it with betadine scrub to kill any grossness that might be growing in there.
    Date published: 2013-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from boot that fits Been using the regular easyboots for 12 yrs and had gotten tired of the cleats digging into the walls of the hooves. A farrier suggested trying a boot w/ a gater for added security although the original boots generally stayed on pretty well. This particular model works great on my mares b/c they tend to have lower heels which don't work well w/ some of the other easyboot styles. These boots do not have the metal cleats, and the addition of the gater negates the need for them. They were easy to put on since I'd used the original style for so long, and they seem comfortable and secure for the horses.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time with boots, Great I had never used boots before but my TB kept losing shoes so I purchased a pair of Epics, they are very easy to put on and after 2 weeks of daily use they never turned, or fell off. I rode in them and my horse seemed very comfortable . The only negative is on wet grass they are a little slippery, but not bad.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good option for barefoot horses I have an older, barefoot gelding with mild arthritis. I use the EasyBoot to go for walks on areas that have rocks and in the arena. I haven't ever used the regular EasyBoot model, but I find the EasyBoot Epic to be fairly easy to get on and off. It's never come off while in use or caused any rubs/sores, but I've only been using it at the walk and a little bit of trotting. And my horse didn't have any problems getting used to wearing them. I did find the sizing to run a little small so I went up one size from my original measurements. Overall, my horse doesn't have ouchy feet when he steps on rocks and I've been happy with the product!
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from hard to get off I bought one of these to try and had to send it back for a different size. Once I got the right size though, It is very hard to get off, so I never bought a second one. You need a srewdriver to pry it off. I am now trying the Easyboot trail, which is much easier to get on and off, but Smartpack doesn't sell these, too bad.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price I have been to 17 states trail riding. My horse has been barefooted most of his life; he is 19 years old. By using the Easy Boot Epic, I know I can ride where I want when I want. I have put many miles on my Epics; mostly I use them when the footing is shale, rock or gravel.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boot! My mare had a large abscess removed from her hoof wall due to her laminitis/insulin resistance. I was not able to keep any other boot on her even in good weather conditions. She would push off when getting up and pop all other boots off. This one stays on AMAZING!! Through mud, snow and rain she is now able to heal by keeping the area clean. I take it off to soak her foot, dry out for a bit and wiggle it back on. Easy and wonderful product.
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots! Easy to Fix Fit. I've used easyboots for years and have always had good luck with them. This review is really my reply to inuyashasheetmusic's posting that talks about the boots rubbing the coronet band on a horse. I've had this issue before also. One horse had her hoof care neglected for years by a previous owner so her feet had gotten very wide, long and flat. When our farrier trimmed her the first time her feet were very low to the ground and still very sprawled out forcing me to use a large easyboot that was tall on her to make her comfortable. I also have a gelding who naturally has wide feet with a naturally low heel and his easy boots used to rub him. To correct the problem I simply took a pair of kitchen scissors or a hoof nipper and trimmed down the tops of my easyboots and I don't pull the heel keeper strap thing up to high. Before I trimmed my boot tops I added pads in the bottom of the boot to help lift the hoof to keep them from rubbing. Trimming is easier to me.
    Date published: 2010-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NECESSARY PURCHASE I HAD BORROWED A NEIGHBOR'S EASY BOOT BECAUSE OF A SORE FOOT. THE BOOT DID HELP HIM WALK BETTER AND MY ORDER WAS TO REPLACE THE BOOT I BORROWED FROM HER. I HAVE USED THE EASY BOOT IN THE PAST FOR HORSES AND THEIR SORE FEET.
    Date published: 2010-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great customer service We received these boots on Monday for a new horse. They fit wonderfully and worked well for my daughter's horse show on Saturday. However, two days later they were destroyed. (Boot fell off while horse was running in a muddy pasture. She almost tripped over it then stepped on it with her hind foot and tore the gaiter right off.) Needless to say we we quite disappointed and not looking forward to spending another $70 after only a week. We were delighted with the wonderful customer service we received from SmartPak. They are sending a new gaiter right out. Thank you, SmartPak for standing behind the products you sell. We will be buying from you again.
    Date published: 2010-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must fit snugly I liket hese better than the old easy boot, but they still need to fit snugly and teh ankle strap needs to be tight, too. If all that is done correctly, tehy WILL stay on even in mud and snow. If not, they will slip off the foot and then the boot part will tear (2x in a month--slow learner on the fit thing....) I was able to a shoe replar place to sew it back for 5 bucks and I used dental floss to sew it back the second time.
    Date published: 2010-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit, Great Protection This easy boot is a great fit, other boots (even though sized correctly) have given my horse rubs on his heels. The attached gaiter keeps the boot stable, preventing twisting and rubbing. It stayed on during all day turn out, protecting my horse's brittle unshod hoof while an abscess healed.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great investment! After a really horrible bout with thrush, my vet advised to keep my horse's foot dry and out of the mud. I decided on the easy boot epic, since I needed something sturdy for his rough housing with the other geldings! I was very pleased with the product. It appears very durable. It is very simple to put on, and it stays on! I would recommend this in anyone's tack trunk, because we all know that diapers & duct tape just won't cut it for many horses!
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof Saver! My TB looooves to tear his one shoe off all the time. He also has to wear pads in the front because he's so tender footed. Recently my horse pulled his shoe and my farrier was unable to come out and it wouldn't be able to for at least a week. My horse couldn't go that long so i decided to get an easy boot and I am glad that i did! It saved his foot from falling apart and from being tender footed outside. I know that this will come in hand again next time he pulls a shoe. It's well made, fairly easy to put on and my horse had no complaints abotu it being on. Make sure that you measure their foot!!! My horse was between a 2 and a 3 and the 3 fit him the best. It was a lil big, but easy to adjust.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great invention i purchased the easyboot epic for my horse when he tore his shoe and part of his hoof off. needless to say, he was pretty lame. rather than leaving him in his stall for weeks on end until he had enough hoof for the farrier to work with, i put the easyboot epic on him and turned him back out into the pasture. he trots around and is sound as a bell!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Investment My mare had an abscess cut out of her sole by the vet who recommended a boot for riding for a few months. After a lot of research I decided upon the Epic because it offered durability, quality, and fit all of my needs. The first time I tried it on my horse looked at me as if I was insane and she stepped ever so carefully down the barn aisle with a nasty mare face. Every day I tried the boots on her and got her used to them and by the end of the week we were riding on the trails, on the road, and in the ring with boots on her two front feet. I was not afraid to do anything with them on-ice, pavement, snow, mud; they took it all in stride. Just be sure to perfectly measure each hoof; my mare was in between sizes and I went bigger to allow for her hoof growth as she went bare foot and she ended up not fitting her boot well enough for it to be effective. Definitely worth the purchase though!
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice boots wonderful boot, size runs true. My problem is my mare is natural trimmed barefoot and the boot is to tall and the top rubs into her cornet, which of course makes her a bit cranky. In addition to width and lenght there should be a height measurement. Except for that minor problem of my horse's hoof being to short, the boot would have been perfect.
    Date published: 2009-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laminitis aid extrordinaire! My mare developed EMS and had some ancillary laminitis after gaining weight and being out in mud. Even when we stabled her, we were still battling tenderness issues and problems for her on the pebble gravel underneath our wood shaving floor in her stall. Got four EasyBoot Epics (had to do trial and error with the sizing) and they have been a life saver. It allowed the hoof to harden up and stay clean, with only 3 - 4 day cleaning intervals if she stayed in her stall. She now has lost the weight and the laminitis is completely gone, but I will continue to use EasyBoot Epics to ride in since it keeps her clean and reduces the gravel and muck I have to get out. Haven't lost one with the gaiter system yet. They're awesome!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long time user I use Epics on my advanced dressage horse and he has no problem with the Epic boots. I highly recommend Epic boots with Comfort pad if you can get it. I may not put many miles like the endurance riders do. I do ride longer and he moves bigger,supple and graceful. My horse couldn't do it too well with shoes no matter how many times or how long I ride him. I try to ask him to give his best but it wasn't easy for him. It used to be is...I'm lucky to ride half hour or more on a good day without exhausting him. My horse is much happier and loves the Epics. He gives all his best he could offer for me and more. He doesn't tire at all and could go all day if I dared. I've been using Epic for a year now...same boots. He's due for new boots, not because of the wear and tear. He had expanded in hoof sizes. My horse can enjoy being barefoot which would greatly benefit him in the long run and I can easily put on boots to enjoy our riding moments together. It's a win/win situation for us!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epics are Great As an endurance rider, I am always looking for a better way. I have found it with EasyBoot Epics. I am able to leave my horse barefoot and protect his foot completely from the dry, hard packed and rocky trails out here in California. Never a lameness issue and never a lost boot with the new gaiter system. Easy to use if you have any experience with the old style of Easyboots and not too bad even if you don't!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epics - a real alternative to Horseshoes Like many other professionals, daily life often gets in the way of riding so I often put shoes on my horses only to reset them 6 weeks later with hardly a mile logged on the shoes. I would prefer to be able to trim and ride barefoot, but the rocky and abrasive footing in our area makes that difficult. Enter EasyBoot Epics!! "easy" is right. They are easy to put on and with the gaiters, they stay on almost 100% of the time. I haven't lost a boot in several hundred miles of conditioning. I've also yet to wear one out! I love being able to do a short trail ride barefoot, or, put on boots - and I can do 4 boots in about 8 minutes - and head out for a 20 mile ride without messing with (and paying for!)the steel shoes. Epics have become a staple in my stable.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.