Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup

Herm Sprenger
- Item #14510

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made of rubber with two types of properties.

The internationally renowned System 4 technology used in these stirrups enables immediate release of the foot in case of emergency.

Bow Balance design provides easy "pick up" upon mounting as they require very little effort on the rider's part - a simple touch of the foot to the stirrups and it gently folds onto the rider's foot.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup is rated 4.5957 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Make a Difference! I got these as a gift. While they are pricy for stirrups, they truly are worth it because of the difference they make.Before, I rode in regular jointed stirrups. When I first rode in these, I was a bit disappointed because I didn't notice the major difference that I was expecting because of its reviews and price. However, the first time that I rode in someone else's saddle that had plain stirrups, I REALLY noticed the difference. Plain jointed stirrups don't flex the same way as these, and I felt uncomfortable and a lot less secure.Also, I've noticed that these stirrups have completely taken care of the ankle pain I get at shows. Every time after I used to finish a round, my ankles would be soooo sore and stiff from jamming them down the whole time (and I have flexible ankles). But with the Herm Sprenger stirrups, I have absolutely no ankle pain whatsoever. I highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Knee pain resolved! I grew up on a horse farm and have spent half my life literally in the saddle. Now in my early 30s all those miles were starting to catch up with me. I still ride 2-3 times weekly for about 2-4 hours total time actually in the saddle. My trainer noticed I really wasn't using my legs much anymore and I had also noticed my seat getting very loose over the last year. 3 years ago I had switched to smaller lighter saddleseat stirrups when my knees started to hurt and that helped for awhile. I was riding most of a 4hr foxhunt without stirrups only picking them up to gallop and jump to avoid knee/heel pain. I explained to my trainer that both knees and my right Achilles had been really hurting up to 4 days after riding and I just thought that with my 30's my golden days of being a really good rider were naturally coming to an end. My knees crunched a lot and felt better straight and I would often ice them. She suggested I try some sprengers. I balked at the price for sure but thought they sounded better than a trip to an orthopedic surgeon and a barrage of tests, which I had also considered. First day I tried them I was instantly able to actually step down into my heels and get my secure seat back which hadn't happened in over a year and I had NO knee or heel pain at the end of two back to back, hour long jumping lessons! It was a miracle! I have my seat back and I don't hurt. I've had these stirrups for about a month now and I still feel good and I haven't needed to ice my knees at all. Thank you Sprenger and Smartpak! I may need an orthopedic surgeon some day but I don't think it will be in this decade! P.S. I wear a 5 1/2 shoe and I bought the smallest size...perfect fit! I was impressed at how light they are and I feel safe with the flexibility of the stirrup. I like safety stirrups especially for when I foxhunt.
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I love these stirrups. They are a bit expensive but worth it. Great grip and super flexible. Very comforatable stirrips.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have been really happy with the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups so far. Before purchasing these I was using another brand of jointed stirrups with cheese graters and had leg pain from my knees down to my ankles from trying to turn my feet inward so they didn't stick out. The shape of the Herm Sprengers really does help with foot/leg placement and the wider foot bed helps me feel mpore secure in my irons. The rubber on the foot bed is really grippy too. The joints on these stirrus are much more flexible than the other brand of stirrups I had been using, which makes it a little easier to keep my heel down. I've only been using these for about a week but so far, I'm happy with them!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the extra cost I've tried a few different stirrups, and look for a design that will release the foot in an emergency. One pair I bought (no longer made) was too heavy, though they were well designed. Another was lighter and I thought pretty good. Then I decided to splurge on these Sprengers -- love them! I didn't realize how much I liked them until I had to ride in one of my other stirrups briefly, and just hated the feel from the moment my foot went in. The Sprengers are very well balanced, the wider tread is comfortable, and while they are more expensive, I think they are worth it. Bought a second pair for my other saddle, too. I'm careful about what I spend my limited funds on, just think that these are worth it and have helped me improve my riding as I feel more balanced and secure.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice stirrups; purchased for my weak ankle I have a weak right ankle which starts to bother me after a couple back to back rides. With 5 horses to ride daily, that wasn't working for me and a friend recommended these. They seem to help, don't eliminate the early pain/fatigue entirely but do help. The price tag is a bit steep but if thats the price for comfort and longevity i'll pay it.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those with joint pain... I had been suffering with major pains in my ankles and knees after just an hour of riding. These stirrups immediately alleviated the problem when I started using them. I barely have an ache now even after 2 1/2 hour long Hunter Paces.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Undecided Had to send first pair back, too small even though I had customer service assistance in sizing. Three days ago received correct size. Quality stirrup. Have ridden all three days, there does not appear to be an advantageous relationship between my rolling ankle and this stirrup. Too much "play" in the stirrup so far. Yet, I will try a few more rides because I love the happiness guarantee at Smartpak. Also ordered the 4-F and am trying those at the same time. Same opinion. One warning, if the stirrup is a close fit size wise, it is VERY difficult to intentionally drop a stirrup if needed because the rubber on the sides has sticking power to your leather boot if it makes contact. So, go a size up. Not that I was riding an exciteable horse or anything like that. LOL. The stirrups are worth a try, I can see where they would be beneficial to some riders.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieved Stress on Joints The first time I rode in them, I felt my leg was softly against my horse without a lot of work; when I was done my ankles weren't stiff and I didn't get numbness on the soles of my feet. I'm an older adult with some painful joints; these were expensive but worth it if I can ride without aggravating anything.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from heel helper, knee saver I used to have a hard time keeping my heels down and these help me keep them down. I also have really bad knees and these help absorbed the impact when I jump. They have held up really well, I got them in Nov 2011 and they look brand new I ride in them 3-4 days a week. I love these stirrups and recommend these to everyone.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups Ever! I purchased these about five years ago, shortly after they were introduced. They have made a huge difference in my comfort while riding. With these, I now longer have knee or ankle pain. I am able to ride more effectively since I am no longer in pain.These stirrups (like all HS products) are expensive, but they are so well made that they will last forever. When I clean the pads of these stirrups, they look like new! So worth the investment, I have never regretted this purchase!
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My trainer instantly noticed a difference! I think between everyone at my barn we probably have a version of every single kind of jointed stirrups on the market. Without looking at price tags first (silly...) I tried several different pairs of jointed stirrups and fell in love with my roommates bow balance pair. She's had them for 3+ years (so while I can't personally attest to their durability that sounds pretty good to me). I did gulp when I got online and saw how much they cost! But at that point my trainer had told me how much better my position was in my lesson I took using them and I had tried several other pairs but not liked how much they moved. I rationalized it as "well these are much cheaper then a hip replacement later on..." and have been extremely happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Thanks, Sprenger I am a long time fan of the classic Herm Sprenger hinged irons so I thought these would be even better. Although the quality and durability is top notch, I loathe the blue pads and I do not feel that these irons are any easier to pick up (as they are advertised to be). I say save your money and either buy the Herm Sprenger jointed irons or upgrade to the more modern, lighter, more comfortable and less $$$ in the Royal Riders Flex Composite Stirrups.
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stirrups I moved up from the inexpensive jointed stirrups with cheese-grater pads to these. I wasn't sure if I'd like them but they're the rolls-royce of stirrups and I LOVE THEM! I know George Morris frowns on this type of stirrup, but they put your leg in the right position, which I think is amazing. The rubber pads are as grippy as the cheese grater, if not more. I can't comment on the durability yet, but Herm Sprenger is known for superior quality, so my guess is that they'll last forever. Expensive but worth it.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price When I was using my trainers saddle she had the Herm Sprengers 2 way and fell in love with them. I got my own saddle and was waiting for my Bow Balance stirrups to come in and borrowed an old pair of irons. Boy were my ankles and knees sore from just one lesson. Once I got my new ones I really noticed the difference. I would highly recommend these to anyone. I even gave a pair to my daughter
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM I have had a few sprained ankles and a broken foot. I was unable to ride with a shorter stirrup until I got the bow balance stirrups because my foot kept going numb. My foot no longer goes numb and I feel like I can canter around in a 2-point all day! The foot bed is much wider and grippy than other stirrups. My foot and leg feels very secure with these stirrups. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stopped using them After going through a lot of ankle rehab this spring for acute on chronic strains and sprains, I bought these hoping to reduce some of the pain I was having. I had a couple problems with them. My foot kept sliding out of my stirrup when I got my heels really really down. I always seemed to pick up the stirrups backwards, especially at the trot or canter... and they were on the correct sides. Plus, my trainer never liked the look of them, saying that they were bulky and not at all elegant. So I went back to my regular flexible joint stirrup and really don't miss these at all.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from why didn't i buy these sooner? my sprenger knock offs were dying, my back/knees/ankles were hurting and i decided to shut up and cough up the money. i love them, why didn't buy them sooner? my only gripe is the stirrup itself seems to be a little small in width (i'm a size 8, normal width). as for the price. meh, i'm still coming to terms with the fact that i spend abotu $220 on a pair of stirrup irons.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For Aching Feet I purchased these to soften the pain of a foot injury. The ball of my foot sustained a painful muscle injury and my current stirrups hurt every time I pressed into them. Other brands of flexi-stirrups or wide stirrup pads did not ease the pain. The Herm Sprenger stirrup pads have just enough "give" to soften the contact on my foot. They are lighter than my old pair. The pads grip very well. They are fairly easy to "pick up" when dropped during riding. They feel very natural when riding. Due to the covered flex area, H/S's 5-1/8" are as wide as a Fillis 4-3/4".
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from GOOD BUT TO MUCH BEND at first i was considering the HS stirrups but when i tried them out i noticed they had wayyy to much give for my young legs(but frequent knee and ankle pain). the bend was so extreme it seems as though you would need a prosthetic leg to use them without slippage and it made the pain even worse. So i opted for the intec UMS stirrups and they are fabulous and over $100 less than the HS stirrups. AND I HAVE NO DISCOMFORT-PAIN( and they have the perfect amount of give!) (plus cheese grater pads!) I haven't lost a stirrup yet! (and they really don't hurt the bottoms of your boots!
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but worth it I bought these even though I was hesitant about the price. I'm amazed at the difference. I have a weak ankle that's prone to collapsing or turning out, and I hardly have any problems with it now. I often get pain in the balls of my feet and knees when riding for several hours, but I don't get that with these stirrups. I really noticed the difference when I spent a few hours in a pair of regular stirrups last weekend and felt all the old aches come back.
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv'em Great Stirrups!! Started with MDC Ultimate Stirrups and quickly converted to Herm Sprenger Bow Balance. Standard size stirrup, light, flexible, easy to pick up with foot, great foot grip, and easy on the leg. Pricey, but worth it!! Will keep for a long time. :-)
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stirrups Comfortable stirrups. I didn't notice a big difference between these and the old HS stirrups, but some knee pain sufferers have commented on the improvement they felt. I like the weight of the HS stirrups - it helps keep the stirrup in place if you lose it and need it back quickly.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for me I found this stirrup compromised my leg positon by being too soft and fexible giving me nothing to steady my leg with. My trainers frown on the flexible stirrup systems but i wanted to try them considering all the rave reviews out there. I now have my opinion with is they are not for everyone!
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Too pricey, but awesome. I love the width, the height, the lightness, the angle and the secruity/safety.
    Date published: 2010-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! These seemed expensive, but now that I've tried them I'll never use anything else. They provide good foot grip and position and have really alleviated fatigue and discomfort in my joints. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2010-01-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.