Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rubber Bit Guard

Item #14147

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Gentle Rubber Bit Guard are rubber disks that stop the bit from pinching the corner of the horse's mouth. Pair. White, Brown, Blue or Black.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rubber Bit Guard is rated 3.4737 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the best quality When I went to put these on my 2 ring elevator they both ripped clean through. I'm hoping I just got a pair that was brittle for some reason. Smartpak was great as usual and refunded the cost of them.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lesson learned I normally would purchase something like this from the local tack shop, but didn't have time to fit a trip into my busy schedule. I ordered them from Smartpak and they arrived quickly. They did not have much stretch to them, and I even softened them in warm water (as many friends suggested#. When I finally was able to stretch them enough to fit over my loose ring, BOTH guards tore in half. So, I had to throw them in the trash AND drive to my local store. I brought the new ones home and had them installed #without the warm water trick) in about 1 minute. So much for convenience. Some things are best left to a local purchase where you can actually FEEL the quality.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I was a little worried about getting these on after reading some of the reviews, but I had no trouble stretching them over my three ring elevator bit, only took a few seconds to get each on. I didn't even have to use any tricks. They have a slight rubber smell to them, but not as bad as most bit guards I've gotten in the past. I'll definitely be buying more of these in the future!
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought these in black. I put them on my loose ring bit, which had been pinching the left side of my horse's mouth. It took me less than 30 seconds to put both guards on with no help or tricks (hot water, strings, etc.). Super easy!
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase These bit guards were easier to put on than others I have had and slipped on a regular loose ring snaffle with no problem at all.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gagdets I read a lot of bad reviews on this product because people had trouble getting it on their bits and a lot of people just gave up. I bought a loose ring Waterford and decided to add them to my order and give it a shot. Actually, I wanted them on the Waterford no matter what so I could rule out pinching if my horse was acting up.I couldn't get them on. However, I didn't just give up! Get two strands of twine, tie them through the hole, hold onto one and then put the other through your foot so the bit guard is suspended in air. Pull up, it stretches, then get someone to slide the bit through. Do the same thing on the other side. Too less than a minute to get it all together.The bit guard regained it's original form, and I'm happy. Before you return or complain because you're not strong enough - THINK, that's man's best quality. Remember, twine can pretty much fix about anything.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Fine for Me I had also read the negative reviews, but have never been disatisfied with a SmartPak product, so ordered. I ran hot water over the bit guard (mine were white) for a few minutes and was able to stretch them over my three ring bit. It takes a little strength, but then the guard goes back to its original shape and stays there. If it was easy to get over, then it would stretch out of shape eventually.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Are you supposed to be able to get these on a bit? Are you supposed to be able to get these on a bit? Maybe they are just for decoration on the tack room shelf? This is the first product I've ever ordered from SmartPak that was a complete disappointment. If it was worth my time or energy to return them I would, but I think postage would cost the same as the bit guards so I just threw them out. These DO NOT stretch at all and I would be impressed if anyone was able to get them on any sort of bit. They also had a strong rubber smell. I should have listened to the previous reviews that said the same thing.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke before i could get on the bit The Brown ones are not easy to get on. My friend tried to get them on my new loose ring and they ripped in half. I am sending them back
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult These things are next to impossible to get on!! I tried brute force, heating it up, using string to stretch it open, microwaving it.. and still was unable to get them on my bit. I ended up breaking one of them and then just cutting the other and duct taping them on. Maybe there's a trick, but I could not get them on!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so thrilled Not so thrilled... the first pair (brown) I had ripped while trying to put them on a loose ring bit. I then got a pair of black ones (the same brand) which stretched right over a 3 ring! So I bought another pair of brown bit keepers for the loose ring, which ripped yet again. Not so thrilled.
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK well i was hopeing for a rubber bit gard thatwas well.... a bit more flexable. these thingswhere so hard and when i did get one on, and tryed to do the other it broke!! well im disapointed but i took some super glue and glued the riped part back so you can hardlysee it did break.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Frustrating These are the most frustrating piece of tack I have ever worked with. I spent nearly 20 minutes trying to stretch them over my loose-ring snaffle and finally ended up cutting them to get them on because I couldn't even come close to stretching them far enough to go over it. Not only that, but they have a ridiculously strong rubber stench that my horse hated. I won't be buying these again.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent bit guards Honestly, they're just like almost every other rubber bit guard out there (which is great, since that's what I was looking for). They're an absolute pain to get on, but beyond that, they're just fine.
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY Disappointed These bit guards are not at all like the ones SmartPak has offered in the past....apparently their vendor has changed, as these are made by Perri's. These guards STINK HORRIBLY!! The chemical stench emitted from them is overwhelming and enough to cause a headache. I let them lie out on my counter in the hope that they would "out gas" and smell more reasonable.....did not happen.....they are horrible, and I ultimately threw them out without a single use....not worth the return postage on such a small dollar item. Will never purchase these again. :(
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job Perfect for loose ring bits. Needed the help of a vice to get it over the loose rings, but that is because the rubber is nice and thick.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of flexibility! Easy to use. As others have said, these are the most flexible, easy to use bit guards that I have tried. I often hate having to pull and wiggle bit guards over rings, but these were cake work. I used them only a few times (before I sold the bit), so I cannot say how they hold up over time, but the user-friendly flexibility is a big plus for future needs!
    Date published: 2010-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install Easy to get over the cheeks on several different styles. They started cracking a little sooner than most - be sure to keep them lubricated to avoid early break down.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the easiest rubber ones yet These are the easiest ones to put on yet! My horse wears a wonder bit that isn't available in a 4 3/4" so I use two pairs on her bit and it prevents rubbing. They are also the easiest to put on (I use the handles of nail pullers to stretch them and have a friend shove the bit through). Plus, I love that they have colors - not just black.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Are Great! Unlike other bit guards that I have purchased in the past, these guards actually DO stretch over the rings on a 2.5" loose ring....they are great.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for a young horse I have a 2 year old mare and these really helped to teach steering to her. They are nice and soft yet they still guide. They do have a stinky rubber smell though.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Love these bit guards. Very flexible and slide onto bits easily.
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better quality than ones I've received in the past These bit guards are softer and more flexible than ones I've received in the past. They are easy to pull over any size or shaped bit without having to worry about them tearing.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not flexible enough! I had purchsed these bit guards for a loose ring snaffle and even with soaking in boiling water and later microwaving I could never get them onto my bit without slicing them from the center.
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bit guards a simple yet effective solution to an unhappy horse-bit guards keep the bit sensitive horse happy and prevent pinching and sores- wish I had bought them sooner
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do Their Job These bit guards work well and do their job fine, I used it with a 3-ring bit and it was difficult to put on but not impossible.
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubber Ripped I have used these in the past. If the quality of the rubber is good and they are flexible enough, these will go on most bits will little effort and not get damaged in the process. (a saddler taught me that to put these on a bit, you take two flat leather reins and loop them through the center hole. Then, with a loop in each hand, slowly pull the reins in opposite directions to stretch the center opening. Push the stretched hole down over the bit ring as you prop the bit between your knees or have a friend hold the ring for you.) I bought them in white from SmartPak. The rubber seemed pliable enough but when I started to stretch the center hole to slip the bit ring through, the rubber just ripped from the center hole to the edge. Perhaps I just was unlucky enough to get a poor quality pair but this should not happen so easily.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed by poor design... Maybe I just don't know how to put these on, but they do not fit over the side of the bit. I got it part way, but it was far from getting all the way. I even had my dad try and he's very strong. We ended up having to cut them. I was under the impression that these were suppose to stretch over the side of the bit. These are NOT stretchy. I would recommend getting the type with the velco.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.