Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Fleece Cooler

SmartPak
- Item #13879

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This is a stapleĀ inĀ our beautiful SmartPak Blanket collection. This piece does double duty! It can be used alone as a beautiful fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep your horse warm and snuggly. Buckle front closure. One surcingle. Tail cord.

Imported.

Sizes: Small (70 - 72), Medium (74-76), Large (78-80) and XLarge (82 - 84)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Fleece Cooler is rated 4.5882 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Cooler I bought this cooler to help cool my share board horse down slowly during our cold Chicago fall and winters (I feel terrible when, after a long ride or a hard lesson, I peel off his saddle and pads and he has to stand all sweaty in the cold barn aisle). I wanted a nice-looking cooler, but the price had to be reasonable because I'm always concerned that, when buying fitted items for a share board horse, it might not fit the next horse I'll share. I was surprised by the low price of this cooler--and then even more surprised by how nice it really is! The colors are bold and beautiful, and the weight of the fabric is perfect. I wish I had gotten it embroidered! I would buy this product again, even if price isn't a main consideration.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Pleased I purchased three of these coolers and had them monogrammed. I was very excited about them and they looked terrific. If you are using them just a coolers, well this cooler may be perfect for you. They are sharp looking and fit well. However, I purchased mine to use as coolers as well as blanket liners. Well used one day as a blanket liner on a stalled horse and it must have slipped because it was ripped to shreds on a horse who is normally very easy on blankets. Ok, bad enough, but then I took them home to wash them and send the one to repair, and my beautiful monograms came off when washed cool water in delicate cycle!!! Would not purchase these again. :(
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mom's cold, put on a sweater!! Love this cooler. It has a generous fit and works well for my bulky shouldered guy. Wicks moisture for cool down or for drying out after a bath. Love the belly strap, but I put a tail strap in place of the cord (cooler comes with d rings at rear) so he can roll in his stall without any shifting. I've used it as a blanket liner on really cold days for turn out and had no issues with it bunching up or shifting. Washes well and looks great on him! Wish I'd gotten the monogram. It does get static in cold dry weather, but all fleece does....... great quality and a great price - I'm getting another next year so I have a spare!
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cooler Fits great. Looks great. Nice and snuggly. I love this cooler though it tends to generate a lot of static when you pull it off a horse with a fuzzy winter coat. My horse doesn't mind, but sensitive horses might not be so comfortable with that feeling.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only problem is surcingle broke after 2 months use
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liking it so far Since I've only started using this cooler, I can't speak to durability, but it's been fine so far. My horses have grown great winter coats and have total access to shelter so I don't like to blanket unless the conditions get really wicked. This year they did and I am using this cooler as an underliner to a light turnout blanket on my aged TB mare. So far she seems very comfortable and the cooler doesn't bunch up under the blanket like some I've had. The size is true but generous and I absolutely love the security provided by the surcingle. I am going to get one for my gelding next.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooler I got a medium for my 14.3 hh Morgan, and it fits well. It's also very nicely constructed.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Sharp Love it so far, great true fit, quality material and looks sharp!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super snuggly cooler I love this cooler. It is soft and warm and the medium fits my 15.1 hand QH beautifully. It works great as a blanket liner for extra warmth when the temps dip really low. The only possible drawback is that it does tend to generate a lot of static when you go to pull it off a fuzzy horse, but my guy doesn't seem to mind.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I got this for my OTTB gelding to keep him from getting chilled leaving the indoor and heading back to the barn. He normally wears a 78, and the large fits him perfectly over tack. We've been using it for about a month and I am pleasantly surprised at how easy to keep clean it is! (I purchased the black for him.) We receive compliments on this cooler all the time and it seems like it will hold up for a long time to come. Great quality and an even better price!
    Date published: 2012-12-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but very thin I purchased this fleece to ship my horse to shows in the winter and was very disappointed with the weight of the material, which would not have been substantial enough to keep my horse warm. If you need a heavy fleece, stick with the Rambo fleeces. If all you need is a very light fleece for transitional seasons, then this may be a good choice. It is an attractive fleece and looks really sharp with a monogram.
    Date published: 2012-12-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Thrilled With This I bought this to use as a layer under my filly's turnout sheet. Because my filly is still narrow in the chest and shoulders, the neck hole is rather large. This tends to slip back and pull on her chest. The holes on the front straps are not evenly punched. There is one more on the bottom strap then the front strap.
    Date published: 2012-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Cooler at a Great Price! I am so thrilled with this cooler purchase. I have really gotten my money's worth in the last three weeks at an A show series alone. It looks great, holds up great, and looks expensive and tasteful but at a price point that doesn't break the bank. I ordered mine with the monogram on the left barrel and it looks wonderful! Not only does it suit my horse well, but I also swaddle myself in it when I'm freezing at a horse show and waiting for my class. So you might say that my horse and I share the cooler! Thanks, SmartPak for making this attractive and reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! But it does run large..... Bought this for my OTTB. He measured a large, so I got the large. It was HUGE on him!!! At least 4in too long and the belly strap was dangling low, even after I adjusted it. So, called SmartPak and the helpful customer service rep suggested getting the medium and trying it before sending the large back. Did that! Medium fits him like a glove! Wish I had a decent picture to show how handsome he is in it (even though it's just a cooler)! He gets many compliments on how "expensive" it looks!Can't comment on durability since it is new. But it does look durable. Although my boy isn't a terror on blankets, so I do let him walk around his stall with it on. Just know that it does run BIG.Yet another reason why I love SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Cooloer w/ a Great Fit & Value Before purchasing this cooler, I had tried several other blankets on my Friesian/X mare and NOTHING would fit her broad back/shoulders. This blanket not only fits her perfectly, but it looks great too - lots of compliments on how "sharp" it looks.Have had no problems with the plastic surcingle buckle and she lays down/rolls in the blanket daily.Would recommend to anyone who has a horse that's often between sizes!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent jammies! I purchased 2 of these blankets to put on my two mares for night wear - to get them out of their rainsheets or blankets as suggested in your blanket catalog.Changing them nightly enables me to see any rubs from their outdoor wear immediately, and ensures that they are dry and warm in the barn as well as comfortable. They are also a great buy. They are non restrictive allowing both mares to lie down and stretch out after their rigorous days outside.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Fleece Sheet!!! Purchased this sheet in small for our large pony. It is a great quality sheet, ans looks smart with contrasting trim. However, the surcingle was too long to adjust snugly for the pony (a common occurance when purchasing small horse blankets for ponies, and likely not an issue for horses.) Had the surcingle strap shortened to fit and problem solved!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket for the price The only reason why I didn't give it straight 5 stars is because I haven't actually used it yet & don't know its durability although it certainly appears to be made well. Fit was good; materials good, so ya, its a keeper.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks sharp, cleans easily! Lovely sheet. My very narrow Thoroughbred looks very handsome in the black sheet (I'd say it runs a size large, but he's thinner through the chest than most). Cleans easily and dries quickly. Great value for your money.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grin from ear to ear I am very pleased with the Smart Pak Fleece Dress Sheet that I purchased! My bay Standardbred looks fabulous in the black with the grey trim. The fabric has nice weight and the trim is of good quality. The fit was perfect. I had a grin from ear to ear when I put it on him. It met all of the criteria of dress sheets that I was shopping for.
    Date published: 2012-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from multi-use blanket I bought this cooler as a last minute thing because my super expensive, custom wool cooler had bug infestation. I am never going back to wool again! This cooler has saved my horse's life at shows when it gets unexpectedly chilly at night. It is a great weight and fits both my skinny TB and my thicker warmblood. For a fleece item, it doesn't hold shavings, and washes great. As for the plastic hardware, I haven't seen issues with it and my warmblood is hard on his clothing. A really great find!
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite SP product ever Ok I love this fleece, i srsly do. First off it looks like i spent way more than I did, add the monogram and oh my I am speechless. I bought the XL for my 17 hand OTTB. He is not wide just lanky. Fit perfectly and he is Gray so the preview gave me an idea what it would look like with his coat color. Then I purchase a near 17 hand tank of a oldenburg and low and behold it fits his 1300 plus pound body. It washes so well. I admit i don't follow directions on washing most horse stuff. I use oxyclean and hot water. I have washed this thing more times than i can count and it looks brand new. The buckles have lasted even the plastic. My guys are hard on blankets. so to say i am shocked this is still kicking butt, I am. It has come a time to purchase another for the other boy so they stop sharing. I have owned this for almost 2 years.
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty, and great fit Purchased this because my other fleece cooler only had ties and I couldn't leave my horse unattended with it on for a minute. Have not yet left it on, but I think with the buckle front and girth strap it would be no problem to leave it on for a while when he is in his stall. Leg straps would have been nice, though. Very attractive, nice weight and great value.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice & warm Fleece Blanket I will put my comments on here, but you must know that I have a Friesian horse, which has an odd body shape compared to other horses. I wanted to rate the fit with only 4 stars, but it's really meant for "normal" horses. So, the chest is a little tight and the blanket is a bit too long. Yep, typical Friesian...big chest, and short-backed.This blanket has nice colors. I use it under a waterproof blanket when it gets below freezing. Yes, dirt sticks to it. Not terrible, though. I did notice some of the fabric separating at the chest. Probably due to it pulling so tight, or maybe it is just a flaw in the material. It is not hindering the use of the blanket. I would recommend this blanket to anyone with regular horses, but not draft or Friesians.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Just got but am really impressed. Nice fit, good buckle enclosure in front, quality tie at tail. Good fabric texture
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Makes a very good blanket liner. Good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.