Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Fleece Cooler

SmartPak
- Item #13879
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This is a staple in our beautiful SmartPak Blanket collection. This piece does double duty! It can be used alone as a beautiful fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep your horse warm and snuggly. Buckle front closure. One surcingle. Tail cord.

Imported.

Sizes: Small (70 - 72), Medium (74-76), Large (78-80) and XLarge (82 - 84)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Cooler is rated 4.6622 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I use this for everything! Fits both my TBs and I've taken them both to shows in it. I use it for layering on cold nights and by itself when just chilly. I got the large and fits my 16.2 & 16.3 hand TBs!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black cooler Beautiful fabric. Nice substance to the fabric. Very soft! Love the colors.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Cooler It wicks moisture very well. The only things I would change are to have it a bit longer as it barely covers my thin thoroughbred's barrel and I would prefer a traditional buckle at the belly. The current plastic buckle is super bulky and cheesy.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooler for the price Nice quality cooler for the price. Ran true to size, I got the large and it fits several horses in the barn
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cooler I bought two of these recently and (so far) have used them about 10 times as liners underneath turnout sheets during cold nights. I bought one in the hunter green/burgundy color and one in the black/gray, both size medium. The colors are gorgeous and the coolers look well made and durable (especially for being so inexpensive!). The front buckles are easy to use and appear well made and the stomach surcingle has a nice big snap that looks like it'll hold up well (plus it discreetly snaps on the inside of the cooler so it looks nicer, and without being in a spot irritating to the horse).My only issue with the cooler is that they're a tiny bit small on the two horses I bought them for, but that's completely my fault- not Smartpak's or the cooler itself. I bought them in medium for two Thoroughbreds that typically wear a 75/76" (one of them can sometimes wear a 78") and have decent medium to large builds. They're just a bit tight on the chest/shoulders and end a little short on their hindquarters. For some reason I thought I could get away with a medium but I should've ordered the large...I was just too excited about having them to send them back and exchange for a different size! So my point is, if you're unsure of which size to order, just go with the larger size. There's plenty of room for adjustment!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive and perfext Works great for cooling out the lesson horses. Easy to wash. Average fit
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but only getting 4 stars Love this cooler, great quality at a great price. What I did not like - the big Smartpak logo on the left shoulder. It totally takes away from the loveley embroidery.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made This cooler did a great job of keeping my horse warm after a bath in 40 degree weather!
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! - Exactly what I wanted! A couple months ago, I purchased the Large Black SmartPak Fleece Cooler with grey trim and BOY DOES IT LOOK SHARP! I used it for my 17 year old 16.2 Thoroughbred gelding at the last rated eventing show and it looked just as good as the fanciest and most expensive coolers and show sheets there! I also shipped him in this cooler on the way home when it was a bit chilly and I really think he loves it. He rolled in it and the shavings fell off easily or I brushed them off and it still looks brand new and I have not washed it yet. I also use it for my 4 year old 16.3 TB mare and it fits perfectly. Just ordered the black quarter sheet!
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fleece cooler I have only tried this on my horse and like the way it fits. I have not used it yet but I love the fit and it is very sharp looking. Can't wait to use it next week once my horse is clipped.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I bought this a month ago and seems to be good fit an quality for what I will use it for.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical and well made. Love the customization! This just arrived, ordered the green with burgundy piping and my horse's name on the left front in burgundy thread. AWESOME!! Quick turnaround between order and receipt (even with customization, took about 10 days to get to my doorstep.) My barn manager commented that having my horse's name on my blankets made her life a LOT easier. I'd say these run true to size, parallel to the fit of HorseWare blankets. Good steams and stitching on the buckles, and extra plus to have a good belly band. I'll be ordering one for my Friesian boy next, I'm definitely a fan!
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fleece Cooler As usual, Smartpak hit it out of the park! I was very impressed with this cooler. It is sleek and attractive, and it has held up all season long. The stitching is nice and strong, and the colors are vivid. It fits wonderfully on my 16.2 gelding, and he seemed happy with it. I bought it with my horse's show name on the barrel, and the customization was phenomenal as usual! The material was nice and soft while still holding up to daily wear, and it was very absorbent! It kept my horse nice and cozy during the colder months. Sadly, my horse caught it on a nail in his stall and ripped it down the side, but I will certainly being ordering another! Overall, it is a great buy, especially for the price!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece Cooler great quality. stitching is solid. easy to clean. color selection is nice. the fit is quite good for my big warmblood. the agent who worked with me was extremely helpful ( as usual). overall this product was much better than i expected for the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, fuzzy, great layering piece! I wasn't looking for a dress sheet, but needed something to layer under my TB's medium weight turnout blanket...this came highly recommended by one of the SmartPak-ers in the Natick store and I have to say that I am very impressed by something that was so inexpensive! It fits my tall, skinny gelding perfectly and stays in place, even after he rolls in the snow and plays with his paddock buddies. It's also easy to clean after it gets coated in mud and hair - just toss it in the wash! A very versitile piece and when you only have so much space left in your tack trunk, you want a sheet that can play multiple roles!
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! This is the best cooler. Wicks the sweat and keeps them really toasty! It works really well as a layer under a blanket but hair sticks to it like crazy. However it washes quite easily. I got mine monogrammed and the whole barn is jealous!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but too small. This is a nice cooler but the 84" is too small for my warmblood gelding, too short inthe drop, the length and the surcingle. I would suggest that Smart Pak offer thiscooler in a warmblood size and add a little to the price tag.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the blanket the fleece cooler is the best blanket the Quality and thickness is what I like best about the blanket.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I needed a cooler as my horse had out grown the old one. Nice product for the money
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! Living in the mid-west you never know when you might need a cooler for your horse. This is perfect for after a ride to help them keep warm in the trailer on the way home or cooling out. Love SmartPak products.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy cooler Needed a little something extra under her medium weight turnout. Stays in place and doesn't rub her withers. Matches her light turnout and keeps her cozy in her stall.
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cozy This cooler is very soft and cozy. Fits true to size and monogram came out perfect!
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Cooler I bought this cooler to help cool my share board horse down slowly during our cold Chicago fall and winters (I feel terrible when, after a long ride or a hard lesson, I peel off his saddle and pads and he has to stand all sweaty in the cold barn aisle). I wanted a nice-looking cooler, but the price had to be reasonable because I'm always concerned that, when buying fitted items for a share board horse, it might not fit the next horse I'll share. I was surprised by the low price of this cooler--and then even more surprised by how nice it really is! The colors are bold and beautiful, and the weight of the fabric is perfect. I wish I had gotten it embroidered! I would buy this product again, even if price isn't a main consideration.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Pleased I purchased three of these coolers and had them monogrammed. I was very excited about them and they looked terrific. If you are using them just a coolers, well this cooler may be perfect for you. They are sharp looking and fit well. However, I purchased mine to use as coolers as well as blanket liners. Well used one day as a blanket liner on a stalled horse and it must have slipped because it was ripped to shreds on a horse who is normally very easy on blankets. Ok, bad enough, but then I took them home to wash them and send the one to repair, and my beautiful monograms came off when washed cool water in delicate cycle!!! Would not purchase these again. :(
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mom's cold, put on a sweater!! Love this cooler. It has a generous fit and works well for my bulky shouldered guy. Wicks moisture for cool down or for drying out after a bath. Love the belly strap, but I put a tail strap in place of the cord (cooler comes with d rings at rear) so he can roll in his stall without any shifting. I've used it as a blanket liner on really cold days for turn out and had no issues with it bunching up or shifting. Washes well and looks great on him! Wish I'd gotten the monogram. It does get static in cold dry weather, but all fleece does....... great quality and a great price - I'm getting another next year so I have a spare!
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cooler Fits great. Looks great. Nice and snuggly. I love this cooler though it tends to generate a lot of static when you pull it off a horse with a fuzzy winter coat. My horse doesn't mind, but sensitive horses might not be so comfortable with that feeling.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only problem is surcingle broke after 2 months use
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liking it so far Since I've only started using this cooler, I can't speak to durability, but it's been fine so far. My horses have grown great winter coats and have total access to shelter so I don't like to blanket unless the conditions get really wicked. This year they did and I am using this cooler as an underliner to a light turnout blanket on my aged TB mare. So far she seems very comfortable and the cooler doesn't bunch up under the blanket like some I've had. The size is true but generous and I absolutely love the security provided by the surcingle. I am going to get one for my gelding next.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooler I got a medium for my 14.3 hh Morgan, and it fits well. It's also very nicely constructed.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Sharp Love it so far, great true fit, quality material and looks sharp!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    • 2015-02-27T06:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_3879, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.