Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Tredstep Xtreme Suede Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13806

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Xtreme Suede Half Chaps have a high cut profile, close contour leg fit, and boot sharing at bottom. Suitable for everyday use, the Xtreme Suede Half Chap has closure snaps on both top and bottom of zipper. YKK zippers and snaps. Black or Mocha Brown.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tredstep Xtreme Suede Half Chap is rated 4.45 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Riding Apparel I've Ever Bought So comfortable I kind of want to wear them all the time! The suede is grippy in the saddle and wonderfully supportive while still being supple and flexible. I'm already hooked and having a hard time imagining riding in anything else.I haven't had them long, but they are well-made and about as sturdy as I can imagine they could be without getting impractical. Very heavy-duty elastic, zipper, and stitching.I measured well and ordered these in 14/17, but was still prepared to have to exchange if they weren't quite right. However, they fit perfectly. Ideal length. They're snug but with enough room to wear thicker breeches or possibly more than one layer in the winter. They don't slide down, twist, or shift, either while walking or riding.I have not had the slightest trouble with the snaps as many other reviewers have. They're secure, but not difficult to fasten or unfasten at all. I'm wondering if this is a quality control issue in which certain batches have tough snaps and others don't.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Chaps I have a larger calf and these are perfect. The snap can be hard to close, but the trick is snap them on at an angle. Usually works
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Chaps I've been wearing these chaps for about two months, I love the fit and the feel of them. The only thing I have issues with are the snaps, they are a pain to unsnap (the bottoms) and ususally require a bit more time to unsnap then I would like. Overall, they are pretty good
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chaps Fit very well, true to size. Have not had them long enough to comment on durability but seem well made
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only chaps I wear These are the only chaps that fit me correctly. They are very comfortable and sleek looking. I do a lot of riding, and these chaps are the only ones that seem to be durable enough to hold up.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around These are my first pair of Tredstep chaps, and I am very impressed. True to size (from the size chart) and have slight room to wear another pair of thick socks because of the winter weather. Love the look and are easy to put on/snap.I wear Ariat boots, and these look great over them. Will probably buy another pair in brown! Don't know much about durability since I just recieved, but seem great
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! These are quality suede half chaps. Great fit, very durable & they have better grip than leather. This is my third pair ( I got one size larger for winter breeches) & the snaps are better than my old Tredsteps. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps at a great price I haven't used these for very long, but they are awesome half chaps! I love that they clean up well with just a towel and the elastic panel in the back is great!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Showing AND Lesson Chaps I started out wearing these for just lessons and then when I first started showing last year I used these for shows. So, yes! They are totally nice enough for shows!! I now use them for lessons again because I purchased tall boots. The durability is amazing!!! I love these!! :)
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Measure correctly and they're wonderful I measured for these with a pair of TIGHTS on, not my thicker breeches that I normally wear. This makes putting them require a little more effort, but even so they are not uncomfortable. My only vice with them is that the buttons are hard to snap; this isn't because of the slightly incorrect size, because this happends with all four buttons.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting half chaps Tredstep fits like a glove, and are very durable. Love these!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chaps I bought these to replace a pair of Dublin half-chaps that never fit right. I am short (petite) but with athletic legs. So nothing height wise ever fit to match my calves. So after the rave reviews and knowing how awesome SP return policy was I went for it. I measured 14.5 in my calf so I decided to go up per others reviews. I bought the 15/15 based on how they said to measure. I could not believe how nice they were for the price nice suede that is thick and the zippers are nice and large. I got these on in record time. The bottom snaps are super hard to close but the tops for me were very easy. I am ok with this as I figure they will hold up to tough riding. The fit is great and comfortable they hug my legs in all breeches (gersemi and pikeurs). Also nice is they are made in Ireland not china like so much of my tack. I am looking fwd to buying another pair for schooling shows when I just don't want to deal with my stove pipe boots.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chap I have tried alot of Half Chaps, and with a long fairly slim calf, I have had trouble finding the right fit. Most would be a bit big, too short and slide down my leg. I had always heard good things about Tred Step, and decided to give them a try. Comparable in price to other brands, I went with a suede model because I like them better for an everyday chap, because I think they hold up better and are easier to clean. I could not have been more pleased, I measured my leg and ordered the exact measurements and the chap fits perfectly. They stick, do not slide down the leg, nice close feel, elastic is great and did not stretch too much. I will never buy another pair of half chaps again. They look great and are super comfy if you tend to be in chaps most of the day. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme Perfection I've been riding in these half chaps for 4 years now. I am just to the point where i need to replace them. I wear them to ride in, and then often leave them on for when I bathe my horses. Great the ride in, super comfortable, purchasing my second pair 4 years later! Nothing in the horse world lasts 4 years!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps Bought these after buying smooth leather Tredstep chaps but sent those back as they were too small. I decided to go back to suede chaps and I really like these. They look nice and fit well. Can't comment on durability as I've only been wearing them for about a month.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding I got these half chaps a little over 2 years ago. They have collected some dirt, but overall they look brand-new. Alot of people at my barn have gotten a pair after asking me about them. The quality of these half chaps is very good considering the price. But I have found that over the years, the leather lineing at the bottom has gotten torn up(a little of it came off).Thats okay because it's not very noticeable. I love these and hopefully I'll be getting another pair when I grow out.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chaps! Bought these chaps for my daughter to replace a pair of Ariats that fell apart at an early age. I had read some good reviews for Tredstep, so decided to give them a try. The suede is soft and form-fitting. It is not bulky. They fit well and don't wrinkle. She loves them. Said they are the most comfortable she has ever had. She rides at least 2 horses per day, so she is in them for several hours per day. She has not worn them long enough to talk about durability yet....
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Half Chaps If you like suede half chaps, these are well worth trying. I use mine almost everyday and have even hosed then clean and left them to air dry. The only "complaint" I have is the snap is difficult to open, so I yank hard each time and the stitching is still perfect.
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The snap is so hard to undo that it is causing the chaps to rip.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit They fit! They actually fit! I couldn't believe that I was able to purchase a pair of Half Chaps that fit me. I am 4'11" with a slightly heavy calf but it was mainly the height that I have had problems with in the past. These fit perfectly, are short enough and very attractive. The snaps are a bit hard to open/close but the fit, quality and comfort is so great that I can afford to break a nail getting them on and off. Since these worked so well I got a pair of the Deluxe Black Calf to wear at shows since I can't afford custom boots right now and they work perfectly too. Maybe Tredstep could work on a line of tall boots for us shorties!?!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have trouble finding Half-Chaps to fit, these fit excellent (even though I needed a little help zipping the first few times I wore them!)
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chaps Nicely made and excellent fit. Finally chaps that are not too tall on my 5'1" frame.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I love these half chaps. The calf fits great. I was between sizes in height and went down a size because I worried about the back of my knee getting pinched. That was the only mistake I made. If you are between sizes in height, go up to the next size. The snaps can be hard to undo but not impossible. I would buy these again!
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! These half chaps are very flattering. I love the high profile cut. It took me awhile to figure out the correct size, though. Even though I initially measured, I had to try on a few pairs that belonged to friends to decide what size to order.I like that they do not interfere with my spurs. I rode in a pair of the original suede Tredsteps, and they pushed my spurs down so that I couldn't use them effectively on my horse. All in all, I'm VERY happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Other than the snaps being a little tough to open, I think these chaps are terrific. They are very comfortable and fit my legs perfectly.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from too tight at ankle too big at top! Snaps are way too hard to close. They're hard to open too, but closing them is worth your life.The fit is not good. These are too tight at the bottom - maybe they fit with tredstep paddock boots, but I wear blundstones and these are murder to close and too tight to be comfortable. The top line is very rigid and too big. I couldn't possibly squeeze in the smaller size where my calf muscle is, but it's gapping at the top.In sum - The fit on these is just awful! I am going to return them.
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit like custom half chaps These half chaps are made of the best quality. Being able to choose your size by more exact measurements make them fit as though they are custom made.
    Date published: 2009-07-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.