Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.7308 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups I have used these stirrups on my Dressage saddle for several years now and LOVE them. I prefer them to all other stirrups for their ability to swivel and not twist the leathers and then to go flat to be pulled up to keep the saddle neat while not in use. I also love the flexible joints. I just bought another set of these for another saddle that I bought. The other ones are still going strong.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but expensive These stirrups are very well-made, and very comfortable. I got them as a present so I will certainly enjoy them, but am not sure they are worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup irons! It took some time to adjust to these but once I did I fell in love! Got these coming off a joint injury from my foot being caught in a stirrup when I took a spill jumping. I wanted something more forgiving than my standard fillis irons on my joints and that would release my foot better if I fell. So far these have been fantastic they don't make my joints hurt as bad and they put me in a nice position while jumping not to mention they make it incredibly easy to pick up a lost stirrup! Don't know what I'd do without them! My only complaint is they have become increasingly hard to change the angle, but I most likely just need to oil them and of course the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They DO make a difference! I only had a chance to ride in them once since I got them for Christmas, and I was a bit cautious and didn't expect too much, more like 'would you even realize the difference if you didn't know....?' - but wow, yes, there is a difference the moment you stick your feet in those. My whole ride I couldn't get over it how comfortable these stirrup irons are! I rode in the ones with the spring before, I think for me the fact that they turn is what makes them so comfortable, but if you go ahead and spend all that money on irons spend $ 20.00 more and get them with the springs. To me, this is a purchase (or gift in this case) I won't regret. I am 51, riding dressage and was in the regular stirrup irons my whole life, my one ride in them was a great experience!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great stirrups! I have a torn ACL and these stirrups allow me to change the position of each stirrup individually. For my strong leg I turn it 45 degrees and for my bad leg, 90 degrees. It's a great product for people with joint issues like me!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Iron! Very nice quality, exceptional tool for students. Allows foot to stay at proper angle for those who tend to turn toe inward. Love the adjustability, heavy quality . Would have helped me a lot 20 years ago. All my students ride with these. Best Iron I've used in a long time. Great buy, return policy very easy.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Stirrups! I tried out both the HS Bow Balance and these. I liked how I had two options for foot settings with the MDC's. They are great for dressage. I was having issues with my toes pointing out and these stirrups solved that problem. Great buy and the black looks really sharp!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These stirrups are worth the money... I bought the MDC stirrups about a year ago. Beforehand my knees and hips would ache after a good ride in my old irons...not anymore! I have to say that the first difference i noticed was a more secure feel in my position. After a years use i can honestly say that i rarely if ever feel any afteraffects from riding...and i am a fifty five year old woman training a five year old TB to jump. Take it from me...if you are planning on riding into and through your middle age you need to get these!
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFESAVERS I've had bad knees for the last ten years, and these stirrups are the only thing that keep me able to ride without pain. I rode in a saddle without them for a week and felt a very obvious difference. On most days, the slight give in the stirrups is enough to keep me comfortable, but I do turn them when my knees are a little painful.I've ridden in some other jointed stirrups (Stubben and a couple others) and hated them because they made my leg and ankle feel too unstable, but don't have that problem with these. The MDC stirrups are stiff enough to be stable, but provide just enough give to make a huge difference.I can't and won't ride without these.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help keep leg in better position I first used these on a trainer's saddle in Florida. I noticed they kept my leg in a better position and the extra grippy rubber on the side helps keep my boot more secure. No more accidental losing my stirrup! Overall, they provide a more secure feeling and helped improved my leg positioning, resulting in more prompt transitions from both horse...and rider!
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. Worth the money! I just bought these stirrups. I always have had ankle, knee and foot pain when I ride. My feet also go numb. I tried the composite reflex stirrups and those didn't help either. These MDC stirrups are amazing. Instant relief. They are so comfortable and my heel goes down much easier without the pain. My leg also stays in the correct position much more with these than any other stirrup.Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! I bought these stirrups for my first saddle from a tack store and I loved them. It was a no brainer to buy them from SmartPak (cheaper!) when I needed them for my second saddle. The 45 and 90 degree adjustments are very easy (just a twist) and it takes pressure off the ankles.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only kind I will use. I only use this kind of stirrup. Just got a new saddle for one of my horses and had to have these.Nice weight so easy to retrieve. Easy on your knees and ankles with the adjustment. Just love them!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for me. I've been using these stirrups on all my saddles for a few years now and won't ever use anything else! Just love them.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe i spent so much on stirrups! It had been over 25 years since i had a new pair of irons... but mine were getting pretty rusty and i was having some trouble keeping my boot in. I was surprised to find the selection had certainly changed from 25 years ago. As i read the reviews, I couldn't help but be drawn to these, being 25 years older has brought lots more aches and pains, could these stirrups really help? I was shocked i pulled the trigger and bought them. Yah, they sure do help! I've had only one ride in them, but as the other reviewers mentioned, i had a stronger base, more secure in my position, less pain upon dismount, in fact, i had the best ride I could remember in a while.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Stirrups Great product. Reduces stress on your knees and increases ability to put your leg in the correct position. Thinking about buying another pair for my other horse.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why wait for less discomfort? So, I recently manned up and bought a pair of these expensive stirrups thinking that I could return them because I believed the stirrups couldn't be as good as reviewed. Well, I was wrong. After knee and foot surgeries and multiple broken bones I tend to be rather uncomfortable from my thighs to my toes when in a saddle. After I put these on my AP saddle and adjusted the angle I fell in love. They are easy to pick up. Stay in place across your foot and most importantly relieved me of the source of my pain. If you're thinking about a pair of these, don't think, just suck it up and buy a pair. Your body will thank you.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are Worth the Money! If you have ankle pain like I do these stirrups can make a world of difference. They have also improved my leg placement. My lower leg stays closer, thanks to the MDC stirrups without a struggle. I will not use anything else now!
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY ARE WORTH EVERY PENNY! I ride dressage so I put them on the 90 degree angle they suggested. These stirrups were wonderful even after several hours of riding my knees,ankles or hips did NOT hurt! They are worth the cost.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stirrups! These stirrups are AMAZING! I have knee, back and neck pain from previous injuries, and riding only further stimulated the pain. I tried these stirrups, and for the first time, I got off and I had NO pain :) I've read reviews that these stirrups compromise your equitation, and they don't provide a solid base when jumping, but I have yet to experience either of those problems. Plus, the adjustable tops made it easier to get my stirrups after no stirrup work. These stirrups are so comfortable and overall just a great investment!
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC STIRRUPS I LOVE THESE STIRRUPS, THEY PUT YOUR FOOT IN THE CORRECT POSITION AND IMPROVE YOUR RIDING
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What took me so long? I just bought a second pair for my second saddle. These are wonderful. They are supposed to be easy to pick up if dropped, but they hang so nicely and my foot is so secure that I don't ever drop them. Also, I have a trick knee and this alleviates pain that I get if I ride too much.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped my ankle pain!! As a Podiatrist, it was very frustrating to have ankle pain after riding in "traditional" stirrups from trying to force one (inflexible ankle) heel down constantly. These stirrups are so comfortable and flexible that I easily and painlessly now can keep both heels down with no ankle issue!!! The 45 degree rotation takes the strain off of my "tight left ankle" and provides balance to both legs. Also, they are quite heavy and help to keep the foot and therefore lower leg down because they do not bounce around like the lighter weight, more traditional ones do. Love, love, love these!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have only been riding in these stirrups for a week, and I can already tell a huge difference in how my leg is positioned, and how I feel after I ride. Having a bad back I really needed some stirrups with support, and these were it!
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate stirrups These are great stirrups, adjustment ability make a big difference with ankle, knee and hip comfort. Pricey but glad I made this purchase.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give 'em a chance They take a few rides to get used to, but if you're looking for adjustability and flex through the leg, then you'll likely enjoy these irons. Be prepared to shorten your leathers a hole, as they are longer than many traditional fillis irons. Good fit and solid feel.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my MDC's I'm always amazed when I hear someone wasn't totally impressed by a pair of these. I cannot ride without them. I had started having knee and sometimes hip pain after riding and it was getting to be a real problem. I don't know why the stirrups can change that, but that they do. Fabulous invention. And they make it SOOOOO easy to regain a lost stirrup! Simply lift your toe, and the stirrup puts itself right back on the boot. No fishing around. Yes, they are pricey. But super durable, and they do what they are supposed to do. BUY THEM!
    Date published: 2011-06-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Converted to Herm Sprenger MDC Ultimate Stirrups were too long and heavy. Weighted my saddle down and stirrups were difficult to pick up. Side-by-side comparison to Herm Sprenger made me a believer in Bow Balance. Now I just need to sell my MDC's. :-)
    Date published: 2010-11-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much flex I purchased the MDC smart stirrup for my dressage saddle. The smart stirrup does not have the flexible base that the ultimate stirrup has. I loved them and decided to purchase the utimate stirrup for jumping, thinking the flex base would be helpful. BUT, I can't stand my stirrups flexing around like that. It's kind of like standing on a wobbly fence or something. So, I am going to trade to the smart stirrup instead so that I have that support. I am much more secure in the lower leg with the traditional iron. I do however love the swivel top of this stirrup as I usually get really bad leather burns on my legs.So, to sum it up, if you don't have knee problems, I would recommend the MDC smart stirrup over the ultimate stirrup for jumping and cross country anyway.Marian in Pheonix
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I've made! I have had terrible pain in my knees for years in and out of the saddle. In the past 6 months it has gotten nearly intolerable- and I had to take time off riding.I decided to try the MDC Ultimates as a last resort to help my knees in the saddle.WOW. Huge difference. I thought I had tried everything on the market as far as flexible stirrups goes and I hated all other flexible stirrups. I didn't feel secure/stable in any of them, and I disliked the light weight ones. MDC Ultimates are absolutely brilliant, I cannot ride without them. They have relieved my knees of most of the pain, to the point where I can ride for miles again without any issue. They are a great weight, easy to catch, easy to adjust, and they really made a tremendous difference in my pain.I also feel much more secure in them, and feel like my leg is in a much better position.Without a doubt I will be buying another set for my other saddle. Best money I've spent in years.
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    • 2015-03-06T09:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_3786, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.