Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.6977 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFESAVERS I've had bad knees for the last ten years, and these stirrups are the only thing that keep me able to ride without pain. I rode in a saddle without them for a week and felt a very obvious difference. On most days, the slight give in the stirrups is enough to keep me comfortable, but I do turn them when my knees are a little painful.I've ridden in some other jointed stirrups (Stubben and a couple others) and hated them because they made my leg and ankle feel too unstable, but don't have that problem with these. The MDC stirrups are stiff enough to be stable, but provide just enough give to make a huge difference.I can't and won't ride without these.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help keep leg in better position I first used these on a trainer's saddle in Florida. I noticed they kept my leg in a better position and the extra grippy rubber on the side helps keep my boot more secure. No more accidental losing my stirrup! Overall, they provide a more secure feeling and helped improved my leg positioning, resulting in more prompt transitions from both horse...and rider!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. Worth the money! I just bought these stirrups. I always have had ankle, knee and foot pain when I ride. My feet also go numb. I tried the composite reflex stirrups and those didn't help either. These MDC stirrups are amazing. Instant relief. They are so comfortable and my heel goes down much easier without the pain. My leg also stays in the correct position much more with these than any other stirrup.Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! I bought these stirrups for my first saddle from a tack store and I loved them. It was a no brainer to buy them from SmartPak (cheaper!) when I needed them for my second saddle. The 45 and 90 degree adjustments are very easy (just a twist) and it takes pressure off the ankles.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only kind I will use. I only use this kind of stirrup. Just got a new saddle for one of my horses and had to have these.Nice weight so easy to retrieve. Easy on your knees and ankles with the adjustment. Just love them!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for me. I've been using these stirrups on all my saddles for a few years now and won't ever use anything else! Just love them.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe i spent so much on stirrups! It had been over 25 years since i had a new pair of irons... but mine were getting pretty rusty and i was having some trouble keeping my boot in. I was surprised to find the selection had certainly changed from 25 years ago. As i read the reviews, I couldn't help but be drawn to these, being 25 years older has brought lots more aches and pains, could these stirrups really help? I was shocked i pulled the trigger and bought them. Yah, they sure do help! I've had only one ride in them, but as the other reviewers mentioned, i had a stronger base, more secure in my position, less pain upon dismount, in fact, i had the best ride I could remember in a while.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Stirrups Great product. Reduces stress on your knees and increases ability to put your leg in the correct position. Thinking about buying another pair for my other horse.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why wait for less discomfort? So, I recently manned up and bought a pair of these expensive stirrups thinking that I could return them because I believed the stirrups couldn't be as good as reviewed. Well, I was wrong. After knee and foot surgeries and multiple broken bones I tend to be rather uncomfortable from my thighs to my toes when in a saddle. After I put these on my AP saddle and adjusted the angle I fell in love. They are easy to pick up. Stay in place across your foot and most importantly relieved me of the source of my pain. If you're thinking about a pair of these, don't think, just suck it up and buy a pair. Your body will thank you.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are Worth the Money! If you have ankle pain like I do these stirrups can make a world of difference. They have also improved my leg placement. My lower leg stays closer, thanks to the MDC stirrups without a struggle. I will not use anything else now!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY ARE WORTH EVERY PENNY! I ride dressage so I put them on the 90 degree angle they suggested. These stirrups were wonderful even after several hours of riding my knees,ankles or hips did NOT hurt! They are worth the cost.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stirrups! These stirrups are AMAZING! I have knee, back and neck pain from previous injuries, and riding only further stimulated the pain. I tried these stirrups, and for the first time, I got off and I had NO pain :) I've read reviews that these stirrups compromise your equitation, and they don't provide a solid base when jumping, but I have yet to experience either of those problems. Plus, the adjustable tops made it easier to get my stirrups after no stirrup work. These stirrups are so comfortable and overall just a great investment!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC STIRRUPS I LOVE THESE STIRRUPS, THEY PUT YOUR FOOT IN THE CORRECT POSITION AND IMPROVE YOUR RIDING
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What took me so long? I just bought a second pair for my second saddle. These are wonderful. They are supposed to be easy to pick up if dropped, but they hang so nicely and my foot is so secure that I don't ever drop them. Also, I have a trick knee and this alleviates pain that I get if I ride too much.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped my ankle pain!! As a Podiatrist, it was very frustrating to have ankle pain after riding in "traditional" stirrups from trying to force one (inflexible ankle) heel down constantly. These stirrups are so comfortable and flexible that I easily and painlessly now can keep both heels down with no ankle issue!!! The 45 degree rotation takes the strain off of my "tight left ankle" and provides balance to both legs. Also, they are quite heavy and help to keep the foot and therefore lower leg down because they do not bounce around like the lighter weight, more traditional ones do. Love, love, love these!!!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have only been riding in these stirrups for a week, and I can already tell a huge difference in how my leg is positioned, and how I feel after I ride. Having a bad back I really needed some stirrups with support, and these were it!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate stirrups These are great stirrups, adjustment ability make a big difference with ankle, knee and hip comfort. Pricey but glad I made this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give 'em a chance They take a few rides to get used to, but if you're looking for adjustability and flex through the leg, then you'll likely enjoy these irons. Be prepared to shorten your leathers a hole, as they are longer than many traditional fillis irons. Good fit and solid feel.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my MDC's I'm always amazed when I hear someone wasn't totally impressed by a pair of these. I cannot ride without them. I had started having knee and sometimes hip pain after riding and it was getting to be a real problem. I don't know why the stirrups can change that, but that they do. Fabulous invention. And they make it SOOOOO easy to regain a lost stirrup! Simply lift your toe, and the stirrup puts itself right back on the boot. No fishing around. Yes, they are pricey. But super durable, and they do what they are supposed to do. BUY THEM!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Converted to Herm Sprenger MDC Ultimate Stirrups were too long and heavy. Weighted my saddle down and stirrups were difficult to pick up. Side-by-side comparison to Herm Sprenger made me a believer in Bow Balance. Now I just need to sell my MDC's. :-)
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much flex I purchased the MDC smart stirrup for my dressage saddle. The smart stirrup does not have the flexible base that the ultimate stirrup has. I loved them and decided to purchase the utimate stirrup for jumping, thinking the flex base would be helpful. BUT, I can't stand my stirrups flexing around like that. It's kind of like standing on a wobbly fence or something. So, I am going to trade to the smart stirrup instead so that I have that support. I am much more secure in the lower leg with the traditional iron. I do however love the swivel top of this stirrup as I usually get really bad leather burns on my legs.So, to sum it up, if you don't have knee problems, I would recommend the MDC smart stirrup over the ultimate stirrup for jumping and cross country anyway.Marian in Pheonix
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I've made! I have had terrible pain in my knees for years in and out of the saddle. In the past 6 months it has gotten nearly intolerable- and I had to take time off riding.I decided to try the MDC Ultimates as a last resort to help my knees in the saddle.WOW. Huge difference. I thought I had tried everything on the market as far as flexible stirrups goes and I hated all other flexible stirrups. I didn't feel secure/stable in any of them, and I disliked the light weight ones. MDC Ultimates are absolutely brilliant, I cannot ride without them. They have relieved my knees of most of the pain, to the point where I can ride for miles again without any issue. They are a great weight, easy to catch, easy to adjust, and they really made a tremendous difference in my pain.I also feel much more secure in them, and feel like my leg is in a much better position.Without a doubt I will be buying another set for my other saddle. Best money I've spent in years.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate Stirrups These MDC Ultimate Stirrups really do help position yourself in the stirrups. They also with ankle and knee pain. You don't really notice them till you stop riding. I would recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First After a horse riding accident several years ago with a horse falling with me, I decided these stirrups are a must. Ive ridden with them now for several years and just bought an additional pair for another saddle for a new young horse. They are spendy, but my life is worth $200.00! Not only are they safe, they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can ride again! After a 20 year hiatus and two knee surgeries, I started riding in borrowed tack. But I thought I'd have to give it up again because of knee pain. However, after buying the MDC Ultimate Stirrups I was instantly pain free - no soreness whatsoever in the saddle or upon dismounting. The price isn't an issue considering the options are not riding at all, or buying an expensive stirrup. They're worth every penny.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The be-all and end-all of stirupps! If it wasn't for these stirrups, I wouldn't be able to ride at all. It had gotten to the point where I couldn't sit on my horse for more than 5 minutes without being in dire pain in my knees and ankles, and my feet going numb. When I would dismount, I would hit the ground, I couldn't use my legs, and I would have to sit there on the ground for several minutes before I could get up and limp back to the barn. I saw these stirrups and were scared they were an expensive gimick, but after reading several favorable reviews, I decided to try them....or quit riding. I'm here to tell you, they worked miracles!!! A week after I got them, I went on a 4 hour trail ride...something I would never have tried before these....and when it was over, I couldn't even tell I had been riding at all! These will always be on my saddle!!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without Them These are the ultimate in comfort and ergonomics. They fall into my list of "must haves" or "can't live without" for riding. The ability to twist the top helps relieve knee strain. The flexing also helps absorb some of the shock. I have chronic low back pain as well as chronic pain in my left ankle due to a bad riding accident that left me with permanent screws and a plate in. These stirrups have allowed me to ride almost pain free. Thank you MDC!!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.