Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Deluxe Grazing Muzzle

Item #13693

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature.

Sizes run slightly large so please order a size down if your horse may be in between sizes.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is rated 3.9559 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grazing Muzzle After my big boned 16 hand QH destroyed a cheaper grazing muzzle I invested in this one. It has held up very well, and I am happy with it. It has left a little rub mark in what I would call the 'temple' area of his face, but the other grazing muzzles left rub marks on his muzzle/bottom lip. I had read that this muzzle runs large and I disagree, I think it runs true to size. I got the extra large and I know there are bigger horses than my guy, the size below would not have worked. It is very adjustable, I'm very happy with it, a little high in price but compared to the others I had first, it is worth it!
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from junky knock off! Wish I would have read reviews first. Thought this was the best friends deluxe grazing muzzle. If I wanted a knock off I would have purchased one for less than $20. It runs very small. Horse size is a smaller then a cob, and the quality is poor, even for a knock off. If it was priced at $10 it would be a better value. $50 is outrageous for this inferior product. I buy from smartpak all the time and this is the first time I've been unhappy with my purchase. This is not representative of smartpak products. On my way to the tack shop to buy a new one.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the detachable muzzle! My horse has used this muzzle every night on turnout in the summer for years and its safe, doesn't cause rubs and keeps him from grazing too much while also being able to drink. I was skeptical about the nylon being safe so I tried the detachable one on a leather halter but it wouldn't stay on and didn't fit right. He's broken out of 4 of these all-in-one muzzles, never with an issue so I will continue to use this muzzle since it seems to work the best!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Returned this I returned this because after I ordered it a number of people in my barn told me that they didn't hold up that well. So I exchanged for the old type that fits onto your own halter and I can use my halter shipping fleece to keep the sides comfortable. So I'm not reviewing from first hand experience. Just decided to take their word for it....
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would Not Use The grazing muzzle does not provide enough air space for the horse to breathe and stay cool in the summer. I have found another grazing muzzle to be much more satisfactory and a much better value.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stitching not so good I ordered 2 of these. One is still good. However, the other has some serious stitching problems. The cheeckpiece stiching is coming completely out & the one side came off. This is after 2 weeks of use. Not pleased.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Mare Said, "No Thanks." Overall, this is a nice muzzle. However, my mare broke the snap within a week. I'm going to look at a craft/fabric store to see if I can find something to fix it up..or duct tape ;) I'm sure it's fine for horses who aren't as..opinionated..about wearing muzzles!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & adjustable I switched from the regular grazing muzzle to the muzzle/halter in one after my horse was ditching the muzzle. This one is much lighter, more comfortable looking, and provides more places to adjust the size than a regular halter. So far it has held up very well. I wish that smartpak would also carry the sheepskin liners made for these muzzles.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and sturdy This grazing muzzle is the 2nd one I have purchased for my Paso Fino. She is always hungry and puts on weight easily. This cob size muzzle with halter attached is easy to fit, break-away and does slow down her grazing. She enlarged the hole on the first one I bought 5 or 6 years ago and she needed the new one with the small hole. She has had no trouble with laminitus and while fat, isn't obese thanks to this muzzle.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deluxe grazing muzzle The snap broke right away. The plastic teeth broke off making the muzzle useless. I am going to return it.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle I have used grazing muzzles for the past 4years. I have two horses with laminitis and the muzzles allow them to go out with the herd and not eat too much grass.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from essential I've been using Best Friend grazing muzzles for about 8 years. I have lush irrigated pastures that my horses, pony and miniature donkey can not be on for indefinite periods. they are pulled off at night but the grazing muzzles allow me to extend their grazing time significantly which keeps them much happier. My vet says I have one of the few miniature donkeys in western Montana that hasn't foundered because of the dedicated use of the muzzle. I sometime put a piece of carrot in the muzzles to give them more incentive to want to use them. The breakaway feature keeps them safe and works perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Love this muzzle and so do the horses. Soft around the nose so it's super comfortable. It helps to keep our horse trim even though we have a ton of grass.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love the padding around the top of the muzzle and so do the horses. We have an abundance of grass and we have to be careful they don't get too much grass. This muzzle is perfect!
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome muzzle !! I was really nervous to order this product be cause I have a large pony with a wide muzzle. It fits wonderfully with plunty of room for agustibity. I just love it!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thought This Was the Best Friends Muzzle My gelding is on his third season with his old BF Deluxe Muzzle. I ordered another as this one is showing signs of wear. This is not a BF grazing muzzle, the quality is not there and it looks smaller than what I now have. There also is no spare break away clip. I will be sending it back as soon as I can get another BF muzzle ordered from someplace else.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large Muzzle Good quality, fair fit. Tried Arab size and too small around the muzzle. Went to horse size and it is HUGE. Too bad it's not adjustable around the muzzle. Also, my horse can't figure out to get the grass through the hole so it is very frustrating for her. Our grass is long so doesn't stand up to go through hole. Is there a way to teach them how it works?
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend with qualification The muzzle works as it should, helping to minimize the effects of living in a lush pasture all day. It fits fine, but it does rub my horse's face. It needs some padding on the bridge of the nose - I have put vet wrap on mine and it seems to be working well enough.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Get the Best Friend muzzle instead I purchased this thinking it was the Best Friend brand, then saw it was made by SmartPak. Tried it anyway. After several weeks, the bottom is already starting to wear through. My horse has worn Best Friend muzzles for several seasons before they began to wear through. Also, he has rub marks on the nose and cheeks with the Smartpak muzzle and only got a small chin rub with the Best Friend brand. The Best Friend also comes with a replacement breakaway snap. I immediately ordered more Best Friend muzzles and will not order Smarkpak's muzzle again. I do not recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever I thought I was ordering the Best Friend's All-in-One Grazing Muzzle (which I've had for the last 3 years). When I received it, it was designed exactly like what I've had but it was much lighter (cheaper) & no where near as wide as the horse size I had (& needed). I kept it only to have as a backup & went & bought the Best Friend's All-in-One Grazing Muzzle the next day at the local tack store.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! I had been using the Best Friends muzzles and it was always rubbing my mare. I had to make shift a fleece barrier to cushion it. I needed to replace the muzzle this year and decided to go through Smart Pak since I buy my dog food through here too. I have been using the muzzle for a few days and there are no rubs!!! The BF muzzle rubbed her the first day. The basket is so soft! I'm super happy with it so far.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good grazing muzzle I bought the small size for a pony. It fits him well. He's been wearing it several weeks and it has only come off once. It came off because the throat latch strap was not through the loop from the back of the muzzle. When putting on this muzzle you have to make sure the two pieces are attached as they easily slip apart when removing the grazing muzzle. That is my only complaint.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing muzzle I care for a Tennessee Walker that suffers from Cushings Syndrome and keeping her weight down and stable is a key to controlling her condition. She is turned out daily and the Delux Grazing muzzle humainly restricts her intake but still gives her the freedom of her pastuer. This aids her overall disposition. The results are excellent.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle Really help me manage my laminitic mare and overweight gelding during pasture turnout. Easy to clean. Eventually the hole gets enlarged and the muzzle needs to be replaced but overall good value. Generally last 1 to 1 1/2 grazing seasons.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from doesn't work for every horse I suggest finding a friend who has one to try it out first. I bought three (one each for my 2 PSSM horses and 1 cushing's horse). I returned one before using it because when I put it on the two PSSM horses they just came into the shed, looked sad and pathetic and "stalled" themselves (defeating the purpose, which was to get them to move around without getting late day, high sugar grass) It was very hard for them to breath in, and just annoyed them enough not to bother grazing at all. The quality is great, they couldn't get them off, but then again I didn't really give them a chance to try. Very expensive, but worth it if it works out for your horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product & Fits Great! At first I thought this muzzle was too large! But it fits great, it's comfortable for my horse & it stays on!!!! It is so well made, the quality is amazing! Well worth the price. My horse who loves to eat, he looks healthy & is maintainig a healthy weight now! I've recommended to all my friends at the barn!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing Muzzle Best of several we've tried.Mask itself lasts a long time until hole in bottom is so big, horse starts to get too much grass. Pls always supply at least 2 extra plastic throat latch clips-or sell extras by bag -they break quickly when horses rub trying to unseat muzzle and muzzle worthless without them (: A very good product overall and better than locking horses in dry lot where they are miserable Would be great if these came in brighter colors so easier to spot when rubbed off- maybe red or yellow?
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever I thought it was too large, but it fits great & is comfortable for my horse!! He looks great & fit!!
    Date published: 2011-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workiing well... My mare, Arriba, became very overweight in an extended stall rest period for a check ligament injury. She now has Cushings and is Hypothyroid, so we can't take any chances that she'll founder. I recently moved her home, where the pastures had not been grazed for quite some time. The grazing muzzle is the only thing that is keeping her from over-eating - she is very food-motivated! So, thank you!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.