Product Image

LiveSmart™ Chicken Meal and Brown Rice Senior Dog Formula

LiveSmart by SmartPak
- Item #13688
Form: Kibble
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Older dogs have special needs and generally benefit from enhanced digestibility and good anti-oxidant support.

LiveSmart™ Chicken Meal and Brown Rice Senior Dog Formula is made with wholesome, high quality ingredients - the kind you would use for your own family. LiveSmart™ Dog Foods offer advanced nutrition, unparalleled freshness, and ultimate convenience.

Made in the USA.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
 
( Cups / Meal)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    LiveSmart™ Chicken Meal and Brown Rice Senior Dog Formula is rated 4.7556 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fresh food My older Aussie loves this food and does well on it. It comes dated and in a zip-lock bag for freshness. I usually get it in the individual meal packets, which I prefer over the large bag because of space limitations and other pets eating different foods. All in all, I love SmartPac.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High-end quality at a reasonable price! Just put my most recent foster, a 6-year-old GSD from a puppy mill, on this 2 months ago. While I have to say he would probably eat anything at this point, he chows down on this, and tries to steal bites as I'm carrying it to his eating place! His coat has gone from dry and brittle to soft and touchy and his energy level has skyrocketed. The reason I gave it only 4 stars for palatibility is that my 12 year-old Pointer ate it for awhile then quit, but he is a picky old guy, so unless you have a dog that likes to "shop around", my other guys have thought it was quite tasty. Love the SmartPak line in most products offered.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the older friends I have 2 English Springer Spaniels ages 9 and 11. The older one has always had digestive problems and bloating issues. After trying many "natural" products, I gave LiveSmart a try. What a difference. I can't believe that the bloating issue is totally gone and both dogs are happy and content with the food.
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog, a 13 year old Bichon Frise, has been eating LiveSmart Senior Dog Formula for the past several years.From a puppy until, perhaps, age 10, my dog ate Wellness brand food, as I had not yet discovered Smartpak. However, after moving, Wellness was not available locally. So, I did hours upon hours of research, looking for dog food options.I am rather strict about what my dog eats. I am an avid label reader, and have certain standards for the food and treats my dog receives on a regular basis. No corn, wheat, soy, by-product, artificial colors, flavors, preservatives, and limited sugars. It is IMPOSSIBLE to buy a dog food meeting these criteria at a grocery store.Many wonderful food options are available, however most are extremely pricey. But, not LiveSmart Formula! For an excellent price, LiveSmart meets all my "ingredient's label" criteria, plus it has so many other wonderful ingredients added! Good carbohydrate sources, fruits and veggies, and my favorite healthy bonuses- brewers yeast, flax seed, kelp, herring oil, and various "good bacteria" strains. And of course, an excellent balance of necessary vitamins and minerals.I was a bit at a loss as to how to choose the "palatability" rating. My dog will not eat the dry kibble alone, but she is very picky. She will not eat ANY dry kibble I have tried, even extremely expensive, high protein grain free brands. However, I add a bit of warm water to her food, to make a bit of soupy gravy, and she gobbles it up.(I recently received a free sample of LiveSmart Harvest Mix and Hearty Stew. My girl adored that mix, no water added. Too bad the Harvest Mix and Hearty Stew will not fit into the budget. But, for anyone able to add the Harvest Mix and Hearty Stew, I would 100% recommend it, as an addition to the kibble.)Something to be aware of: LiveSmart Formula has a moderately high grain content. Although the grains in this food are healthy grain choices, some dogs are simply grain intolerant, and need to be on a grain free diet. So, if your dog is displaying signs of grain intolerance, this is not the food for you. (Gave 4 out of 5 for "Quality" because of this.) However, if your dog has no issues with grain, the healthy grains in LiveSmart Formula are an excellent source of carbohydrates. (So, if comparing ONLY foods that DO include grains, I'd give this a 5 out of 5.)Only complaint about this particular product is that, when calculating price per cup, the individual Smartpak servings for a dog needing a smaller amount of food is higher than the price per cup in the 15lb bag, and even higher than price per cup in large individual Smartpak servings for big dogs. It is frustrating that large dog owners can save money by getting individual servings, but it costs more for owners of small dogs.However, this does not reduce the quality of the product, and in my opinion, the cost of 15lb bag is an excellent value for the quality of the food.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something she will eat Maggie and Bailey are very picky eaters. I was so happy to finally find something they would both eat. It is also very convenient to use the individual packs.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I tried this food because it was listed in the Whole Dog Journal as having healthy ingredients and natural preservatives. At first my dogs didn't like it (they don't like anything new, unless it's from the table) but I added a dash of chicken broth to get them started on it. After that, they loved it, no chicken broth needed. They are senior, so this is a great way to give them a little more food without the extra calories, and the price and customer service are excellent. Also, no ridiculous shipping charges like other dogfood orders, shipping is very reasonable. No complaints, would recommend this food, and this company, to everyone.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome food My dog loves the food and the easy to use individual serving sizes are great.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seniors Love LiveSmart We are very happy with how our older dogs have done on LiveSmart Senior. Both big & small dogs have held their muscle tone & mass better than on other senior blends & their energy level has not diminished, neither have their appetites! These bigger, flake-like kibbles absorb broth ... or LiveSmart Chicken Stew (another SmartPak Winner!) easily, so even our seniors with few teeth left clean their bowls every meal. Old Dogs are the Best Dogs, and LiveSmart senior is another way to enhance their lives.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great products! My dog loves the dog food and portion paks are so easy!
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog food ever. Since Max and Storm have been on this dog food, they seem to have a lot more energy.
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A big hit... Excellent quality and value... but more importantly, my dog just loves it!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LiveSmart Senior It has the right quality protein percentage that is hard to find in many other dry dog food. And my very senior dog actually likes it!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog food My dogs love the food and the packets with their names on it makes is so convienant when I have to have someone come over to feed them when I am out of town. Overal excellent rating!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My older greyhound loves it! She is pretty hard to please.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Dog Food Smart Pak's LiveSmart senior dog food is an excellent product. My English Bulldog is turning 12, so I took her office Science Diet JD and was looking for a senior food. I had tried Canidae, Neutro, and nothing was working with her stomach. Bulldog's are known to have sensitive stomachs. The LiveSmart is excellent. I would recommend this food for any senior dog especially with a sensitive stomach.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 3 senior dogs are like pups again! If you would have told me that a dog food could make a difference in the personality of a dog, I would not have believed it. But.....My three dogs ages 8,7,6 are playing everyday instead of sleeping all day. They look great, have minimum waste, love the taste and clean their bowls each time. We used to have to encourage the oldest to eat on some days. The daily gas they had is pretty much gone. I wasn't feeding junk dog food before either, it was a special formulated brand from the pet store, not grocery store. It is fun having them bring us a toy to throw & see them with wagging "stubs' (Boxers) & happy faces. I will continue to purchase this food and recommend it as well. Thanks, Dee
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lilly loves this food This was the best decision I have made for Lilly. She has kidney issues and we were very discouraged with what our next step for her was going to be with the Vet. I finally decided to do something different with her diet and its working so far. I give her a combination of low-protein homemade diet and Smartpak senior food. Very glad I tried this. Very convenient also and she is getting just the right amount of food very time with the smart paks. Thanks so much.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! I love the quality, convenience and cost of this product. It can be served a variety of ways to avoud boredom for the dogs. All my dogs love it.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time she ate with out begging I brought an 8 year old Great Dane in to our family when a friend died. She was such a picky eater one month and she dropped 10 lbs. I ordered Livesmart Senior and she dove in. 10 lbs back and now waits to eat
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog thinks he is a puppy again! Since we started feeding this food we have noticed that our senior doxie is full of energy again. He is bouncing around like a puppy and comes to get us when it is feeding time. His coat is shiny and soft and his eyes are bright. We love the ease of smartpaks as well since it is very important to maintain the proper weight to ease stress on his back. The doxie recently went for a check-up and the vet stressed that he looked like he was in perfect health.
    Date published: 2010-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO convenient & my dog will eat it! I was having a hard time getting my 16 year old lab-retriever to eat, but she eats this. The only reason I didn't give it five stars overall is because I wish the senior formula came in the small bites, like the sample of the adult formula they sent with the supplements I originally ordered.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! My 11 year old cattle dog / pitbull mix is getting up there in years. This food has been great for her sensitive stomach, as well making her skin less reactive to the elements. The quality of the food is beyond what you get in the store, and so much less expensive as well....
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog love it My senior yorkie has a sensitive stomach and has had trouble off and on with vomiting. Because of this I usually never change her food but she adapted to Live Smart and loves it. I feel that it is very nutricious and hope she will be eating it for a very long time.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASE OF FEEDING THE INDIVIDUAL PACKS ARE SO EASY, NO FUSS OR MUSS AND OUR DOG JUST LOVES THE TASTE! WE JUST STARTED THIS PROGRAM AND, SO FAR, IT'S A SUCCESS!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.