Product Image
Additional Views

SmartFlex® I Maintenance

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #13523
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



SmartFlex I Maintenance provides cost-effective joint maintenance for young horses in training and all horses in light work. This formula contains 4,000 mg of Glucosamine, 5,000 mg of MSM and 1,250 mg of Vitamin C. Sugar and filler-free with an apple flavoring horses love, SmartFlex I Maintenance provides the fundamentals of joint health for horses in light work.

ALSO AVAILABLE IN PELLETS!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Find your horse's SmartFlex

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartFlex® I Maintenance is rated 4.642 out of 5 by 162.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Joint Product My Horse has been on this product for about a year now. He loves it. He dose not come out stiff at all. He is happy to do what is planed for that day. His joints haven't been sore for a day since i started him on it.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good base for working youngster My horse is just 4 but he is working very hard. This is a good base I feel to protect and make him comfortable during his training process.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This winter my 14 year old QH gelding started showing some stiffness in his hock area on one leg. The vet said he is probably beginning to get a little arthritis in that hock, and I should think about putting him on a joint supplement to help him stay comfortable. Well I found this and tried it! It's awesome, he is no longer stiff and he's also more active! Thanks smartflex!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse looks and feels good! I have a 6-year old OTTB who has been off the track for 2 years now. As with most thoroughbreds he was a little worn down from his time on the track and comes out of his stall a little stiff. I've tried a variety of joint supplements but I like this one best. It has all the basics and I love that is also includes MSM. Previously I was feeding Flex-N-Motion (which I also really liked) but I had to order MSM and feed it additionally. I like that with SmartFlexI I was able to go from 2 supplements to 1 - makes feeding time a bit easier! And it's taking him less time to warm up and work out of the stiffness when we start riding.The powder smells sweet and my horse doesn't bat an eye eating it. However, I will likely get the pellets next time I re-order. My horse is a very "enthusiastic" eater and likes to flip his bucket around. I know he will scour the floor for every pellet, but I have no idea if he got all of his powder supplements.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky mare eats this right up! She's on this as more of a "preventative measure" so I can't really attest to how great they work. However, after doing LOTS of research on joint supplements, I can assure you this one is absolutely the best bang for your buck.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Love this product for my lesson horses. Keeps them sound to do there jobs.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I have had my 7 year old on this supplement for almost 3 years. I took him off once for a few months and he began "clicking" during his warm up. Put him back on- no problems since! Seems to do exactly what it says!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Choice! I've recently begun riding a friend's three year old and wanted to start him on a supplement to give him a little support as he started into a work program. This has everything in it that I was looking for at a great price.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smartflex Works! I got smartflex maintenance for 2 horses really, my 8 yesr old dressage horse,( to use when I am really pushing him), and for my 18 year old mare when she has to pack my 200lb husband.I have the mare on smartflex Senior at all times but when Will rides her I add Smartflex Maintenance in the AM to give her a hand up.It does what it needs to do and they will eat the pelleted form, but not the powder so get the tasty kind.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Eater Approved! I have been leary of joint support supplements out on the market because I have yet to find one that actually gave me a noticable difference. It took a while (with no help from mother nature's cold winter weather) but for the first time in years I noticed a differece in how my show-retired Thoroughbred was moving. He has a bad case of ringbone in his right hind leg and I wanted something to make him more comfortable for when he was put into light work come spring. He is more than comfortable moving at all gaits and I noticed such an improvement that I am puting my 3-y/o Half Arabian on it to prevent any joint issues once he gets started under saddle and to help aid with his growth-related locking stifles. Another Great Product from SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I started our hitch ponys on smart flex II last year during show season and they both moved great all season. I decided to put them on the smart flex I over the winter for maintenance and am anxious to see how they do this show season. So far they look like they are moving as good as they did last season.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I've noticed a huge difference in my 2 years old. She grew so fast we struggled with her joint, she is moving wonderfully!
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Long Enough I have only been using this product for about an month and a half so I may have to report back in a another month or so. My horse "clicks" and is also a very large young horse and I put him on this as more of a preventative than anything else.I will say that it took some convincing for him to go near his food with this on it. He is now fine with it but I had to feed him a little more grain initially to get him to consider eating it.
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE difference in my horse's behavior this is the best purchase i've ever made. i was nervous at first because i thought $20 a month, oh boy that will add up. but i have come to realize it is 100% worth it. i started seeing a HUGE difference in my horse's behavior within days. she has better ground manners and is so much more easy going now. thanks smartpak for making my horse feel better!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant beat the value of this product I started two geldings on this product, a 14yr old and a 7yr old. The 14 year old was showing joint stiffness once the cold weather set in and I had him on another product with much higher doses of each ingredient which made him go from a saint to a sinner in the well behaved riding partner aspect. I switched to this product and he has maintained the comfort level but has lost the attitude he aquired with the other product, he HATES the taste though and I had to divide it up between two feedings for several days and now have to mask it with beet pulp. The other horse had no issues but I wanted to prevent them, he seems more fluid and seemed to not mind the taste.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes me feel better but nothing fantastic Giving this supplement makes me feel better that I'm doing something to support my horse's joints but I haven't seen much difference in his movement. He is still a little stiff sometimes. It may have helped a little bit but it might be wishful thinking too. I had him on SmartFlex Rehab for a month and that made a huge difference but the price was too high!!
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent maintenance supplement. I wanted to put our 9 yr old TB mare on a maintenance joint supplement. I don't really have any horrendous joint issues as with my other horse (torn suspensory), but she does have a sensitive back, even without riding her. I elected to use this product because it was relatively inexpensive, yet had what I was looking for as a maintenance joint supplement to keep her joints in good shape. I also keep her on SmartHoof (excellent product!) and Smart E (w/o selenium because I've got too such in my area) since I have no grazing or fresh grass. I love all of them in SmartPaks, as well as my Andalusian boots!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I always thought that my gelding moved good. He never showed any signs of being stiff or sore. Since he is getting older I decided to put him on a joint supplement and I can't believe the difference it has made. He is much more willing to move out on his own and carry himself sooooo much better then he ever has!!!!! I'm glad I put him on this joint supplement!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I think that you get a lot out of this product. I got it for my older horse and she has already started creaking and cracking less.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good starter Product I got this for my 20 something Belgian mare. She had started not popping as much and moving more fluidly.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of supplement with just as small amount of product. Seems to be working pretty well for my Belgian.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right My mare turned 14 this year and while she doesn't have any joint issues yet, she had become much more stiff on cold mornings than in the past. I put her on the Smartflex 1 and now she is back to her old self happily pretending she is really only 2 years old! Only down side is that she didn't like the taste, but I hide all of her supplements in Beet Pulp, so it was no big deal to just add that as well.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far... I bought this for my creaky 15 year old and my almost 2 year old. They're not picky eaters and ate their food with this supplement without any hesitation. We've been using it for about a month and my older horse is less creaky already. The supplement is a crystal powder and mixed very well with my master blend of supplements.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so stiff Only been using it a little less than a month on my 11 year old paint mare and can already notice that she isn't as stiff coming out of the stall cold. She eats it fine but she is not super picky.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product We use this product on our young, in-training, quarter horse/appendix to keep him in top form.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't sure why this was recommended but... At first I thought it was strange for this to be recommended for young horses with no issues (I used the smartpak builder) but our horses are all moving better than before! Now, it didn't turn a BAD mover into a 10+...(that would be quite expensive a supplement if it existed : ) but they all just have a lighter, longer, freer stride than before-about 1-2 points on the scale improvement. I was surprised to see this and would certainly recommend it for any horse. Very well priced as well. The powder is a little hard to mix in, I think there is a pelleted version which I think the really picky guys would like more (or it might be easier to get tossed out versus the powder that coats everything).
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a keeper! I began using this supplement early this year for my 2 year old western pleasure futurity prospect when she began harder training to prepare her to be ridden. She's never had any joint issues, but I wanted to protect her and help ensure her longevity as a riding horse. After reading the ingredients and reviews, I realized this is a must-have for a growing 2 year old in training! Earlier this summer, she began having sticky stifles so I put her on SmartFlex Repair (which is a combo of SmartFlex III Ultra and SmartTendon) to help get her past that and have since put her back on SmartFlex I. SmartFlex will be in her feed bucket as long as I own her - it's definitely worth the money and peace of mind to prevent than the vet bills to repair!
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.