Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Slick 'N Easy™

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13490

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Fiberglass grooming block that is the easy, low-cost way to remove loose hair, dust and dirt. Leaves the horse's coat slicker, shinier and well shed-out. Each Slick 'N Easy grooms 10 - 12 horses.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Slick 'N Easy™ is rated 4.7549 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool Grooming Tool! I tried this product a few years ago and it works really well! I was shocked, I was surprised on how it worked compared to a shedding blade. Great for sensitive areas on horses, or if you just don't like shedding blades, this is an easy and cheap alternative!
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for shedding season I love these. Perfect for shedding out behind the ears, the elbow, under the belly...everywhere.
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing! I have a thin skinned TB who is hard to shed in some areas and this is perfect. he loves it, it works great and its cheap. I was actually giggling while I used it the first time because I thought it was so cool..
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets tons of hair off Gets tons of hair off and my woolly mammoth really enjoys it when it's used on his head and neck. My only complaint is that it cracked in half the first time I used it; I think it was partially damaged in shipping. It still works, I just have two triangle shaped blocks instead of a big rectangle.
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grows On You I was a little skeptical of this product, but thought it couldn't hurt to try it for the price.I admit I've really grown to like it. My horse, while not finicky about grooming, is not a huge fan of traditional shedding blades. She seems to be fine with being scraped with this, though, and it's amazing how much fine dirt and hair is removed as you work.I had to get the hang of using it to its best advantage though. To CLEAN/SHED, I use the sharp corner in very short, firm strokes to get the most out of it. And it can take awhile to do your whole horse this way. As the edge dulls, switch to another or sharpen the block on concrete (super easy to do). To SHINE, use a flat side and swipe in long strokes like you would with a brush. It really works, but also takes some time/elbow grease.It's not really fast (at least not the way I use it), it's a shame that it wears down, and it will shatter/chip if you hit it hard against anything, but it's a valuable addition to my grooming bag.The barn owner recently commented that my horse, despite her age, was displaying a really surprisingly sleek coat for this early in the spring while the rest of the herd was still looking pretty rough. Must be the Slick 'n Easy!
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must-Have in Spring! I love these-always have plenty on hand in the spring. I can easily scrape the loose hair off-hair I didn't even know was there & my thin-skinned TB doesn't mind this at all. Best thing for shedding horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must For Hairy Horses This is a fantastic grooming tool. Even my sensitive horses don't mind when I use this to shed them out.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for Sheding This is a great way to get shedding done quick works great
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive and effective This grooming block does a great job of pulling away the the undercoat which has started to shed out with the lengthening of days. I like that I'm able to do all of the sensitive parts of my horse (like his stomach) that I would never want to touch with a metal shedding blade. Once the edge of the block gets dull and the hair stops sticking as well, I'm able to just run the edge down the side of our stone wash rack and it's good as new.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for shedding season. I live in an area where we get very cold weather in the winter. Once spring arrives my horse has a pretty good coat established, so once she starts shedding, currying the hair just takes too long because every couple of strokes with a curry comb and I have to stop and clean out the comb. With this, you just hold it and brush and all the hair sheds so easily and just falls off of the "pumice stone" instead of collecting in the brush. This really cuts the grooming in half and helps to remove all the shedding hair quicker and easier. I definitely love having this in my grooming box!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! After discovering the slick n easy several years ago I will NEVER go thru another shedding season again without one. It is so easy to use that even my children love to help out. There is a sense of satisfaction after using one of these when the clumps of hair just come off. A must have in every grooming box!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spring Time Shedding Made Easy! My Tennessee Walker has a huge, thick, beautiful coat. In Florida, it gets a little chilly in the winter, and his coat comes in extremely heavy. When it starts to warm up again, it's a shedding mess.I have multiple curry combs, many high quality too, but I keep having to empty little pancake like clumps of hair from them, and it just takes forever.Because the Slick N' Easy is pretty cheap, naturally I was a little suspicious, but I figured I would only be a few dollars out. To my surprise, it works AMAZINGLY. It just comes off like magic and falls to the ground, it doesn't get all over him or me, and it doesn't stick onto the block at all.My horse looked like a new man!
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good product to have I have used this product for years. It works as advertised. I like to keep this product among my grooming tools, even though I don't use it all the time. I use it for grooming when I need to get on and go. This product is very good for taking off bots. lt works best if an edge is kept on the block--it can be trimmed with a pocket knife.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ABSOLUT BEST ever These are the greatist grooming tool since the brush!They are great in the spring for shedding around the face, legs , and body...no matter how sensitive the area. I use them when the horses start shedding their summer coats as their winter coat is coming in. Works much better than a shedding blade (I think) as my gang are pretty slicked out in the summer and they are too thinned skin for a shedding blade. Great for removing dust too. Try it, you'll love em!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing since hot water Love these things. They are wonderful at removing hair from fall and spring shedding. I find it easier to use than a shedding blade. Especially in late summer as they start shedding for their winter coats. I really like them for the face and legs. My gang think they are in heaven when I do the out side of their ears. Wonderful, wonderful!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One complaint I like the slick and easy, but I'd hoped it would help remove bot eggs off of my vanner's knees and feather. It didn't do that at all; but she liked my using it anyway.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great grooming tool Great for shedding out year round. Wish they would last forever but super cheap & work wonders at removing loose hairs, even on the legs & face!
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for shedding out! Nothing works for my mare to shed her out, except for these! I am so happy with it. For some reason, her coat decided to grow another layer this summer, and I pulled this out of the back of my tack locker and all the hair came right off, and her coat was sleek and shiny again! Love love love these. Always have one in my grooming box.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works for my daughter I purchase these for my daughter as she loves them for shedding out her paint gelding. I prefer using my curry as it doesn't deteriorate with use and require replacement! It does a great job but it does require a little maintenance by scraping its sides to keep them "sharp" enough to shed. It is also handy for removing bot fly eggs. If you don't mind replacing them they are pretty efficient.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from keeper grooming would not be the same w/o a Slick 'N Easy. Time saver, helps shedding, asists in getting out dirt.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans really well It is amazing how well this works. The loose hair and dirt come right off. I would definitely continue using this product.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaces Shedding Blade This simple piece of charcoal pulls out stubborn shedding hair, even on legs. It works better than a shedding blade, especially when you have a horse that was clipped for the winter and his hair is not as thick as a non-clipped horse.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool This has been great for my sensitive, thin skinned TB. He cannot tolerate a curry comb, so this made shedding so much easier. Now that he is all shed of his winter coat, I still use this to remove the dirt and dust. This block pulls out grime I don't even realize is there. For the price, totally worth it.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT for fuzzy horses! My horse ripped up two of her blankets this year - in the middle of winter! She was left blanketless, and, of course, became super fuzzy. I have a metal shedding blade but it just would not get any hair off. With one swipe of this block, TONS of hair comes off! I just bought my second one today, I can't say enough good things about this. After awhile, your hand can get sore, but that may just be me shedding for over an hour!My only complaint would be its very breakable. I dropped my first in the barn alley and it split in two.AMAZING. A must have.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Shedding Season! Slick N Easy is the best product ever to get rid of those shedding winter coats. It's easy to use and although it can be time consuming, the time I spend grooming my horse with this product is a joy for both of us.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grooming Tool This item is great for springtime shedding. It's cheap and does the job perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just WOW!!! Best thing next to a none shedding horse. This product is great for the dirty and shedding horses
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Shedding Really pulls the hair out of a shedding horse in the spring. I love these blocks, go through two a year with my horses. They do last a while though, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slick n easy Excellant product made the spring shedding process easier.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.