Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Repel-Xpe

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13488

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The horseman's choice for more than 30 years. Diluted 1:7 with water, Repel-Xpe provides economical protection from house flies, horn flies, gnats and mosquitoes. Mixed at 1:4 dilution, Repel-Xp kills ticks, horse flies, deer flies and stable flies. Single application keeps flies, gnats, ticks and mosquitoes off horse for days. Superior fly control that's easy on the budget.

Pint, Quart or Gallon.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Repel-Xpe is rated 4.6349 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not work This stuff is a joke. I sprayed my horses legs and body with this stuff and there are still flies everywhere. I practically bathe him in it and within seconds there are flies all over him. I did a test-- 3 sprays on one of his legs and 10 seconds later I find at least 5 flies on the leg. I do have to say I got three bottles of spray out of this concentrate so the value is there. Just wish it would work. I will be trying something else next time.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value This fly repellent works very well and is an excellent value. It sounds expensive for a gallon but since it is a concentrate, you are actually buying four gallons for the price, and it works!
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fly spray that actually works I have used many,many different kinds of fly sprays. I just wanted one that worked and that didn't cost too much. I wanted to buy a concentrate so I didn't have to keep buying the $20 32 oz spray bottles.This fly spray works and is worth the price. The concentrate lasts awhile too!I highly recommend
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I moved my TB to Minnesota from California this summer and the bug situation was quite a shock to him. The first week he was there he had huge hives all over his body and had to have antihistamine injections to calm it down. Consequently, he would stomp all day and I was worried he would make himself lame. I went to my local tack store and bought a strong fly spray which the mosquitoes just laughed at and it was useless. Frustrated I decided for the cost I would by this concentrated version and it has been fab! The only problem I had with it was when I mixed it 1/5 and it was way to strong for him and actually made his skin peal! But, after I learned the correct concentration it has kept everything off! Not the best smelling but gets the job done and a huge cost saver :D
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not terribly effective, and OILY! OK, I knew that this is an oil-based insecticide when I ordered it, but I am rather disappointed in just how oily it is! We have a pretty nasty horse and deerfly population at our barn, so I diluted it to the recommended ratio for those conditions. Not only does it smell rather strongly, but I have to reapply it multiple times, just to see results. By the time I do that, my mare has oily, clumpy black streaks all over her. Definitely won't be taking this to the shows!
    Date published: 2011-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product and great value I've been using this product on horses for years and years, and I love it. It's by far my favorite fly spray. I find that it works great (even better than the more expensive brands), doesn't make my horse "sticky" like other brands do, and to top it all off, it smells GOOD! I've never had a horse have a reaction to it, but it's clearly strong enough to be effective, and bought in the concentrate form, it's a great value. I would highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I find that this is a very affordable fly repellent. Fly spray can be so costly in the hot and buggy weather. The cheap stuff works for about five minutes, and the really good stuff is too expensive for everyday use! This fly spray does the job and doesn't break the bank!
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stall door Staple Have used this forever and it seems to work pretty well. I usually use this as a fly spray for turnout and like that when you spray it the flies actually do stay off. Just be careful of over-concentrating it. I usually stick with the 1:7 instead of 1:4. When its too strong it can 'burn' their skin making it peel.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Value We've been using Repel-X concentrate over 10 years. Best bang for your buck if you have the time to mix it up. Repels & kills flies, gnats & mosquitoes. With multiple horses this is the only affordable way to go.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job This stuff works fine for the price, and it's nice to have the option to mix it at different concentrations for sensitive horses or extra-buggy occasions.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly spray value With the price of fly spray between $15-20 per quart, the Repel X is a great bargain. You can mix it stronger if your fly problem is bad, or weaker if not so bad. It is the absolute best value. You do need a funnel to pour from the bottle it comes in to your sprayer bottle because it does drip.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No flies! Fly spray works great and smells nice. My horse doesn't mind being out on muggy days when the bugs are the worst!
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-Xp I have used Repel-Xp for many years. I get consistent results when used in combination with Equitrol, Arbico Fly Parasites, and strategically placed Fly traps as an integrated fly control program.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable for decades I have used this spray since I had my first horse-it's got a very strong distinct odor and has to be mixed, but works as well as anything, and even helps with ticks. I have given several others a chance for "natural" or sunscreen or sensitive claims, but this works as well as any(nothing is foolproof )and economical too!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical Fly Spray I've used Repel-X for years. Being a concentrate, it's the most ecomonical flay spray that works just as well as the expensive ones. I do have to spray every day though. It has a very pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only fly spray I use Even with just 1 horse, the cost of fly spray can be astronomical. I find concentrated fly spray to be the cheapest option and Repel XP has been by far the best at keeping the flies away in my area. It doesn't have an awful smell either.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely the best fly repellent
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I use! I have used Repel-Xp for two "insect" seasons. I use it at 1:5 dillution and it helps for flies and ticks too! My mare had one tick all spring / summer in 2009 and none this year. Love this product and don't even use anything else for ticks.
    Date published: 2010-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great fly spray this is an all around good fly spray. I mix it a little stronger than than the directions require and it seems to work great. 4:1 seems to be the formula for me
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Repel xp acceptable Works as well as any item but must be put don heavily and daily.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep Coming Back I have been using Repel-X for many years. Occasionally I will see a new product and give it a try but I always go back to Repel-X. I like the fact that it repels and kills ticks. And it's a great value.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most economic route I've used RepelX for years....it's by far one of the most economic fly sprays. I like the fact it can be made as strong or mild as you need, and it does not leave a heavy film on your horse's coat, something very important when you're showing. I have tried just about every brand of fly spray on the market, and this is the one I keep coming back to.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite for Years Repel XP is economical, lasts for several days and repels those nasty biting flies that seem to come out at the end of summer. Excellent product.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray! My horse has very sensitive skin. I had trouble finding a fly spray that kept the flies away without bothering his skin. I used to have to drench him in a very diluted spray and then cover him up with a fly sheet. Then I discovered Repel-X. Now all I have to do is spray him up and he's good to go. The flies don't bother him and Repel-X doesn't bother his skin!
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value Like most horse owners, I've tried ALL different kinds of fly sprays. I've tried the kind that claims it works for 14 days but it never does. So I switched back to Repel-X and use it every other day. My horse is extremely fly-sensitive so I also use a fly mask and sheet. In combination with the Repel-X, he is very comfortable. The thing which makes this brand stand out from the rest though is the fact you can buy it in concentrate and mix your own. This makes it the very best fly spray on the market.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff Love this fly-repellent: it works, doesn't irritate sensitive skin, and is water-based (so less likely to attract dirt). And since it's a concentrate, you're not buying a lot of water and can adjust the dilution to suit your needs. One of my"must-haves" in the barn.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.