Product Image

Equitrol II

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13104
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Equitrol II is a highly palatable feed-thru insect control supplement designed to prevent the development of stable flies and house flies in the manure of treated horses. Equitrol II includes LarvaStop which breaks the fly life cycle by preventing the formation of fly larvae's exoskeletons when they molt (resulting in their death). Equitrol II contains no organophosphates and can be used as part of an integrated pest management program. Reduced risk pesticide.

View our Insect Control Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Equitrol II is rated 4.4902 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't see a difference Although I had my horses on this for an entire year (even through the winter), I did not see any improvement. I'd LOVE to see it work.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought Relief! I used this product in the past and never had a fly problem. I stopped using it when we had new neighbors with horses move in and they did not use Equitrol. WOW did I get the opportunity to see what having stable flies was like! Luckily the neighbors thought the flies were extremely annoying and we are all using Equitrol now with a greatly decreased fly population!
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waiting to see the results With the mild winter, not sure if this is proven yet. Hoping it is when fly season really gets rolling. Started earlier this year, since last year I think I waited to late in the year to get the process to work.Getting ready to place another order, Giving it a chance this year. lets hope it works.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from didnt seem to help I used this product all summer and didnt see any differece in it.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out but will try again I moved my 2 horses to my house in mountains of CO in July which is the beginning of summer here and the flies were just starting. I started the Equitrol right away. I did have flies, actually quite a few on the hottest sunniest days. It is difficult for me to know how many would have been present if I did not use the product since this was the first year the horses lived here. I was surprised how inexpensive it was. When I bought it I kind of gasped at the price but you do not need much for an average weight horse so it goes a long way and they ate it right up. Sooo, the jury is still out but I will definitely try again next year and will start earlier. Maybe that will help.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the Price I ordered this for my Hanoverian Cross mare who has really horrific Sweet Itch every summer. I have seen less flies around, but not a huge improvement. I think it would have been more beneficial for her if I'd started her on it earlier in the season (I bought her in July) and if her barnmate were on a feedthru fly control as well. Even with the setbacks we encountered, there was still a visible improvement for her, so I will be continuing to use this product.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL the horses have to be treated! We used this product at my 4-horse barn for two years with very good results. That was until the property behind us installed about 20 pastured mares. They obviously were NOT treated, because our fly population exploded! We tried to continue with Equitrol, but it just doesn't work if only some of the horses are treated. Now we have invested in very good fly spray, which we use every day at feed time. It was better when we were the only horse-keepers in the neighborhood, and if you ARE, Equitrol will probably work fine for you. We were very happy with it, until now.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equitrol II I have used Equitrol for several years as part of my fly control program. Once, I tried another type of feed-thru, but went right back to Equitrol. I can rely on getting consistent results.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Free So Far Last year I used a mineral/salt block with a feed through additive (I forget the brand name) and it worked but there were tons and tons of warnings about how humans have to be careful handling it on the label, which worried me. Equitrol SmartPaks are easy, safe, and VERY effective!
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great,my horses love the taste,a bit pricy when you have four horses.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fewer Flies Now! I started on this product a little less then a month ago and I can already see a difference. The flies are not gone yet, but there are definitely fewer of them. Plus, I have not been using ANY other methods of pest control. (Other than fly spray when I take my horse to a show)
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this every year I have been using Equitrol II for many, many years . I have my horse(s) at home so Ican control their supplements myself. Starting Equitrol early in the spring assures me that my fly invasion will be minimum every year. this year I added it to my monthly Smartpak package and just add it to breakfast every day. While nothing will prevent 100% of the flies, the Equitrol keeps things down to a manageable situation with traps and sprays as needed.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Switched from SimpliFly I believe that horses just like humans, can build a drug resistance - therefore, I switched to this feed thru fly control. SimpliFly works - I'm certain - But I want it to continue to work therefore, I want to switch things up - I'll see if this holds up to SimpliFly
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing Ive had for flies My horse is allergic to flies but this keeps them off of her. I used this all last year and it made a whole difference. Get this for your barn it so works!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite a Difference at My Barn I have used this product for several summers and I see a large difference between the amount of flies at my barn versus the barn that I work at. There are flies all over everything at that barn, but my horses rarely have many flies to deal with. I wouldn't go a summer without this.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has been a really hot summer and horses have had to stay in during the days under fans A LOT since we do not have much shade. I used to wonder if I was really helping them because the flys were so bad in the stalls though we keep a very clean barn. I have not seen too many fly spray systems that really work well so finally tried this product this year. Was late in starting, June, but after 2 weeks, WOW, VERY, VERY few flys!!! They all eat it well from the 1 y.o. up to the 23 y.o.! Have 9 horses and to me, well worth the money!!!
    Date published: 2010-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product I have been using this feed thru controll for several years. I have a barn with two small horses so it is affordable for me to feed. I do have friends horses coming and going that do not use a feed through and yet the fly population is still minimal. I am getting a third horse and although I love the product, I am concerned it will be to pricey to be feeding three.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product After using this product for roughly 2 weeks I noticed a huge drop in the number of flies around my barn.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product never believed this would work but had to give my horse the best chance so i tried equitrol, i put it in his food and forget it. It's been almost 2 weeks and am glad to report this REALLY WORKS!still in shock.. i told all my friends right away.. now they are trying it..Great product. R.Smith,Tennessee
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great In my location we have LOTS of flies! I was skeptical but when I feed the Equitrol it keeps the flies way down in his stall. The horses around him are not on Equitrol, but I notice there are not as many flies in his stall. Works great and it is a Farnum product so you know it is safe.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picky horses seem to be happy I have several very picky horses in my barn, and was pleased when they ate this supplement right up. I even forgot to mix it with their grain ration one day, so gave it to everyone by hand. They all finished their scoop of it, no problem! Only time will tell however if it will help with the fly problem.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definatly saw a difference! I started using this a few years ago, and was shocked at the difference. I hated the smell of garlic, so I had to find a different route, and this is what I found. Since I am at a boarding barn, not everyone uses it, but even the difference in my stalls and others is amazing. In my stalls you'll see a few flies here and there, but no swarming babies. Even out in their pen there is a noticable difdference in the fly population. It doesn't keep flies off your horse, but even one fly dead is good in my opinion! and this stuff kills much more than one fly! This is always fed every spring-fall now!
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not re-ordering I have been giving this product a go for at least 6 months. The flies this spring have been truly horrible! New barn, clean stalls, good manure management and using the feed through. I am cancelling it because I think it is not doing anything. I am going to try Bug Check I think.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love that it is in pellet form and that it tastes good to my horse. he loves to eat them straight out of my hand...forget the oat pellets. lol. since i just started giving it to him, i havent seen much of a change in the fly population, but im sure once hes had it in his system for a week or so things will change.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No flies! I have been using Equitrol on four horses for about 6 months. Living in South Florida, there is no "cold" season to kill the flies, so we deal with them all year long. Lately, we noticed they have diminished considerably. At first, since we have been using Equitrol for quite a while, we didn't make the connection. But now, we realize there are hardly any flies at all! We don't even need to spray the horses! The obvious benefit of NO FLIES is made even better by the fact that we don't even have to think about it! We don't have to remember to spray the horses every day and night, before riding, after bathing, etc. There are no side effects that I have seen (except NO FLIES!) I love this stuff!!
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have used Equitrol II for five years and my horses could not be happier. Since our winters get pretty cold, I do not start Equitrol II until April which seems to work. I have never had to use any other kind of fly trap in my barn or pasture. It is simple to use and the horses aren't aware that they are getting a supplement.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.