Product Image

Wellness Super5Mix® Just for Seniors

Wellness
- Item #12549
Form: Kibble
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

Did you know Veterinarians generally consider small dogs to be senior at about 12 years of age, while large dogs reach the senior stage at 6 to 8 years? As dogs mature, changes occur in the way their bodies function. Health issues common in aging dogs may include a tendency for weight gain, decreased immune system function, more frequent intestinal problems and decreased mobility. Every ingredient in Wellness® Super5Mix® Senior is carefully chosen to add quality to the life of senior dogs. This unique blend provides the reduced calories and phosphorus, increased fiber and moderate levels of protein and fat needed by aging dogs. In addition, we add New Zealand Green Mussel and Sea Cucumber and supplemental glucosamine and chondroitin to help to soothe and replenish senior dogs’ joints. Add your love and help add life to their years!

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
 
( Cups / Meal)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Wellness Super5Mix® Just for Seniors is rated 4.675 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! I love Wellness Formula in general because they never include any of the ingredients that could contain euthanized dogs, cats and horses. (When the protein source isn't specified- like "Animal Protein", "Animal Fat" "Bone Meal" etc.). But beyond that- this formula doesn't give my boxer mix any gas, and THAT is saying something!! He's afflicted with a senior and boxer tummy combo and this food is easy to digest and keeps him shiny and slick. He loves it and eats every bite.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Senior Formula Tastes Bad My two aged (14+) large dogs ate the samples without issue. Unfortunately, after a week, both went several days without eating a crumb of their kibble. (They survived by stealing leftovers from younger dogs' bowls). Both dropped noticeable pounds.These events were separated by a couple of months, so I doubt it was a bad batch, etc.In both cases, I had great success with AvoDerm - check out their web site. Cheaper, and very comparable in ingredients.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dogs changed their minds After they ate the sample, I switched to this food as the Newman's was no longer available in smartpaks. After one week my dogs stopped eating it and my one dog's allergies flared up again. We're switching back to Newman's.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent dog food This dog food is easy on the tummy, no digestive upsets for my boxers. They are at "attention" when I am preparing their meals. Is is all eaten every time, every day. I can even use it as treats because they like it so much. All look healthy & shiny with energy.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not A Morsel Left Over My 12+ year old lab gobbles it up like crazy! He hasn't shown this much excitement about eating in a long time! We originally were using the Senior Livesmart, and are seriously thinking about keeping him on the Wellness as he had been leaving a lot of his Livesmart Senior in the bowl too frequently and didn't seem to be too interested in it any longer. Perhaps he just got tired of eating the same dog food over the years and the Wellness was a change. Either way, we have been very pleased with SmartPak's quality in their food products as well as their customer service. Our dog has not had a weight problem and his coat has always looked fantastic! Since we have only been using the Wellness for approximately 2-3 weeks, it's difficult to say any more about it except that our dog loves it and it is a very highly rated dog food due to it's quality ingredients. The only downside I see is the high price tag-- hence the 3 star rating for value.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My dog is a 9 yr. old yellow lab. We tried several high quality senior products recommended to us by a local pet store, and they all seemed to cause horrible gas, or just didn't seem agreeable. We tried this product, and he is doing great! He eats a total of 2 1/2 cups per day. His weight is just right, no gas, and he has good energy and is very happy. We love the convenience of Smart paks!
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Al wants his dinner! Al, our 8 year old corgi needs to drop a few pounds but doesn't want to sacrifice at the dinner bowl! He loves this food and it seems to fill and satisfy him. I don't worry about over feeding him with the pre packaged paks so that's an added advantage. The folks at Smark Pak are wonderful to work with, very accommodating and the most polite people I've ever dealt with! Couldn't ask for more from the company or the people who service our account.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves It !! Our 12 year old Retriever has really taken to this food and it seems to be helping with her weight control. We do however think it works out expensive when you add shipping costs.
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've had my 10 yr. old Aussie on this for a year she runs,plays frisbee just like her "childhood".Used to buy it in store but just as good a deal here and you never run out like the store does. Thanks for carrying this product.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food My 13 and 14 year old golden were packing on the pounds and my vet said they had to lose weight. I chose this food and ordered it in SmartPaks. Six months later and both have lost over 15 pounds and my vet is thrilled. They are moving better and doing great. They love this food. Ordering it in SmartPaks helped because there was no temptation to scoop more food. Just opened the package that was premeasured and I was done.
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something tasty but not loaded with fat I hate to admit it, but Al, our corgi/beagle mix is getting up there in years and needed to be taken off his regular adult diet hard dog food and on to something with less calories but still tasted good to him. If Al could talk I think he'd give Wellness Super5 Mix rave reviews! He eats every bite in his bowl and looks for more so I think that's a good sign that he likes the new formula!
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 17 year old Jack Russell has become very fussy about her food. I also wanted to find something that was organic and less by-products. I tried the Newman's Own and she liked it for a couple of weeks and then stopped eating it. She has been eating this for two months now. Went to the vet the other day and she has put on a pound, which was another issue we were having with her.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wellness Just for Seniors I have 3 dogs on this food that are 5, 5, and 6 years old. I only wish there was an option to have small bites because 2 of my dogs are only 8 and 10 lbs and would do better with a little smaller kibble. However, they still gobble it up and seem to enjoy the taste. They are healthy, happy, and energetic. So I think the food is doing great! It has been 2 months and we are planning on sticking with this food for a while.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loves The Taste! My Jack Russell Terrier, 12 years old, is usually picky about how his hard food taste and only eats it when he "has to". So far, he has readily ate his "Wellness" and asked for more!
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite senior dry food My older dogs both have a tendency to get dry flaky skin if I'm not careful of the food they eat. I used to think that dry dull skin was just a symptom of old age, but since I've been using this dog food and mixing it with simple homemade recipes of my own, their coats have returned to the glossy, zero-dandruff look of their youth. Smartpak offers this product at about the same price as my local stores but I like the door to door delivery since the bags are so heavy, and when I order other items like canned food and treats (which SmartPak has a better price for than my local stores) it makes it more cost effective than going local.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior Dog Food I recently switched my 10 year old border collie to this dog food and have noticed a change in her mobility. She is more active and seems to engage in play with her much younger (18 month) "brother" as much as he does.
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for the Oldies Great food for those dogs who are getting up there in years and might not be so active anymore. And they seem to think it tastes great too.
    Date published: 2009-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from only brand of pet food i will every buy never will i EVER feed my animals anyhting like purina or iams. the research i have done that has shown me what putrid is put into those foods is astonishing and my pets will be "wellness" pets forever!!!thanks welness, for a much better option for my loves!
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Senior dog food! I have an older rescue dog (my first "son") who had many issues when I adopted him due to prior neglect. The only food he could digest and would not upset his stomach was the Wellness line of foods (particularly the chicken - his favorite). As he has grown older, we have progressed to the Senior version and he loves it. No digestive issues, lots of energy and a healthy skin and coat. He is one happy "puppy" at 11 years old. I would recommend this project to anyone!
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Senior Food I Have Seen The Wellness Super5Mix for Seniors is the best senior dog food on many important levels. It has the right balance of high-grade, nutritious ingredients at the optimum levels to support healthy weight for an aging dog. Plus, it has added glucosamine, so I know that even if my picky eater skips out on his supplement, he is still getting a daily dose of joint support. And, even though it seems like a very plain dry food, my dog is happiest to eat it plain and dry (no wet food mixed in). It's a little pricey, but well worth it to keep my senior dog healthy.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Senior Dog is thriving Not knowing any better, my husband used to pick up the cheapest big bag of food from the feed store and dump it into one of those big doggy all-you-can-eat buffet feeders. Ozzy seemed fine but made huge smelly poops all over the yard. Thinking we could do better for him in his golden years, I took over the feeding. I did a lot of research and, trusting the products that SmartPak has to offer, decided on Wellness Senior.WOW! What a difference! I now feed with SmartPaks twice a day. Ozzy loves it and looks forward to meal time. AND my yard is a lot cleaner!
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved Digestive Issues Completely! I have a 7yo GSD with 'mystery' digestive issues. Intermittently he would get extremely severe diarrhea and vomiting and then a few days later be 100% normal. He spent 2 separate 1-week stays at a vet school with a full workup each time (blood work, ultrasounds, radiographs, etc.) to no avail, I was always sent home with the 'healthiest sick dog there is'.I switched from Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Senior to Royal Canin German Shepherd Diet, and then to Wellness Super5Senior and the change is incredible! His hips no longer bother him, he's got the energy of a puppy again, has a beautiful coat and hasn't been sick since the switch!
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our 6 year old lazy Lab Brando went from 95 pounds in July 2005 to only 85 pounds yesterday, thanks to his diet switch last summer to Wellness. He is significantly healthier, and his skin/coat have never been better. The vet has been after me for years to get weight off Brando -- even had him on a ridiculously expensive "prescription" food (you know what) that did no good. Of course, that was before I got a clue about better pet nutrition. Wellness worked! It's very easy to sell something you've experienced first hand and believe in.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your Wellness dog food makes my dog beautiful! Her skin coat and eyes all glisten!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a Portuguese water dog with many skin issues. We tried EVERYTHING to help this dog. I finally found Wellness dog food and it has worked! Her itching stopped and she is comfy again! Have you heard this from other people?
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am thankful for your company and Wellness dog food. I have an IBD dog that couldn't eat anything until we found Wellness wheat-free beef-free food.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just wanted to extend my gratitude for Wellness dog food! My 3-year-old male Border Collie was diagnosed with epilepsy at 2 years. In December and January, he had about a seizure every 7 to 10 days. In February I purchased a huge bag of Wellness® Super5Mix® and switched him to that from Nutro Lamb and Rice. He has not had a single seizure since! He has gone 6 months without a seizure and the only change I made was to switch him to Wellness Super 5 exclusively. I have since switched all three of my dogs to the same food and all are thriving and happy. They simply cannot wait for mealtime! Thank you!
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.