Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Fly Predators

Item #12493
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The environmental solution to pesky flies!

Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas monthly to control fly populations. Up to 94% reduction in pest flies have been reported. Fly predators cannot be returned as they are living.

Favorite Features

  • Automatic delivery available for easy, convenient reapplication

Fly Predators will be drop shipped to you directly from Spalding Labs via the U.S. Postal Service.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fly Predators is rated 4.3827 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I had a horrible fly population with 22 horses, compounded with the wet weather we had this spring it was near to impossible even with all the sprays to get rid of the flys. After the application of the predators there was a noticeable difference about a week after they were put out. It was sure nice to see the difference. The horses were so happy!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not right for my situation I keep 25 mini horses on 15 acres. Although they come into a one acre pasture for the night, where the run-in sheds are, they are never stalled. I got the quantity suggested for 50 horses, and spread it in the one acre and then outside that one acre fence about 50 feet. But I think I was trying to cover too big of an area. There were definitely less flies than last year.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really wanted them to make an impact. I tried these for 4 months and didn't notice much change in the flys. Our flies were still awful the month of July as they always are. These did not offer any real impact on the fly population and didn't help to give my horses any relife.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Bugs! We've been using fly predators for 3 years now. And I can't even describe how much BETTER the fly population is if you use these and start them early enough in the season. My horses are so much happier!!
    Date published: 2014-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good phamplet on fly control included. I think they really work along with traps. Using them does help keep the flies under control.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A safe an natural approach to fly control We have a serious fly problem at our barn due to the nearby dairy farm. I started this in May, and by mid June we saw a definite decrease in the number of flies as compared to last year.This is NOT a quick fix solution to your fly problems, you will have to use other measures as well; particularly while waiting for the current flies to die. You will also have to remember that if you use harsh chemicals you will also kill off some of the predators.This product needs to be used consistently in order to suppress the number of flies, and should be thought of as part of a multi-stage approach to fly control.The only reason I didn't give this product a 5 star rating was the cost of the bugs!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the fly predtors they really help with the fly population and I have a cattle farm next door
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I used them for 1 month and they did not work! Flies actually seemed worse.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total waste of money Useless. Did absolutely nothing. I've used these two years now and the flies are actually way way worse than ever before. I gave these things a shot for two seasons, applied as directed, even tried buying twice as many as they said i needed. I cant believe I was dumb enough to waste my money on this useless product for so long.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from they work!! We only have two horses but our new neighbors moved a herd of cattle next to our farm last spring and we were very concerned how things would go as summer progressed. We all got together and decided to give this a try and it worked! Within a few short weeks the problem was significantly reduced. This year we will start earlier and are confident we will not have any pesky flies to bother us or the livestock. 
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These work great around the sheep too! Our trainer uses these around the horse farm and they work well, in spite of the fact the cattle farmer next store does not. I tried them at home with the sheep and found they work even better. There are no other properties around with livestock so there is no competition from other sources
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO FLIES This is the first season I have used these and they seem to be working great. We had another horse person stop by the other day and could not believe that there were NO flies buzzing around...Love this product...
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely makes a difference I've used Fly Predators for 2 Summer seasons now & can say that they do make a noticeable difference. We start getting shipments in the Spring time before the flies get bad...this is definitely important; if you are going to commit to a season of Fly Predators, you MUST start using them before you notice flies for the best results. We actually use a combination of fly predators, and we set fly traps around the barn area. We keep the back & side of our property as a hay field, that runs right up close to our pastures, and we always have an influx of flies after our hay gets cut. We do also keep our horses on Smart-Bug Off...basically, we do use other products to supplement the fly predators, as they can't take care of all flies. But they do make a big difference - if you have a problem with flies, I recommend these little guys!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly predators Great product. You really know how good these little guys work when you are running out of them. They are a win/win. No pesticides, and no flys.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to reduce fly population Last year, I moved my horses from a boarding facility to a field where only my horses were kept and I started using fly predators as well as a feed-through fly control. I definitely noticed a reduction in the non-biting black "house" flies. This year the relief was not as great but I still think the fly predators aided in the reduction of the black house fly population. I did not notice the fly predators themselves once I released them. This product did not seem to help with horse flies or the green biting flies. For the price, I think this product is worth buying.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly population cut by 90% This is the only stuff that works. FYI: I put out a lot more than they recommend. I have three horses and did 5,000 but got poor results. Now, I just do 20,000 at the beginning of the season and leave it at that.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Fly Predators have reduced my fly population to almost nothing and they are a great value. I used to spend $100's of dollars on chemical fly sprays/products and now all I do is get Fly Predators once a month.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made me a believer Made me a believer. On the second month I notice a huge difference in the reduction of flies on our property. A friend was visiting and asked, how come I do not see any flies on your property? I told her about Fly Predators and what a great product it is. Now she is ordering them too. Definitely recommend this product....
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Natural Fly Contol We have been using the Fly Predators consistently for the last two years and have been very pleased with the results. While it is nearly impossible to totally eradicate flies on a horse farm, the Fly Predators have drastically reduced the fly population. I would recommend the Fly Predators and the auto-ship program with SmartPak makes it a breeze to maintain coverage of the farm.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly predators FP's do seem to work, but not as well as I'd hoped. I have 3 horses and a Shetland so I buy the 5,000 bugs for 1-5 horses. I order them once a month with my supplements but I feel like they die off in closer to 3 weeks, not 4. I may try getting them more often and see if that helps. However, my horses live out 24/7 with run-ins so the manure is spread all over 17 acres, I don't know if it's just too hard for the little guys to disperse. They do seem to help, but not quite as dramatic of a difference as I'd hoped.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Forgot to order this spring For the first time in 5 years, I didn't have horses standing in the pasture in the spring and I didn't order the fly predators. I borrowed 2 horses to trail ride and in a week the flies were VICIOUS! Boy, I learned my lesson. Fly predators really work. I ordered them, but it is tough to catch up once the season has started... but still absolutely worth it. I used to buy only a bottle or 2 of fly spray per summer.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Give them a chance I have been using the Fly Predators for 7 years now. The first year I thought maybe I saw a difference. Kept them for a 2nd year and wow. A local breeder came over to see one of her horses that was in training and was amazed that we were still able to have the horses in the pasture. It was 11:30 am. she said all there horses were in by 10:00 because the flies were so bad. You don't notice the difference until you go somewhere that doesn't use the Fly Predators. give them a chance. They do work. We have 17 horses and 3 dogs at the farm.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not working for me :( I don't know if it's because I didn't get my first fly predators until after the first flies were around or if it's just a horrible fly season here after the long drought. I got 10.000 the first order and 5000 the 2 orders after that, one per month, seems like I get no break from the flies. I only have 2 horses. Despite a covered manure compost bin, twice a day cleanup of manure, several traps, stink bags fill up in a week and I have 8 up. I'm receiving another shipment this week but I'm starting to think that I've only been wasting my money. Not saying they can't work, just not working for me, at least not this year. Next year I'll be sure to have the first load coming immediately after the last freeze!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Death to Flies! In about two weeks, we were down to only the occasional fly. Very good, but difficult to spread.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Way of Naturally Dealing with Flies I have used these for over a year, I get them shipped right when I see the first fly of the year. They are great little bugs and they really make a difference!
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They mostly escaped the package prior to arrival/r The package allowed them to escape prior to release in the designated release area. This was my first shippment of them, but it seems there were more in the mailbox/car than released in the barn:(
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Natural fly control I have been using fly preditors for three years now. This year, because of the very wet spring, the flys are just terrible in my area. The FP are keeping my barn fly levels to a minimum. Thanks for a natural solution! Pesticides are not my preference so this products fits my expectations.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly predators We have been using it only for two weeks and we already see a difference. We will keep going and see what happens.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators The shipment arrived in a timely manner. They are hatching and have been released around the barn and fields. I have used this product before, and look forward to a reduction in the fly population here. I am very satisfied.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really do the job This is the second summer that I have used Fly Predators. They did a great job last year; I noticed a real difference. I made sure that I stayed on auto delivery again this year.
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    • 2015-03-02T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_2493, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.